Switch Theme:

Psychic stacking GK style  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

yes it stacks. because they are matt wards grey knights, and therefore awsome and legendary.

hammerhand up already.

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




St Louis, MO

 Pyriel- wrote:
No problem korghan. I kinda wondered why you gave me a hard time over the +1strenght

I am merely asking about the stacking of USRs in general such as stealth since some of my friends keep telling me that I can stack multiple stealths and some say I cant and the rulebook says you cannot benefit from a USR more then once thus a double shrouding librarians are pretty useless (Imo).

Yea sorry about that again. I jump right on a soap box when people start complaining about armies being OP. as said you can multi-cast shrouding but it is useless.

And yes, DarthSpader, we know we're awesome. Thank you for the compliment! So nice of you
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






@Darthspader. you said hammerhand is up already. mind adding a link?

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Larotonda1984 wrote:
@Darthspader. you said hammerhand is up already. mind adding a link?

Re-read what he said. He did not say "hammerhand is up already"

He said:
 DarthSpader wrote:
hammerhand up already.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






wow... thanks for being rude... Feel better?

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Larotonda1984 wrote:
wow... thanks for being rude... Feel better?
What about my post was rude

I simply stated that you should re-read his post, as you misquoted him.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





You can stack the mods of different blessings
You cannot stack the mod of the same blessing cast by a different caster. Notice where two words come in to play in those to sentences.

Stack DIFFERENT blessings
Stack SAME blessings cast by DIFFERENT psykers.

The word is used in a different spot in the sentence and therefore shouldn't really be confused. They do not stack. There are multiple blessings that do similar things that can stack that is what they are clarifying by that sentence..

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






i may be wrong here, but a quote requires quotation marks... i asked a question based on my interpretation of what he wrote. you felt the need to repost his and my reply, tell me to Re-read his post, with a quotation of your own. the entire tone of your reply was rude and rather insulting. if you felt i misinterpreted his post a simple, "he was just being funny, there is no actual hammer hand rule posting." would have been sufficient. instead you felt the need to speak to me as if i was infearior. that about answer your question?

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Larotonda1984 wrote:
i may be wrong here, but a quote requires quotation marks... i asked a question based on my interpretation of what he wrote.

By saying "you said" you were saying that Darthspader said those words.

You posted this:
 Larotonda1984 wrote:
@Darthspader. you said hammerhand is up already. mind adding a link?


You were talking to Darthspader, and by saying "you said Hammerhand is up already" it means that you think Darthspader said "Hammerhand is up already" which of course, is not true, as Darthspader said "Hammerhand up already" (A statement saying to take an action and cast Hammerhand already, Similar to "Suit up" means go an put on a suit).

That "is", makes the sentence different.
you felt the need to repost his and my reply, tell me to Re-read his post, with a quotation of your own. the entire tone of your reply was rude and rather insulting. if you felt i misinterpreted his post a simple, "he was just being funny, there is no actual hammer hand rule posting." would have been sufficient. instead you felt the need to speak to me as if i was infearior. that about answer your question?
It really doesn't. I said that you should re-read what Darthspader said. I did not want you to misquote him.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 jegsar wrote:
You can stack the mods of different blessings
You cannot stack the mod of the same blessing cast by a different caster. Notice where two words come in to play in those to sentences.

Stack DIFFERENT blessings
Stack SAME blessings cast by DIFFERENT psykers.

The word is used in a different spot in the sentence and therefore shouldn't really be confused. They do not stack. There are multiple blessings that do similar things that can stack that is what they are clarifying by that sentence..

Can you cite where you got the 2nd sentence from? The one referencing SAME?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





nosferatu1001 wrote:
RAW you have permission to cast the same power from different sources onto the same target.
I am making a statement about english grammar.
Using a example sentence from someone who is arguing for using the "same power" i paraphrased to "same blessing" and how it contradicts what the brb sates.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It doesn't contradict whatsoever.

Find any rule anywhere in the rule book or FAQs that mentions the same blessing stacking. The only one I've ever found refers to different blessings. Perhaps you've found something else?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Tough Tyrant Guard







 jegsar wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
RAW you have permission to cast the same power from different sources onto the same target.
I am making a statement about english grammar.
Using a example sentence from someone who is arguing for using the "same power" i paraphrased to "same blessing" and how it contradicts what the brb sates.

I don't think the pro-stacking argument really rests on the definition of that BRB line at all. The pro-stacking camp is saying that they have permission to stack because they have permission to cast the power at a target and resolve the power. They are saying that line is meaningless - you already have blanket permission to cast different powers on the same target so stating it again is redundant and is done only for purposes of clarity.

You could make a RAI argument that there would be no reason for that line to exist unless the converse wasn't true (that you couldn't stack the same power on the one target) but that is solely RAI because you are already granted permission to cast the power on the same unit (no stipulations are supplied in the BRB) and so to not be able to stack the power there must be a line revoking that permission in this case. The line about effects of multiple different powers being cumulative does not state that the same power is not cumulative; none of the argument relies on this line, because you already have blanket permission to attempt to cast the same power twice on the same unit (it is the same case as attempting to cast the power once on the unit, repeated).

I find it difficult to even make a proper RAI argument here because the Psyker rules don't seem to draw any distinction between a psychic power template (a spell) and a manifested instance of a psychic power (a spellcast). They're both just referred to as "the psychic power."
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





so let me get this straight, a ML3 Librarian attached to a unit of GKs can cast HH once from the gks themselves, and the Librarian can cast HH twice and MotT once to give the entire unit S8? soooo why bother giving them hammers at all when you can get halberds at I6 S8 ap3?? all for what..25 (assuming a basic GK SS) points a model and a 200 point Libby?Heck throw a second IC in there and you can get S9...or is this all too good to be true?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

A psyker can only cast any given Psychic power once.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 jegsar wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
RAW you have permission to cast the same power from different sources onto the same target.
I am making a statement about english grammar.
Using a example sentence from someone who is arguing for using the "same power" i paraphrased to "same blessing" and how it contradicts what the brb sates.

I have, instead, been making an argument based onthe fact that the rule you keep quoting does not say *anything* about the same power; It is entirely 100% silent on the matter. As such it cannot be said to be a restriction - all it does is give permission in X case. Which is redundant, because you already have permission to cast the same power from different casters onto the same target, and unless the power itself prohibits stacking (explicitly or as a consequence of the pwoer; 2 x stealth == 1 x stealth as far as the rules are concerned) the pwoers must stack.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





ah so the max strength from the HH+MotT combo is S7?
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

I keep seeing this word "blessing" being used. When did hammerhand get categorized as this?

I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Goat wrote:
I keep seeing this word "blessing" being used. When did hammerhand get categorized as this?


Page 68, very last sentence under "Resolve Psychic Power". It then repeats itself, replacing "different powers" with "different blessings" and "different maledictions" under Blessings and Maledictions respectively.

Hammerhand s not a blessing, it does not have a type.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/28 15:19:18


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator





Las Vegas, NV

I think the key to all of this is "Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative."

Now breaking down "multiple different" would mean more than one different psychic power so if you have Hammerhand and MOtT they are cumulative as they are different and if there happened to be a third (different than the last two) psychic power it would also be cumulative.

In the GK codex the rules for these psychic powers seem to coincide with what the BRB states, since MOtT specifically says that its effects are cumulative with HH.

If the intent for HH was to be cumulative with itself why was it not "stated otherwise" as the BRB rule says it should?

Edit: Furthermore I think looking at the Chaos psychic powers in how it specifically "states otherwise" the effects of multiple X are cumulative. Where X = specific psychic power by name. Until the GK psychic power is FAQd to read the same as that I will not allow it to stack.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/28 17:14:31


 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




 Aglobalthreat wrote:
I think the key to all of this is "Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative."
Yes, this tells us that (different) Psychic powers are always cumulative, unless otherwise stated. Ie psychic power must state that "This power is not cumulative", for it not to be cumulative. In all other cases it is.

 Aglobalthreat wrote:
If the intent for HH was to be cumulative with itself why was it not "stated otherwise" as the BRB rule says it should?
Read that BRB line again. It is not stating what you think it is stating. In fact, it is stating a rule completely opposite of what you think it is stating.
You have for some reason changed the text in your mind to be "Effects of psychic powers are never cumulative, unless otherwise stated".


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The reason that rule exists is to allow the following:

Psyker power A adds +1 STR.
Psyker power B adds +1 STR and +1 ATK.

1 STR was added by A - is it replaced by B therefore increasing STR by 1 or added by B therefore increasing STR by 2?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Luide wrote:
 Aglobalthreat wrote:
I think the key to all of this is "Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative."
Yes, this tells us that (different) Psychic powers are always cumulative, unless otherwise stated. Ie psychic power must state that "This power is not cumulative", for it not to be cumulative. In all other cases it is.

 Aglobalthreat wrote:
If the intent for HH was to be cumulative with itself why was it not "stated otherwise" as the BRB rule says it should?
Read that BRB line again. It is not stating what you think it is stating. In fact, it is stating a rule completely opposite of what you think it is stating.
You have for some reason changed the text in your mind to be "Effects of psychic powers are never cumulative, unless otherwise stated".




Exalted, honoured and submitted to God for enshrinement as the 11th commandment. There's nothing saying HH doesn't stack so, by default, it does. How is this a 4-page debate?

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in cn
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate




As I see, the core of the problem is ---- what the "different" means.

As I think , if two powers share EXACTLY THE SAME NAME(further , have exactly the same effects ) ,they are NOT different powers.

But someone think that powers with different sources(eg. different casters) are different.

Maybe we should ask GW , how to tell the "different" powers.





2000
2000+ army
2500 army
2000+
2000 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ian - no, that isnt the core of the debate. The core of the "debate" is that the rules allow HH to stack, 100%, by giving you permission to cast AND resolve the power.

Nothing else matters. There are no ruels that disallow it, there is permission to do it, and the line about "different..." is entirely redundnat.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





ian_destiny wrote:
As I see, the core of the problem is ---- what the "different" means.

As I think , if two powers share EXACTLY THE SAME NAME(further , have exactly the same effects ) ,they are NOT different powers.

But someone think that powers with different sources(eg. different casters) are different.

Maybe we should ask GW , how to tell the "different" powers.

No, that's not the core of the debate at all - way to read 4 pages and learn nothing.
There's a sentence allowing different powers to stack.
We have permission to cast 2 of the same power. There is no restriction on them stacking. One side takes the "different" rule and leaps to the idea that if they specifically allowed different ones to stack, then same ones cannot. The other side makes no leaps at all and shows that there is no rule restricting stacking of the same power, therefore it stacks.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The issue is:
RAW says different powers stack.

People then think that also means (identical powers do not stack) Which, of course, is not true as the book does not say this anywhere.

It is a logical fallacy to equate the two. (Just because it explicitly states a permission on one thing does not mean a similar thing is restricted)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator





Las Vegas, NV

Then why does the chaos psychic powers say that they are cumulative with themselves if we supposedly already know this...

Hmm maybe GW is just making sure you know you can stack this power if its stated on the power and in BRB... oh wait its not stated in the BRB there is actually no ruling on it other than it saying different powers can stack.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Clarity, GW's ruleset is rife with language that is completely unnecessary and does nothing but repeat what you could already do.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator





Las Vegas, NV

But is there a line that says same powers are cumulative?

I would beg to reason that if not all psychic powers say they are cumulative with themselves and some do then maybe the ones that don't specify cumulative do not stack.

Since the BRB says nothing about it other than only different powers are cumulative and no where does it say same powers are cumulative I believe it needs to be FAQd and until then you should go by what the psychic power says.

The BRB says that if the psychic power does not fall into a category (Blessing, Malediction) the rules will explicitly explain how the power is used under its rule in the codex.

Under the rule for HH it does not say its cumulative but if you were to cast MotT which specifies in its rule its cumulative then that stacks.

This whole argument is based on the rules not saying that you cannot stack this power, flip side of that is that it doesn't say you can stack it anywhere as well.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: