Switch Theme:

Kharn the Betrayer Ignoring ID from a Daemon Hammer  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

So correct me if I am wrong, but GK Deamon Hammers are force weapons.

Kharn's 'Blessing of the Blood God" special rules state that : "...if Kharn suffers an unsaved wound from a force weapon, that weapon cannot inflict ID on him."

So if Kharn gets hit with a Str8 Daemon Hammer, it cannot ID him because of blessing of the blood god, whether it activates or not, it is still a force weapon right.

Also consider rad grenades that lower enemy toughness. If he becomes T3 and then gets hit by a bunch of double hammerhand or hammerhand + might of the titan force weapons(nemisis halberds/swords/staves) they also cannot ID him.


Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The Daemon Hammer is not a Force weapon, it is a Nemesis Force Weapon.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

 DeathReaper wrote:
The Daemon Hammer is not a Force weapon, it is a Nemesis Force Weapon.


which are force weapons with additional rules

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine




New Jersey

you would still double toughness him, so unless you turned on the Force weapon it would stil cause instant death.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




why cant he be ID? if hes T4 or T3 with rad grenades, and is hit by a Daemonhammer at str 8 or 10 with hammerhand, and he fails his inv, hes dead.

Hammerhand and might of titan aren't attacks against him, therefore he can't use deny the witch.

Treat nemesis daemonhammers as thunderhammers, but against psykers and daemons, they take additional tests etc
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






Scorpio has it correct, Kharn is immune to the ID effect of Force Weapons when activated, if the Daemon Hammer is not activated it is still causing ID because the wielder's strength is twice that of Kharn's toughness

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/19 01:59:39


 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

 CrashCanuck wrote:
Scorpio has it correct, Kharn is immune to the ID effect of Force Weapons when activated, if the Daemon Hammer is not activated it is still causing ID because the wielder's strength is still twice that of Kharn's toughness


I dont see why whether it is activated or not matters. The special rule is that force weapons cannot ID him. It makes no mention of the method by which the force weapon inflicts ID, all are ignored.

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Scorpiodragon wrote:
you would still double toughness him, so unless you turned on the Force weapon it would stil cause instant death.


I dunno... it is still a Force weapon.

The rule doesn't say an "activated" Force weapon. Just Force weapon.

I can see the argument in favor of Karn.

Just saying...
   
Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter





I'd be inclined just to accept it, having Khrones blessing shouldn't really matter so much after his head has been caved into his chest cavity.
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






 Exergy wrote:
 CrashCanuck wrote:
Scorpio has it correct, Kharn is immune to the ID effect of Force Weapons when activated, if the Daemon Hammer is not activated it is still causing ID because the wielder's strength is still twice that of Kharn's toughness


I dont see why whether it is activated or not matters. The special rule is that force weapons cannot ID him. It makes no mention of the method by which the force weapon inflicts ID, all are ignored.


Instant Death by double strength doesn't rely on the weapon, the rule says if a model suffers an unsaved wound from an attack that is double their toughness they suffer Instant Death.
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

 CrashCanuck wrote:
 Exergy wrote:
 CrashCanuck wrote:
Scorpio has it correct, Kharn is immune to the ID effect of Force Weapons when activated, if the Daemon Hammer is not activated it is still causing ID because the wielder's strength is still twice that of Kharn's toughness


I dont see why whether it is activated or not matters. The special rule is that force weapons cannot ID him. It makes no mention of the method by which the force weapon inflicts ID, all are ignored.


Instant Death by double strength doesn't rely on the weapon, the rule says if a model suffers an unsaved wound from an attack that is double their toughness they suffer Instant Death.


but the weapon is being used to deliver the hit. If it wasn't Kharn would get an armor save.

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Kharn cannot suffer instant death if he should take a wound from an activated force weapon but he will die outright to strength equal or greater than his toughness... This could be a daemon hammer or a Nemesis force weapon striking at S6 and he is at T3 due to rad grenades.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Exergy wrote:
 CrashCanuck wrote:
Scorpio has it correct, Kharn is immune to the ID effect of Force Weapons when activated, if the Daemon Hammer is not activated it is still causing ID because the wielder's strength is still twice that of Kharn's toughness


I dont see why whether it is activated or not matters. The special rule is that force weapons cannot ID him. It makes no mention of the method by which the force weapon inflicts ID, all are ignored.
Force Weapons can not ID him.

The only way for a Force weapon to do that is to activate the force property of the weapon.

When the characters Strength is double the targets Toughness the Wounds cause ID, but that is not the Force weapon causeing ID, that is the wound by virtue of its Strength that is double the targets Toughness.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Raw he doesn't get die, rai he dies

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/19 04:57:15


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Ub3rb3n wrote:
Raw he doesn't get die, rai he dies
Incorrect. RAW he dies to Str double tough as he did not "suffer an unsaved wound from a force weapon" the wound had nothing to do with the force weapon.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
Ub3rb3n wrote:
Raw he doesn't get die, rai he dies
Incorrect. RAW he dies to Str double tough as he did not "suffer an unsaved wound from a force weapon" the wound had nothing to do with the force weapon.


Well he did suffer an unsaved wound from a force weapon. GW's terrible wording strikes again. It just happened to be an unactivated FW, double the models (T)

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





But the inactivated force weapon didn't cause the ID.
The strength of the attack did.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
But the inactivated force weapon didn't cause the ID.
The strength of the attack did.
100% this.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
But the inactivated force weapon didn't cause the ID.
The strength of the attack did.
100% this.


I'm teetering on this one RAW, however RAI I completely agree, as well as HIWPI. Just wanted to get that across.

the Str is double the models T, however it was from a wound inflicted by a Force Weapon.


   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






rigeld2 wrote:
But the inactivated force weapon didn't cause the ID.
The strength of the attack did.

The attack (and the strength bonus it has) was from the weapon.

If Kharn gets wounded by a weapon with S8+, then that weapon has caused an instant death wound. Since it's also a force weapon (even if it is an unusual force weapon), then by RAW it triggers Kharn's rule.

RAW - Kharn is safe.

HIWPI (as a Khorne player) - Kharn is gibbed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/19 05:55:15


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Except that it was not the force weapon that caused ID, it was the Str of the attack that causes ID, not the force weapon.

Look at the context of the rule: "...if Kharn suffers an unsaved wound from a force weapon, that weapon cannot inflict ID on him."

In context they are talking about an activated force weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/24 20:20:46


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

 DeathReaper wrote:
Except that it weas not the force weapon that caused ID, it was the Str of the attack that causes ID, not the force weapon.

Look at the context of the rule: "...if Kharn suffers an unsaved wound from a force weapon, that weapon cannot inflict ID on him."

In context they are talking about an activated force weapon.


That may very well be the intent, however RAW it is a Force Weapon that inflicted the damage. This would be negated by Kharn's special rule. I understand that it is not the ability of the FW that is trying to kill him, but the Strength of it. The simple fact that it is a FW (NFW at that).

Come to think of it this Codex was written after the GK one was, so the writers were well aware of the Holy Thunda Hammas of Death, and could have written it as such: "...if Kharn suffers an unsaved wound from a force weapon, that weapon may not be activated to ID him."

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/19 07:26:29


Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

OIIIIIIO wrote:
That may very well be the intent, however RAW it is a Force Weapon that inflicted the damage.
Only if you ignore context is it RAW.

The rules are talking about a Force weapon inflicting ID. How does a force weapon do that?

By the psyker expending a warp charge point and rolling a psychic test for the force psychic power.

Str double tough is not how a force weapon inflicts ID.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

 DeathReaper wrote:
OIIIIIIO wrote:
That may very well be the intent, however RAW it is a Force Weapon that inflicted the damage.
Only if you ignore context is it RAW.

The rules are talking about a Force weapon inflicting ID. How does a force weapon do that?

By the psyker expending a warp charge point and rolling a psychic test for the force psychic power.

Str double tough is not how a force weapon inflicts ID.


You are completey ignoring what type of weapon is doing the damage .... this is not how RAW works.

Question: Was the damage enough to ID Kharn ... YES
Question: Did the damage come from any sort of FW .... YES
Question: Can a FW of any sort be used to ID him ... NO

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in us
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord




Inside Yvraine

 DeathReaper wrote:
OIIIIIIO wrote:
That may very well be the intent, however RAW it is a Force Weapon that inflicted the damage.
Only if you ignore context is it RAW.
That's why it's called RAW. RAW is when you ignore context. RAI is when you factor in context.

The rule states that ID caused by force weapons don't kill Kharn. It doesn't say "ID caused by activated force weapons do not kill Kharn." All it says is "ID caused by Force Weapons do not kill Kharn." Thus, as it's written, If ID is caused by a force weapon, period, it does not kill Kharn.

Thinking about it logically, and using context, we can tell that what the author meant is that ID caused by activated force weapons do not kill Kharn, meaning that ID caused by good ol' S double the T will kill him. But that is not RAW, because it isn't written anywhere in the ruling that "activated" force weapons can not ID him. Thus, it's RAI.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

You are completely ignoring the context of the rule.

The rules are talking about a Force weapon inflicting ID.

There is a defined process of how this happens described on P. 37
BlaxicanX wrote:
That's why it's called RAW. RAW is when you ignore context. RAI is when you factor in context.
You have that incorrect.

Without context we have nothing.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/19 07:38:18


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

The Daemonhammer is a Force Weapon. If it IDs Khârn, be it by virtue of striking with S8 or higher or by using a Warp Charge to inflict ID, it violates Khârn's special rule.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Is anyone else bothered by GW's copy and paste job with a lot of the CSM rules? I mean they go ahead and update the part of the rule dealing with psychic powers into 6th edition terms but not the Force Weapon bit. It should say "weapon with the force special rule". I can see the arguments with the Manreaper or Black Staff of Ahriman now....
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






RAW Kharn would ignore the ID. Why? Because its ID from a Force Weapon. The rule doesn't specify whether or not its a activated Force Weapon. You can play it as he doesn't ignore it, however if someone plays it RAW, you can't stop them.

Veteran Sergeant wrote:In the grim darkness of the far future, the guy with a rifle is the weakest man on the battlefield, left to quake in terror, hoping the two or three shots he gets do the job before somebody runs screaming across the battlefield to hit him with an energized stick.


http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/440996.page
 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






The Force Weapon is not what inflicts the wound. The daemon hammer doubles the wielders strength and can be used to inflict force weapon wounds. The str8 wound is therefore no force weapon wound. Thats how we play it anyway.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/19 12:36:26


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: