Switch Theme:

Walking Away From Combat With Vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

Me and my group have always assumed for some reason that models can walk away from close combat with a non walker vehicle. But upon further looking into the rules we began to wonder if we were playing it wrong.

So can a unit assaulting a vehicle walk out of combat during its movement phase, or is that right only reserved for the vehicle?

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







You cannot be locked in combat with a vehicle, except for special cases such as walkers. If you are not locked in combat there is nothing to prevent you from moving away as normal in the movement phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/28 14:45:20


Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

Ok thanks, we started to doubt ourselves when we read on pg 76

" a vehicle can never be locked in combat"

And we thought this was only applied to a vehicle and not the attacking unit.

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
Ok thanks, we started to doubt ourselves when we read on pg 76

" a vehicle can never be locked in combat"

And we thought this was only applied to a vehicle and not the attacking unit.


I do not recall seeing 'locked in combat' specifically defined anywhere but it's generally accepted as a mutual state requiring both units to exist in it for it to be true.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Abandon wrote:
I do not recall seeing 'locked in combat' specifically defined anywhere but it's generally accepted as a mutual state requiring both units to exist in it for it to be true.

Page 23 specifically defines Locked in combat.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

 DeathReaper wrote:
 Abandon wrote:
I do not recall seeing 'locked in combat' specifically defined anywhere but it's generally accepted as a mutual state requiring both units to exist in it for it to be true.

Page 23 specifically defines Locked in combat.


So it does, ty

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




It is spelled out on page 76 under Successive Turns: "Enemy models that are in base contact with a vehicle are not locked in combat and can therefore be shot during the Shooting Phase."
   
Made in us
Scouting Gnoblar Trapper



Maryland

This brought up a question we had a my LGS because you can't lock a vehicle in combat. If a command barge (with a lord on it) charges a wraith knight (the wraith knight chooses not to overwatch shoot the barge) and a the barge gets in. Then a squad of spyders charge the wraith, can the wraith overwatch the spiders since the command barge can't lock the wraith knight in combat and prevent it from shooting, or does he count as being combat in terms of overwatch?
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Ailideon wrote:
This brought up a question we had a my LGS because you can't lock a vehicle in combat. If a command barge (with a lord on it) charges a wraith knight (the wraith knight chooses not to overwatch shoot the barge) and a the barge gets in. Then a squad of spyders charge the wraith, can the wraith overwatch the spiders since the command barge can't lock the wraith knight in combat and prevent it from shooting, or does he count as being combat in terms of overwatch?


I believe the requirement for firing over watch is that you are "Unengaged" at this point i would argue you are engaged are therefore may not fire over watch. I however don't have a book to hand so may be wrong.
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Stratos wrote:
I believe the requirement for firing over watch is that you are "Unengaged" at this point i would argue you are engaged are therefore may not fire over watch. I however don't have a book to hand so may be wrong.


It only says, on page 21, that you cannot overwatch if you are locked in combat. Otherwise it is resolved as a normal shooting attack. Now page 12 gives us a non-exhaustive list of conditions that would prevent shooting (being locked in combat, having run) and states that other factors that would prevent a unit from shooting will be thoroughly explained in the appropriate section of the rules. Since there doesn't seem to be anything about being unable to shoot while in base contact with an enemy vehicle under the vehicle rules, I would presume the Wraithknight can in fact overwatch the spiders.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Ailideon wrote:
This brought up a question we had a my LGS because you can't lock a vehicle in combat. If a command barge (with a lord on it) charges a wraith knight (the wraith knight chooses not to overwatch shoot the barge) and a the barge gets in. Then a squad of spyders charge the wraith, can the wraith overwatch the spiders since the command barge can't lock the wraith knight in combat and prevent it from shooting, or does he count as being combat in terms of overwatch?


You cannot fire Overwatch when you are locked in combat. The CCB is a vehicle and cannot lock a unit in combat. Therefore the Wraithknight could fire Overwatch at the spyders despite the CCB being in BTB.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: