Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 02:09:17
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Thunderhawk Pilot Dropping From Orbit
|
This came up in another thread and I have never heard this. Can the wolf banner effect your assault roll distance if you use the banner before the assault even happens? Would I also get to re roll failed save wound from overwatch if 1s are rolled?
|
Click the images to see my armies!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 02:11:27
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
You can use it for failed saves, but not for the charge distance.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 02:45:48
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
You can re-roll all rolls of a 1 in the assault phase, except when rolling morale. Automatically Appended Next Post: Happyjew wrote:You can use it for failed saves, but not for the charge distance.
Why not for charge distance?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/29 02:46:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 02:47:59
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Because when you roll the charge distance, you cannot get a roll of 1, the lowest you can roll is a 2.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 02:54:17
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Was there every any actual confirmation onf that HJ? I know there was a vocal side that said that it was rolls of 1 making up that two. Not sure if it was FAQ'd or anything.
|
If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 03:26:42
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Here is the thing, the rule says any dice rolls of a 1. The rule book says that in situations where you roll 2 dice you need specific permission to re-roll a single dice.
The problem is that it could be said that this is permission, the leadership is a stated exception where you cannot re-roll any of the dice but they should have faq'd it to be more restricted and clear if it was a single die re-roll or a case of any 1's that crop up.
A point that was raised by a friend of mine when we talked about this before is that the reason you don't re-roll the leadership check is that the banner is a 1 shot bonus for you. Leaderships that have rolled a 1 are a blessing for you, unless you are a psyker rolling a double 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 03:47:29
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
I just thought that things had settled on charge distance being good as well as other, "2d6" things.
|
If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 03:50:55
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Only if you read "any dice roll of a 1" to mean any individual dice. Otherwise the brb overrules.
Though since the rule says dice rather than D6, it could be individual dice, the problem is as I see it is that it is loosely worded.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/29 04:11:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 03:54:32
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
I am going to have to reach under my bed for my BRB to hash this one out now. Granted not for this thread, just for my own curiosity now.
|
If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 04:43:01
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Codex says any dice rolls of a 1, it isn't restricting it to a D6 roll of a 1. I don't see anything in the BRB, Codex or errata stopping you from re-rolling charge distance or psykic test in the assault phase. I guess I understand the reasoning for the faq about morale, well not really. I guess it's kind of saying a Space Wolf would never try to intensionally run away from a combat, even for tactical reasons lo.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 06:33:59
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
WolvesForTheWolfGod wrote:Codex says any dice rolls of a 1, it isn't restricting it to a D6 roll of a 1. I don't see anything in the BRB, Codex or errata stopping you from re-rolling charge distance or psykic test in the assault phase.
Page 21 says the total is your charge range, so if you roll a 1 and a 1 you have not rolled a 1, you have rolled a 2.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 09:42:05
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
|
Codex says any dice rolls of 1, if you roll a 1 and a 1 on your charge distance, you have rolled 2 dice rolls of 1, so you re-roll both of them. If you roll a 1 and a 2, you have rolled 1 on 1 dice, so you can re-roll that 1. I dont see the confusion here. the codex specifically says you re-roll any dice rolls of 1.
|
Its better to burn out than to fade away
@kevinwarhammer |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 10:29:01
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No, a 1 and a 1 on a charge roll is a two, not a one.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 11:11:07
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
|
Looking at other blogs and forums it seems the community census sides with you in that you dont get to re-roll charge distances, so I'll accept the decision. I do however find the logic baffling.
|
Its better to burn out than to fade away
@kevinwarhammer |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 11:15:47
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
As was started, you need permission to re-roll part of a multi-roll. The prefect example, is Fleet.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 12:28:21
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
OK, exstra question. Can you re-roll the number of attacks on mark on the wulfen? He rolls between 2 and 7.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 15:23:21
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Sacrifice to the Dark Gods
|
Wulfen does not roll 2-7, he rolls (1-6) + 1 for attacks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 15:40:28
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Which means the result is a 2-7, and you can only re-roll a one.
You can't look at the die individually, just like when you roll multiple dice. The result is what you need to look at.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 16:03:31
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
rigeld2 wrote:Which means the result is a 2-7, and you can only re-roll a one.
You can't look at the die individually, just like when you roll multiple dice. The result is what you need to look at.
Why not? The result of the die would be a 1, hence you can reroll it. That die is then used as input to another formula.... it doesn't say 'replace any rolls of a 1 with a 2'
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 16:06:04
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
chezzie wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Which means the result is a 2-7, and you can only re-roll a one.
You can't look at the die individually, just like when you roll multiple dice. The result is what you need to look at.
Why not? The result of the die would be a 1, hence you can reroll it. That die is then used as input to another formula.... it doesn't say 'replace any rolls of a 1 with a 2'
The charge distance is 2. A failed armor save on a 1 is a 1. A failed to hit roll of a 1 is a 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 16:08:01
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
It says "any dice rolls of a one".
2-7 is the result, not the dice roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 16:08:36
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
chezzie wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Which means the result is a 2-7, and you can only re-roll a one.
You can't look at the die individually, just like when you roll multiple dice. The result is what you need to look at.
Why not? The result of the die would be a 1, hence you can reroll it. That die is then used as input to another formula.... it doesn't say 'replace any rolls of a 1 with a 2'
No, the result of the die is a 2. We know this because you add one to the roll. You can't look at part of the equation - unless you're also arguing you can reroll a single die in a charge test.
You'd be wrong there too, but you'd be consistent.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 16:25:10
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
liturgies of blood wrote:The rule book says that in situations where you roll 2 dice you need specific permission to re-roll a single dice.
Well, you answered your own question, here.
Sure, but permission is not enough. You need specific permission, and you don't have it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 16:28:02
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
rigeld2 wrote:chezzie wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Which means the result is a 2-7, and you can only re-roll a one.
You can't look at the die individually, just like when you roll multiple dice. The result is what you need to look at.
Why not? The result of the die would be a 1, hence you can reroll it. That die is then used as input to another formula.... it doesn't say 'replace any rolls of a 1 with a 2'
No, the result of the die is a 2. We know this because you add one to the roll. You can't look at part of the equation - unless you're also arguing you can reroll a single die in a charge test.
You'd be wrong there too, but you'd be consistent.
I disagree. The result of the charge *roll* is that of the dice, which as you say cannot be rerolled since one cannot get a 1 there as the result of it.
The result of the roll in the wulfen is simply one d6 which can lead to a 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 16:58:21
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
chezzie wrote:rigeld2 wrote:The result of the roll in the wulfen is simply one d6 which can lead to a 1.
That cannot be the result - we know that because you have to add 1 to achieve the result.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 17:07:25
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Assuming those quotes were meant to be the other way around:
The rule says any dice rolls of a 1. For the mark of the wulfen I roll one die, and I get a 1. Is that or is that not a dice roll of a 1?
Edit for stupid wierd quoting
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/29 17:07:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 17:08:10
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Double quote fail?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 17:12:26
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I believe so.
I suppose the other way of looking at it is that the result of a dice roll of 2d6 is at minimum 2 and hence not re-rollable, the result of rolling 1d6 can be 1 and is re-rollable. They are both a singular 'dice roll' one has two dice the other one die.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 17:32:09
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
chezzie wrote:
Assuming those quotes were meant to be the other way around:
The rule says any dice rolls of a 1. For the mark of the wulfen I roll one die, and I get a 1. Is that or is that not a dice roll of a 1?
Edit for stupid wierd quoting
No it would not, as the Dice roll is a 2 in that case ( D6 +1)
You have to add the +1 to get the result of the die roll, as you have not rolled a 1, you have rolled a 2.
It is the same with LD tests, you cant ever roll a 1, even if both dice come up ones, the lowest you can get is a two on two D6, just like the lowest you can get on the mark of the wulfen roll is a 2
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 17:37:26
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
DeathReaper wrote:chezzie wrote:
Assuming those quotes were meant to be the other way around:
The rule says any dice rolls of a 1. For the mark of the wulfen I roll one die, and I get a 1. Is that or is that not a dice roll of a 1?
Edit for stupid wierd quoting
No it would not, as the Dice roll is a 2 in that case ( D6 +1)
You have to add the +1 to get the result of the die roll, as you have not rolled a 1, you have rolled a 2.
It is the same with LD tests, you cant ever roll a 1, even if both dice come up ones, the lowest you can get is a two on two D6, just like the lowest you can get on the mark of the wulfen roll is a 2
To get the number of attacks... yes I do need to add the +1. To get the result of the dice roll involved in determining the attacks characteristic I do not, that is simply specified as (1) d6. The result of that roll can be a 1.
A leadership test is a dice roll consisting of 2d6, and I agree not rerollable.
|
|
 |
 |
|