Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:15:34
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
S.K.Ren wrote: Steel-W0LF wrote:
Soooo: "May fire one additional weapon..." actually is NOT permission to fire one additional weapon now? Is that the current argument?
It has nothing to do with "How many weapons can I fire in addition to an Ordnance weapon?". Its a matter of "Can I fire any weapons at all in addition to an Ordnance Weapon?"
If this were a line of code an X was the variable for the number of shots you would get, X wouldn't be '0', it would be 'nil'
And the codex says X+1...
codex wins. Automatically Appended Next Post: jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote: Steel-W0LF wrote: Happyjew wrote:The rules are permissive. This is the only way to play a game. In order for somebody to do something they must have permission. On occasion, a model is restricted from doing something it normally has permission to do. In order to override a restriction, you must have specific permission to override the restriction. Examples include:
Skyfire vs Hard to Hit
Pinpoint vs Snap Shots
Assault Vehicle vs charging after disembarking
ATSKNF vs Sweeping Advance
Relentless vs moving and charging in the same turn as firing ordnance weapons.
In every situation, the permission to override the restriction is specifically mentioned. Where is the specific permission to override the 1 weapon restriction from ordnance weapons?
Soooo: "May fire one additional weapon..." actually is NOT permission to fire one additional weapon now? Is that the current argument?
Hey why didn't anyone tell me it was TROLLOLL season...
Why didnt anyone tell me it was "I want to make a pointless post in this thread so I sound relevant" season....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 03:16:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:20:05
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Gig Harbor, Washington
|
Mr. Shine wrote:
Except the rules for Multi-tracker state without restriction that an additional weapon may be fired, thus creating a conflict, and as per pg. 7 of the BRB, Codex > BRB.
Oh? So the rule book explicitly states "...without exception..."? Can we get the full rule quoted for us non Tau? And Im afraid I must return to my example questions.
"How many weapons can I fire in addition to an Ordnance weapon?" is quantitative. It asks for a number. It is not a permissive question.
"Can I fire any weapons at all in addition to an Ordnance Weapon?" is permissive. It asks a yes or no question. You need to find a rule that explicitly says yes to this question before the first one is even valid for consideration.
The Ordnance rule doesn't say you can't fire any more weapons it says you cannot fire any other weapons. More would indicate a value, in this case of 1 or 0 depending on whether you count the Ordnance weapon. Other indicates a complete encompassing of all other weapons. It is not a number of weapons, it is not a group of weapons, it is all weapons. And all weapons are forbidden from firing in the same phase as an Ordnance weapon fired by a non Vehicle model.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/07/25 03:24:53
1000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:24:25
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Firebase Zulu
|
"... may fire an additional weapon during its shooting phase"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:24:35
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Mr. Shine wrote:Except that by running or it being the enemy player's shooting phase you do not make any shooting attacks at all. Something cannot be in addition to nothing.
And by firing ordnance you can not fire any other weapons. Likewise something cannot be in addition to nothing yet you insist it can.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:24:56
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
S.K.Ren wrote:Mr. Shine wrote:
Except the rules for Multi-tracker state without restriction that an additional weapon may be fired, thus creating a conflict, and as per pg. 7 of the BRB, Codex > BRB.
Oh? So the rule book explicitly states "...without exception..."? Can we get the full rule quoted for us non Tau? And Im afraid I must return to my example questions.
"How many weapons can I fire in addition to an Ordnance weapon?" is quantitative. It asks for a number. It is not a permissive question.
"Can I fire any weapons at all in addition to an Ordnance Weapon?" is permissive. It asks a yes or no question. You need to find a rule that explicitly says yes to this question before the first one is even valid for consideration.
The Ordnance rule doesn't say you can't fire any more weapons it says you cannot fire any other weapons. More would indicate a value, in this case of 1 or 0 depending on whether you count the Ordnance weapon. Other indicates a complete encompassing of all other weapons. It is not a number of weapons, it is not a group of weapons, it is all weapons. And all weapons are forbidden from firing in addition to an Ordnance weapon fired by a non Vehicle model.
p.69 Multi-Tracker: A model with a multi-tracker can fire one additional weapon in each shooting phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:26:16
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Happyjew wrote:If the Multi-tracker said
A model with a multi-tracker can fire an additional weapon in each Shooting phase, even if it fired an Ordnance weapon
then there would be a conflict in which the codex wins.
However,
yakface wrote:3) Specific overrides general, although remembering that restrictions still override permissions.
Its very simple, when two rules contradict each other, the one that is more specific must take precedence. When GW talks about advanced rules taking precedence over basic rules, this simply means something like: the basic rules for movement say that models move 6" in the movement phase. But then in the advanced rules they'll say stuff like: 'models using a jump pack in the movement phase move 12 inches'.
If the advanced rules didn't take precedence over the basic rules, then all models would move 6 inches in the movement phase, as advanced rules would be unable to override this basic tenant no matter what. In other words, 'advanced' really just means 'specific', while 'basic' really just means 'general'.
However, this does not mean that advanced rules always override basic rules, as restrictions still take precedence over permissions. For example, an advanced rule may say: 'models with jump packs are able to move 12" in the movement phase', but if a model has gone to ground, then the basic rules restriction against a model being able to move in the movement phase still overrides the advanced rules permission that the model can move 12" in the movement phase.
It is also even possible for a 'basic' rule to be specific enough to override an 'advanced' rule. For example, an advanced rule may say that jump pack models can move 12" in the movement phase, but if there happened to be a 'basic' rule which actually spelled out that jump pack models can only move 6" when moving into difficult terrain (just an imaginary example here), then that 'basic' rule would still take precedence over the 'advanced' rule because it was specific enough to actually mention that it applies to jump pack models.
Finally, when GW says that codexes take precedence over the rulebook, again this is a case of generally speaking, the codexes being more 'advanced' than the advanced rules in the rulebook. Meaning, if the advanced rules in the rulebook say that Jump Pack models move 12" in the movement phase but a codex says that a special unit moves like a Jump Pack model, but up to 18", then clearly the codex rule has to take precedence over the rulebook for the whole thing to work.
But just as before, restrictions still override permissions (even if the restriction is in the rulebook and the permission is in a codex) and it is possible for rules in the rulebook to be more specific than even a codex and therefore take precedence over the codex rules.
So please, please, please do not parrot the terms: 'codex > rulebook' and 'advanced > basic' without understanding that these concepts are not absolute. They ONLY apply when the rules between two sources actually contradict, not when one is a permission and the other is a restriction.
Not that I disagree, but everything in that quote seems to be lacking a page number.
As for the riptide firing 3 weapons; easy.
Park it next to the aegis defensive line and man the Quad Gun.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:31:34
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Gig Harbor, Washington
|
Miri wrote:"... may fire an additional weapon during its shooting phase"
I don't see '...without exception...' in there, which is my point. You say "... may fire an additional weapon", does it specify what kind? No? Then its a basic( BRB pg 7) rule indicating that you can fire up to your normal limit +1 under normal circumstances.
Ordnance weapon has a specific restriction to fire that type of weapon. Unless Multi-tracker specifically says that it ignores the firing restrictions of Ordnance or something along those lines, Ordnance is more advanced( BRB pg 7) than Multi-tracker and its rules take precedence.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/25 03:39:25
1000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:31:47
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Firebase Zulu
|
HawaiiMatt wrote:
Not that I disagree, but everything in that quote seems to be lacking a page number.
As for the riptide firing 3 weapons; easy.
Park it next to the aegis defensive line and man the Quad Gun.
-Matt
That gets more fun when you Ripple-fire the Plasma/Fusion/Smart Missiles
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:38:28
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
S.K.Ren wrote: Miri wrote:"... may fire an additional weapon during its shooting phase"
I don't see '...without exception...' in there, which is my point. You say "... may fire an additional weapon", does it specify what kind? No? Then its a general rule indicating that you can fire up to your normal limit +1 under normal circumstances.
Ordnance weapon has a specific restriction to fire that type of weapon. Unless Multi-tracker specifically says that it ignores the firing restrictions of Ordnance or something along those lines, Ordnance is more specific than Multi-tracker and its rules take precedence.
Then you need to post a page number that defines "general rules" vs "specific rules"...
Ready? GO!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:40:04
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Gig Harbor, Washington
|
There fixed. I'm sorry, its Basic and Advanced but they're defined the same anyways
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Multi-tracker does not call out any specific unit, model, rule or piece of wargear and is thusly NOT an Advanced rule. An please don't start a recursive argument referencing itself.
Edit: On second thought, I suppose it does reference itself but thats another can of worms I'd rather not open right this instant.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/07/25 03:46:07
1000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:44:46
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
S.K.Ren wrote:There fixed. I'm sorry, its Basic and Advanced but they're defined the same anyways
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Multi-tracker does not call out any specific unit, model, rule or piece of wargear and is thusly NOT an Advanced rule
It IS a piece of wargear..... Automatically Appended Next Post: S.K.Ren wrote: Miri wrote:"... may fire an additional weapon during its shooting phase"
I don't see '...without exception...' in there, which is my point. You say "... may fire an additional weapon", does it specify what kind? No? Then its a basic( BRB pg 7) rule indicating that you can fire up to your normal limit +1 under normal circumstances.
Ordnance weapon has a specific restriction to fire that type of weapon. Unless Multi-tracker specifically says that it ignores the firing restrictions of Ordnance or something along those lines, Ordnance is more advanced( BRB pg 7) than Multi-tracker and its rules take precedence.
And agian...
Ordnance says 0 weapons
Tau Codex says 1...
What do you do in a conflict?
Codex wins.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 03:47:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:49:44
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Gig Harbor, Washington
|
Oh ffs GW needs to get off its f****** a** and write some new FAQs. We can argue this till we're blue in the face but unless you play together, what 'we' say doesn't really matter as we'll either defer to HIWPI or TO verdict.
|
1000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 03:52:36
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
S.K.Ren wrote:Oh ffs GW needs to get off its f****** a** and write some new FAQs. We can argue this till we're blue in the face but unless you play together, what 'we' say doesn't really matter as we'll either defer to HIWPI or TO verdict.
That I'll agree with.
And in a real game I'd roll it off to decide if it was debated during a game. But this forum is not about rolling off.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 04:10:57
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Ghaz wrote:And by firing ordnance you can not fire any other weapons. Likewise something cannot be in addition to nothing yet you insist it can.
So firing an ordnance weapon is not firing a weapon? The additional weapon fired is in addition to the ordnance weapon, which is in conflict with the ordnance rules but Codex > BRB so Multi-tracker takes precedence over the ordnance restriction.
S.K.Ren wrote:I don't see '...without exception...' in there, which is my point. You say "... may fire an additional weapon", does it specify what kind? No? Then its a basic( BRB pg 7) rule indicating that you can fire up to your normal limit +1 under normal circumstances.
Ordnance weapon has a specific restriction to fire that type of weapon. Unless Multi-tracker specifically says that it ignores the firing restrictions of Ordnance or something along those lines, Ordnance is more advanced( BRB pg 7) than Multi-tracker and its rules take precedence.
You're just shifting the goal posts now. The fact that no exception to the ability to fire an additional weapon is stated means that there is no exception.
You say that the ordnance rules say that no other weapons may be fired, which is entirely true. Agreed. But this is semantically and logically the same as saying no additional weapons may be fired, so your point is irrelevant.
Again, shooting an ordnance weapon with a Multi-tracker creates a conflict between the BRB rules for ordnance and Codex: Tau rules for firing an additional weapon. However as per pg. 7 of the BRB, Codex: Tau takes precedence over BRB.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 04:12:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 04:40:25
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
It's no worse than you saying 0+1=0 when its clearly 1. So which is it? You can't have your cake and eat it too. You can either fire the additional weapon in both instances or neither.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 04:44:30
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Ghaz wrote:It's no worse than you saying 0+1=0 when its clearly 1. So which is it? You can't have your cake and eat it too. You can either fire the additional weapon in both instances or neither.
Which both instances?
You mentioned when running and in the opponent's shooting phase. In those instances you may not shoot at all, thus the zero shooting and thus you cannot have something in addition to nothing. In the case of ordnance you are firing an ordnance weapon, thus you have something to shoot in addition to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 04:58:40
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And so you decide to ignore one restriction (you can't fire another weapon if you fire an ordnance weapon) yet you enforce another one (you have to give up firing if you run). 0+1=1, not 0. Your statements say that there are no restrictions on when the additional weapon can be used according to the codex, so why are you keeping the restriction placed on shooting when you run from the BRB?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 04:59:09
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 05:05:28
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Ghaz wrote:And so you decide to ignore one restriction (you can't fire another weapon if you fire an ordnance weapon) yet you enforce another one (you have to give up firing if you run). 0+1=1, not 0. Your statements say that there are no restrictions on when the additional weapon can be used according to the codex, so why are you keeping the restriction placed on shooting when you run from the BRB?
Except that the multi-tracker specifies your shooting phase.
It's completely different argument though. It's like arguing why you can't make CC attacks when you're not in CC.
|
I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."
"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 05:10:33
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And please tell us when your models may run.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 05:19:11
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
More, the multitracker says a model May fire one additional weapon... So firing a single weapon is still an option to the player.
When you fire ord, it says you may only fire one....
Put those two sentences together and you get: "You may fire one or two weapons, but you may only fire one." The only way to have no conflict there, is to fire one weapon.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/25 05:21:18
ERJAK wrote:
The fluff is like ketchup and mustard on a burger. Yes it's desirable, yes it makes things better, but no it doesn't fundamentally change what you're eating and no you shouldn't just drown the whole meal in it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 05:34:41
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Ghaz wrote:And so you decide to ignore one restriction (you can't fire another weapon if you fire an ordnance weapon) yet you enforce another one (you have to give up firing if you run). 0+1=1, not 0. Your statements say that there are no restrictions on when the additional weapon can be used according to the codex, so why are you keeping the restriction placed on shooting when you run from the BRB?
 You're missing the point. In addition to or additional requires an existing weapon shot in the first place. You don't describe something being in addition when it is the only of its kind.
Savageconvoy wrote:It's completely different argument though. It's like arguing why you can't make CC attacks when you're not in CC.
It actually doesn't. It says "A model with a multi-tracker can fire an additional weapon in each Shooting phase."
Of course, because you cannot fire any weapon to begin with in the enemy shooting phase, you are unable to use the Multi-tracker to shoot an additional weapon. Similarly if you choose to run you do so instead of firing, thus you are not firing a weapon for you to then shoot another additional weapon.
If you were able to shoot and run, or shoot in the enemy shooting phase, then yes you could use the Multi-tracker.
davou wrote:More, the multitracker says a model May fire one additional weapon... So firing a single weapon is still an option to the player.
When you fire ord, it says you may only fire one....
Put those two sentences together and you get: "You may fire one or two weapons, but you may only fire one." The only way to have no conflict there, is to fire one weapon.
I'm not sure what your point is here. When you put both sentences together you have two conflicting sentences, thus we go back to pg. 7 of the BRB where Codex rules take precedence over BRB rules.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/07/25 05:36:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 05:39:29
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No. You're missing the point. 0+1=1. One in addition to zero is still one. It is not zero.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 05:46:05
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Ghaz wrote:No. You're missing the point. 0+1=1. One in addition to zero is still one. It is not zero.
No. It states that you fire one additional weapon. The term additional means that a weapon was fired before hand. If you don't fire with one weapon, then you can't fire an additional weapon because then the term wouldn't apply.
In the case of the Ordnance weapon you're still firing the one shot and you're able to fire one weapon in addition to it. It's not that hard, but the question you bring up is purely to build a strawman for the way the wargear words it's effects.
Math doesn't work in this, because it's missing out on the context of the situation.
|
I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."
"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 05:52:04
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Ghaz wrote:No. You're missing the point. 0+1=1. One in addition to zero is still one. It is not zero.
Is English your native language? Please don't think I'm trying to offend, but it seems you're not grasping the semantic point I'm making.
As Savageconvoy has pointed out, you do not use the term "additional" when you have zero to start with.
I'm not sure why we're arguing this though because the point is moot anyway. The ordnance restriction on firing other weapons is waived as soon as a Multi-tracker comes into the equation. Let me break it down:
1. Ordnance disallows you from firing any other weapon.
2. Multi-tracker allows you to fire an additional weapon.
3. Ordnance and Multi-tracker are in conflict, invoking pg. 7 of the BRB where Codex rule takes precedence over BRB rule.
4. Multi-tracker allows you to fire an additional weapon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 05:54:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 05:56:49
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
I understand where Ghaz is coming from. You can always plus one onto something unless the value is null. (In which case you would have conceded your point about being able to fire ordnance and an additional weapon) For example; The rule for running is that you cannot fire weapons after running. So the value for firing weapons is null. You simply can't do it and you certainly can't add an additional weapon. The same happens with ordnance. However, what Ghaz is trying to make everyone understand is, they are currently viewing it as a zero. In which case, you CAN plus one to it. So he brings up the question; "If you are allowing yourself to shoot ordnance with an additional weapon, are you allowing yourself to run and then shoot a weapon?" To do the sequence (as I understand it) -You have multitracker. You may fire 3 shots at this point. (Two for being monstrous, one from multi-tracker) -You fire ordnance. -Ordnance rule comes into effect changing the weapons allowed to fire value to a null value. -Multi-tracker attempts to bring this back up to one, however as it is now a null value it cannot do this. I am NOT 100% on this, and it would be mighty helpful if the entire thing was FAQ'd. Until it was, I would roll for the outcome in my game. EDIT: Re-reading my post, I realize it sounds wonky and not articulated well, so I apologize in advance. If what I'm saying isn't making sense, just disregard the post. I just thought I'd throw in my two cents, not to have a debate.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 06:04:22
With your shield or upon it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 06:04:23
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
MerkQT wrote:I understand where Ghaz is coming from. You can always plus one onto something unless the value is null. (In which case you would have conceded your point about being able to fire ordnance and an additional weapon)
For example; The rule for running is that you cannot fire weapons after running. So the value for firing weapons is null. You simply can't do it and you certainly can't add an additional weapon. The same happens with ordnance.
However, what Ghaz is trying to make everyone understand is, they are currently viewing it as a zero. In which case, you CAN plus one to it. So he brings up the question; "If you are allowing yourself to shoot ordnance with an additional weapon, are you allowing yourself to run and then shoot a weapon?"
But the comparison doesn't work for the reasons I've stated. The wording is important, and you do not describe things as being additional to nothingness. Thus when you may not shoot a weapon to begin with (such as when running, or in the enemy shooting phase) there is nothing upon which you can add another weapon.
To do the sequence (as I understand it)
-You have multitracker. You may fire 2 shots at this point.
-You fire ordnance.
-Ordnance rule comes into effect changing the weapons allowed to fire value to a null value.
-Multi-tracker attempts to bring this back up to one, however as it is now a null value it cannot do this.
It is not a matter of one rule being invoked before or after the other. They are invoked simultaneously and thus conflict with one another. The Multi-tracker takes precedence as a Codex rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 06:09:53
Subject: Re:Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
But the comparison doesn't work for the reasons I've stated. The wording is important, and you do not describe things as being additional to nothingness. Thus when you may not shoot a weapon to begin with (such as when running, or in the enemy shooting phase) there is nothing upon which you can add another weapon.
Sure they can. To use another (somewhat stupid) analogy is that there is a cake at a party. You have none, but the host says you can have an additional piece if you want. So 0 + 1 = 1.
However, if there was no cake to begin with, it's impossible to take a piece. (Sorry that sounds pretty derpy.)
It is not a matter of one rule being invoked before or after the other. They are invoked simultaneously and thus conflict with one another. The Multi-tracker takes precedence as a Codex rule.
I'm not 100% on the whole matter, but yeah, if this was the case I would one hundred percent agree with you.
|
With your shield or upon it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 06:10:08
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Ordnance is a weapon system. Which is why it fits the above description he's tryin to state about "additional".
If I have zero dollars, you don't say to me "I'm going to give you an additional dollar" as I don't have any to begin with.
If I have one dollar, you CAN say "I'm going to give you an additional dollar."
Firing an ordinance weapon, you ARE already shooting one weapon system. Multi tracker says you can fire one additional.
Codex trumps.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 06:32:16
Subject: Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
Correct me if i'm wrong, but if I have a value of zero and I give an additional numerical value of one. Does that not equal one?
|
With your shield or upon it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 06:38:38
Subject: Re:Riptide Firing Ordnance - can it move?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
MerkQT wrote:Sure they can. To use another (somewhat stupid) analogy is that there is a cake at a party. You have none, but the host says you can have an additional piece if you want. So 0 + 1 = 1.
However, if there was no cake to begin with, it's impossible to take a piece. (Sorry that sounds pretty derpy.)
Err, it sounds derpy because it's incorrect usage of the term "additional". If you have none to begin with, the host says you can have a piece of cake. They would then say you can have an additional or another piece of cake from that point onwards.
MerkQT wrote:Correct me if i'm wrong, but if I have a value of zero and I give an additional numerical value of one. Does that not equal one?
Mathematical addition is not the same as being granted something additional.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 06:40:37
|
|
 |
 |
|