Switch Theme:

Mephiston and BRB powers. my point.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Lungpickle wrote:
The FAQ is referring to blood angel librarian. The reference the Mephiston is permission to use brb powers or book powers. The second half refers to the ba librarian only...

Except it doesn't, since that first part clarifies that 'BA Librarian' includes Mephiston.


To read it any other way is just pedantic,...

Reading the rule as it is written is not 'being pedantic'.

As has been mentioned further up the thread, Mephiston isn't the only special character who doesn't wind up with a number of powers equal to his mastery level.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Lungpickle wrote:
The FAQ is referring to blood angel librarian. The reference the Mephiston is permission to use brb powers or book powers. The second half refers to the ba librarian only...

Cool opinion bro.
Meph is ml3 and can cast 3 so gets 3 , book and or codex. To read it any other way is just pedantic, and serves no purpose to the game itself.

Now - without using the second sentence (since according to you, that's only for librarians and not meph) what disciplines does he have access to?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:
They are made official by GW but are not authored by the company. Sorry but it is true and has been for a long time, ever heard of the direwolf council?


Citation definitely needed...!! Not that it matters anyway - GW have still signed off on it. They own the release.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Super Ready wrote:
 Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:
They are made official by GW but are not authored by the company. Sorry but it is true and has been for a long time, ever heard of the direwolf council?


Citation definitely needed...!! Not that it matters anyway - GW have still signed off on it. They own the release.

It isnt true, at all.

A very good friend of mine works for the design Studio, and has answered some of the more recent FAQs.
   
Made in gb
Ambitious Acothyst With Agonizer




nosferatu1001 wrote:
 Super Ready wrote:
 Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:
They are made official by GW but are not authored by the company. Sorry but it is true and has been for a long time, ever heard of the direwolf council?


Citation definitely needed...!! Not that it matters anyway - GW have still signed off on it. They own the release.

It isnt true, at all.

A very good friend of mine works for the design Studio, and has answered some of the more recent FAQs.


Also one of the more recent DE FAQs was sent in from one of the Mods on the dark city, complte with the answer they thought is shoud be. This was copied verbatim from his submission, even with an intentional typo included. If these went through a third party process this would have been ammended not lifted.




 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando




North Carolina

Yep, as others have said: If you elect to swap out the powers then Mephie drops to two powers, but has three warp charges (if you roll on a two charge power).

I speculate they've done this for one of two reasons:
1. They want to dissuade people from trading out the powers.
2. They didn't want to theorycraft all the ways Mephiston could be broken with three powers because of his stat line.

Most likely I think it's option two. Roll three times on biomancy and the chances to break him are way too high. Iron arm makes him beastly, endurance turns him into a terminator, leech life makes him almost unkillable, and warp speed could give him 7 attacks in CC.

Basically rolling for three powers is only disappointing if you roll a 2 and a 6.


40k
8,500
6,000
5,000
4,000

WFB
Skaven 6,500


 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Lungpickle wrote:

I don't plat ba but I would never rule my opponents mephy can't cast 3.


I don't think anyone would. I assume he has a Force weapon? So two BRB powers and a Force activation = 3 Warp Charges. He's still using all his PMLs.

As already pointed out, Older codices suffer from this new PML business. Even in the newest GK book (which had PMLs before 6th ed!), the FAQ did some funny things.
For example: Coteaz knows three GK powers, but can only take two BRB powers. He is PML2.
Another: A GK Libby gets rolls equal to his PML, AND he retains Hammerhand. So he always knows one more power than he has Mastery Levels.
Both things aren't intuitive. I'd think Coteaz could generate 3 powers, since he knows three in the codex; I'd be wrong. I'd think a PML2 Libby could only roll one BRB power, since he already knows Hammerhand; again, wrong.

So then, we are left with following the BA FAQ exactly, in the same manner as GK players must follow. As some other folks already said, if "he" in the first sent. includes Mephiston (which it does), then the following "he" must also include Mephiston. If we diagram the sentence, then the subject of the first sentence is "A Blood Angels Librarian." The phrase "(including Mephiston)" clarifies to the reader what a BA Librarian actually is. The pronoun "he" in the second sentence refers us back to the subject of the first sentence, which includes Mephiston. It's pretty clear, and not poorly worded at all.


The benefit to a BA Libby is that he ALWAYS generates two powers, regardless of his PML. So a PML1 Libby will know two powers, allowing you more chances to get that really cool roll, or allowing you to choose the more beneficial power each turn. Get Iron Arm and Prescience in a Lvl1 Libby, and he can TL the squad when at shooting range, and then Iron Arm himself for challenges.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Lungpickle wrote:

I don't plat ba but I would never rule my opponents mephy can't cast 3.


I don't think anyone would. I assume he has a Force weapon? So two BRB powers and a Force activation = 3 Warp Charges. He's still using all his PMLs.

Or if meph gets a Warp Charge 2 power and a warp charge 1 power, then he uses all 3 charges if he casts both powers.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Slippery Scout Biker




Plymouth England

OP
"unless stated otherwise a Psyker knows a number of psychic powers equal to its Mastery Level." straight from BRB

so the FAQ states "A Blood Angels Librarian (including Mephiston) may use the psychic disciplines found in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook, instead of those in Codex:Blood Angels. If he does so, generate
two new powers from the Biomancy, Divination, Telepathy or Telekinesis disciplines (in any combination) before armies are deployed."

so lets use logic to pick this appart:

-we all agree Mephiston is a librarian, potentially L3 (i use vanilla marines) now all Space Marine librarians (including Mephiston) have access to all Psychic Power disciplines.

-Given Mephiston is L3,congratulations, now it clearly states UNLESS OTHERWISE stated a psyker generates a number of powers equal to his level.

-Now going back to the FAQ, nice and clear, he can only generate 2 powers. which falls under the UNLESS OTHERWISE stated part of the BRB

I mean come on not that hard is it

1 Tactical Sergeant Finished 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Chris Lysander wrote:
all Space Marine librarians (including Mephiston) have access to all Psychic Power disciplines.

lolno?
BA FAQ wrote:Biomancy, Divination, Telepathy or Telekinesis

SM FAQ wrote:Biomancy, Pyromancy, Telepathy or Telekinesis

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator




BRB - Psykers 'unless otherwise stated' get a number equal to master level.
FAQ (ie specific rules) states Blood Angels librarians get 2 powers.
Mephiston is included as a Blood Angels librarian.
Mephiston get's 2 rulebook powers.

Its hardly complicated.

White Scars 2000 points
Guard 3000~ points
Grey Knights 875 points 
   
Made in gb
Slippery Scout Biker




Plymouth England

rigeld2 wrote:
Chris Lysander wrote:
all Space Marine librarians (including Mephiston) have access to all Psychic Power disciplines.

lolno?
BA FAQ wrote:Biomancy, Divination, Telepathy or Telekinesis

SM FAQ wrote:Biomancy, Pyromancy, Telepathy or Telekinesis


well sorry for being slightly off on one thing for once, its not like i get my libby out with anything but codex powers anyway

1 Tactical Sergeant Finished 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

Chris Lysander wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Chris Lysander wrote:
all Space Marine librarians (including Mephiston) have access to all Psychic Power disciplines.

lolno?
BA FAQ wrote:Biomancy, Divination, Telepathy or Telekinesis

SM FAQ wrote:Biomancy, Pyromancy, Telepathy or Telekinesis


well sorry for being slightly off on one thing for once, its not like i get my libby out with anything but codex powers anyway


Apology accepted.

   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

As tated, he gets 3 rolls. ML3 so 3 powers.

Also, incase you know someone like I do, who thinks Mephiston can.mix Codex and book powers (and not even a newbie neckbeard, an experienced player with a family.

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Deadshot wrote:
As tated, he gets 3 rolls. ML3 so 3 powers.

As stated, this is incorrect. Please read the thread.

Also, incase you know someone like I do, who thinks Mephiston can.mix Codex and book powers (and not even a newbie neckbeard, an experienced player with a family.

He can't...

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

rigeld2 wrote:
 Deadshot wrote:
As tated, he gets 3 rolls. ML3 so 3 powers.

As stated, this is incorrect. Please read the thread.

Also, incase you know someone like I do, who thinks Mephiston can.mix Codex and book powers (and not even a newbie neckbeard, an experienced player with a family.

He can't...


He can, based on my interpretation of RAI and HIWPI, and also of the wording. It says BA Librarians and not Mephiston, so it is not stated otherwise. So generates 3 as per the normal procedure.

And he can't I.know. That's what I was saying.

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 Deadshot wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Deadshot wrote:
As tated, he gets 3 rolls. ML3 so 3 powers.

As stated, this is incorrect. Please read the thread.

Also, incase you know someone like I do, who thinks Mephiston can.mix Codex and book powers (and not even a newbie neckbeard, an experienced player with a family.

He can't...


He can, based on my interpretation of RAI and HIWPI, and also of the wording. It says BA Librarians and not Mephiston, so it is not stated otherwise. So generates 3 as per the normal procedure.

And he can't I.know. That's what I was saying.


Actually, the FAQ specifically states "BA Librarians (INCLUDING Mephiston)", and that is a RAW discussion, not RAI/HIWPI; as has been pointed out previously in this thread. So yes, please, read the thread first.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/17 18:23:08


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Deadshot wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Deadshot wrote:
As tated, he gets 3 rolls. ML3 so 3 powers.

As stated, this is incorrect. Please read the thread.

Also, incase you know someone like I do, who thinks Mephiston can.mix Codex and book powers (and not even a newbie neckbeard, an experienced player with a family.

He can't...


He can, based on my interpretation of RAI and HIWPI, and also of the wording. It says BA Librarians and not Mephiston, so it is not stated otherwise. So generates 3 as per the normal procedure.

And he can't I.know. That's what I was saying.

So when it says (including mephiston) - that doesnt include Mephiston?

Your RAW literally involves ignoring the written rules.
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

No it doesn'. Its a misremembering of a single word. I remembered it as "A Librarian" rather than "he," so yeah, I was wrong.

Secondly, I have read the thread. RAI has as much weight as RAW, to me, but you may disagree.

Finally, it really won't make a difference to me in my meta, as the only person who runs Mephiston is the guy who s adamant he can mix codex and BRB powers, and 3 of them. And I am adamant otherwise and would refuse to play him with that. Unless I was running Nids with Swarmlord.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
To clarify, I wasn't stating it excluded Mephiston. The line which dictates two powers, I remembered as a seperate sentence that did not specifically say "Including Mephiston."
However as I misremembered "A Librarian" as opposed to "he," the "he" is inclusive of both.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/17 19:21:02


I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





... The first post in the thread literally quoted the FAQ word for word.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

Well, and no offense to you, OP, was not formatted as FAQ quotes usually are, in italics to be exact, so I guess imI must have brushed over it. More to the point,I made a mistake because I misremembered and admitted it, so besthing to do is just drop it.

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Deadshot wrote:
Well, and no offense to you, OP, was not formatted as FAQ quotes usually are, in italics to be exact, so I guess imI must have brushed over it. More to the point,I made a mistake because I misremembered and admitted it, so besthing to do is just drop it.


Usually FAQ quotes are presented as follows:
FAQ wrote: This is an example of general FAQ quotes.


A mistake was made, no biggie. No one is perfect.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

Tomato, tomato. Usually I see italics too but maybe that's just coincidence.l

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: