Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/07 09:53:08
Subject: Ongoing reserves re-enter side
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Hi, I'm playing csm and sometimes I feel badass enough to put in all my 3 so-loved nasty Heldrakes into play so my opponent cries enough to unleash up the powers of chaos Gods (don't know if that makes sense but I'm a chaos player so things I say sometimes use a chaotic logic).
On page 125 of the BRB, it says that : ''Units in Ongoing Reserve always re-enter play at the start of their controlling player's following turn, but otherwise follow the normal rules for Reserves''.
So, going back to page 124 for ''normal rules'' we can read that : ''When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move fully onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge''.
Unless I'm missing something (I hope I do), if, for example, my heldrake leaves the table from my opponent's table side, it will come back into play next turn from my table side. That would mean the heldrake could travel a very long distance by that time.
My friends and I find that the heldrake should re-enter by the side it left, but we cannot find the right answer to our question by the BRB. So we are going to houserule that, but I would like to know what will happen when I put down my 3 drakes on the table in a game out of my inner circle of friends.
Thanks
|
Sorry for my writing, I'm french and trying the best I can. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/07 10:26:47
Subject: Ongoing reserves re-enter side
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
The heldrake enters from your side. Those are the rules.
IIRC there is a restriction on things with ongoing reserves not getting to outflank and the like.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/07 12:36:55
Subject: Ongoing reserves re-enter side
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The rulebook is quite clear that they always re-enter from the controlling player's table side. Think of it as the aircraft having to swoop around in a big arc and make another pass. This also prevents you from easily getting rear armor shots by coming in the side you left from.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/07 12:37:54
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/07 15:26:24
Subject: Re:Ongoing reserves re-enter side
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Wow.....we've been playing this wrong. I could have swore we saw somewhere that you come back on from the board edge you left on, but looking at the rules again, that's completely wrong
|
::1750:: Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/07 17:05:04
Subject: Ongoing reserves re-enter side
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
liturgies of blood wrote:The heldrake enters from your side. Those are the rules.
IIRC there is a restriction on things with ongoing reserves not getting to outflank and the like.
Would need a source for this... I don't believe that is in the BRB. Losing your special rules would be an absolutely game-changer for deepstrike mishaps, if so. Being put into on-going reserves would mean that now you have to walk that unit of terminators on from your board edge rather than DSing them, rendering them essentially useless. I do not think that this is how it works.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/07 17:16:38
Subject: Re:Ongoing reserves re-enter side
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
Boston, MA
|
NickTheButcher wrote:Wow.....we've been playing this wrong. I could have swore we saw somewhere that you come back on from the board edge you left on, but looking at the rules again, that's completely wrong
Only in Fantasy.
|
0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/07 19:06:32
Subject: Re:Ongoing reserves re-enter side
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
How does this effect deep strikers that have to go back into ongoing reserves? They need to enter from their board edge? That seems weird.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/07 19:36:34
Subject: Ongoing reserves re-enter side
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Cheesedoodler wrote: liturgies of blood wrote:The heldrake enters from your side. Those are the rules.
IIRC there is a restriction on things with ongoing reserves not getting to outflank and the like.
Would need a source for this... I don't believe that is in the BRB. Losing your special rules would be an absolutely game-changer for deepstrike mishaps, if so. Being put into on-going reserves would mean that now you have to walk that unit of terminators on from your board edge rather than DSing them, rendering them essentially useless. I do not think that this is how it works.
Read outflank, it is specified there in the second paragraph.
I never said DS.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/07 23:38:05
Subject: Ongoing reserves re-enter side
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
I think it was your use of "and the like". what other methods are there to deploy out of reserves, other than Outflank and Deep strike?  Do SW still get the special outflank to come in on the enemy's board edge?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/07 23:38:21
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/07 23:52:47
Subject: Ongoing reserves re-enter side
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
No. It is outflanking but with a better list of things to roll on. It says so in the first line of the rule.
"and the like" means just that, things like outflank and modified outflanks like behind enemy lines.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/07 23:53:39
|
|
 |
 |
|