Switch Theme:

Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Sorry for the delays. I've updated the initial post. Besides adding what was asked here, I moved the two questions that were resolved, and added a question regarding relics (as that seems to come up with each new codex, except Daemons).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

A few more questions added.

Folks, please, if something comes up in a topic, or a new topic is started (such as Sword Brothers and Neophytes), please add the question to this thread.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Thats the list right there.

Might want to add a question about scouting land raiders with white scars and if the passangers count as having scouted for assaulting not sure if that one was definitively settled yet.

Really wish somone from GW would read this list and be able to quickly and susinctly answer them one way or another.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






I already see this question coming up too but should add it.

Are Heavy weapons or special weapons free for Tactical squads or do you still have to pay for the points. I can see it going both ways but we will need to answer it.
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

You have to pay, just like any other squad.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Kangodo wrote:
You have to pay, just like any other squad.


doesn't matter, its still a question that needs to be added to the collection with people assuming that they were free because of previous edition. That is kind of the purpose of this thread.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

We'll also need to address the fact that Space Marines no longer have INT and WIS characteristics then.
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Darkwynn wrote:
doesn't matter, its still a question that needs to be added to the collection with people assuming that they were free because of previous edition. That is kind of the purpose of this thread.
Does matter.
I have the old codex in front of me, most things weren't free.
The new codex tells you: "Missile Launcher is X points."
What is unclear about that?

The purpose of this thread is to answer good questions, maybe even send them to GW so they can put it in a FAQ.
I want them to address good stuff, not repeat things that are already clear in the codex.
   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

How many servo arms does a MotF have?

Thread discussing it is here:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/552446.page

RAW seems to say one, tradition and common sense say otherwise.

   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

I've sent some questions for them today (2 are already in your listing, so I won't repeat here):

2. The 'Strike from the Shadows' special rule, within the Raven Guard Chapter Tactics (p. 78), dictates that models without the Bulky or Very Bulky special rules receive the Scout and (game turn 1) Stealth. However, after a model receives these rules, can it confers them to other models when joining them, even if they are Bulky or Very Bulky?
Example situation: when the Chapter Tactic is chosen, every model is checked for Bulky-ness. If it is, no Scout/Stealth; if it isn't, it receives the rules. But, from this point on, can we understand that the model has the rule and, upon joining a unit with (Very) Bulky models, the Chapter Tactic check was already made and now the joining model can confers its Scout and Stealth to the Bulky unit? Such view would let a non-Bulky Librarian, attached to Jump units, Terminators, Bikes or Centurions, makes a Scout redeploy with them (specially inside a dedicated Land Raider). Is that possible? Or the models never 'receive' the Scout/Stealth rules per se, but are only allowed to use them within the limitations of the Chapter Tactics?

3. The 'Blessing of the Omnissiah' special rule (p. 92) says that a Techmarine/Master of the Forge adds a +1 modifier to the result of this roll for each Servitor with a servo-arm. Does this tops at the limit of 2+ (as basically any other test made in the game) or does it can indeed reach the 1+ value, becoming an auto-pass roll?

4. In the 'Skies of Fury' special rule (p. 97), it is explained that passengers can disembark even if the Stormraven has moved more than 6". But, in the Basic Rulebook, it is noted that models cannot disembark from Zooming Flyers (p. 80). Does 'Skies of Fury' overrules that or was it meant to be used only when the Stormraven is on Hover mode?

5. The 'See, But Remain Unseen' special rule of Shadow Captain Shrike (p. 113) notes that this model has the Infiltrate special rule, and before deploying, it can only join units of Jump Infantry type. As there is no Jump Infantry unit with natural Infiltrate special rule in the Space Marine codex, Shrike would confers this rule to such unit when joining (as Infiltrate special rule, Basic Rulebook p. 38).
But, does Shrike join such unit BEFORE deployment (and overstepping the normal deploy rules), conferring the Infiltrate rule to a joined unit, and therefore letting it make a Infiltrate deploy, or does 'See, But Remain Unseen' only means that Shrike cannot be deployed with non-Jump Infantry units, letting it and the joined unit at most entering via Outflank (or normal deploy)?

7. In the Space Marine Wargear List (p. 159), the Chapter Relics area has this text: "Only one of each Chapter Relic may be taken per army. A model can replace one weapon with one of the following." Does that mean that a Captain would be able to trade only ONE of its weapons for one of the relics (barring The Armour Indomitus) or can it trade in a one-on-one basis (i.e. its chainsword for The Burning Blade and its bolt pistol for The Shield Eternal)? The Dark Angels, Eldar and Chaos Space Marines codexes have the exactly same ruling line, and the confusion is rife!

8. Is there any specific reason for the Space Marine Scout Squad (p. 167) to cost 5 points cheaper than the Dark Angels version? The later cannot even has a Land Speeder Storm as a dedicated transport.

Maybe I over-complicated some questions, but I believe people can understand what I meant with each one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/17 20:58:59


AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

I can answer that last one for you
C:SM-Scouts have to pay for their snipers, so a Sniper-squad is priced the same.
   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

Kangodo wrote:
I can answer that last one for you
C:SM-Scouts have to pay for their snipers, so a Sniper-squad is priced the same.


Good catch! Didn't use too many scouts when testing DA rules...

Carry on, folks!

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Vector Strike wrote:
4. In the 'Skies of Fury' special rule (p. 97), it is explained that passengers can disembark even if the Stormraven has moved more than 6". But, in the Basic Rulebook, it is noted that models cannot disembark from Zooming Flyers (p. 80). Does 'Skies of Fury' overrules that or was it meant to be used only when the Stormraven is on Hover mode?


I believe this has been answered (more or less) in the BRB FAQ:

Q: Can units embarked on a Flyer (Transport) make use of
any special disembarkation rules for their passengers (such as
Skies of Blood or Grav Chute Insertion) if the vehicle has
suffered a Crew Shaken/Stunned or Locked Velocity? (p81)
A: Yes.

Note that the underlined can only occur if Zooming.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine




 Super Ready wrote:

(added) I don't really know if this is FAQ-worthy, but the following option seems kind of redundant to me:
"The Space Marine Sergeant or Veteran Sergeant may replace his boltgun and/or bolt pistol with a chainsword"
...why the bolt pistol?! There is absolutely no benefit to having the chainsword over the bolt pistol, and you screw yourself out of a) firing and charging, and b) swapping out both weapons in the wargear list as swapping for a boltgun isn't an option for the Melee and Ranged Weapons lists.

I notice that it's only this way for the Tactical squad - the Devastator squad entry makes more sense.


Because you modeled a guy with a chain sword and a power sword one day and now you use him as a sergeant?

there is always a reason, may not be the best tactically, but that's ok
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

Orock wrote:
Whos $*%&^#@ idea was it to make terminators (the only useable ones) MORE points??


They match the DA ones and are not not an auto-include when compared to LC Assault Terminators. I fail to see how that's a rules question though.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/09/18 15:39:54


 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





I appreciate the work. However some of these seem like asking for confirmation as opposed to real confusion on a rule:

Do Immobilised vehicles that suffer an Immobilisation result from Grav Weapons lose 1 or 2 Hull Points?
--Clearly 2.

Do Space Marine armies with the Black Templar Chapter Tactics follow the Space Marine or Black Templar column for Allies?
-- Black Templar - per the SM book itself.

When taking an additional Primary Detachment, must both detachments have the same Chapter Tactics, or can they be different?
-- per the SM book - the same.



------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

clively wrote:
I appreciate the work. However some of these seem like asking for confirmation as opposed to real confusion on a rule:

Do Immobilised vehicles that suffer an Immobilisation result from Grav Weapons lose 1 or 2 Hull Points?
--Clearly 2.

Do Space Marine armies with the Black Templar Chapter Tactics follow the Space Marine or Black Templar column for Allies?
-- Black Templar - per the SM book itself.

When taking an additional Primary Detachment, must both detachments have the same Chapter Tactics, or can they be different?
-- per the SM book - the same.


Sometimes you just want GW to confirm things to get people to stop arguing contrary to what everyone else is saying.
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







Here's one:

Q: Why do Sternguard and both flavors of Centurions have to pay an additional 10 points for the included Sgt (that have the exact same stats and gear) but no other squad has to?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 ClassicCarraway wrote:
Here's one:

Q: Why do Sternguard and both flavors of Centurions have to pay an additional 10 points for the included Sgt (that have the exact same stats and gear) but no other squad has to?


Not sure on Sternguard, but the Centurion Sgts have an extra attack and better Leadership. That is where their +10 pts come from.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

Can marneus Calgar opt to roll in the main rule book warlords trait tables, rolling 3 times on one table and choosing his result?

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

Not so much a FAQ, but looking for errata or confirmation:

Was the change on the range for Hellfire Shells for the scouts' HB from 36" to 24" intentional, or an oversight a/o confusion with the similar Hellfire bolts special ammo (which does/should have a 24" range)

   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 tetrisphreak wrote:
Can marneus Calgar opt to roll in the main rule book warlords trait tables, rolling 3 times on one table and choosing his result?


I could be wrong on this, but - I believe you're told specifically to roll on the table on page (whateverpageitisgoeshere).
Now, a good question for FAQ would be - can Calgar opt to roll normally (ie once) on the Rulebook Warlord tables instead? But if I'm right on how it's worded, then no.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

 Super Ready wrote:
 tetrisphreak wrote:
Can marneus Calgar opt to roll in the main rule book warlords trait tables, rolling 3 times on one table and choosing his result?


I could be wrong on this, but - I believe you're told specifically to roll on the table on page (whateverpageitisgoeshere).
Now, a good question for FAQ would be - can Calgar opt to roll normally (ie once) on the Rulebook Warlord tables instead? But if I'm right on how it's worded, then no.


The rule says to roll on the warlord traits table 3 times and in parenthesis has page 76 referenced. The warlord traits table on page 76 says that a warlord may roll on this table, or any of the ones in the big rulebook. While it's not straightforward, which is why i think it should be on an FAQ, it does stair-step permission then for Marneus to roll 3 times on any of the 4 warlord traits tables available to him.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

 ClassicCarraway wrote:
Here's one:

Q: Why do Sternguard and both flavors of Centurions have to pay an additional 10 points for the included Sgt (that have the exact same stats and gear) but no other squad has to?


That's not a rules question though.

I don't have the book in front of me, but for Sternguard wouldn't the Sergeant be a Veteran Sergeant, who has to normally be purchased as an upgrade? I'm not 100% on the Centurions but I want to say they're probably the same.
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Stenguard are all veterans
You're basically paying additional costs for nothing.
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

Kangodo wrote:
Stenguard are all veterans You're basically paying additional costs for nothing.


That was kind of the point. Sternguard would have to take a Veteran Sergeant because they're all Veterans. And as far as I know the bonuses for being a Veteran Sergeant should be in his stat line. I don't have my book with me, but it seems fairly logical to me at least.
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







ClockworkZion wrote:
Kangodo wrote:
Stenguard are all veterans You're basically paying additional costs for nothing.


That was kind of the point. Sternguard would have to take a Veteran Sergeant because they're all Veterans. And as far as I know the bonuses for being a Veteran Sergeant should be in his stat line. I don't have my book with me, but it seems fairly logical to me at least.


As previously said, you are paying extra for absolutely no gain. Look at the DA codex, their veteran squads don't pay extra for their vet sgt. I could see it if the sternguard sgt got some sort of benefit, heck Devastator sgts get a signum for free and you still don't pay for them. Just seemed kind of odd to me.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Happyjew wrote:
 ClassicCarraway wrote:
Here's one:

Q: Why do Sternguard and both flavors of Centurions have to pay an additional 10 points for the included Sgt (that have the exact same stats and gear) but no other squad has to?


Not sure on Sternguard, but the Centurion Sgts have an extra attack and better Leadership. That is where their +10 pts come from.


Do they? Hmmm, must have completely missed that one. Oh well, the question still remains for Sternguard, as the veteran sgt has the exact same stats as the rest of the squad.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/20 19:43:58


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Orock wrote:
The stalker says if you split fire, you get 4 shots at 2 targets. Because of its special rule its at ballistic skill 2. Does this mean if it were to shoot at ground targets, the 2 clusters of 4 shots at 2 different things would be at ballistic skill 2 instead of 1 without interceptor?


This is pretty easy to answer. If the Stalker is NOT firing at a Flyer/FMC, then it MUST snap shoot, as per the Skyfire rule. BS4 is used when firing at a single flying target; BS2 is used when split-firing between two flying targets; BS1 is used when firing at non-flying targets.


Not as easy as you think. Split fire does not change the BS; the shots are resolved at BS2(same wording as Snap shots). TMIR is invoked as you have 2 different rules that do the same thing. Roll off unless it is FAQ'd that Snap shots(or the split fire) takes precedence.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

New question added in regards to Skyspear Missile Launcher and FMCs.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

How do multiple combat squads in a rhino interact with the fire points? Can only one squad use both fire points? Can one model fire from one fire point, and another model from the other squad use the other fire point? Or can both squads have two models use the fire points?

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: