Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 12:54:56
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Can an eldar with Fast Shot use it with a Gun Emplacement, such as the Avatar with Fast Shot firing an Icarus Lascannon?
Rules in question...
Fast Shot(Eldar pg104)
"This model always fires one more shot than is normal for his weapon. No effect on Template weapons."
Gun Emplacement(BRB pg105)
"One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules for shooting."
There is an entire semantic argument for use of "his weapon" in the rules whether one constitutes ownership or use, but I'd like to offer another point which has been missed in my research. I believe an FAQ is required to clear this issue up as stands, but with the inclusion of the below rule it may be more clear.
Nominate Unit to Shoot(BRB pg12)
"During the Shooting Phase, a unit containing models armed with ranged weapons can be nominated to make a shooting attack."
The Gun Emplacement rules points us to the "normal rules for shooting" which requires a unit be armed with it shooting weapon making the firer of an emplacement "armed" with the emplaced weapon in regards to shooting. Armed constitutes possession, ownership, and use in regards to using Fastshot with a Gun Emplacement as it applies to shooting.
Edit:
This argument hinges on the definition of "his". His can be defined as possession or association. Association clearly allows for the use of Fast Shot with Emplaced weapons unless there is an FAQ stating that this refers to possession and only the original weapon is allowable. If he is armed with it, allowed to fire it, it is "his" in this instance.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/24 16:40:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 13:17:24
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Does the gun emplacement using 'normal rules for shooting' include model specific special rules like fast shot?
If it does, then I'll suddenly be a happy 'Dark Reaper exarch with the icarus lascannon' user.
I've been waiting for an faq to tell me which way this works for a while now...
|
Blacksails wrote:
Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 13:21:30
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
PredaKhaine wrote:Does the gun emplacement using 'normal rules for shooting' include model specific special rules like fast shot?
If it does, then I'll suddenly be a happy 'Dark Reaper exarch with the icarus lascannon' user.
I've been waiting for an faq to tell me which way this works for a while now...
Model specific shooting rules ie Fast Shot are in addition to the Normal Shooting rules I'd be inclined to say yes. Once armed, with regards to shooting, with the emplacement Fast Shot should work as if it were any other armed ranged weapon. At that time, "his weapon" simple refers to use and possession.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 14:28:26
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Fast Shot(Eldar pg104)
"This model always fires one more shot than is normal for his weapon. No effect on Template weapons."
Gun Emplacement(BRB pg105)
"One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules for shooting."
If you shoot the Emplacement instead of His Own Weapon, then you cannot really use abilities that use his weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 15:25:15
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
He is firing the Lascannon, that is his weapon that he is firing that phase, so you get to use fast shot.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 16:25:39
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
Columbia SC
|
Hawaii Matt has it correct;
Fast shot applies to the model's stock weapon. The Icarus/Quadgun is fired in lieu of firing th model's weapon. Fast Shot does not apply to any weapon fired by the model or it would say so.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 16:32:31
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Fast shot says "This model always fires one more shot than is normal for his weapon. No effect on Template weapons."
The weapon he is shooting is his weapon.
he is using the weapon and thus it is his. Albeit temporarily, but the weapon is still his.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 16:37:23
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:Hawaii Matt has it correct;
Fast shot applies to the model's stock weapon. The Icarus/Quadgun is fired in lieu of firing th model's weapon. Fast Shot does not apply to any weapon fired by the model or it would say so.
Supported by what exactly?
It is clear that the Emplacements rule is possessive, replacing his equipped weapon for that shooting phase. But, the Fast Shot rule can be use instead of possession and does not necessarily mean the weapon he was equipped with, and since the normal shooting rules are followed the model is counted as armed with the Emplacement's weapon. Once armed with the Emplacement weapon, it is his to fire that shooting phase and Fast Shot applies.
Neither ruling is fully conclusive and a n FAQ is required, but there are strong arguments both ways, and it falls on a very ambiguous word, "his". "His" can mean possession or association, in this case association clearly allows for the use of Fast Shot. People hing on it being possession, but that clearly is not conclusive as his has more than a simple definition.
As written the rule allows for the use of Fast Shot with an Emplacement weapon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/24 16:37:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 16:49:55
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
Columbia SC
|
Zagman wrote: Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:Hawaii Matt has it correct;
Fast shot applies to the model's stock weapon. The Icarus/Quadgun is fired in lieu of firing th model's weapon. Fast Shot does not apply to any weapon fired by the model or it would say so.
Supported by what exactly?
It is clear that the Emplacements rule is possessive, replacing his equipped weapon for that shooting phase. But, the Fast Shot rule can be use instead of possession and does not necessarily mean the weapon he was equipped with, and since the normal shooting rules are followed the model is counted as armed with the Emplacement's weapon. Once armed with the Emplacement weapon, it is his to fire that shooting phase and Fast Shot applies.
Neither ruling is fully conclusive and a n FAQ is required, but there are strong arguments both ways, and it falls on a very ambiguous word, "his". "His" can mean possession or association, in this case association clearly allows for the use of Fast Shot. People hing on it being possession, but that clearly is not conclusive as his has more than a simple definition.
As written the rule allows for the use of Fast Shot with an Emplacement weapon.
Supported by what, well the rule description for one. When the statement refers to "his" weapon then it means the what weapon the model comes with. It is very clear that Fast Shot only applies to the "his" weapon. Now the emplaced gun is not "his" weapon, it is part of a separate model. In fact the rule for emplaced weapons supposrts this by stating a model in base contact may choose fire the emplaced weapon instead of "his" weapon. Again pretty clear.
An FAQ is not required for this, what you are seeking is a chance that a ruling will favor your ability to abuse a rule for the sake of advantage. In fact I would go so far as to say that the majority of people commenting on YMDC are trying to argue for undue advantage. In this case it is quite clear what is meant as well as what is stated.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 16:54:57
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
Oregon
|
I could see the argument for Fast Shot not working. The emplacement rule "One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules for shooting."
Instead of. If he's using a weapon instead of his own weapon, he's not using his weapon - he's using something else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 17:16:23
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Gwyidion wrote:I could see the argument for Fast Shot not working. The emplacement rule "One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules for shooting." Instead of. If he's using a weapon instead of his own weapon, he's not using his weapon - he's using something else.
Right, he is using his new weapon that he has a chance to fire because he is now in base contact with it. Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:Supported by what, well the rule description for one. When the statement refers to "his" weapon then it means the what weapon the model comes with. It is very clear that Fast Shot only applies to the "his" weapon. Now the emplaced gun is not "his" weapon, it is part of a separate model.
The Gun emplacement is not a separate model, it is not a model, as defined by the 40K rules, at all.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/24 17:18:00
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 17:29:42
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
I'd say yes. It's annoying, but I would certainly allow it. If a Vindicaire can use his targetting thing with the Icarus, then the Eldar can use fast shot. Not backed up or anything, just HIWPI.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 17:38:05
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet
|
I'm agreeing with Hawaiimatt on this one, it seems to me that the gun emplacement is not "his" weapon, merely the weapon that he is shooting this phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 18:13:19
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:Zagman wrote: Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:Hawaii Matt has it correct;
Fast shot applies to the model's stock weapon. The Icarus/Quadgun is fired in lieu of firing th model's weapon. Fast Shot does not apply to any weapon fired by the model or it would say so.
Supported by what exactly?
It is clear that the Emplacements rule is possessive, replacing his equipped weapon for that shooting phase. But, the Fast Shot rule can be use instead of possession and does not necessarily mean the weapon he was equipped with, and since the normal shooting rules are followed the model is counted as armed with the Emplacement's weapon. Once armed with the Emplacement weapon, it is his to fire that shooting phase and Fast Shot applies.
Neither ruling is fully conclusive and a n FAQ is required, but there are strong arguments both ways, and it falls on a very ambiguous word, "his". "His" can mean possession or association, in this case association clearly allows for the use of Fast Shot. People hing on it being possession, but that clearly is not conclusive as his has more than a simple definition.
As written the rule allows for the use of Fast Shot with an Emplacement weapon.
Supported by what, well the rule description for one. When the statement refers to "his" weapon then it means the what weapon the model comes with. It is very clear that Fast Shot only applies to the "his" weapon. Now the emplaced gun is not "his" weapon, it is part of a separate model. In fact the rule for emplaced weapons supports this by stating a model in base contact may choose fire the emplaced weapon instead of "his" weapon. Again pretty clear.
An FAQ is not required for this, what you are seeking is a chance that a ruling will favor your ability to abuse a rule for the sake of advantage. In fact I would go so far as to say that the majority of people commenting on YMDC are trying to argue for undue advantage. In this case it is quite clear what is meant as well as what is stated.
Supported only by your interpretation based upon your choice to use only part of the definition of "his". When the model is allowed to use the gun emplacement, he is firing it and is associated with that weapon for that shooting phase. That constitutes association and it is "his" weapon. Nowhere is it supported that "his weapon" can only refer to the weapon purchased on that model. In fact, there is no rule support to give him that possessive, "his weapon' refers to the weapon the model is firing plain and simple. Its association, not possession and a very clear distinction. In this you've made assumptions as to your understood definitions and personal preferences and in turn started making rules calls based upon them. There is what the rules say, and what assumptions you have made, and your assumptions are not necessarily correct.
It is not rule abuse, other models are allowed to use their special rules when firing a weapon emplacement, what I am looking for is the correct interpretation of the rule and a level playing field. Note, I have never attempted this combination, but thought it could be effective and wondered if it was rules legal. Automatically Appended Next Post: Andilus Greatsword wrote:I'm agreeing with Hawaiimatt on this one, it seems to me that the gun emplacement is not "his" weapon, merely the weapon that he is shooting this phase.
And that is an association, and fits wholly under the definition of his as it is referenced there. It is not "his" in a possessive sense, but is his in an associative sense, and that is what matters. The weapon he is shooting in that shooting phase is his weapon in regards to shooting.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/24 18:14:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 19:14:50
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
Columbia SC
|
DeathReaper wrote:Gwyidion wrote:I could see the argument for Fast Shot not working. The emplacement rule "One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules for shooting."
Instead of. If he's using a weapon instead of his own weapon, he's not using his weapon - he's using something else.
Right, he is using his new weapon that he has a chance to fire because he is now in base contact with it.
Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:Supported by what, well the rule description for one. When the statement refers to "his" weapon then it means the what weapon the model comes with. It is very clear that Fast Shot only applies to the "his" weapon. Now the emplaced gun is not "his" weapon, it is part of a separate model.
The Gun emplacement is not a separate model, it is not a model, as defined by the 40K rules, at all.
Deathreaper and everyone else trying to read meaning into how the term "his" is interpretted.
Point blank, as usual you are trying to argue a point for the explicit purpose of abusing a rule for advantage. It is clear to anyone with a modicum of common sense that the referred term of "his" applies to what the model has on it's profile. Is there any model, Eldar or any other, with "Icarus Lascannon" listed in its weapons or wargear? No, didn't think so. This is the only concept that truly matters in this instance. Arguing what is and isn't a model or unit is a distraction and offers no valuable weight to the argument. If a weapon is not listed in the profile then Fast Shot will not affect it period.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 19:18:11
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
|
I have spoken to tournament organizers concerning this exact topic, and based on rules judgement from them and the quotes from both the Eldar Codex and the BRB, the prevailing answer is:
Yes, Fast Shot does indeed affected gun emplacements. Automatically Appended Next Post: Some quotations from a previous topic I posted to confirm this:
1) found a usefull bit page 96 in the big rule book
"manual fire
a model can use one of the emplaced weapons instead of his own. Use the fireing model's bs and the line of sight of the weapon. All relevant special rules from the fireing model and weapon are used"
2)Look at the wording for firing a Gun Emplacement in the BRB. Taken with this, I believe it allows the Exarch to get an extra Lascannon shot (or a 5th quad gun shot).
3) The turrets fire as if they were the model's weapon IIRC.
Post I started: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/540128.page#5850989
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/24 19:21:12
"Russ - This guy is basically werewolf Dick Cheney. No pity at all."
-Vulgar, because it was too funny not to steal |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 19:22:19
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Gwyidion wrote:I could see the argument for Fast Shot not working. The emplacement rule "One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules for shooting."
Instead of. If he's using a weapon instead of his own weapon, he's not using his weapon - he's using something else.
Right, he is using his new weapon that he has a chance to fire because he is now in base contact with it.
Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:Supported by what, well the rule description for one. When the statement refers to "his" weapon then it means the what weapon the model comes with. It is very clear that Fast Shot only applies to the "his" weapon. Now the emplaced gun is not "his" weapon, it is part of a separate model.
The Gun emplacement is not a separate model, it is not a model, as defined by the 40K rules, at all.
Deathreaper and everyone else trying to read meaning into how the term "his" is interpretted.
Point blank, as usual you are trying to argue a point for the explicit purpose of abusing a rule for advantage. It is clear to anyone with a modicum of common sense that the referred term of "his" applies to what the model has on it's profile. Is there any model, Eldar or any other, with "Icarus Lascannon" listed in its weapons or wargear? No, didn't think so. This is the only concept that truly matters in this instance. Arguing what is and isn't a model or unit is a distraction and offers no valuable weight to the argument. If a weapon is not listed in the profile then Fast Shot will not affect it period.
Getting a bit testy are we? Personal insults and accusations don't make your opinion any more valid.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 19:32:31
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
|
Does fast shot list a specific weapon? No - only the weapon being fired that turn.
Is fast shot linked to the equipped weapon, or in the characters profile? - Character
Does an existing special rule in the game enhance a model's use of a mounted weapon despite it not being 'his'? - Yes, precision shot.
It seems that fast shot being used with a mounted gun has both the precedence in existing rules as well as support from RAW.
I would say yes, it is allowed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 19:47:21
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Gwyidion wrote:I could see the argument for Fast Shot not working. The emplacement rule "One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules for shooting."
Instead of. If he's using a weapon instead of his own weapon, he's not using his weapon - he's using something else.
Right, he is using his new weapon that he has a chance to fire because he is now in base contact with it.
Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:Supported by what, well the rule description for one. When the statement refers to "his" weapon then it means the what weapon the model comes with. It is very clear that Fast Shot only applies to the "his" weapon. Now the emplaced gun is not "his" weapon, it is part of a separate model.
The Gun emplacement is not a separate model, it is not a model, as defined by the 40K rules, at all.
Deathreaper and everyone else trying to read meaning into how the term "his" is interpretted.
Point blank, as usual you are trying to argue a point for the explicit purpose of abusing a rule for advantage. It is clear to anyone with a modicum of common sense that the referred term of "his" applies to what the model has on it's profile. Is there any model, Eldar or any other, with "Icarus Lascannon" listed in its weapons or wargear? No, didn't think so. This is the only concept that truly matters in this instance. Arguing what is and isn't a model or unit is a distraction and offers no valuable weight to the argument. If a weapon is not listed in the profile then Fast Shot will not affect it period.
Take a deep breath and back away from the keyboard. Slinging insults and attacking the character of the persons offering valid opposing arguments without offering the same in return is in poor taste. Please offer valid counter arguments or avoid insults or abstain from posting. Thank you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 19:57:52
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Do not apply motive when there is none, it weakens your argument, it is rude to do so, and it is simply not true.
I do not play Eldar, so I have never encountered the Fast shot rule in a game setting.
It does seem unclear so I would play it as the least advantageous way and not use Fast shot with the Lascannon if I were playing Eldar. During a friendly game I would allow my opponent to use the rule with the Icarus Lascannon, in a tournament I would ask the TO what his ruling was and play it that way.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 21:06:16
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
Oregon
|
deathmagiks wrote: 1) found a usefull bit page 96 in the big rule book "manual fire a model can use one of the emplaced weapons instead of his own. Use the fireing model's bs and the line of sight of the weapon. All relevant special rules from the fireing model and weapon are used" 3) The turrets fire as if they were the model's weapon #1 does two things: in my opinion, it supports the idea that a model's weapon is "his" and the emplacement is not. This is because it stipulates the special alterations firing the emplacement (they could have written "exactly as his own" if they wanted to). However, it also effectively moves the intent of fast shot into RaI with the second sentence (for me). Although it could be argued it still doesn't count because the relevant rule states "his weapon" and it is clear that the emplacement is instead of his weapon. I don't see any section of the rulebook that stipulates any and all weapons a model utilizes become "that model's own" or possessed by that model. I can of course understand why that is assumed and why everyone plays it that way - it makes sense. I wouldn't stop someone from using fast shot on an icarus/quadgun - but I think RaW allows someone to argue that Fast Shot cannot be used with an emplacement. #3 is critical and needs a BRB citation - if the rule is "as if it were the models weapon" - we're done here. And hang on: Does an existing special rule in the game enhance a model's use of a mounted weapon despite it not being 'his'? - Yes, precision shot. The fact that, as played, people use precise shots on mounted guns does not mean the rules necessarily allow this. I'll check my BRB when i get home, but do the turret rules and precision shot rules interface in this exact way?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/24 21:06:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 23:41:04
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwyidion wrote:The fact that, as played, people use precise shots on mounted guns does not mean the rules necessarily allow this. I'll check my BRB when i get home, but do the turret rules and precision shot rules interface in this exact way?
The rules do support this pg. 63 for the Precision shots. Pg 96 shows that special rules from the firing model do apply to the weapon being fired, which would include Fast Shot, etc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 08:32:54
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Big Blind Bill wrote:Does fast shot list a specific weapon? No - only the weapon being fired that turn.
Is fast shot linked to the equipped weapon, or in the characters profile? - Character
Does an existing special rule in the game enhance a model's use of a mounted weapon despite it not being 'his'? - Yes, precision shot.
It seems that fast shot being used with a mounted gun has both the precedence in existing rules as well as support from RAW.
I would say yes, it is allowed.
1), nothing to say about only the weapon being fired that turn. Gun emplacement is not his weapon, that is clear RAW.
2) Yes fast shot is a special rule, sadly the "his weapon" bit precludes him using it on a gun emplacement, you are more then welcome to use fast shot special rule, except it has no effect with a gun emplacement.
3) Care to list the precedence?
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 09:10:11
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
|
1), nothing to say about only the weapon being fired that turn. Gun emplacement is not his weapon, that is clear RAW.
2) Yes fast shot is a special rule, sadly the "his weapon" bit precludes him using it on a gun emplacement, you are more then welcome to use fast shot special rule, except it has no effect with a gun emplacement.
3) Care to list the precedence?
1) It is not his in that it is not purchased with him, but it is 'his' in that he is firing it this turn. Consider it a secondary weapon (and yes it is your weapon until you elect a different model to use it, or you move away), which you may only choose to select if you are in base contact with it. Many people here are being pedantic over the word 'his'.
2)The model is making a shooting attack with that weapon, and fast shot effects shooting attacks. I don't believe interpretations of 'his' here should preclude anything.
3) Check again, I listed 'Precision shot' as a precedence. A special rule, that effects shooting attacks, that has to my knowledge been agreed upon to work with the gun emplacement. So characters can get precision shots with it, and the Vindicare can choose any target, even though it is not 'his' weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 09:44:26
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Big Blind Bill wrote:1), nothing to say about only the weapon being fired that turn. Gun emplacement is not his weapon, that is clear RAW. 2) Yes fast shot is a special rule, sadly the "his weapon" bit precludes him using it on a gun emplacement, you are more then welcome to use fast shot special rule, except it has no effect with a gun emplacement. 3) Care to list the precedence? 1) It is not his in that it is not purchased with him, but it is 'his' in that he is firing it this turn. Consider it a secondary weapon (and yes it is your weapon until you elect a different model to use it, or you move away), which you may only choose to select if you are in base contact with it. Many people here are being pedantic over the word 'his'. 2)The model is making a shooting attack with that weapon, and fast shot effects shooting attacks. I don't believe interpretations of 'his' here should preclude anything. 3) Check again, I listed 'Precision shot' as a precedence. A special rule, that effects shooting attacks, that has to my knowledge been agreed upon to work with the gun emplacement. So characters can get precision shots with it, and the Vindicare can choose any target, even though it is not 'his' weapon. The rule has clearly been quoted that he can fire the gun emplacement instead of his own weapon. It is not his weapon at all, as any model in BTB can fire it, inculding opponents models. Fast shot affects his weapons that is the requirement. It modfies his shooting attack by modifying the amount of shots he gets with his weapon. Precision shot is all roles to hit of 6. This has no bearing on fast shot as it has more rules. The vindicare rules are for the vindicare, it doesnt say when firing his pistol or rifle (or any of his weapons) therefore the rule would apply to gun emplacement. You are saying people are getting hung up on "his". Thats fine if you wont want to play RAW but this section is pretty balantly RAW. What other interpreation of his should we use?, it says his in fast shot and instead of his in gun emplacement rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 09:45:59
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 11:16:46
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
MarkyMark wrote:Big Blind Bill wrote:1), nothing to say about only the weapon being fired that turn. Gun emplacement is not his weapon, that is clear RAW.
2) Yes fast shot is a special rule, sadly the "his weapon" bit precludes him using it on a gun emplacement, you are more then welcome to use fast shot special rule, except it has no effect with a gun emplacement.
3) Care to list the precedence?
1) It is not his in that it is not purchased with him, but it is 'his' in that he is firing it this turn. Consider it a secondary weapon (and yes it is your weapon until you elect a different model to use it, or you move away), which you may only choose to select if you are in base contact with it. Many people here are being pedantic over the word 'his'.
2)The model is making a shooting attack with that weapon, and fast shot effects shooting attacks. I don't believe interpretations of 'his' here should preclude anything.
3) Check again, I listed 'Precision shot' as a precedence. A special rule, that effects shooting attacks, that has to my knowledge been agreed upon to work with the gun emplacement. So characters can get precision shots with it, and the Vindicare can choose any target, even though it is not 'his' weapon.
The rule has clearly been quoted that he can fire the gun emplacement instead of his own weapon. It is not his weapon at all, as any model in BTB can fire it, inculding opponents models.
Fast shot affects his weapons that is the requirement. It modfies his shooting attack by modifying the amount of shots he gets with his weapon.
Precision shot is all roles to hit of 6. This has no bearing on fast shot as it has more rules. The vindicare rules are for the vindicare, it doesnt say when firing his pistol or rifle (or any of his weapons) therefore the rule would apply to gun emplacement.
You are saying people are getting hung up on "his". Thats fine if you wont want to play RAW but this section is pretty balantly RAW. What other interpreation of his should we use?, it says his in fast shot and instead of his in gun emplacement rules.
I find your RAW comment quite funny. "His" has a two part definition, one referring to possession and the other association. English is quite clear, in regards to shooting it is "his" for that shooting phase. And since it follows the normal rules for shooting he is considered armed with the Emplaced weapon. Its a matter of use versus possession. Reading it as possession is limited while reading association in broad.
The Emplacment rules is talking about possession while the fast shot rule is using use or association.
That is the RAW, choosing to only use a limited definition and creating the fantastical requirement that the weapon be purchased for the model is not RAW, but an incorrect assumption. Can you tell me why, that without any clarification Fast Shot refers to the weapon he possession, not the weapon he is using? If not explicitely explained, "his" means association and use.
Fast Shot works with an Emplacement RAW. Saying it does not is choosing one portion of the definition of his over the other, and doing that is not RAW.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 11:33:34
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So this is my forum?, i am using it after all. Defination of his determiner 1. belonging to or associated with a male person or animal previously mentioned or easily identified. "James sold his business" 2. used in titles. "His Honor" pronoun 1. used to refer to a thing or things belonging to or associated with a male person or animal previously mentioned. "he took my hand in his" It does not belong or associted to any model. Pre FAQ, if a vehicle was firing a quad gun then you got a weapon destroyed result would you have included the gun emplacement?.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 11:33:59
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 13:30:42
Subject: Re:Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
|
This has no bearing on fast shot as it has more rules.
To say precision shot has more rules, and therefore has no relevance is laughable.
Both effect shooting attacks, neither are linked to a weapon, and we know for sure that precision shots does work on a gun emplacement.
If you want to ignore that, then fine. It seems you have already made up your mind. But to dismiss it is to simply ignore evidence in front of you.
Does it prove a definitive answer? no of course not. But it IMO does add weight to the RAI theory that fast shot does effect gun mounts.
As for the RAW on this, if an RAI discussion does not interest you, then you'll just have to wait for GW to FAQ it. 'His' as people have already said, could refer to either a weapon on the model, or in a possessive sense. Both of these are correct, both could be used to get a different interpretation of the rules.
It is in these situations I look to other examples to try and determine RAI, until an FAQ is released.
It does not belong or associted to any model.
Some people might say that shooting a gun, associates it with you. I'd love to see someone try to argue otherwise in a court of law.
Pre FAQ, if a vehicle was firing a quad gun then you got a weapon destroyed result would you have included the gun emplacement?.
I believe it does state in this case though that that one weapon on the model is destroyed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 13:36:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 14:31:42
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
MarkyMark wrote:So this is my forum?, i am using it after all.
Defination of his
determiner
1.
belonging to or associated with a male person or animal previously mentioned or easily identified.
"James sold his business"
2.
used in titles.
"His Honor"
pronoun
1.
used to refer to a thing or things belonging to or associated with a male person or animal previously mentioned.
"he took my hand in his"
It does not belong or associted to any model.
Pre FAQ, if a vehicle was firing a quad gun then you got a weapon destroyed result would you have included the gun emplacement?.
He posted the comment on his forum. "His" refers to the forum that the person posts on, its not possessive but associative, just like the gun emplacement is associated with the model firing it. Granted, its not a great example, but it works all the same. Fast shot's wording can easily be associative, and without an FAQ work RAW.
Association not possession is key.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 14:57:44
Subject: Fast Shot and a Gun Emplacement
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
Well, this seems like a pretty easy question to answer: a model can use one of the emplaced weapons instead of his own. Use the fireing model's bs and the line of sight of the weapon. All relevant special rules from the fireing model and weapon are used
Fast Shot is a rule that applies to the fireing model, so it can be used with an Emplaced Weapon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 14:58:49
|
|
 |
 |
|