Switch Theme:

kroak power  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tunneling Trygon





Nottinghamshire- England

That's because Storm of Magic is intended for Casual gaming.

Kroak could get taken to a Tournemant where gak'll hit the fan and waste precious event time!!!


And if something says "Anywhere within x inches" why is that suddenly still under the effects of the Front Arc rule, whereas all units in x" is not?

Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.


A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else.
 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior






I would say Lord Kroak's spell can't target enemies in close combat. I'm pretty sure they would've clarified that.

I would also say Lord Kroak can't keep casting after Broken Concentration.

As for if he can cast only within forward arc or not, that's a tough one. It's pretty ridiculous that they didn't clarify this. As a house rule for now, I'm going to say Kroak can only target units within forward arc.

The Ancient Stegadon's bound spell is written in the same way...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/26 05:43:33


Check out my Channel
http://www.youtube.com/user/TheWarhammerFatKids

The Restrictions I Put On My Tallarn Lists:
- Missile Launchers are the only HW teams allowed in Infantry Squads.
- All units able to take the FW Desert Raider special rule, must take it in lists of 750 points or more.
- 1 unit of 10 Rough Riders is required for lists of 1000 points or more.
- 2 units of Mukaali Rough Riders are required for lists of 1000 points or more.
- No vehicles besides Chimera Armoured Transports and Hydra Flak Tank Batteries are allowed.
- Al'Rahem is required in lists of 1000 points or more. 
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

Are they specifically listed as DD thiugh? The BRB does set out what the restrictions on DD are...

Nite 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Its a DD spell.

However, the only restriction on DD in front arc deals with targetting.

Lord Kroak and ancient steg's EotG do not target. They just hit, anything in range.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Tunneling Trygon





Nottinghamshire- England

Well his power affects the "targets" so he must target in a weird way.

Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.


A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else.
 
   
Made in ca
Sister Vastly Superior



canada

Why must they continually make exceptions without clarity?
Yes dd spells have restrictions but how much does the all units within 12 override? That is the problem its all best gueses.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/27 09:53:14


They say you never appreciate what you have until it is gone. I fear that isn't true for your mind. 
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

canadianguy wrote:
Why must they continually make exceptions without clarity?
Yes dd spells have restrictions but how much does the all units within 12 override? That is the problem its all best gueses.

This is true, but until they do clarify, you need to assume that all rules stand unless they contradic each other. "Everything in front arc within range" satisfies both sets of rules. "Everything within range" does not.
So without an FAQ, it needs to be front arc.

Nite 
   
Made in ca
Sister Vastly Superior



canada

And I could argue it is clear all units within 12 which overrides both front arc and cc restrictions. Could also toss out dex overrules bRB.
It needs an FAQ for sure we obviously are on differeny sides of the debate.

They say you never appreciate what you have until it is gone. I fear that isn't true for your mind. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Specific overides general, there is no specific override of front arc in the armybook, so it does not override.

Take the least advantageous.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The fact it's a DD doesn't really have any bearing. DD only says it must be cast on enemies. The rest of the DD description is about templates, and it's not a template.

The 4 bullet points for all spells unless otherwise stated, is what is important.
-forward arc
-No LOS needed
-In range
-target not in CC

Nothing in Kroak's spell description states otherwise. To state otherwise it would literally have to state otherwise. Like if you read under Augment it says, with bold letters, can be cast into combat and doesn't have to be in forward arc.

Every bullet item above is still satisfied by Kroak's spell rules. Range, in forward arc, not in combat, no LOS needed.

   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

DukeRustfield wrote:
The fact it's a DD doesn't really have any bearing. DD only says it must be cast on enemies. The rest of the DD description is about templates, and it's not a template.

The 4 bullet points for all spells unless otherwise stated, is what is important.
-forward arc
-No LOS needed
-In range
-target not in CC

Nothing in Kroak's spell description states otherwise. To state otherwise it would literally have to state otherwise. Like if you read under Augment it says, with bold letters, can be cast into combat and doesn't have to be in forward arc.

Every bullet item above is still satisfied by Kroak's spell rules. Range, in forward arc, not in combat, no LOS needed.


Targeting restrictions vary from spell to spell. However, unless stated otherwise the following rules apply: -page 31

Kroak has 2 enemies on the table.
A) Steam Tank: In forward Arc, 5" away, not in combat, in line of sight
B) Witchhunter: In line of sight, 5" away on the flank, not in combat, not in arc, as he's on the flank.

You're failing to target all enemy units within 12" as per the spells targeting. IMO, that is "Stating Otherwise", as outlined on page 31, making the forward arc and out of combat requirements be ignored. The In Range and Only Enemies are stated in the spell description.

-Matt




 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I think that's RAI, I don't think it's RAW. It's absolutely pointless to point out it's a direct damage spell if it immediately restates explicitly the one rule of DD that applies and contradicts half the rules of all other spells.

I think it's a stretch to say that "all" implicitly means 360 degrees and in/out of combat. I was going to do a search around for some kind of shooting attacks that say you can target any/all/a target within X range--and I think there's some somewhere. Because implicitly that would mean you could ignore the rules for shooting. I just don't feel like digging through books.

I like Kroak. He's cool beans. But he needs it FAQed. Those 3 letters are trying to support a whole lot of weight.

   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

The need to state it as direct damage to allow it to cast through a skink.

If you look at the 4 requirements for a spell:
In range, only enemies, in arc, not in combat.
His spell explicitly covers 2 of those.

If it followed the normal targeting restrictions, you wouldn't need to mention within range and enemy units; that would be a given.




 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

Surely it doesn't mention "in range", just tells you what the range is - same as every other DD.
As for saying not in combat, that effectively says all does not mean all, that as usual , units in combat cannot be targeted. This does not affect it being front arc or 360ยบ, and both arguements could say that it supports their side.

Nite 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yeah, kind of like saying

"He can shoot at a target within 16"

One way to look at that very simple sentence is that he can shoot at ANY target within 16, whether it's behind him, he can't see it, it's in combat, or anything. OR, it follows all the normal rules for shooting it just has to be within 16.

I tend to lean toward the last one as when they are breaking pre-existing rules, I like to see at least some explicit acknowledgement.

   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

This smacks a bit of the "it doesn't say i can't" approach that has been proven wrong on numerous occasions in YMDC.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: