Switch Theme:

Flaming, poisoned attacks?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

Bit of a unusual one i guess, but are both effects possible to be used on the same weapon?

Skinks have poisoned blowpipes as standard.
If i put a BSB with the eternal flame banner with them, it confers flaming attacks to both combat, and shooting weapons.

So, in theory, can the skinks blowpipes then benefit from flaming and poisoned?
Wanted to check this one as it could come in pretty handy from time to time.

And also, would the razor standard work in the same way again?
Adding in armour piercing to the unit.
If so, could it in theory be possible to have armour piercing, flaming and poisoned, all on the same blowpipe attacks?


Seems pretty damn nasty, so wanted to check before i got any ideas.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Flaming can be ranged. I think really only KB and AP doesn't apply to ranged unless it says so explicitly. AP applies to a weapon or CC by default. Hell, DoC's new cannon is magic and flaming and D6 (of course).

   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

Was checking more to see if i can stack flaming and poison on the same weapons.
Would give my skinks even more of an edge against things like trolls and the likes.

   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

Pretty sure you can - have had it in WoC lists quite often with no complaints. AP stacks with both too, but as said, usually only CC

Nite 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





However plagueswords (which are magic weapons) with a magic flaming banner does not work.
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

Howw come?

Nite 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

These things tend to say they don't affect magic weapons.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Are you planning on putting a BSB in with the skinks with the flaming banner, or are you thinking of casting flaming sword on them?

Both gives them flaming attacks, but it seems like a waste of the BSB to give them the flaming banner.

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

Its more the fact that someone i know now runs a troll army, so a unit of 20 blowpipe skinks with flaming aswell really will help out to no end.

Or, on the other end of the thought, how does it affect a mount?
Edit: Never mind on this one, as it states in the ridden monster section that special rules do not pass to the monster.
So flaming cannot be given to a stegadon for example, only its crew.
But it does open up the "what if" on the bolt thrower and giant blowpipes.
Would they gain flaming?
It is in theory a weapon/s used by the crew.
And in such a case, the crew would be the unit, just all riding a ridden monster.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/24 18:55:34


   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

A spell/item that affects the whole unit tends to affect mounts as well unless otherwise stated. Mount are part of the unit after all.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





fareham, hants, uk

Yes poisoned and flaming in this manner stacks.

I used to use a similar tactic for my Tomb Kings archer death star.

50 archers plus Queen Khalida and Herald BSB with flaming banner.

Khalida grants the unit poisoned arrows. BSB grants flaming.

So i could auto wound on 6's to hit with shooting that then negated regen. Ogres and hell pits used to cry.

All anyone wants in the world is to be accepted. Except me, i don't give a S%@t.

Armies of Mixer
WHFB-Ogres, WoC, Lizardmen, Tomb Kings, Tzeentch Daemons, OnG

40K- Tau,Guard, Nids, SM, BA, GK, IK, DW

The Hobbit/LOTR- Evil, Angmar, Mordor
 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

Hoverboy - Issue is, on P82 it states that with cav units, special rules do not apply to both rider and mount unless it specifies.

Also, P105 states the rules for ridden monsters (ie: a stegadon) and makes it clear they function like cav with regards to special rules and effects.

So, with this ruling a banner that confers flaming, in my opinion would only effect the crew.
Also, the weapon mounted on the stegadon is not part of the crew either, thus not working with the flaming rules.

Its weird though, because while the bow and giant blowpipe come with the stegadon, its the crew that must fire it.
Now do they confer it to the weapon?
Or does it count as a special weapon and cannot gain the effects?

All bloody confusing

An ideal world would be that the banner confers it to every part of the model (crew, weapon and monster)
But it seems certain parts of the rules pick this theory apart.

   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

 Jackal wrote:
Hoverboy - Issue is, on P82 it states that with cav units, special rules do not apply to both rider and mount unless it specifies.

It states that special rules of the mount/rider don't transfer to the other unless it specifies, if a rule is applied to the whole unit via spell/item it applies to them both as they are all part of the unit.

Example: Cav unit has the banner of flame in it who gets the bonus?
The answer is everybody, since the banner just affects all the models, not all the riders or all the mounts.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/26 04:46:23



Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

 HoverBoy wrote:
These things tend to say they don't affect magic weapons.


Yes, but they can still effect things that simply have magical attacks.

If plagueswords are not listed as magic weapons specifically you can effect them.

Ensorcelled Weapons are an example of a weapon with magical attacks that isn't a magic weapon.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





All daemon weapons are magic weapons. They did it to be jerks.

   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: