Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 21:32:57
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Wait... Necrons take things other then Fliers, Arcs, scarabs + spyders, and Wraiths?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 21:33:32
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Yeah - DM with Cryptek.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 21:36:19
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BlueDagger wrote:Wait... Necrons take things other then Fliers, Arcs, scarabs + spyders, and Wraiths?
Well, C'tans may not be anything more than bullet magnets, but they are an option...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 21:37:08
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gloomfang wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
No, I wasn't "wrong". I was correct as to what was written. GW's intent doesn't matter.
If I continued to assert that Swooping FMCs don't switch to Gliding I'd be wrong - but I'm not.
And saying that I don't play fair because I try to follow the rules as written most of the time... isn't correct and won't ever be. You keep that idea in your head though - I'm sure you'll go far.
Sad thing is that due to a "typo" rigeld2 is still correct about shooting at grounded units.
Page 49 – Flying Monstrous Creatures, Grounded Tests.
Change the second sentence of the third paragraph to read “A
Grounded Flying Monstrous Creature is treated as if it is in
Glide mode with immediate effect,
So Grounded== Gliding
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures.
So as of right now a case can be made that FMC's never loose Hard to Hit as they have it in both Glide and Swoop now. Check the FAQ. They really made that mistake.
Welcome to the next 3 months of YMDC and how this mess all works.
Wow that is so messed up in so many ways.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 21:49:03
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List
AZ
|
God is real! It has finally been FAQed that Necrons get to use Force weapons with MSS so that long drawn out thread is now void.
|
As our bodies are armoured with Adamantium, our souls are protected with our loyalty. As our bolters are charged with death for the Emperor's enemies, our thoughts are charged with his wisdom. As our ranks advance, so does our devotion, for are we not Marines? Are we not the chosen of the Emperor, his loyal servants unto death?
To admit defeat is to blaspheme against the Emperor.
12W - 6L - 3D
3W - 0L - 0D |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 21:50:24
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
And that EW does not get FNP against ID wounds.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 21:52:43
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
I missed it, but can anyone see in any FAQs if they said you get FNP against Bone Swords or not? I few poeple have sad it, but I can't find it anywhere.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 21:54:38
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I think they're getting confused by this:
Q: Can Feel No Pain rolls be made against unsaved Wounds
inflicted by weapons that have the Instant Death special rule? (p35)
A: No.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 21:58:54
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List
AZ
|
Necrons also get to embark back onto the Nightsycthe. Sweet!
|
As our bodies are armoured with Adamantium, our souls are protected with our loyalty. As our bolters are charged with death for the Emperor's enemies, our thoughts are charged with his wisdom. As our ranks advance, so does our devotion, for are we not Marines? Are we not the chosen of the Emperor, his loyal servants unto death?
To admit defeat is to blaspheme against the Emperor.
12W - 6L - 3D
3W - 0L - 0D |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:04:44
Subject: Re:New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Nitros14 wrote:Fateweaver's re-rolls only apply to Chaos Daemons. Chaos Icons only work for their respective armies. Chaos Marine Daemons Princes are now flying monstrous creatures, oh my. Pretty sure the Icons thing is also a typo. Chaos Space Marines FAQv1.1 wrote: Q: If Chaos Space Marines are allied to Chaos Daemons, do they roll for scatter if Deep Striking within 6" of a Chaos Icon carried by a Chaos Daemon model? (p81) A: If the wording on the Chaos Icon’s description refers to ‘all friendly units’, then yes. If not, then the Chaos Icon only affects the specific units referred to in its description. The context doesn't make sense, but oh well
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 22:05:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:09:21
Subject: Re:New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Happyjew wrote: solkan wrote:From the rulebook FAQ:
Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain? (p22)
A: Yes.
Important safety notice if you use Harlequin flip belts. That terrain that you're ignoring still affects you.
And C'tan, and Pathfinders...
I'd argue the C'tan part, they "ignore the effects of difficult and dangerous terrain while moving". Charging is still moving as it's called a "Charge move".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:09:29
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Chaos Daemon FAQ]Q: If Chaos Daemons are allied to Chaos Space Marines, do they roll
for scatter if Deep Striking within 6" of a Chaos Icon carried by a
Chaos Space Marine model? (p73)
A: If the wording on the Chaos Icon’s description refers to ‘all
friendly units’, then yes. If not, then the Chaos Icon only
affects the specific units referred to in its description.
They used the exact same question for both armies (swapping CSM and CD), and answer it exactly the same way. Apparently the Icons of Chaos the CSM can take are now called Chaos Icons. Automatically Appended Next Post: Kevin949 wrote:Happyjew wrote: solkan wrote:From the rulebook FAQ:
Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain? (p22)
A: Yes.
Important safety notice if you use Harlequin flip belts. That terrain that you're ignoring still affects you.
And C'tan, and Pathfinders...
I'd argue the C'tan part, they "ignore the effects of difficult and dangerous terrain while moving". Charging is still moving as it's called a "Charge move".
And (Eldar) Pathfinders and Harlequins ignore difficult terrain.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 22:10:23
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:10:25
Subject: Re:New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Kevlar wrote:
Pretty sure C'tan gets assault grenades, or at least an option to take them.
Assault and defensive grenades as well as stealth, all in one power.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Happyjew wrote:
And (Eldar) Pathfinders and Harlequins ignore difficult terrain.
No, big difference. Those (and beasts) "ignore difficult terrain", c'tan "ignore the effects" of difficult and dangerous terrain. They're wholly separate rules with different implications. You can ignore terrain but still be affected by it.
If they wanted c'tan to just ignore it then they would have said the exact wording that wraiths and beasts have. Automatically Appended Next Post: BlueDagger wrote:Wait... Necrons take things other then Fliers, Arcs, scarabs + spyders, and Wraiths?
Personally, I actually take all sorts of units out of the necron codex. The only one I refuse to touch in any serious capacity is failed ones. Er, flayed ones.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 22:15:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:17:45
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:Chaos Daemon FAQ]Q: If Chaos Daemons are allied to Chaos Space Marines, do they roll
for scatter if Deep Striking within 6" of a Chaos Icon carried by a
Chaos Space Marine model? (p73)
A: If the wording on the Chaos Icon’s description refers to ‘all
friendly units’, then yes. If not, then the Chaos Icon only
affects the specific units referred to in its description.
They used the exact same question for both armies (swapping CSM and CD), and answer it exactly the same way. Apparently the Icons of Chaos the CSM can take are now called Chaos Icons.
Even so, the context doesn't make sense. Why bother to check if you are "friendly unit" if you will have to roll for scatter anyway?
I think they meant to say that if the description says it applies to all friendly units then NO, you would not scatter if you DS within 6" of a Chaos Icon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:18:26
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
Massachusetts
|
So Klaives and Huskblades are AP2 without being unwieldy and yet they couldn't bring themselves to give Dante an axe that does not make him useless in combat?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:19:14
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
@ 40k-noob: Most likely. It appears that GW needs a FAQ proof-reading team.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 22:19:47
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:21:42
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:@ 40k-noob: Most likely. It appears that GW needs a FAQ proof-reading team.
couldn't agree more
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:25:05
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
Auburn WA USA
|
Q: What counts as a Daemon? (p21)
A: Everything in the Chaos Daemons codex (except for Chaos
Spawn), Daemon Princes, Possessed Chaos Space Marines,
Obliterators, summoned greater Daemons, summoned lesser
Daemons, any vehicle with the daemonic possesion upgrade,
Daemonhosts, Mandrakes, Kheradruakh the Decapitator, the
Avatar.
Q: That being the case, do all of the models listed above therefore have
the Daemon special rule on page 35 of the Warhammer 40,000
rulebook? (p21)
A: No. Only those models that specifically have the Daemon
special rule in their bestiary/army list entry follow the rules for
Daemons given in the rulebook.
Am I correct in interpreting the GK FAQ as stating that anything with the Daemon special rule has the main rulebook Daemon special rule applied to it? As in, Flamers have a 5++ save, Chaos Spawn have Save -, Eldar Avatar has 4++ (?), Oblits don't have the Daemon rule but count as Daemons versus GK, etc.
Also, I assume this is 'addition' to codex Daemon rules (i.e. Chaos Daemons with the Daemon special rule have both versions, taking the 'best' invulnerable save available between the special rule and thier profile)?
Just trying to figure out if the White Dwarf Chaos Daemon update-units actually have a 5++ save or no save at all.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/08 03:36:25
Bugs and Greenskins FTW! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:27:01
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
Orblivion wrote:So Klaives and Huskblades are AP2 without being unwieldy and yet they couldn't bring themselves to give Dante an axe that does not make him useless in combat?
Dante is perfectly capable of striking with his inferno pistol if you want to strike faster. He's useful in combat whether he strikes at I6 with his pistol that gives armor saves (still kills GEQ dead) or at I1 that kills terminators (usually the ones that get their 2+ ignored will have that 3+ invulnerable and get to laugh at the axe anyways).
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:39:30
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
Massachusetts
|
Using a 225 point HQ to kill GEQ hardly seems like a worthwhile use of points if you ask me. He might still have his uses to his attached squad via Hit & Run and Tactical Precision but Dante himself is now best kept out of any kind of combat IMO, and that just seems out of place to me.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 22:39:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:43:24
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Great to see it is confirmed we do get the +Attacks on Smash!!! Automatically Appended Next Post: Happyjew wrote:I think they're getting confused by this:
Q: Can Feel No Pain rolls be made against unsaved Wounds
inflicted by weapons that have the Instant Death special rule? (p35)
A: No.
Once again they leave it open.
But IMHO once again it shows we find out if the attack is an ID before anything else.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 22:46:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:48:30
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Orblivion wrote:Using a 225 point HQ to kill GEQ hardly seems like a worthwhile use of points if you ask me. He might still have his uses to his attached squad via Hit & Run and Tactical Precision but Dante himself is now best kept out of any kind of combat IMO, and that just seems out of place to me.
Um, making jump troop terminators scoring units?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:51:04
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
Massachusetts
|
I just said he still has his uses, my point is that Dante himself is no longer a reliable combatant. Every post I've made has been in regards to his use in combat.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 22:51:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 22:57:46
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Against anything but a challenge with a Str8 AP2+ he is still godly, you just have to choose targets carefully or attach another IC to challenge with. As long as you stay out of combat his 6 Str 5 AP2 attack will clean up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/08 01:36:08
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Stormbreed wrote:Great to see it is confirmed we do get the +Attacks on Smash!!!
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Happyjew wrote:I think they're getting confused by this:
Q: Can Feel No Pain rolls be made against unsaved Wounds
inflicted by weapons that have the Instant Death special rule? (p35)
A: No.
Once again they leave it open.
But IMHO once again it shows we find out if the attack is an ID before anything else.
It's closed tighter than an alterboy's ass on a trip to the vatican showers.
Q: If a model has the Eternal Warrior and Feel No Pain special
rules, can it still make Feel No Pain rolls against Wounds that
inflict Instant Death (Eternal Warrior states that the model is
immune to the effects of Instant Death, after all)? (p35)
A: No.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/08 01:48:19
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
Hes talking about boneswords not ew.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/08 03:23:01
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
So LOS has to be resolved before you roll any saves now?
Won't that massively slow down the game? effectively rolling 1 wound at a time?
Same saves in unit, 5 wounds, character in front takes saves, fails 2, LOS.
Now...
Same saves, 5 wounds, LOS each wound, take saves
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/08 03:24:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/08 03:45:48
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Just do it the old way, it doesn't change anything.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/08 03:57:12
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Seems like a confusing addition if it doesn't do anything
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/08 04:08:14
Subject: New FAQ's v1.1 out
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
|