Switch Theme:

Chapter Master orbital bombardment, can he now move and fire?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Plymouth

And to follow on from the last post its only a weapon when used so when writing your list its not a weapon

   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

Think of it this way.

Can you master craft a witchfire power?

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






 Happyjew wrote:
 Jidmah wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
5th edition did not have rules for non-vehicles using Ordnance weapons, so they had to throw some rules in.


Not true, even 4th Edition already had an infantry-mounted ordnance weapon, the SAG


That did not have rules associated with non-vehicles using Ordnance, which is why there is a note that it is treated as a Heavy Weapon for movement and assault purposes.


So the note has rules for an infantry model firing an Ordnance weapon, right?

Which are, interestingly enough, the same rules which 6th implemented.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





It's still fired as a ranged weapon in the shooting phase. I have arguments that it's not a weapon. If it isn't a weapon then I should have no restrictions firing it after moving and then assaulting as long as I assault the target I shot at. The ordnance wouldn't apply to my character because he called it down. It even specifically states it doesn't stop me from charging with said unit making me feel like the ordnance doesn't matter with the moving and all
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

icefire78 wrote:
It's still fired as a ranged weapon in the shooting phase. I have arguments that it's not a weapon. If it isn't a weapon then I should have no restrictions firing it after moving and then assaulting as long as I assault the target I shot at. The ordnance wouldn't apply to my character because he called it down. It even specifically states it doesn't stop me from charging with said unit making me feel like the ordnance doesn't matter with the moving and all
Well if it's not a weapon, and you can choose to ignore the "ordnance" part of the weapon profile, what makes you think you can use the Str and AP of this non-weapon?
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

 Happyjew wrote:
5th edition did not have rules for non-vehicles using Ordnance weapons, so they had to throw some rules in.

6th edition has specific rules forbidding moving and firing, so you still cannot move and shoot (unless in Terminator armour).


Or a boss guardsman with a demo charge.
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard






Seeing as the rule gives you specific permission to charge after using it (Which you wouldn't normally, as it's Ordnance), it seems safe to say you treat it like any other Ordnance weapon.

Meaning you can't move and shoot it without relentless (Terminator Armor, Armor Indomnitus, Bike, etc.).

It is also listed under special rules and not wargear, therefore it is not a weapon, it is a special rule that "counts as firing a ranged weapon". Clearly, "counts as" indicates it is NOT a ranged weapon, but it is resolved as one.
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






move and fire, so long as you have relentless or TDA or something, yes

MC it? (or divination or other re roll to hit) RAW as it stands... yes, but the other orbital barrages have been faq's to not be able to MC, so likely not RAI, or it will be faq's away at some point.

 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Vulcan allows you to master-craft a weapon. Since the orbital bombardment is not a weapon, but rather a special rule, you can't mastercraft it, just like can't master-craft ATSKNF.

When you chose to use the orbital bombardment, the chapter master counts as firing an ordnance weapon. The rule "orbital bombardment" never counts as ordnance weapon.

However, you would apply any rules that work on shooting attacks in general (and are not limited to weapons, ie. wargear), including prescience. Witchfire psychic power work the same way, so this isn't too surprising.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/12 05:49:31


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker






icefire78 wrote:
It's still fired as a ranged weapon in the shooting phase. I have arguments that it's not a weapon. If it isn't a weapon then I should have no restrictions firing it after moving and then assaulting as long as I assault the target I shot at. The ordnance wouldn't apply to my character because he called it down. It even specifically states it doesn't stop me from charging with said unit making me feel like the ordnance doesn't matter with the moving and all


If it specifically states that then it won't stop you from charging then it shouldn't stop you from moving. It has Ordanance in the profile so the damage eminates from the center of the blast not the Character Firing it.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Why would you deep strike a lander raider?

Because i can and hey it worked didn't it?

BA-4k+ Gaurd 4K+
Tau 4k+ 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 juraigamer wrote:


GK can do the same thing, taking an orbital strike on a grandmaster and MC-ing it.


THIS is the opposite of true. Read your FAQs.

And also from the GK FAQ:

GK FAQ wrote:
Q: Inquisitor Karamazov has the Relentless special rule, but can he use his orbital strike relay if he has moved (p46/58)?
A: No.


So if we want to use Precedent as a thing (which we do), then Relentless is now what allows you to move and shoot the OSB.
IF you want to do that, you have to have some other rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/12 13:24:19


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

The Orbital Strike Relay specifically says you cannot move. This language doesn't exist in the SM codex.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 MasterSlowPoke wrote:
The Orbital Strike Relay specifically says you cannot move. This language doesn't exist in the SM codex.


Well, that's good to know!

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: