Switch Theme:

Destroyed Stormraven, strength of hit on embarked Dreadnought  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Zooming is irrelevant.

The Codex says "if the Stormraven explodes" while Zooming or Hovering, it doesn't matter, the Stormraven is exploding and thus the Codex should overrule the BRB.

However if folks want to play it the "Crash and Burn" rule way, then also consider this. The Dreadnaught is NOT "within" the transport but is actually on the outside held by the rear grapples. So the Str10 hit should not apply to him as the rule says, "If the Flyer is also a Transport,
any models within suffer a Strength l0 hit with no armour saves allowed."


Guess it cannot use the assault ramp than.


In relation to the question at hand, your point being is?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
The S4 and S10 hits aren't mutually exclusive. You're told by the BA (or GK) Codex to take an S4 hit to your Dreadnought's Rear Armour. You're told by the BRB to take an S10 hit to everyone embarked on the transport. Where, in the Blood Angels (or GK) Codex does it say that the S4 overrides the S10? It isn't a conflict, so there's no Codex>BRB to apply. You take both hits.


Again, a vehicle doesn't explode twice as far the game is concerned.

The Codex tells you what damage is dealt to the DN if the Stormraven explodes and the BRB tells you what damage is dealt if a zooming flyer (transport) explodes. Being that the codex is specific to the Stormraven, irrespective of status (zooming or hovering) there exists a conflict with respect to what damage should a DN embarked on a Stormraven take if the Stormraven explodes while zooming.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/23 20:26:45


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





40k-noob wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Zooming is irrelevant.

The Codex says "if the Stormraven explodes" while Zooming or Hovering, it doesn't matter, the Stormraven is exploding and thus the Codex should overrule the BRB.

However if folks want to play it the "Crash and Burn" rule way, then also consider this. The Dreadnaught is NOT "within" the transport but is actually on the outside held by the rear grapples. So the Str10 hit should not apply to him as the rule says, "If the Flyer is also a Transport,
any models within suffer a Strength l0 hit with no armour saves allowed."


Guess it cannot use the assault ramp than.


In relation to the question at hand, your point being is?

That your statement is ludicrous? The dreadnought is embarked on the Storm Raven. The fluff of how it's carried is irrelevant.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

So Dreadnoughts are not embarked in Stormravens, Necrons are not embarked in Nightscythes, is there anything else where a unit is embarked, but not really because the fluff says otherwise?

If we are going to argue one may as well get them all out in the open and argue them all.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/23 20:49:03


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






Actually Firewarriors aren't embarked in Devilfish either. There is nothing saying so, but I really don't want them to die in an explosion.

I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Also DE aren't actually in any of their vehicles, they're quite clearly modeled hanging on the outside, so they should only take a S3 hit for explodes like everyone else outside.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

40k-noob wrote:


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
The S4 and S10 hits aren't mutually exclusive. You're told by the BA (or GK) Codex to take an S4 hit to your Dreadnought's Rear Armour. You're told by the BRB to take an S10 hit to everyone embarked on the transport. Where, in the Blood Angels (or GK) Codex does it say that the S4 overrides the S10? It isn't a conflict, so there's no Codex>BRB to apply. You take both hits.


Again, a vehicle doesn't explode twice as far the game is concerned.

The Codex tells you what damage is dealt to the DN if the Stormraven explodes and the BRB tells you what damage is dealt if a zooming flyer (transport) explodes. Being that the codex is specific to the Stormraven, irrespective of status (zooming or hovering) there exists a conflict with respect to what damage should a DN embarked on a Stormraven take if the Stormraven explodes while zooming.


It doesn't have to explode twice. One rule says you take an S4 hit to the Rear Armour. One rule says you take an S10 hit. How are they in conflict?

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

40k-noob wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Zooming is irrelevant.

The Codex says "if the Stormraven explodes" while Zooming or Hovering, it doesn't matter, the Stormraven is exploding and thus the Codex should overrule the BRB.

However if folks want to play it the "Crash and Burn" rule way, then also consider this. The Dreadnaught is NOT "within" the transport but is actually on the outside held by the rear grapples. So the Str10 hit should not apply to him as the rule says, "If the Flyer is also a Transport,
any models within suffer a Strength l0 hit with no armour saves allowed."


Guess it cannot use the assault ramp than.


In relation to the question at hand, your point being is?



Sorry I thought it was obvious, I was just saying you're wrong.

It's embarked in the transport. The fluff doesn't matter. It takes a str 10 hit if zooming/explosion

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/23 21:14:28


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Happyjew wrote:
So Dreadnoughts are not embarked in Stormravens, Necrons are not embarked in Nightscythes, is there anything else where a unit is embarked, but not really because the fluff says otherwise?

If we are going to argue one may as well get them all out in the open and argue them all.

Nonono - they're both outside and embarked at the same time. The state just depends on the circumstance of the observation.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/23 21:26:17


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Even if the fluff is rules it carries the "Dreadnought in its rear grapples".
I think that qualifies it to be within the transport as far as Crash and Burn are concerned.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






As far as I'm concerned there's no codex/rules conflict, so there's no reason not to have both rules come into effect, if a zooming flyer crashes with the Dread on board it takes a Str 10 hit, furthermore, if a Stormraven explodes with the Dread on board it takes a Str 4 hit to it's rear armour.

Why can't a single event trigger two similar conditional actions?

If a rule from the core rules inflicted a penalty when a certain event happened, but a rule from the codex grants a bonus when that same event happens, do you cite codex > core and just totally ignore the penalty, merely because another event has triggered?

The RAW here seems abundantly clear that the dreadnought suffers both results.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/23 22:27:06


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

If it explodes Str 4 hit to back of armour happens.

If it explodes Str 10 hit to somewhere happens.

How are these not in conflict?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






 DeathReaper wrote:
If it explodes Str 4 hit to back of armour happens.

If it explodes Str 10 hit to somewhere happens.

How are these not in conflict?


Because they aren't exclusive. The S10 hit doesn't cancel out the S4 hit. If you got hit with a Melta gun and a Plasma gun in the same shooting phase, you don't just ignore one of them.

And the S10 is assumed to hit rear (weak) armor because the Dread is facing away and the direction from the codex on where the Dread takes hits, even though it's a different hit entirely. Personally I'd argue that if the top of a tank/walker is the front armor, then the bottom would be rear.

I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

You take a hit because of the explodes result. The BRB says this hit is Str 10, the Codex says this hit is Str 4...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






 DeathReaper wrote:
You take a hit because of the explodes result. The BRB says this hit is Str 10, the Codex says this hit is Str 4...


You take a S10 because the BRB says you take a S10 hit from being in a flying transport that crashes.
The Codex says you take a S4 hit from being in an exploding Storm raven.
The Dex doesn't say "Take a S4 hit instead"
It doesn't say "Ignore other effects of an explosion result"
It doesn't say "This is the only hit the Dread will take"

I will agree that it definately needs an FAQ to clear the whole mess up, but you can't ignore an entire rule because you have something very similar in the codex.

I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
You take a hit because of the explodes result. The BRB says this hit is Str 10, the Codex says this hit is Str 4...


Yep Codex says str 4 when SR pops
BGB says str 10 when a Zoomer pops

Not really a conflict as both can apply.

   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







Seeing as how the codex doesn't state the Stormraven is a flier, its kind of pointless to keep saying "Codex overrides BRB". If that's your argument, then the Stormraven can only hover.

But I agree with the majority here, S10 hit if zooming (maybe to a random facing?), S4 hit to the rear if in Hover mode.
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

 ClassicCarraway wrote:
Seeing as how the codex doesn't state the Stormraven is a flier, its kind of pointless to keep saying "Codex overrides BRB". If that's your argument, then the Stormraven can only hover.

But I agree with the majority here, S10 hit if zooming (maybe to a random facing?), S4 hit to the rear if in Hover mode.


How about we roll for which side? Not dice, I mean literally roll the dreadnought. Whichever side in ends on takes the hit.
Treat top armor as side armor value (barrage rule), and bottom armor as rear armor value (clustermine rule)
Sure, you could just use a D6 (1 front, 2 top, 3 left side, 4 right side, 5 bottom, 6 rear) but what's the fun in that?

Oh, and just to poke the dog, since the S10 hit isn't from a weapon, you don't add the strength to the D6 for armor pen. Now, argue for 20 pages and lock the thread.


-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





I like your style.

That said, Correlation does not imply causation.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: