Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 03:09:47
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
Texas
|
Reading the whole thread really fills you with a sense of how slow the bureaucracy on terra might be. I can see both sides of the argument and it is a slippery slope throughout. I personally side with the concept of D6 + 1 means roll the dice then add the modifier unless any rules specify a re roll as adding the modifier would be after the roll/re roll "phase" for lack of a better term. I honestly felt like something in the warp smiled after reading the constant back and forth and couldn't help but picture a multi colored bird stating "just as planned".
|
"We may be few, and our enemies many. Yet so long as there remains one of us still fighting, one who still rages in the name of justice and truth, then by the All father, the galaxy shall yet know hope." - Ragnar Blackmane |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 04:56:14
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
azazel the cat wrote:After all, if they're not two separate things, then it is impossible to ever auto-fail a WS test, as a D6 roll of 1 + WS will always be greater than 1. Yet the provision that 1 is an auto-fail exists, implying that a D6 roll of 1 is separate from the WS modifier (the base stat) that is added to the D6 roll. OK, I'm curious as to where you get add Str to D6 to Wound, and add the Characteristic to the D6 for Characteristic tests comes from. Now as to why I believe you can re-roll a modified dice roll: First: Page 5 of the BRB refers to as the number rolled on the dice as "the roll" and then the modified number as the final result. Second: Page 7 of the BRB says that a dice roll of X is always a failure, and a dice roll of Y is always a success, regardless of other modifiers. Again this implies at least that the result and the roll are separate. Third: Page 29 of the Eldar Codex also states that if you roll "Y" that it counts as a failure (with no mention of modifiers). Again this implies that they consider the roll and the final result to be two separate things. Otherwise, with two Autarchs, you could have your entire army successfully come in from reserve on Turn 2 no matter what you rolled as the final result (if you choose to add 1 for each Autarch, and yes per the FAQ they stack), will be a minimum of 3. I'm sure there are other examples, but I'm too lazy to find them (just got out of work and have to be back in 6 hours).
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/04 07:00:04
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 05:26:41
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
azazel the cat wrote:
After all, if they're not two separate things, then it is impossible to ever auto-fail a WS test, as a D6 roll of 1 + WS will always be greater than 1.
Yet the provision that 1 is an auto-fail exists, implying that a D6 roll of 1 is separate from the WS modifier (the base stat) that is added to the D6 roll.
Yet no such provision exists in the Mark of the Wulven rule.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 05:27:57
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote: azazel the cat wrote:
After all, if they're not two separate things, then it is impossible to ever auto-fail a WS test, as a D6 roll of 1 + WS will always be greater than 1.
Yet the provision that 1 is an auto-fail exists, implying that a D6 roll of 1 is separate from the WS modifier (the base stat) that is added to the D6 roll.
Yet no such provision exists in the Mark of the Wulven rule.
So if a to wound roll of 1 auto fails, I never fail because it's 1+ Str right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 05:37:22
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote: DeathReaper wrote: azazel the cat wrote:
After all, if they're not two separate things, then it is impossible to ever auto-fail a WS test, as a D6 roll of 1 + WS will always be greater than 1.
Yet the provision that 1 is an auto-fail exists, implying that a D6 roll of 1 is separate from the WS modifier (the base stat) that is added to the D6 roll.
Yet no such provision exists in the Mark of the Wulven rule.
So if a to wound roll of 1 auto fails, I never fail because it's 1+ Str right?
Mark of the Wulven has nothing to do with Str.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 05:43:33
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote: DeathReaper wrote: azazel the cat wrote:
After all, if they're not two separate things, then it is impossible to ever auto-fail a WS test, as a D6 roll of 1 + WS will always be greater than 1.
Yet the provision that 1 is an auto-fail exists, implying that a D6 roll of 1 is separate from the WS modifier (the base stat) that is added to the D6 roll.
Yet no such provision exists in the Mark of the Wulven rule.
So if a to wound roll of 1 auto fails, I never fail because it's 1+ Str right?
Mark of the Wulven has nothing to do with Str.
However you're saying the Roll for MoTW of a 1 would actually be 2.
So by that logic a roll to wound would be a minimum of 2, hence never auto failing on a 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 06:28:01
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:However you're saying the Roll for MoTW of a 1 would actually be 2.
So by that logic a roll to wound would be a minimum of 2, hence never auto failing on a 1.
What roll to wound?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 06:35:32
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Sorry, apparently lost my everloving mind.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 17:02:22
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Again DR you have chosen not to read the rules on modified dice rolls. It is clear, (a) roll a dice (b) apply modifier to that roll (c) find the final result. Nowhere in that is the final result called a dice roll, the roll is the action and result of the action before applying modifiers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 17:40:28
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The final result is the roll. Do not ignore the context.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 18:09:45
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
And as I pointed out, although GW may not outright say it (I think they do, but enough are arguing against it), they definitely imply that roll != final result (see Characteristic tests, and Master Strategist in C:Eldar).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 18:18:42
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Implication is all well and good but RAW is king and what does RAW say?
Context talks about modifying a roll, applying a modifier to a roll. It doesn't equate a roll with a modified roll. The context shows a clear distinction.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 18:52:57
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The final result is the roll, as per the section cited.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 19:34:01
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
|
Pg 5 BRB section re-rolls, last sentence: "note that any modifiers that applied to the first dice roll are also applied to the re-roll."
This for me makes it clear that modifiers are applied after you re-roll. Although this sentence is in context of 2d6 etc, it is clearly a precedent where a modifier is separate to the roll of the dice and subsequent re-rolls
|
Its better to burn out than to fade away
@kevinwarhammer |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 19:37:39
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Actually, that wording would mean that the modifier had already applied before the re-roll.
So if you are re-rolling, then you've rolled... and if re-rolling includes modifiers...
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 19:38:29
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Digriz wrote:Pg 5 BRB section re-rolls, last sentence: "note that any modifiers that applied to the first dice roll are also applied to the re-roll."
This for me makes it clear that modifiers are applied after you re-roll. Although this sentence is in context of 2d6 etc, it is clearly a precedent where a modifier is separate to the roll of the dice and subsequent re-rolls
So it's saying modifiers are applied to the first roll before re-rolls, as well as the second?
Then you definitely can't roll a 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 19:49:25
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Before I get shouted at for being unable to read previous post which I could not find, the book does cover the subject of rolling double 1's and double 6's in the case of Psyker mishap, which would at least in this situation give precedence to re-rolling the dice for the Psyhic test, and if this gives precedence to other things well someone else figure that out. And curse my spelling/grammar. (edit)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/04 19:50:52
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 19:58:35
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
You're intentionally trying to obfuscate the meaning here. Please stop trying to play Who's On First.
The point is that it is a floating modifier. As in, the +1 hangs around, to apply to whatever dice roll is final. The dice roll can be re-rolled, but whatever the outcome, the +1 modifier will always be there. However, Mark of the Wulfen does not care about that modifier, it is only concerned with the dice roll, which is a value of between 1 and 6. This point I will not argue. I think a base tenet of EVERYTHING is the acceptance that a D6 roll can offer results ranging from 1 to 6. If this is something that cannot be understood.... then games that involve D6s are not for you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 20:14:15
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
A D6 roll can offer results ranging from 1 to 6. But we are told the to roll a D6+1, which yields 2-7.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/04 20:14:25
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 22:06:30
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
That +1 doesn't come from the D6.
Case closed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 22:09:32
Subject: Re:Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
This is true. It did ask for a Die roll. A D6 can only roll a 1-6.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 22:14:51
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
And according to P.5 modifiers are applied to the dice roll, so a D6+1 can never be a 1, as you have a range of 2-7
Pg 5 BRB section re-rolls, last sentence: "note that any modifiers that applied to the first dice roll are also applied to the re-roll."
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 22:18:08
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote:And according to P.5 modifiers are applied to the dice roll, so a D6+1 can never be a 1, as you have a range of 2-7
Pg 5 BRB section re-rolls, last sentence: "note that any modifiers that applied to the first dice roll are also applied to the re-roll."
Ok applied o the dice roll, and the dice roll are two seperate things.
The Dice roll will always be a 1-6 on a D6.
Pg 5 tells us that if the dice roll was D6+1 that the second reroll will still get the +1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 22:22:02
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
P.5 tells us that modifiers are applied to the dice roll. So you apply the modifier and the dice roll of D6+1 is never a 1 because you have to apply the modifier. Basically the modifier modifies the 1 and makes it a 2, so it can never be a 1.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/12/04 22:24:47
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 22:25:00
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote:chezzie wrote:
Assuming those quotes were meant to be the other way around:
The rule says any dice rolls of a 1. For the mark of the wulfen I roll one die, and I get a 1. Is that or is that not a dice roll of a 1?
Edit for stupid wierd quoting
No it would not, as the Dice roll is a 2 in that case ( D6 +1)
You have to add the +1 to get the result of the die roll, as you have not rolled a 1, you have rolled a 2.
It is the same with LD tests, you cant ever roll a 1, even if both dice come up ones, the lowest you can get is a two on two D6, just like the lowest you can get on the mark of the wulfen roll is a 2
The die roll would be a 1, the result would be a 2.
It's not the same as a Leadership test.
2D6 vs 1D6
With leadership you can have a pair of 1s which is 2 and that's the dice roll.
However with the MoTW it's a 1 that's the roll Automatically Appended Next Post: DeathReaper wrote:P.5 tells us that modifiers are applied to the dice roll. So you apply the modifier and the dice roll of D6+1 is never a 1 because you have to apply the modifier.
Basically the modifier modifies the 1 and makes it a 2, so it can never be a 1.
My dice must be lying than I always get a 1 for those ...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/04 22:25:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 22:26:55
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Modifying dice rolls defines a 2d6 roll as a modified dice roll.
If you agree that you cannot roll an individual d6 out of a 2d6 roll, then you also agree that modifiers are applied before evaluating if you're able to roll or not.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 22:28:10
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
rigeld2 wrote:Modifying dice rolls defines a 2d6 roll as a modified dice roll.
If you agree that you cannot roll an individual d6 out of a 2d6 roll, then you also agree that modifiers are applied before evaluating if you're able to roll or not.
Guess I don't agree than
I'm going back to work, play with you kiddos later.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 22:34:04
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Modifying dice rolls defines a 2d6 roll as a modified dice roll.
If you agree that you cannot roll an individual d6 out of a 2d6 roll, then you also agree that modifiers are applied before evaluating if you're able to roll or not.
Guess I don't agree than
I'm going back to work, play with you kiddos later.
So you are allowed to re-roll 1d6 out of the 2d6 roll?
The rules disagree with you.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 22:57:52
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
DeathReaper wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Modifying dice rolls defines a 2d6 roll as a modified dice roll.
If you agree that you cannot roll an individual d6 out of a 2d6 roll, then you also agree that modifiers are applied before evaluating if you're able to roll or not.
Guess I don't agree than
I'm going back to work, play with you kiddos later.
So you are allowed to re-roll 1d6 out of the 2d6 roll?
The rules disagree with you.
There is a difference between a re-roll of 2d6 and re-rolling a dice out of the 2d6. The rules even say this.. There is a specific restriction on re-rolls of 2d6, 3d6 etc that you must re-roll all of the dice unless otherwise stated.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/04 22:58:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 23:09:19
Subject: Wolf standard = reroll on assault distance?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
That is why I said rules disagree with him.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|