Switch Theme:

Hover Mode Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Murrieta, CA

Can a flyer that is currently in hover mode pivot on the spot before it decides to re-enter zooming mode?


Relevant Rules Excertps
"A flyer with the hover type must declare whether it is going to Zoom or Hover before it moves each Movement phase." (Pg 81 BRB)

"Pivoting on the spot alone does not count as moving..." (Pg 71 BRB)

My conclusion is yes, but I would like to know if you guys think I am reading a little too closely into the rules here?

Space Marines (Anything but BA or GK): 6k
Tau: 3k

-Thaylen 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol





Seems like rule lawyering to me. However RAW is usually gospel, and a quick ctrl+F of the FAQ can't find anything.

People won't be happy, but they don't really have a leg to stand on.


Star Trek taught me so much. Like, how you should accept people, whether they be black, white, Klingon or even female...

FAQs 
   
Made in us
Battleship Captain





NYC

Absolutely.

Pivoting isn't moving, and you declare zooming before you move.

The order of operations:

Pivot->Declare Zoom->Zoom

is just as legal as:

Don't Pivot->Declare Zoom->Zoom


Dakka member since 2012/01/09 16:44:06

Rick's Cards&Games 1000pt Tourney: 2nd
Legion's Winter Showdown 1850: 2nd Place
Snake Eyes 1000pt Mixed Doubles: 3rd Place

Elysian 105th Skylance W:37-L:3-D:6 in 6th Edition

The Captain does HH:Imperial Fists! Tale of Four Gamers Plog (New Batrep posted!) 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor






 TheCaptain wrote:
Absolutely.

Pivoting isn't moving, and you declare zooming before you move.

The order of operations:

Pivot->Declare Zoom->Zoom

is just as legal as:

Don't Pivot->Declare Zoom->Zoom



and once your hover mode, can't you just pivot anynumber of times you'd like during the movement? similiar tanks?

On building Tyranid army flow chart.

Do you have enough Termagaunts?
No > Add More
Yes > No you don' t > Add more
 
   
Made in us
Battleship Captain





NYC

 g0atsticks wrote:
 TheCaptain wrote:
Absolutely.

Pivoting isn't moving, and you declare zooming before you move.

The order of operations:

Pivot->Declare Zoom->Zoom

is just as legal as:

Don't Pivot->Declare Zoom->Zoom



and once your hover mode, can't you just pivot anynumber of times you'd like during the movement? similiar tanks?


Well yes, but this is referring to the next movement phase. Like this.

Turn 1:
Hover->Pivot->Move->Pivot

But Turn 2 is in question, specifically whether or not you declare "Zoom" before or after pivoting.


Dakka member since 2012/01/09 16:44:06

Rick's Cards&Games 1000pt Tourney: 2nd
Legion's Winter Showdown 1850: 2nd Place
Snake Eyes 1000pt Mixed Doubles: 3rd Place

Elysian 105th Skylance W:37-L:3-D:6 in 6th Edition

The Captain does HH:Imperial Fists! Tale of Four Gamers Plog (New Batrep posted!) 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Moving to YMDC.

Pivoting alone does not count as moving, but it is part of the vehicle's movement. You can't, for example, pivot your vehicle outside of the movement phase (except for vehicles which can move in the assault phase).

So if you're going to move a Flyer, the first thing you have to do is declare the movement mode, and then you'll be bound by that. You can't pivot it before it starts its move. Any pivoting is actually part of its movement for that turn.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Also the actual wording is

"A vehicle that only pivots during the movement phase does not count as moving"

Therefore in order to pivot freely as a hovering flyer you would need to continue being a hovering flyer

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Murrieta, CA

 Flinty wrote:
Also the actual wording is

"A vehicle that only pivots during the movement phase does not count as moving"

Therefore in order to pivot freely as a hovering flyer you would need to continue being a hovering flyer


The part you just quoted is the second half of the sentence I quoted in my OP. The previous part (the part I have quoted), is the rule regarding pivoting. The part you are quoting is a clarification of the first part of the sentence.

Space Marines (Anything but BA or GK): 6k
Tau: 3k

-Thaylen 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

You basically pick to be a flyer or a skimmer before you get to do anything else in the movement phase with the Flyer. So it happens before you can pivot.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"Pivoting on the spot alone does not count as moving, so a vehicle that only pivots in the Movement phase counts as Stationary" P. 71

If the only movement you are doing is pivoting, then the pivoting does not count as moving.

If you are moving as well as pivoting then the pivoting counts as movement.

This rule is pretty clear.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 Mannahnin wrote:
You can't, for example, pivot your vehicle outside of the movement phase (except for vehicles which can move in the assault phase).


And Walkers in the Shooting phase.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Good reminder, thanks! Walkers do pivot toward their target in the shooting phase, of course.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/10 03:58:25


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






 Thaylen wrote:
 Flinty wrote:
Also the actual wording is

"A vehicle that only pivots during the movement phase does not count as moving"

Therefore in order to pivot freely as a hovering flyer you would need to continue being a hovering flyer


The part you just quoted is the second half of the sentence I quoted in my OP. The previous part (the part I have quoted), is the rule regarding pivoting. The part you are quoting is a clarification of the first part of the sentence.


Even if that's true, the only permission to pivot is provided in the form of the following rule:

"Vehicles can turn any number of times as they move, just like any other model. Vehicles turn by pivoting on the spot about their centre-point..." (emphasis mine)

If your vehicle isn't moving it has no permission to pivot, and if your Flyer hasn't declared if it is Zooming or Hovering, it can't move.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Hence the specify that it "does not count as moving" though in actuality pivoting is part of movement.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







 Thaylen wrote:
 Flinty wrote:
Also the actual wording is

"A vehicle that only pivots during the movement phase does not count as moving"

Therefore in order to pivot freely as a hovering flyer you would need to continue being a hovering flyer


The part you just quoted is the second half of the sentence I quoted in my OP. The previous part (the part I have quoted), is the rule regarding pivoting. The part you are quoting is a clarification of the first part of the sentence.


Indeed. So if the vehicle does anything other than pivoting alone, then it counts as moving and to do that you need to define what type of flyer movement you're using. You can't pivot and then choose because then the flyer would be doing 2 separate movement actions, which isn't allowed.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I think Drunkspleen and Flinty have just about got it surrounded. Seems to me like you need to declare your type in order to be able to move (or pivot freely). Good question, though. I could see how this could lead one into thinking they had fallen into a murky grey area in the rules.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: