Switch Theme:

Casting blessings on units that arrive from reserve  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

EDIT: while the thread title is similar to a current thread, it's a different topic

 Happyjew wrote:
Long story is what constitutes when a unit arrives from reserves?


This conversation began in a different thread, but I thought I'd start a new thread, to avoid derailing the other.

So the FAQ let us know that Scrier's Gaze could actually affect Reserves and Outflank, but that entry also pushed me in the direction that no, units which arrive from Reserve that turn cannot benefit from
blessings. Outflank's wording ("When an Outflanking unit arrives from Reserves") seems to lend credence to the idea that a psyker previously on the table can cast a blessing on a unit the turn it arrives.

So the question is, does the unit arrive with the roll, or are roll and arrival two different things?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/16 02:08:16


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper






Rochester, NY

See the Rulebook FAQ, pg 7

- 5200
- 2000 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The rules for Reserves, Outflank and Deep Strike have a few things to say about arrival:

1) If the roll is X or more, that unit arrives this turn.
2) When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below.
3) Deep Strike instead deals with the deployment of the unit in a slightly different way, after rolling for the arrival of units.
4) Outflank is rolled for when the unit arrives from Reserves.

Putting this all together, the Reserve Roll only determines which units will actually be arriving, however the deployment/movement onto the board is the arrival. As such since there is no restriction on rolling all Outflank rolls at the same time, I am of the opinion that Blessings can be cast on a unit that arrived from reserves that turn. Unless of course the caster himself also arrived.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 launcelot7891 wrote:
See the Rulebook FAQ, pg 7


The question isn't what happens first - it is "Do units arriving from reserve move onto the table with the "Start of Turn" actions (such as rolling Outflank and Blessings/Maledictions), or do they move onto the table afterwards (meaning all rolls including Outflank and Psychic tests are done before you move any unit from Reserves onto the table)?"

As an aside I think a poll might be useful in this case (unless one has been done before, can't remember).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/16 02:21:52


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Are you asking can a psyker arrive from reserves and then cast scrier's gaze and have it effect the rest of the reserves rolls for that turn?

From the context of paragraph 5, right column, page 124 of the brb. I'd say no and that you have to roll for all of your reserves at once as it says you pick from the unit's arriving.

The fact that blessings and reserves happen at the same time and you can choose in what order to do them doesn't mean that you can split reserves in two and cast blessings in the middle. You'd need to resolve reserves fully before you do your blessings or vice versa.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

liturgies I updated my post while you were typing. The question is not if a psyker that arrived from reserves can cast a power, it is can a psyker already on the table at the start of the turn can cast a power on a unit that arrived that turn.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper






Rochester, NY

I don't understand. Why wouldn't the psyker be able to cast a power if it's already on the table?

- 5200
- 2000 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Uggh. There appears to be some confusion.


The question is:

Can a Psyker on the table at the start of the turn cast Blessings on a unit that arrived from Reserves that turn?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Am I missing the point of this thread then as the FAQ stated how that works?

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

If the reserves are done first and I've always read the Arriving from Reserves section as happening as a block(the fact roll outflank is in the faq leads me to believe this too), the units are on the board when it's time for the blessings.
Since outflank says you roll for it when "a unit arrives from reserves" and you deploy it "When reserves arrive.." paragraph 5 as noted above, I'd say it looks to be all good.

If you want to use scrivers gaze, that looks to need to be done before you roll your reserves so in that case the rest of the blessings would also need to be done before reserves as you've chosen the order that things kick in for this turn.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/16 03:16:55


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper






Rochester, NY

All of that happens simultaneously, so you get to choose which is resolved first, since it's your turn. If you resolve all of the reserve business first, then resolve psychic powers, then yes, you would be able to cast a blessing on a unit that just came in, because its deployment has been resolved.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/16 02:39:16


- 5200
- 2000 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 liturgies of blood wrote:

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.


The underlined is where I think the potential problem lies. My question (I'm the OP!) is, "Are 'roll' and 'arrival' the same thing?" Because we can definitely cast Scrier's Gaze to affect Reserve Rolls. But does the roll of the reserve die occur at the same time as the arrival of the unit the die was rolled for? I don't think it's quite clear in the Reserves rule in the BRB.
I had previously been leaning toward "No, they are different things; rolls happen before arrival." But HappyJew pointed out that OUTFLANK rolls seem to occur at the same time as unit arrival, which would mean that blessings also therefore occur at the same time as unit arrival.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

The roll for outflank happens when the unit is being deployed as per my outline above and what happy said. Since that faq says that reserves, outflank and blessings are simultaneous and outflanking rolls are part of deployment, I don't see any other way to play it than you can choose to do all your reserves and all of your blessings in either order.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/16 03:30:24


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

It's when you roll only doesn't say roll and deploy. Or when you roll your blessings and maladictions.

So the FAQ only clears up the order on when they occur and you can bless away the roll for reserves, or roll reserves the bless away.

The second you move anything before a blessing, the casting is cannot be done. Because, outflank, deep strike, and walking or flying on all all considered movement.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Lungpickle wrote:
It's when you roll only doesn't say roll and deploy. Or when you roll your blessings and maladictions.

So the FAQ only clears up the order on when they occur and you can bless away the roll for reserves, or roll reserves the bless away.

The second you move anything before a blessing, the casting is cannot be done. Because, outflank, deep strike, and walking or flying on all all considered movement.

The outflank roll is simultaneous with deploying the models. Agreed?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

rigeld2 wrote:
The outflank roll is simultaneous with deploying the models. Agreed?


Agreed.

Edit: typo

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/16 15:04:50


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The rules for Reserves would seem to indicate that a unit arriving from Reserves "moves" onto the table. That is movement and means that the Movement Phase is underway once units arriving from Reserves are placed. As such, things that occur "at the start of the Movement Phase", such as the casting of Psychic powers, has already occurred before the unit comes on the table. Since the target needs to be on the board when the power is cast, I would say "no" you cannot target a unit arriving from reserves.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Elric Greywolf wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
The outflank roll is simultaneous with deploying the models. Agreed?


Agreed.

Edit: typo
Based on what? Outflank rolls are done at the beginning of the Movement Phase, the models are "deployed" during the Movement Phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/16 17:30:28


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

helotaxi wrote:
 Elric Greywolf wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
The outflank roll is simultaneous with deploying the models. Agreed?

Agreed.
Based on what? Outflank rolls are done at the beginning of the Movement Phase, the models are "deployed" during the Movement Phase.
Is that Outflank roll as in which side they arrive on? As in different to their Reserve roll?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




That would be the one, yes. The FAQ implies that roll happens simultaneous with the Reserves roll and "Beginning of Movement Phase" psychic rolls. Those determine whether something arrives and how. That is not the same as actually arriving i.e. being placed on the board.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The outflank side roll is made when the unit arrives - as you said, arriving is being placed on the board.

Per the FAQ you can choose to do psychic powers after the Outflank rolls - or after units arrive.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

rigeld2 wrote:
The outflank side roll is made when the unit arrives - as you said, arriving is being placed on the board.

Per the FAQ you can choose to do psychic powers after the Outflank rolls - or after units arrive.

I see where you're coming from
Outflank p40 wrote:When an Outflanking unit arrives from Reserves, but not Ongoing Reserve, the controlling player rolls a D6

Since the Outflank roll happens at the start of the phase, before movement, then units move onto the table from reserve also before movement.
So units arriving from Reserve can have Blessings cast on them by a Psyker already on the table.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

helotaxi wrote:
The rules for Reserves would seem to indicate that a unit arriving from Reserves "moves" onto the table. That is movement and means that the Movement Phase is underway once units arriving from Reserves are placed.

No. From page 124 of the rulebook:

When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below. Then he picks another unit and deploys it, and so on until all arriving units are on the table. The player can then proceed to move his other units as normal

The section I emphasised in bold is when the Movement phase would begin, not before.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thats one way of looking at it, the other way is that is there movement and the movement phase has now started. There is no RAW answer to this that is clear, the arguement for is movement from reserves is movement therefore the movement phase has started, the arguement against is there is no break between rolling for reserves and bringing them on.


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





MarkyMark

What do you do if 2 units arrive from outflank in the same turn?

You roll the first and have to deploy them immediately. Can you then roll for the 2nd unit (in which case you can still cast blessings) or does the game break?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





MarkyMark wrote:
Thats one way of looking at it, the other way is that is there movement and the movement phase has now started. There is no RAW answer to this that is clear, the arguement for is movement from reserves is movement therefore the movement phase has started, the arguement against is there is no break between rolling for reserves and bringing them on.

Well, no - the RAW is pretty clear.
When you roll for sides on Outflank, the models must arrive. This is the same time other models in Reserve arrive. The FAQ explicitly allows Blessings to be cast after that.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





No rule book on me but does it say anywhere in the rules for reserves that they move?.

The game does not break as you simply resolve psyhic powers first then reserves as per FAQ.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





So how do you resolve the 2nd out flank roll after the first unit has moved on?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 FlingitNow wrote:
So how do you resolve the 2nd out flank roll after the first unit has moved on?


I cast my powers before rolling for reserves rather simple that.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





MarkyMark wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
So how do you resolve the 2nd out flank roll after the first unit has moved on?


I cast my powers before rolling for reserves rather simple that.


So dodging the question it is. I'll take this as you conceding if you refuse to answer the question again:

So I have 2 units arrive from out flank. I roll for the first one and it is then moved onto the board.

Am I allowed to roll for the 2nd unit? Yes or No?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





ITs the internet take it as what you want. I have already answered it clearly, I roll my powers before reserves as I have said above RAW movement from reserves is movement so I cast my powers at the start of the movement phase.

Seeing as you have ignored MY question, does that mean I win this discussion?,


MarkyMark wrote:
No rule book on me but does it say anywhere in the rules for reserves that they move?.

The game does not break as you simply resolve psyhic powers first then reserves as per FAQ.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





I'm not talking about you rolling your psychic powers. When you choose to do that is up to you are per the FaQ. I'm not even talking about when someone can roll for their psychic powers. I'm talking about rolling for Outflank. Can you roll for Outflank after moving a different Outflanking unit onto the table?

As for your question are you still away from your rulebook? Yes reserves states that "when units arrive" they move on to the board (page 124) note this is the same timing as rolling for outflank.

Time for you to concede either directly or by refusing to answer the question.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes I would roll outflank etc together, but what does that prove?, does it prove that when you roll reserves then outflank then move your units into the table it is no longer start of the movement phase, therefore blessing cannot be done.

Regardless of you saying but it has to be done start of turn that is fine, movement from reserves is movement as you have agreed therefore no longer start of the movement phase.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: