Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/10 03:50:02
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I agree with ScootyPuff on that one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/11 15:12:37
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Question on Bossk's crew card:
If my ship is already stressed, do I still get the Focus/ TL from Bossk? It seems like I should, as they are separate sentences? Am I reading what I want to see, rather than what it actually says?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/11 16:21:25
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
If you are already stressed when Bossk activates, then you don't get another stress token. You do get a focus and Target lock. As you said... separate sentences.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/11 16:21:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/11 16:58:32
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
As it says then wouldn't you need to receive the stress to be able to get the focus and target lock?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/11 17:45:53
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
statu wrote:As it says then wouldn't you need to receive the stress to be able to get the focus and target lock?
No.
Do what the card says which is recieve a stress token if you don't have one, then assign a focus token and acquire a target lock on the defender. Nothing written on the card requires you to take a stress token to complete the effect, it just forces you to take one if you don't have one already.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/11 19:21:34
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Anpu-adom wrote:If you are already stressed when Bossk activates, then you don't get another stress token. You do get a focus and Target lock. As you said... separate sentences.
ScootyPuffJunior wrote:Do what the card says which is recieve a stress token if you don't have one, then assign a focus token and acquire a target lock on the defender. Nothing written on the card requires you to take a stress token to complete the effect, it just forces you to take one if you don't have one already.
Cool, I was reading that right. PTL + Bossk on 4-Lom isn't wasting one card all the time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/11 20:30:00
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
But why wouldn't you pair Bossk with gunner?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/11 22:03:21
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Because that is an illegal build. The G-1A starfighter has 1 crew slot. It's rather obvious Bossk and Gunner were meant to be taken together on a YV-666 but that does not preclude Bossk's use on other ships with one Crew slot.
|
Proud supporter of
It is human nature to seek culpability in a time of tragedy. It is a sign of strength to cry out against fate, rather than to bow one's head and succumb.
-Gabriel Angelos |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/12 00:36:57
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Yes, it wouldn't work on the G-1A, but the effects of Bossk and Gunner on a YV-666 is stronger, I feel, than Bossk and 4-Lom. But, that is a discussion for another thread... feel free to make one, and I'll join in.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/17 09:36:04
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Leashed Pupnik
italy
|
hi guys!
I have a rapid question, i'd look in the faq but...
if Wampa cancels 2 or more Crit damages, he deals 2 or more damage cards or just one?
He's strong with targ comp, isn'he?
maybe with youngster w/marksmanship??
thank you!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/17 11:12:26
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Do what the card tells you to do, not what it doesn't tell you to do (or what you want it to do).
Wampa's card text says this:
When attacking, you may cancel all dice results. If you cancel a critical result, deal 1 facedown Damage card to the defender.
If you decide to cancel your dice and there is a critical result, you deal a facedown damage card. It doesn't say "For each critical result..." so no matter how critical results you cancel, you can only deal one damage card.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/02 15:15:21
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions
|
ScootyPuffJunior wrote:Do what the card tells you to do, not what it doesn't tell you to do (or what you want it to do).
Wampa's card text says this:
When attacking, you may cancel all dice results. If you cancel a critical result, deal 1 facedown Damage card to the defender.
If you decide to cancel your dice and there is a critical result, you deal a facedown damage card. It doesn't say "For each critical result..." so no matter how critical results you cancel, you can only deal one damage card.
To add on:
Not sure if this has been covered already, but someone in the Xwing TMG reddit forum emailed FFG about WHEN you cancel your dice, and were told that it occurs during the "compare results" step. This is awesome, because it means you can attack and see if the opponent evades before you cancel a crit for damage.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/03 12:14:56
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Just checking I've got this right in my head, fairly sure its right but not 100%
Twin Laser Turret and Tactician, in arc, at range 2 equals 2 stress tokens as Tact triggers on 'after an attack'
and
Twin Laser Turret and R3-A2, in arc, at range 2 is only 1 stress token as per the FAQ you only declare target once with TLT, which is when stressbot triggers
|
"AND YET YOU ACT AS IF THERE IS SOME IDEAL ORDER IN THE WORLD, AS IF THERE IS SOME...SOME RIGHTNESS IN THE UNIVERSE BY WHICH IT MAY BE JUDGED." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/03 13:38:42
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Yes.
Tactician triggers twice and R3-A2 triggers once with TLT.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/03 13:47:47
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
And R3-A2 must be declared when the target is declared... cannot be used after you see what damage is being done.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/06 16:32:27
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
The stress is almost as sweet as the damage, so I'd say that's not a big drawback. Automatically Appended Next Post: I'd a stupid question, and I always try to find the answer in the booklet but never seem to...
When can you and can't you check arcs?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/06 16:33:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/06 16:54:55
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
I think, but it's off the top of my head so may be wrong, you only check when you've declared an attack, at the same step you check range etc.. but you are free to declare an alternate target should the original one be found to be ineligible.
This could be out of date or just plain wrong though.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/06 20:12:33
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Azreal13 wrote:I think, but it's off the top of my head so may be wrong, you only check when you've declared an attack, at the same step you check range etc.. but you are free to declare an alternate target should the original one be found to be ineligible.
This could be out of date or just plain wrong though.
You're pretty much right:
Declare Target: The attacker may measure range to any number of enemy ships and check which enemy ships are inside his firing arc. Then the attacker chooses one of his weapons to attack with. Then he chooses one enemy ship to be the target and pays any costs required for the attack.
You get to measure whatever you want, then you pick a weapon, then you pick a ship, and then you roll your dice (if you can meet the condition of your chosen attack).
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/06 21:24:10
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Ok so I'm using a twin laser turret that is range 2-3. Part of the enemy ship is in range 1 part is in range 2. Am I able to shoot at him?
|
Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/06 21:35:42
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
From the Learn to Play guide: Range: Range is the distance between the attacker and target ship as measured with the range ruler. To measure range for an attack, place the Range 1 end of the ruler so that it touches the part of the attacker’s base that is closest to the target ship. Then point the ruler toward the closest part of the target ship’s base that is inside the attacker’s firing arc. The lowest section (1, 2, or 3) of the ruler that overlaps the target ship’s base is the range between the ships. The target ship is within range if it is at Range 1–3. In the advanced game, the attacker or defender can gain a bonus.
From Section 3 of the FAQ: “At” vs. “Within” “At” means the closest part of the target’s base touches that range section. For example, when attacking a ship whose base touches both Range 2 and Range 3, that ship is at Range 2. “Within” means wholly within. For example, normal tournament deployment is “within Range 1 of the table edge.” You always use the lowest range when shooting. So if the nearest part of the opponents base is at Range 1, you can't target that ship with a TLT or HLC. Automatically Appended Next Post: Azreal13 wrote:I think, but it's off the top of my head so may be wrong, you only check when you've declared an attack, at the same step you check range etc.. but you are free to declare an alternate target should the original one be found to be ineligible.
This could be out of date or just plain wrong though.
You can also check range when you are taking the target lock action... Or learn the rule of 11.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/03/06 21:41:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/06 22:27:58
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
I was thinking more of shenanigans to get outside of arcs, regarding boosts and barrel rolls.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/06 22:39:14
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
No, for that you need to have your eye in.
If I can give any advice to help with that, be sure to stand up if you're playing seated, that change in altitude (which at 6'5" can be quite a swing in my case) can really distort what looks like it's in arc or range. Been caught like that on more than one occasion.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/06 23:12:03
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
Don't I know it. Although I stand a mere 5' 7'' and a half (very important half), parallax has sometimes stolen me a range 1 shot by a few millimeters.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/06 23:12:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/11 23:09:39
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
I have an Autothrusters question based off some strange wording in the most recent FAQ (that seems to contradict the way I've seen AT played & interpreted)
Autothrusters does not trigger if the ship equipped
with Autothrusters is inside the attacker’s primary or
auxiliary firing arc at Range 1–2.
If a ship with a turret weapon attacks a ship equipped
with Autothrusters, first measure closest point to
closest point to determine range, then use the printed
firing arc on the attacker to determine whether the
defender is in the attacker’s firing arc
(Emphasis in the original)
To me this could be read to say that AT never triggers if the defender is in the primary arc at any range, and only triggers vs turrets/auxiliary arcs at range 3. But it could also be read that AT ONLY triggers at range 3 (or greater) regardless of primary vs. aux arc.
So, do autothrusters ONLY work at range 3 regardless of primary vs. secondary arc? I've seen it interpreted/played as working at R3 vs primary and any range if outside of the primary arc, but that seems inconsistent with the FAQ (now)...
I'm rather hoping I'm reading this wrong as it would seem like a pretty significant nerf to Tie Interceptors especially
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/11 23:31:05
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
They always work at R3.
They always work outside of Primary/Auxiliary arcs.
Simple and easy to remember.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/11 23:51:51
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Sorry if I'm being dense about this but is there a difference between auxiliary arcs and turret arcs? I don't own any of the ships/expansions with 'em, so I'm not as familiar with the wording & differences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 00:11:27
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
Yes
An auxiliary arc is a second fire arc. It works exactly the same as the primary arc, and upgrades trigger the same, but points in a non standard direction. You have the rear 90 on the Firespray and the two extra 45 fronts on the YV666 (to make a total 180 forward.)
Turrets do not have auxiliary arcs, they have their front arc as standard like every other ship, but the crucial difference is they have permission to target outside of their primary arc.
The Ghost when it lands will possibly have all three, as it can have its primary, the auxiliary from a docked Phantom and an equipped turret upgrade, but the docked Phantom arc is referred to as "special" on the card, and it may not work exactly the same.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 00:12:42
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Apostasus wrote:Sorry if I'm being dense about this but is there a difference between auxiliary arcs and turret arcs? I don't own any of the ships/expansions with 'em, so I'm not as familiar with the wording & differences.
An auxiliary arc is printed on the pilot chit that goes on the base. An example is the button firing arc of a Firesprays or the 180 arc of a YV-666.
Conversely, a turret ship doesn't actually have a secondary printed arc. It has that loop arrow. A turret upgrade simply let's you attack outside your primary firing arc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/13 21:17:23
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Azreal13 wrote:Yes
An auxiliary arc is a second fire arc. It works exactly the same as the primary arc, and upgrades trigger the same, but points in a non standard direction.
Not exactly 100%. It is not *treated* as a primary for all intents and purposes. Secondary weapons state they must be fired from a primary firing arc. And an Auxiliary firing arc is not a primary firing arc.
There's a reason they had to FAQ the auxiliary arcs to cancel autothrusters and trigger tactician. because they are *not* primary firing arcs.
|
Proud supporter of
It is human nature to seek culpability in a time of tragedy. It is a sign of strength to cry out against fate, rather than to bow one's head and succumb.
-Gabriel Angelos |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/14 13:30:14
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
A follow-up question about firing arcs:
The VCX-100 has an auxiliary firing arc on it's rear, but the ship card itself does not actually have the Auxiliary Firing Arc icon
Compare to a Firespray:
So nomrally, a VCX-100 can only fire it's primary weapon from it's primary firing arc. You then have the Ghost and Phantom titles to specifically enable the VCX-100 to fire it's primary weapon from it's rear arc.

So far so clear. Let's say that we have the Ghost with a docked Phantom being pursued by Soontir Fel. Fel strays into the rear firing arc within range 2, and so when the Ghost fires it's primary weapon from it's rear firing arc, Fel doesn't get to benefit from autothrusters. The same would be true of the follow-up shot from the Ghost's turret weapon, since again the conditions for autothrusters are not met (Fel is within range 2, and within a firing arc).
Here's my question: let's say we have the same situation, but the VCX-100 doesn't have the title card (or maybe the Phantom isn't docked). The ship can't shoot it's primary weapon from the rear arc, so that's a moot point. But what about the turret weapon? If Fel gets shot by the VCX-100's TLT, and he's within that rear fire arc, does it still "count" as being within a firing arc? By my understanding of the current rules and FAQ, I don't think it matters that the VCX-100 can't actually fire it's primary weapon from that arc, the mere presence of a firing arc prevents autothrusters from triggering.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/14 13:30:56
|
|
 |
 |
|