Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/04 10:50:52
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
1) Weapons Engineer - "You may maintain 2 target locks (only 1 per enemy ship). When you acquire a target lock, you may lock onto 2 enemy ships.", could someone clarify if I declare a TL action with the Weapons Engineer I get two Blue and two Red tokens, the self confusing part of my brain is suggesting it's one Blue and two Red
Essentially whenever you 'target lock' you target lock twice, on two seperate ships (as opposed to Redline, who has the slightly more useful ability -in isolation of other cards - to target lock the same dude twice).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/04 10:51:09
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/08 11:52:03
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
I think I read somewhere that Omega Leader prevented use of C-3P0, is that correct?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/08 13:14:32
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
That is my reading on it, yes. If the source of the modification is not the ship that is locked, then it works. If the source is the ship being locked, then Omega Leader prevents it from working. That includes adding results like C3-PO.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/08 23:41:22
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Correct. Adding results counts as dice modification, and C-3PO adds a die result*. Adding dice (range-1 bonus, Jan Ors, etc), on the other hand, is not dice modification, so you will still add and roll those dice against Omega Leader.
*Interestingly this die result is treated as any other die result. It can be re-rolled, canceled by crack shot, etc.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/09 12:47:37
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Peregrine wrote:Correct. Adding results counts as dice modification, and C-3PO adds a die result*. Adding dice (range-1 bonus, Jan Ors, etc), on the other hand, is not dice modification, so you will still add and roll those dice against Omega Leader.
*Interestingly this die result is treated as any other die result. It can be re-rolled, canceled by crack shot, etc.
Which is why C-3PO isn't great against Zuckuss Crew.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/13 03:28:22
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Does autothrusters trigger in auxiliary/ mobile firing arcs?
My initial guess is "no" but I've been wrong in the past...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/13 04:04:37
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Apostasus wrote:Does autothrusters trigger in auxiliary/ mobile firing arcs?
My initial guess is "no" but I've been wrong in the past...
No. It is still an arc.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/19 14:41:07
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
When does one use crack shot? In the "attacker modifies " defense dice step? Or during the compare results stage?
I checked the FAQ and didn't see a clarification on that... so I'd assume that it happens in the former...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/19 15:19:16
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The 'cancel' part of Crackshot is the clue... you only cancel results in the Compare Results Stage (which is too late to change a focus to an evade if they haven't done so already).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/21 01:38:53
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Apostasus wrote:When does one use crack shot? In the "attacker modifies " defense dice step? Or during the compare results stage?
I checked the FAQ and didn't see a clarification on that... so I'd assume that it happens in the former...
It's in the FAQ on the third page and it says that it happens at the start of the "Compare Results" step.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/21 14:51:03
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
I ran into an interesting situation last night, while playing Ketsu Onyo. I bumped into the Inquisitor during my maneuver. Since he was in both my mobile and regular firing arc (they were one and the same that turn), my opponent and I asgreed that I could assign the Inquisitor a tractor beam token. Thus barrel rolling out of contact, thus leaving him at the mercy of my attack.
Did we miss something, or did we do it right? I was able to really pound him because of that (I had another ship ready to pounce after that second tractor beam token from the title left him at 1 evade die).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/21 15:14:35
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I think that you did things right.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/22 03:13:13
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Mathieu Raymond wrote:I ran into an interesting situation last night, while playing Ketsu Onyo. I bumped into the Inquisitor during my maneuver. Since he was in both my mobile and regular firing arc (they were one and the same that turn), my opponent and I asgreed that I could assign the Inquisitor a tractor beam token. Thus barrel rolling out of contact, thus leaving him at the mercy of my attack.
Did we miss something, or did we do it right? I was able to really pound him because of that (I had another ship ready to pounce after that second tractor beam token from the title left him at 1 evade die).
This is correct (and something I mentioned in my first impressions post), Ketsu Onyo is a really nasty blocker if you can get them to bump in your arc. The rule against shooting a ship you're touching only applies if you are touching at the moment the attack is made, touching at some earlier point in the turn and then separating has no effect. And of course Ketsu Onyo's ability does not have anything that suggests you can't put the tractor beam token on a ship you're touching.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/22 23:27:28
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Wording question for ion Torpedoes:
"The Defender _and each ship at range 1 of it_ receives 1 ion token"
Could this be read to mean that the Defender receives 2 tokens? Ships are at range 1 of themselves...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/23 00:15:10
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Apostasus wrote:Wording question for ion Torpedoes:
"The Defender _and each ship at range 1 of it_ receives 1 ion token"
Could this be read to mean that the Defender receives 2 tokens? Ships are at range 1 of themselves...
No. That statement establishes a list of which ships to apply the effect to (the defender and each ship at range 1), then tells you what effect to apply (one ion token each). For the defender to get two ion tokens it would have to be something like "the defender receives one ion token, then each ship at range 1 of the defender receives one ion token".
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/23 01:04:30
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Yeah, figured it was probably too good to be true
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/31 01:18:33
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
So... let's assume that I am behing completely silly and load a Gunner into a VCX-100. If I do get one of my TLT shots that does not hit, do I get to shoot my primary guns?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/31 01:36:19
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
Mathieu Raymond wrote:So... let's assume that I am behing completely silly and load a Gunner into a VCX-100. If I do get one of my TLT shots that does not hit, do I get to shoot my primary guns?
Yes, if it is the TLT shot at PS. If you take a gunner attack, you lose the Phantoms shot. If you take the Phantoms shot, you lose the gunners shot. This is because both prevent additional attacks that round.
|
Q: What do you call a Dinosaur Handpuppet?
A: A Maniraptor |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/31 01:38:17
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mathieu Raymond wrote:So... let's assume that I am behing completely silly and load a Gunner into a VCX-100. If I do get one of my TLT shots that does not hit, do I get to shoot my primary guns?
I'm pretty sure this was in the FAQ, Gunner was erratad to "you may", but if you use you it you forfeit any secondary attack. So if you miss the first TLT shot, you can "optionally" use Gunner, but you forfeit the second TLT shot. If you miss on the second TLT shot, you can use Gunner for a third shot with your primary. Though as Crazy_Carnifex points out, you can't use it in conjunction with the Phantom.
EDIT: Sorry, wrong information.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/10/31 13:33:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/31 12:32:17
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
I was inquiring about the regular, at PS, shot. I hadn't checked the FAQ recently. So it might be more worthwhile to use dice modification on the first TLT shot, make sure it goes through.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/31 13:09:47
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Wait, I was mistaken, sorry. I just checked the more recent FAQ with the timing chart, and the entry for Gunner says "When using a secondary weapon that says “perform this attack twice”, both attacks must miss for Gunner to activate."
I was thinking back to an older version which said something like, "When Gunner is used to perform a primary weapon attack, any additional attacks (such as from Cluster Missiles) are forfeited." TLT sounded like the "such as", but I guess with the new timing chart it has changed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/31 13:15:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/31 14:56:49
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
Well frak. That's not ideal. Not that I was comtemplating doing it, but still.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/07/21 13:15:40
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Question about the Stygium Particle accelerator:
Because the wording is "you may perform a free evade action" does that mean you are limited to 1 evade (total) per round?
I was considering a sigma Squadron to use as a blocker of sorts: decloak, evade, move, cloak (get 2nd evade?), which if it works would be a pretty nimble & survivable blocker (with the ability to take some hard shots when needed). But it's notably less good with only one evade...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/21 14:28:55
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Apostasus,
Yes... you can take a specific action only once per turn... even if it is free.
Which is different from receiving a token for that action.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/21 14:30:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/21 14:30:04
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Apostasus wrote:Question about the Stygium Particle accelerator: Because the wording is "you may perform a free evade action" does that mean you are limited to 1 evade (total) per round? I was considering a sigma Squadron to use as a blocker of sorts: decloak, evade, move, cloak (get 2nd evade?), which if it works would be a pretty nimble & survivable blocker (with the ability to take some hard shots when needed). But it's notably less good with only one evade...
Yeah, only one of the same action per turn, I can't see why it would be different. I've thought about something similar to use on Echo, but the one Evade bit takes the fun out of it. :( If you just wanted to use it as a blocker, you could go with Stealth Device instead, and just keep it cloaked rolling 5 dice each turn, and then use your action to Focus. You could also pump defence further with Recon Specialist: 5 Agility and two Focus Tokens is going to be pretty much unkillable. Though I think I'd prefer Enhanced Scopes and Saboteur/Mara Jade on a blocker... Hellish expensive, but it would do what you want.. EDIT: Remember that with 4+ Evade dice, a Focus Token is usually better. Less than 3 Agility dice Evade Token is better.
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2016/11/21 14:38:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/21 17:06:53
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
So, I was watching the MD regionals on Steletv the other day when it was said/ruled that Zuckuss doesn't work on Omega Leader when OL has a TL (cannot modify any dice when attacking or defending).
Would that logic also work on 4-lom? I tend to think that preventing OL from modification by spending a token is different from modification...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/21 18:31:12
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
4-LOM should work fine against O leader, he doesn't modify dice, he just blocks a token.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/22 05:17:56
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Smacks wrote:4-LOM should work fine against O leader, he doesn't modify dice, he just blocks a token.
Correct. Preventing the use of tokens is not dice modification. Zuckus, on the other hand, re-rolls dice (obviously dice modification) which is why it doesn't work against OL.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/22 15:04:41
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Timing of the Dengar counter attack vs Defender/ D:
In my match last night, it tangentially came up to wonder when Dengar gets to shoot back at a Defender tossing a tractor beam and a primary weapon.
The /D title says that the 2nd shot takes place _after_ the cannon... but the wording is similar for Dengar.
In the interest of time my opponent and I agreed that since I had the initiative, I got to decide the order (and Vessery got his Primary shot before being killed) but I don't know if we played it right.
Thoughts (citations)?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/22 15:32:35
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You played it correctly.This situation is explained in step 9 of the timing flowchart (see the FAQ). Apostasus wrote:I got to decide the order (and Vessery got his Primary shot before being killed)
Technically, Vessery should always get his primary shot before being killed, as step 9 has to be resolved for all ships before models are removed.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2016/11/22 15:42:40
|
|
 |
 |
|