| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 04:45:29
Subject: Dreadclaw Assault + Deep Striking
|
 |
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch
|
My friend and I are trying to put together a team doubles list for an upcoming tournament and we wanted to see everyone's opinion on these rules. Chaos Space Marine armies can purchase a Dreadclaw Assault Pod from Imperial Armour for general 40k use. It holds 10 models or a single dreadnought and the most recent version of the Dreadclaw's rules (updated for 6th) state that it is a Transport and a Flyer(Hover). It also has the "Assault Vehicle" special rule.
I'll post the Dreadclaw Assault rule here to ease discussion:
"If a Dreadclaw is part of the army, an eligible unit must be placed within it before the game begins. The Dreadclaw and its cargo always begin the game in reserve and enter play using the Deep Strike rules...After it has arrived, the Dreadclaw may move normally."
On page 36 of the BRB, the Deep Strike rule states that "In that turn's assault phase [the turn in which the unit arrives by Deep Strike], however, these units cannot charge. This also applies to units that have disembarked from Transports that arrived by Deep Strike that turn."
This seems pretty clear-cut to me so far, but on page 33 of the BRB, the Assault Vehicle special rule states that "Passengers disembarking from Access Points on a vehicle with this special rule can charge on the turn they do so, even on a turn that the vehicle was destroyed."
So, the questions is this: can a unit that arrives via Deep Strike within a Dreadclaw Assault Pod assault on the turn that it arrives on the table?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 04:54:19
Subject: Dreadclaw Assault + Deep Striking
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
GameFreak975 wrote:
So, the questions is this: can a unit that arrives via Deep Strike within a Dreadclaw Assault Pod assault on the turn that it arrives on the table?
Further clarified by the BGB faq stating models in assault vehicles can not assault the turn they come in from reserve.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 05:20:41
Subject: Dreadclaw Assault + Deep Striking
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
It depends. If the drop pod is an assault or open topped vehicle then no. If it has a special rule that allows a unit to assault out of it (like the Lucius pattern drop pod does) then yes.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/22 05:21:26
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 10:46:09
Subject: Dreadclaw Assault + Deep Striking
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You cannot assault because you have deepstruck. You cant even disembark, as it is a DS flyer
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 11:46:42
Subject: Re:Dreadclaw Assault + Deep Striking
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
The two relevant FAQ's.
Q: Do Transports with the Assault Vehicle special rule permit their passengers to charge on the turn they arrive from Reserve? (p33)
A: No.
Q: If a Flyer arrives via Deep Strike, can embarked passengers disembark from it on the same turn it arrives? (p80-)
A: No.
Even if the Dreadclaw arrives in Hover Mode, it's still counted as moving at cruising speed (greater than 6"), so there's no way for passengers to disembark.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 13:36:16
Subject: Dreadclaw Assault + Deep Striking
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Rob451 wrote:It depends. If the drop pod is an assault or open topped vehicle then no. If it has a special rule that allows a unit to assault out of it (like the Lucius pattern drop pod does) then yes.
Actually the LPD is kind of screwed until it gets an update.
IIRC it only addresses the Deepstriking no assault.
Than there's this one.
Q: Do Transports with the Assault Vehicle special rule permit their passengers to charge on the turn they arrive from Reserve? (p33)
A: No.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 14:01:22
Subject: Dreadclaw Assault + Deep Striking
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Right. So they can't assault the turn they arrive; but because it functions as a flyer, your opponent will need 6s to shoot it down (unless they have Skyfire), and if it survives, it can switch to Hover mode, move up to 6", the guys can disembark and assault.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 16:55:32
Subject: Dreadclaw Assault + Deep Striking
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Rob451 wrote:It depends. If the drop pod is an assault or open topped vehicle then no. If it has a special rule that allows a unit to assault out of it (like the Lucius pattern drop pod does) then yes.
Actually the LPD is kind of screwed until it gets an update.
IIRC it only addresses the Deepstriking no assault.
Than there's this one.
Q: Do Transports with the Assault Vehicle special rule permit their passengers to charge on the turn they arrive from Reserve? (p33)
A: No.
Last time I checked the LPD had a special rule that allowed a Dreadnought to assault out of it once it passed a dangerous terrain test (The rule is called Dreadnought Assault I believe). This was a totally unique rule for this unit that created a one-time exception for these exact circumstances rather than just making it an assault vehicle. That's why I said if it's just an assault vehicle then you can't but if it has a more specific special rule unique to that unit that creates an exception then it can.
It wouldn't surprise me if there was another FW book that changed the LPD that I didn't know about. Those books are too expensive for me to buy every single one as they come out.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/25 17:25:41
Subject: Dreadclaw Assault + Deep Striking
|
 |
Beast of Nurgle
|
I wish the DC rules were better written. FW needs to Eratta this soon.
There is one technicality that I'd like to bring up that might make these Dreadclaws a but more useful.
The RAW says that the DC arrives by Deep Strike, but after it arrives it moves as a flyer normally. They have set up a division here. This can be interpreted that the DC is not a flyer until after it has completed its deployment. If this is true, and I believe this is the intent, otherwise why make a special rule for the Dreadclaw Assault, then the squad inside can disembark on the turn the pod lands, just like a loyalist pod. Then, in subsequent turns, the Dreadclaw behaves as a normal flying transport.
So when you drop you have two options. 1- Get out immediately and shoot. 2- Stay in and assault next turn.
This is RAW of course. If you ask FW, they will tell you their intent was for the dreadclaw to allow an assault off the deep strike, hence the hefty pricetag.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/25 17:33:17
Subject: Re:Dreadclaw Assault + Deep Striking
|
 |
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)
|
Thread is being locked due to thread necromancy.
|
Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|