Switch Theme:

Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




 grendel083 wrote:
Sometimes you may have to modify the number rolled on the dice ( or 'the roll').

It's right there. The roll is modified. Not the result.
So D6+1 is a roll. It's a modified roll certainly, but still the roll.


No its the exact opposite.

"Sometimes you may have to modify the number rolled...." Number.
You modify the number rolled, not the roll.


So you roll a one and get number one. Then you modify the number one to number two, but the roll is still one.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




Indeed.

Sometimes you may have to modify the number rolled on the dice ( or 'the roll'). This is noted as d6 plus or minus a number, such as D6+1. Roll the dice and add or subtract the number given to or from the roll (as appropriate) to get the final result.


The number rolled on the dice is the roll. We are told in the third sentence that the number rolled on the dice is still considered the roll. When it is adjusted by the modifier it is the final result.

Sadly I'm at work now, so have no rulebook here, but the part about re-rolling dice (the next paragraph on p5 for those who can give us the exact quote) tells us that whatever modifiers apply to the original dice roll apply to the reroll.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






New Orleans, LA

 DeathReaper wrote:
We are not told any unmodified rolls of a 1 are re-rolled, so you must add in the modifier to comply with the rules.

Permissive ruleset wins here.


And the book says to reroll a dice roll of a 1. So, you'll have to show me where it says you can't or your house ruling it.

DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Thunderhawk Pilot Dropping From Orbit





Dayton, TN

Thanks guys for the feedback. So the answer to the original question is "no, I can not use the wolf standard to modify my charge distance if I roll a 1 on the dice because ALL 2D6 rolls are thrown together and the result can never be a 1.

A new question has emerged regarding the wolf standard and mark of the wolfen that someone else brought up. After reading the rules in the codex, FAQ, and MRB, I will be rerolling ANY dice roll of a one when I roll for my attacks for mark of the wolfen (I have rolled ones before) if I used my banner. The reason is because there is a distinct difference between the roll and final result when adding modifiers per raw.

Thank you again for the feedback.


Click the images to see my armies!


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Polecat wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Sometimes you may have to modify the number rolled on the dice ( or 'the roll').

It's right there. The roll is modified. Not the result.
So D6+1 is a roll. It's a modified roll certainly, but still the roll.


No its the exact opposite.

"Sometimes you may have to modify the number rolled...." Number.
You modify the number rolled, not the roll.

So you roll a one and get number one. Then you modify the number one to number two, but the roll is still one.

The number rolled IS the roll, says right there in the bracketed part of the rule.
The modifier is applied to the roll itself. You roll a one, its modified to two. You now have a roll of two. NOT a result of two, but a roll of two.

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
The roll of a die would not add in a modifier. The result is modified, not the roll.
The rules say make a roll then add the modifiers to get a total not a roll.

The result is NOT what is modified, the roll is. It's right there in the quoted rule "modify the number rolled" (aka "the role"). Result isn't mentioned. Not once.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/30 13:47:06


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 grendel083 wrote:


jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
The roll of a die would not add in a modifier. The result is modified, not the roll.
The rules say make a roll then add the modifiers to get a total not a roll.

The result is NOT what is modified, the roll is. It's right there in the quoted rule "modify the number rolled" (aka "the role"). Result isn't mentioned. Not once.


Oh good than. Than when I roll a 1 to wound it's not really a 1 so it will wound.

Roll to wound D6+Str

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/30 13:57:32


   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




Kal-El wrote:
Thanks guys for the feedback. So the answer to the original question is "no, I can not use the wolf standard to modify my charge distance if I roll a 1 on the dice because ALL 2D6 rolls are thrown together and the result can never be a 1.

A new question has emerged regarding the wolf standard and mark of the wolfen that someone else brought up. After reading the rules in the codex, FAQ, and MRB, I will be rerolling ANY dice roll of a one when I roll for my attacks for mark of the wolfen (I have rolled ones before) if I used my banner. The reason is because there is a distinct difference between the roll and final result when adding modifiers per raw.

Thank you again for the feedback.



Yes, I believe you're correct on both points - and apologies for the explosion of posts in the thread.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 grendel083 wrote:
Polecat wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Sometimes you may have to modify the number rolled on the dice ( or 'the roll').

It's right there. The roll is modified. Not the result.
So D6+1 is a roll. It's a modified roll certainly, but still the roll.


No its the exact opposite.

"Sometimes you may have to modify the number rolled...." Number.
You modify the number rolled, not the roll.

So you roll a one and get number one. Then you modify the number one to number two, but the roll is still one.

The number rolled IS the roll, says right there in the bracketed part of the rule.
The modifier is applied to the roll itself. You roll a one, its modified to two. You now have a roll of two. NOT a result of two, but a roll of two.

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
The roll of a die would not add in a modifier. The result is modified, not the roll.
The rules say make a roll then add the modifiers to get a total not a roll.

The result is NOT what is modified, the roll is. It's right there in the quoted rule "modify the number rolled" (aka "the role"). Result isn't mentioned. Not once.


The roll is modified but the result is 2, not the roll. Look at the words the brb uses carefully. Look at the whole of the paragraph, you and DR seem to think that the only line that matters in a paragraph is the first one. The number rolled is the roll, that is then modified to give a result.
The roll or making a roll is the physical action you take. The rules differentiate between that and the result of a modified roll.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 liturgies of blood wrote:
The roll is modified but the result is 2, not the roll. Look at the words the brb uses carefully. Look at the whole of the paragraph, you and DR seem to think that the only line that matters in a paragraph is the first one. The number rolled is the roll, that is then modified to give a result.
The roll or making a roll is the physical action you take. The rules differentiate between that and the result of a modified roll.

Totally wrong, I'm sorry but it's right there in black and white.
You even say it right there, the roll is modified.
You now have a modified roll.
The result doesn't come into it, the whole idea that there must be a "result" (something that is NOT in the rule) is the problem many people are clearly having. Talking about a need for a result, is the part being made up, and is not in the rule at all.
There is no result.
There is a roll.
This is then modified.
The number of attacks is your modified roll, and you move on to rolling to hit.
The number of attacks is never the RESULT of a modified roll, that is a made up concept.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




 grendel083 wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
The roll is modified but the result is 2, not the roll. Look at the words the brb uses carefully. Look at the whole of the paragraph, you and DR seem to think that the only line that matters in a paragraph is the first one. The number rolled is the roll, that is then modified to give a result.
The roll or making a roll is the physical action you take. The rules differentiate between that and the result of a modified roll.

Totally wrong, I'm sorry but it's right there in black and white.
You even say it right there, the roll is modified.
You now have a modified roll.
The result doesn't come into it, the whole idea that there must be a "result" (something that is NOT in the rule) is the problem many people are clearly having. Talking about a need for a result, is the part being made up, and is not in the rule at all.
There is no result.
There is a roll.
This is then modified.
The number of attacks is your modified roll, and you move on to rolling to hit.
The number of attacks is never the RESULT of a modified roll, that is a made up concept.


Sometimes you may have to modify the number rolled on the dice ( or 'the roll'). This is noted as d6 plus or minus a number, such as D6+1. Roll the dice and add or subtract the number given to or from the roll (as appropriate) to get the final result.


That's the exact wording of the rule in question. Note the existence of the final three words "the final result". The final result exists in the rule. Please clarify how the "result" is not in the rule when it's there in black and white.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also note that it states "to get the final result" not "to get the modified roll"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/30 14:23:49


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Fair enough, I stand corrected. I do apologise.
In any event, whether the modified roll or the result of a modified roll is used, makes not difference.
The Wolf Standard does not call for Unmodified Rolls (as things like Characteristic Test do).
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




I'm sorry if my post came across a tad agressive :|

I'm at work so can't look the wording of the characteristic tests up. Could you post it so I can see what you're saying is the difference between it and the Wolf Standard one?
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 grendel083 wrote:
Fair enough, I stand corrected. I do apologise.
In any event, whether the modified roll or the result of a modified roll is used, makes not difference.
The Wolf Standard does not call for Unmodified Rolls (as things like Characteristic Test do).


No worries, I'm not touchy about these things.
Since the result and the roll are seen to be different in the rulebook do you at least see where we are coming from?

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 liturgies of blood wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Fair enough, I stand corrected. I do apologise.
In any event, whether the modified roll or the result of a modified roll is used, makes not difference.
The Wolf Standard does not call for Unmodified Rolls (as things like Characteristic Test do).


No worries, I'm not touchy about these things.
Since the result and the roll are seen to be different in the rulebook do you at least see where we are coming from?

Yes, totally see where you're coming from.
But the way I'm seeing it, is the rule says the roll itself is modified, and the Wolf Standard asks for neither an unmodified roll, nor the result of a roll. I can see no reason why a modifier shouldn't be applied, and there are examples of rules what actuall call for unmodified rolls.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




 grendel083 wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Fair enough, I stand corrected. I do apologise.
In any event, whether the modified roll or the result of a modified roll is used, makes not difference.
The Wolf Standard does not call for Unmodified Rolls (as things like Characteristic Test do).


No worries, I'm not touchy about these things.
Since the result and the roll are seen to be different in the rulebook do you at least see where we are coming from?

Yes, totally see where you're coming from.
But the way I'm seeing it, is the rule says the roll itself is modified, and the Wolf Standard asks for neither an unmodified roll, nor the result of a roll. I can see no reason why a modifier shouldn't be applied, and there are examples of rules what actuall call for unmodified rolls.


I'm not trying to be awkward, just have no means to get to a rulebook atm, could you post an example of one of those rules so I can see how it differs from the wolf standard one?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

"...a dice roll of 6 is always a failure, and a dice roll of 1 is always a success, regardless of any other modifiers..."
From Characteristic Tests.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




 grendel083 wrote:
"...a dice roll of 6 is always a failure, and a dice roll of 1 is always a success, regardless of any other modifiers..."
From Characteristic Tests.


Thank you, but doesn't that support the idea that the roll and the result are two different things?

I'm not quite seeing your logic here, apologies if I'm being slow?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

It's asking for a roll that hasn't been modified, ie an unmodified roll.
The Wolf Standard doesn't ask for this.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




 grendel083 wrote:
It's asking for a roll that hasn't been modified, ie an unmodified roll.
The Wolf Standard doesn't ask for this.


I can sort of see where you're coming from, but I still don't believe that a dice roll of 1 means anything other than a dice that displays one when rolled... Even by that rule.

I see it as providing an extra restriction in these cases - no matter what the result of modifying the dice roll is (if there are modifiers) then a dice roll of a 1 is an auto pass and a dice roll of a 6 is an auto fail.

I see it as providing more clarity that the result and the roll are two different things when a modifier is involved.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

I think that quote of yours grendel is introducing "natural" rolls into the characteristic rolls to ensure that there is always an option of failure. Otherwise there would be tests that could not be failed, similar to armour saves that cannot be failed break the game.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




From the RE-ROLL Paragraph on p5. Note that any modifiers that applied to the first dice roll are also applied to the re-roll


I think that's quite clear. Modifiers are applied to a dice roll. Hence the dice that is an input to the equation of dice roll +/- modfier is a dice roll.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

chezzie wrote:
From the RE-ROLL Paragraph on p5. Note that any modifiers that applied to the first dice roll are also applied to the re-roll


I think that's quite clear. Modifiers are applied to a dice roll. Hence the dice that is an input to the equation of dice roll +/- modfier is a dice roll.


Die Roll + Modifier ='s Result Is there anything I'm missing?

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

 grendel083 wrote:
It's asking for a roll that hasn't been modified, ie an unmodified roll.
The Wolf Standard doesn't ask for this.


Characteristic Tests actually are a third thing. They're not an unmodified test; they just have special exceptions for natural rolls of 1 or 6.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All over

You can't use the wolf banner cause the dice rolled for charge are done in the charge sub phase not the fight sub phase.

   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator




Falls Church, VA

 cgage00 wrote:
You can't use the wolf banner cause the dice rolled for charge are done in the charge sub phase not the fight sub phase.


Both of those are in the assault phase, which is what the wolf banner refers to (reroll all rolls of 1 during the ensuing assault phase)
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Are people seriously trying to argue that 1D6 can offer results of 2-7? YMDC's mental gymnastics team is really going for the gold on this one.

Wolf Standard says to re-roll all 1s.

Mark of the Wulfen gives D6 + 1 attacks.

The dice roll is 1-6

Mark of the Wulfen is 2-7

The Wolf Standard doesn't care about the circumstance beyond its listed restrictions: D6 rolls in assault phase, no leadership tests. Nothing else matters. The D6 values are 1-6; it is only the Mark of the Wulfen values that are 2-7. Therefore, the Wolf Standard's effect kicks in before the Mark of the Wulfens' effect does; meaning you re-roll the 1 before you add Mark of the Wulfen's +1 attack.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 azazel the cat wrote:
Are people seriously trying to argue that 1D6 can offer results of 2-7?

No, but a D6+1 does.
 azazel the cat wrote:

YMDC's mental gymnastics team is really going for the gold on this one.

Wolf Standard says to re-roll all 1s.

Mark of the Wulfen gives D6 + 1 attacks.

The dice roll is 1-6

Mark of the Wulfen is 2-7

The Wolf Standard doesn't care about the circumstance beyond its listed restrictions: D6 rolls in assault phase, no leadership tests. Nothing else matters. The D6 values are 1-6; it is only the Mark of the Wulfen values that are 2-7. Therefore, the Wolf Standard's effect kicks in before the Mark of the Wulfens' effect does; meaning you re-roll the 1 before you add Mark of the Wulfen's +1 attack.
Citation needed for the underlined, as I can not find where it says that.


The dice roll is not a 1-6 as you have to add a +1 modifier to it. (It meaning the roll).

So the roll is a 2-7, and is never a 1 because of the modifier. Modifiers are applied to a dice roll. The equation of dice roll +/- modfier is a dice roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/04 00:57:23


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
 azazel the cat wrote:
Are people seriously trying to argue that 1D6 can offer results of 2-7?

No, but a D6+1 does.
 azazel the cat wrote:

YMDC's mental gymnastics team is really going for the gold on this one.

Wolf Standard says to re-roll all 1s.

Mark of the Wulfen gives D6 + 1 attacks.

The dice roll is 1-6

Mark of the Wulfen is 2-7

The Wolf Standard doesn't care about the circumstance beyond its listed restrictions: D6 rolls in assault phase, no leadership tests. Nothing else matters. The D6 values are 1-6; it is only the Mark of the Wulfen values that are 2-7. Therefore, the Wolf Standard's effect kicks in before the Mark of the Wulfens' effect does; meaning you re-roll the 1 before you add Mark of the Wulfen's +1 attack.
Citation needed for the underlined, as I can not find where it says that.


The dice roll is not a 1-6 as you have to add a +1 modifier to it. (It meaning the roll).

So the roll is a 2-7, and is never a 1 because of the modifier. Modifiers are applied to a dice roll. The equation of dice roll +/- modfier is a dice roll.


Actually a D6 can only roll a 1-6. Adding in a modifier would be the result of the Modifier + Die roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/04 01:30:41


   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 azazel the cat wrote:
Are people seriously trying to argue that 1D6 can offer results of 2-7?

No, but a D6+1 does.
 azazel the cat wrote:

YMDC's mental gymnastics team is really going for the gold on this one.

Wolf Standard says to re-roll all 1s.

Mark of the Wulfen gives D6 + 1 attacks.

The dice roll is 1-6

Mark of the Wulfen is 2-7

The Wolf Standard doesn't care about the circumstance beyond its listed restrictions: D6 rolls in assault phase, no leadership tests. Nothing else matters. The D6 values are 1-6; it is only the Mark of the Wulfen values that are 2-7. Therefore, the Wolf Standard's effect kicks in before the Mark of the Wulfens' effect does; meaning you re-roll the 1 before you add Mark of the Wulfen's +1 attack.
Citation needed for the underlined, as I can not find where it says that.


The dice roll is not a 1-6 as you have to add a +1 modifier to it. (It meaning the roll).

So the roll is a 2-7, and is never a 1 because of the modifier. Modifiers are applied to a dice roll. The equation of dice roll +/- modfier is a dice roll.


Actually a D6 can only roll a 1-6. Adding in a modifier would be the result of the Modifier + Die roll.

Also known as a modified D6 roll; which is different than a D6 roll, which is what the Wolf Standard applies to.

After all, if they're not two separate things, then it is impossible to ever auto-fail a WS test, as a D6 roll of 1 + WS will always be greater than 1. Yet the provision that 1 is an auto-fail exists, implying that a D6 roll of 1 is separate from the WS modifier (the base stat) that is added to the D6 roll.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

A 2d6 roll is not a 1d6 roll. Anything allowing reroll of a d6 roll does not apply to a 2d6 roll.

Modifying the roll is basically irrelevant.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: