| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 11:24:19
Subject: Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
The Ork Big Mek can take a Junka as a dedicated transport. If I also take Kommandos led by Snikrot, which a Big Mek could join and so be able to outflank, would the whole unit be able to outflank inside the Junka Transport?
Cheers
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 11:33:42
Subject: Re:Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
I dont see anything preventing it. Only restrictions are "at least one model with outflank special rule" in the unit.
And if it has a dedicated transport you have to come on the table embarked in it. BRB p.40
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/28 11:34:08
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 11:42:54
Subject: Re:Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
Aw man, I seriously hope nobody comes and rains on my parade here because that would be fantastic news.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 11:49:38
Subject: Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
A Dedicated Transport can only contain, at the beginning of the game, "the unit it was selected with (plus any Independent Characters that have joined it)."
The Junka is not the Kommando's dedicated transport, nor are the Kommandos IC's attached to the unit that did buy it, so they can't be embarked upon it at the beginning of the game. Thus Snikrot can't be embarked on it, and can't grant if Infiltrate and thus Outflank.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 12:01:06
Subject: Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
Chrysis wrote:A Dedicated Transport can only contain, at the beginning of the game, "the unit it was selected with (plus any Independent Characters that have joined it)."
The Junka is not the Kommando's dedicated transport, nor are the Kommandos IC's attached to the unit that did buy it, so they can't be embarked upon it at the beginning of the game. Thus Snikrot can't be embarked on it, and can't grant if Infiltrate and thus Outflank.
Missed that part. Seems correct. But its not "at the beginning of the game" but "when it is deployed". BRB P. 78
But still preventing this tactic.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/28 12:02:38
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 12:07:27
Subject: Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
Its an interesting issue of semantics. Independant characters joun squads and become part of the squad for all intents and purposes. At that point, arguably the unit that purchased the dedicated transport no longer exists so no other unit could start in the transport. How does this logic stack up against the wording of ICs joining units?
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 12:15:10
Subject: Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
Flinty wrote:Its an interesting issue of semantics. Independant characters joun squads and become part of the squad for all intents and purposes. At that point, arguably the unit that purchased the dedicated transport no longer exists so no other unit could start in the transport. How does this logic stack up against the wording of ICs joining units?
Jeah since this would also prevent any unit like boys to join the big mek in his transport during normal deployment too. Seems weird.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 13:28:54
Subject: Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Not that weird, as the same dedicated transport rule has been around for 3 editions now (at least)
THere jsut arent many ICs that can take a dedicated transport. Lord commisars can, from memory
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 07:43:47
Subject: Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Not that weird, as the same dedicated transport rule has been around for 3 editions now (at least)
THere jsut arent many ICs that can take a dedicated transport. Lord commisars can, from memory
It being there for 3 editions doesnt make it less weird. I think they will just take out those options when redoing the codices so that problem shouldnt occur anymore. At least i hope so  .
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 07:48:07
Subject: Re:Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
Dedicated transports are totally bogus. Taking a unit just to get say, a Trukk for another unit, is ridiculous
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 20:19:23
Subject: Re:Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
If the Kommandos have infiltrate, this is also barred.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 22:18:28
Subject: Re:Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
Dakkamite wrote:Dedicated transports are totally bogus. Taking a unit just to get say, a Trukk for another unit, is ridiculous
Yet they are part of the game and in the rules. If you don't like it, you and your buddies you play with can agree to change the rules to whatever you all want. Otherwise, deal with the fact they are in the game and that is how they work.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 23:44:09
Subject: Outflanking, characters, and dedicated transports
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Mywik wrote:It being there for 3 editions doesnt make it less weird. I think they will just take out those options when redoing the codices so that problem shouldnt occur anymore. At least i hope so  .
For Orks, this has been a problem in 2 separate codexes so far... In the 3rd edition codex it was even worse, since Warbosses could take a dedicated trukk of their own, and at that point in time dedicated transports could only ever transport the unit they were purchased for.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/29 23:44:25
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|