Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 13:48:54
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Just wondering what happens when a player puts one or more units in regular reserve (walk in from board edge), but on the turn they come in, the board edge is blocked off by enemy units? Are they destroyed or do they go into ongoing reserves?
BRB doesn't say, and FAQ does not clarify. (if they do, I can't find it.)
|
3000 pts. or more
3000 pts. or more |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 14:35:33
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
How did your enemy manage this? oO
I don't think that there's a specific rule, but in all other cases the other similiar cases (deepstrike, forced disembarging) the unit counts as destroyed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 15:01:17
Subject: Re:Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
It was in a game that I observed. It was Tau vs. Ravenwing. The DA player went first, Tau player deployed, but kept his 4 FW squads (one carrying his Ethereal) in reserve. DA player scouted 12, moved 12, opened fired and broke a lot of stuff, and on Turn 2, moved everyone 12 and perfectly lined them up against the Tau player's board edge, so when the Tau player's turn 2 came along and he rolled for reserves, they had nowhere to come in on, and we all looked through the BRB and the FAQ and it didn't say what happens in that situation...
|
3000 pts. or more
3000 pts. or more |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 15:03:15
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
I vote Tau units die as that's just simply good strategy by the DAs lol.
|
"The enemies of the Emperor fear many things. They fear discovery, defeat, despair, and death. Yet there is one thing they fear above all others. They fear the wrath of the Space Marines!"
7883pts
2000pts
Harlequins 2000pts
Your paints are not thin enough. Needs more wash. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 15:12:46
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
There is nothing in the rules to describe what to do. If the Tau units were not able to be legally placed they can't come on but what happens to the unit next is completely unclear.
HIWPI is that they remain in ongoing reserves until the game is over or the DA move one model enough to get the unit onto the board.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 18:13:37
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I find this rather funny. The flip of this happened years ago at a tournament where a White Scars player had all of his bikes in reserves coming in from his own board edge. The Tau player deployed his kroot along his opponents board edge and because they could not be deployed from reserves they died.
funny stuff to hear it happen the other way around.
|
Check out my YouTube and Blog at
http://www.youtube.com/user/Dracus40k
http://dracusjournal.blogspot.com/
I don't care what you say. I found a lightsaber in my garage and that makes me a Jedi. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 18:21:16
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
liturgies of blood wrote:There is nothing in the rules to describe what to do. If the Tau units were not able to be legally placed they can't come on but what happens to the unit next is completely unclear.
HIWPI is that they remain in ongoing reserves until the game is over or the DA move one model enough to get the unit onto the board.
This as well... unless it happens to get FAQ'd. No rules state this, but saying they die just sounds a bit harsh for 1/2 an army.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 18:27:21
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Wow. This would be one of those extremely rare events that a game designer would have a hard time to predict. Eventually, the Ravenwing would be dislodged, as the Tau player had not been tabled, so there were still threats on the board.
I'm not sure how I'd play that, probably flip for it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 19:05:12
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It's not hard to predict - it happened in 5th edition and they FAQed them all to be destroyed. To me, that's precedent enough to call them all dead.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 19:07:55
Subject: Re:Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I thought it was FAQ'ed that if a unit cannot make it completely onto the table the turn it arrives from reserve it's destroyed?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 19:28:11
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:Wow. This would be one of those extremely rare events that a game designer would have a hard time to predict.
Not that hard a time, given that it's been an issue for at least 3 editions now...
LUTNIT wrote:I thought it was FAQ'ed that if a unit cannot make it completely onto the table the turn it arrives from reserve it's destroyed?
They FAQ'd it last edition. Like the issue with infiltrating ICs with units, for some inexplicable reason they decided not to address it this edition.
The precedent from last edition would suggest that they die.
(Although it's worth pointing out that the issue is only if a unit can't move onto the board at all. They did address what happens when a unit has insufficient movement to move all the way on in the core rules this time around, which means that in 6th edition Baneblades can legally move onto the table  )
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 19:29:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 19:34:45
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
They actually get to move on as normal.
The rules state that "Each model's move is measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal." (124)
They are already within 1 inch of an enemy model on the edge, so they can move to get clear of them by moving past them unless there is not any space between the models bases for the arriving unit to move between.
Basically it is the same situation as a unit that assaulted a vehicle. The vehicle still can move away from the unit that is within one inch of the vehicle as models are only disallowed from moving closer than 1 inch of a model. If the model is already within an inch it is free to move in its movement phase.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 19:41:21
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:They actually get to move on as normal.
The rules state that "Each model's move is measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal." (124)
They are already within 1 inch of an enemy model on the edge, so they can move to get clear of them by moving past them unless there is not any space between the models bases for the arriving unit to move between.
Basically it is the same situation as a unit that assaulted a vehicle. The vehicle still can move away from the unit that is within one inch of the vehicle as models are only disallowed from moving closer than 1 inch of a model. If the model is already within an inch it is free to move in its movement phase.
So if I leave 1" of space between my models and the board edge they'd be destroyed, but lining it perfectly allows them to intermingle with my unit and move on?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 19:55:31
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
It seems that way due to the way vehicles can move if they are in base contact, shouldn't infantry models are able to move as well?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 20:03:00
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:It seems that way due to the way vehicles can move if they are in base contact, shouldn't infantry models are able to move as well?
Do infantry models have permission?
I see where vehicles have it (the whole not being locked in combat thing... which has literally nothing to do with this situation).
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 20:28:50
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Wouldn't this apply here?
"If for some reason a model's maximum move is insufficient to fit the entire model onto the board, or it becomes Immobilized itself whilst moving onto the board, place the model so that its rear end is touching the board edge - the model cannot move further during the Movement phase, nor may it shoot, Run or move Flat Out."
"If for some reason..." seems to apply to anything and every thing that could prevent a model from fully entering the board, including intervening enemy models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 21:41:33
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
And... if you can't place it because it literally can't fit?
No, that rule has 2 cases where it occurs and you quoted them both.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 21:49:53
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yeah, it's not a matter of the model's movement being insufficient if there is just no available board edge for it to move through.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 21:52:12
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:It seems that way due to the way vehicles can move if they are in base contact, shouldn't infantry models are able to move as well?
Do infantry models have permission?
I see where vehicles have it (the whole not being locked in combat thing... which has literally nothing to do with this situation).
I will draw a similar situation.
An infantry unit loses combat, is not swept and moves 2 inches in its fall back move. The enemy, is in a U shape around them and most of the falling back models could not make it to outside of 1 inch. These models regroup, can they move since they started within one inch of an enemy model?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 21:54:36
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:It seems that way due to the way vehicles can move if they are in base contact, shouldn't infantry models are able to move as well?
Do infantry models have permission?
I see where vehicles have it (the whole not being locked in combat thing... which has literally nothing to do with this situation).
I will draw a similar situation.
An infantry unit loses combat, is not swept and moves 2 inches in its fall back move. The enemy, is in a U shape around them and most of the falling back models could not make it to outside of 1 inch. These models regroup, can they move since they started within one inch of an enemy model?
It's not a similar situation.
And I'd say no - by moving at all you're moving within 1" of an enemy model which is illegal.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 22:07:57
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
"A model cannot move within 1" of an enemy model unless they are charging into close combat in the Assault phase. To move past, they must go around."(10)
This only restricts you if you are not already within 1 inch, hence the "To move past, they must go around." wording. If you start within 1 inch you are already within 1 inch and you move normally as you are only restricted from moving to within an inch of an enemy.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 22:54:07
Subject: Re:Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
An infantry unit loses combat, is not swept and moves 2 inches in its fall back move. The enemy, is in a U shape around them and most of the falling back models could not make it to outside of 1 inch. These models regroup, can they move since they started within one inch of an enemy model?
This would not happen. Pg 30 BRB. "if any models would end their move less than 1" from one of these enemies, extend the fall back move until they are clear.
So there should be no instances where a model starts its movement turn within 1" of an enemy model that isn't a vehicle or they are locked in combat.
We have had this happen at our local club and decided that they went into ongoing reserve. Like they were waiting off the board edge for the enemy to gak position. This made the battle a bit more fun, with someone trying not to be tabled and open a gap in the enemy line at the same time.
|
~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 23:00:01
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
DeathReaper wrote:"A model cannot move within 1" of an enemy model unless they are charging into close combat in the Assault phase. To move past, they must go around."(10)
This only restricts you if you are not already within 1 inch, hence the "To move past, they must go around." wording. If you start within 1 inch you are already within 1 inch and you move normally as you are only restricted from moving to within an inch of an enemy.
You seem to be missing the huge part about there being nowhere to move. Starting within an inch still doesn't give models a license to (a) move even closer to their enemies nor (b) move through them. You are making leaps and assumptions here at best.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/25 23:39:39
Subject: Re:Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
DOOMONYOU wrote:An infantry unit loses combat, is not swept and moves 2 inches in its fall back move. The enemy, is in a U shape around them and most of the falling back models could not make it to outside of 1 inch. These models regroup, can they move since they started within one inch of an enemy model? This would not happen. Pg 30 BRB. "if any models would end their move less than 1" from one of these enemies, extend the fall back move until they are clear. So there should be no instances where a model starts its movement turn within 1" of an enemy model that isn't a vehicle or they are locked in combat. We have had this happen at our local club and decided that they went into ongoing reserve. Like they were waiting off the board edge for the enemy to gak position. This made the battle a bit more fun, with someone trying not to be tabled and open a gap in the enemy line at the same time. There are instances where a model starts its movement turn within 1" of an enemy model that isn't a vehicle or they are locked in combat. Can the unit in base contact with the vehicle in the subsequent movement phase move? Here is a different situation where this can happen: one unit charges a single unit, but the enemy has two units intermingled as such: The X is the Charging unit, the A us the enemy unit that is being charged, B is the enemy unit that is not being charged. A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B... X.....X.....X.....X.....X.....X.....X.....X.....X Unit X charges Unit A, but does not assault unit B, so they move into base contact with only unit A and end up like this: A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B... X.........X........X.........X.........X.........X........X.........X.........X Assume all X models are in unit coherency and not in base contact with unit B. Unit X completely destroys Unit A and uses no models, but does not want to consolidate so they remain where they are. In Unit B's movement phase they are allowed to move up to 6 inches so they move as normal as they are not moving within one inch of an enemy unit, they are already within 1 inch and can move away freely. Vehicles do not have a specific allowance to move when in base contact with an enemy unit that assaulted it, but it does hint that movement is possible through the normal rules. Godless-Mimicry wrote:You seem to be missing the huge part about there being nowhere to move. Starting within an inch still doesn't give models a license to (a) move even closer to their enemies nor (b) move through them. You are making leaps and assumptions here at best.
There is somewhere to move, between the models that are lining the board edge.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/25 23:40:23
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/26 10:19:48
Subject: Re:Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
DeathReaper wrote: Godless-Mimicry wrote:You seem to be missing the huge part about there being nowhere to move. Starting within an inch still doesn't give models a license to (a) move even closer to their enemies nor (b) move through them. You are making leaps and assumptions here at best.
There is somewhere to move, between the models that are lining the board edge.
Again you are overlooking the obvious flaw in your argument here. Between the models is not a place to move because it is illegal. As I said already, just because you are already within 1" of an enemy doesn't give you license to break further rules. You keep saying move between them over and over but have yet to back it up, so I ask, quote where in the rulebook it says if you are within 1" of an enemy you can move even further or into base contact in order to pass them by.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/26 11:10:53
Subject: Re:Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Can the unit in base contact with the vehicle in the subsequent movement phase move?
Vehicle (except walkers of course) are not locked in combat so the unit can move away
Here is a different situation where this can happen
Has that actually happened to you?
|
~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/26 11:22:04
Subject: Re:Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
DeathReaper wrote:
A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...
X.....X.....X.....X.....X.....X.....X.....X.....X
Unit X charges Unit A, but does not assault unit B, so they move into base contact with only unit A and end up like this:
A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...A...B...
X.........X........X.........X.........X.........X........X.........X.........X
You can't place models like this. The A B unit would intermingle which isn't allowed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/26 11:22:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/26 11:30:32
Subject: Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
There is no rule forbidding units from intermingling.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/26 20:32:36
Subject: Re:Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Godless-Mimicry wrote:Again you are overlooking the obvious flaw in your argument here. Between the models is not a place to move because it is illegal. As I said already, just because you are already within 1" of an enemy doesn't give you license to break further rules. You keep saying move between them over and over but have yet to back it up, so I ask, quote where in the rulebook it says if you are within 1" of an enemy you can move even further or into base contact in order to pass them by.
The normal movement rules cover movement.
The rules forbid you from approaching within 1 inch of a enemy model, but if you are already there yuo are not restricted from moving to within an inch as you are already within an inch of the enemy models.
DOOMONYOU wrote:Can the unit in base contact with the vehicle in the subsequent movement phase move?
Vehicle (except walkers of course) are not locked in combat so the unit can move away
How about the Infantry unit that assaulted the vehicle, can they move if the vehicle did not move, or was immobilized?
DOOMONYOU wrote:Here is a different situation where this can happen
Has that actually happened to you?
A similar situation has.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/26 20:44:47
Subject: Re:Entering from reserves and board edge blocked
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
DeathReaper wrote: Godless-Mimicry wrote:Again you are overlooking the obvious flaw in your argument here. Between the models is not a place to move because it is illegal. As I said already, just because you are already within 1" of an enemy doesn't give you license to break further rules. You keep saying move between them over and over but have yet to back it up, so I ask, quote where in the rulebook it says if you are within 1" of an enemy you can move even further or into base contact in order to pass them by.
The normal movement rules cover movement.
The rules forbid you from approaching within 1 inch of a enemy model, but if you are already there yuo are not restricted from moving to within an inch as you are already within an inch of the enemy models.
DOOMONYOU wrote:Can the unit in base contact with the vehicle in the subsequent movement phase move?
Vehicle (except walkers of course) are not locked in combat so the unit can move away
How about the Infantry unit that assaulted the vehicle, can they move if the vehicle did not move, or was immobilized?
DOOMONYOU wrote:Here is a different situation where this can happen
Has that actually happened to you?
A similar situation has.
Honest clarification:?
If all of unit B was not within 1" of unit X, I'm assuming that those models would have to move around so they are not moving within 1" of the enemy? Thus drastically reducing the unit as a wholes movement range...
|
|
|
 |
 |
|