Switch Theme:

100% Drop Pod List  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






Just let it slide . If he ever rans into someone playing a full drop pod list in a friendly they wont play against each other and are done. If he ever rans into someone on a tournament a judge will quickly solve the debate.

Juraigamer is that also how you would play it or are you simply arguing RAW?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/17 21:55:19


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Mywik wrote:
Just let it slide . If he ever rans into someone playing a full drop pod list in a friendly they wont play against each other and are done. If he ever rans into someone on a tournament a judge will quickly solve the debate.

Juraigamer is that also how you would play it or are you simply arguing RAW?


Its gotta be how he would play it, because the rules are clear that all models embarked on drop pods do not count.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






 DeathReaper wrote:
 Mywik wrote:
Just let it slide . If he ever rans into someone playing a full drop pod list in a friendly they wont play against each other and are done. If he ever rans into someone on a tournament a judge will quickly solve the debate.

Juraigamer is that also how you would play it or are you simply arguing RAW?


Its gotta be how he would play it, because the rules are clear that all models embarked on drop pods do not count.


Did i disagree? Why not let him answer my question anyway?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/17 22:14:47


 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






 juraigamer wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:


Please cite actual rules that disagree.




Been doing that, but oh well for those without a book, page 124 brb:

"Units that must start the game in reserve are
ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units
may do so. A unit and its Dedicated Transport are counted as a
single unit for these purposes. Independent Characters are also
counted as a single unit regardless of whether they have joined
another unit or not.
"

To me, this means that it doesn't matter if the IC joins a unit in a drop pod or flier, it still counts towards the reserve limit.

The FAQ doesn't matter in this case, because it doesn't address this situation in the rulebook, there it says you can't do it.


Wrong. The more specific rules for drop pods and their FAQ supercede the less specific rules as stated on page 124 of the rulebook. I'm not sure how you can not grasp this and am beginning to suspect that you're trolling us to see how many pages of responses you will get. This will be my last response.

DQ:70+S++G+M-B+I+Pw40k93+ID++A+/eWD156R++T(T)DM++


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 juraigamer wrote:
Been doing that, but oh well for those without a book, page 124 brb:

"Units that must start the game in reserve are
ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units
may do so. A unit and its Dedicated Transport are counted as a
single unit for these purposes. Independent Characters are also
counted as a single unit regardless of whether they have joined
another unit or not.
"

To me, this means that it doesn't matter if the IC joins a unit in a drop pod or flier, it still counts towards the reserve limit.

The FAQ doesn't matter in this case, because it doesn't address this situation in the rulebook, there it says you can't do it.

OK... now can you explain why you feel that 'counts as a single unit' automatically means 'counts towards your reserves limit"?

Because if counting as a single unit is all that is required for the unit to count towards your reserve limit, the drop pod is also going to count towards your reserve limit, based on that quote. Despite the rules elsewhere saying it doesn't.

 
   
Made in fi
Rebel_Princess





Finland

 juraigamer wrote:
Just the same happyjew, page 124 tells us IC's are always counted as a separate unit in reserve, regardless of if they join a unit, so two specific rules are colliding. What do. Which takes precedent? Both rules take effect, being in the pod and being an IC. Page 124. I'm not arguing what it says on page 36, please stop blindly quoting it. I have never encountered two specifics colliding before like this. I'm looking for an explanation on this, since page 1, not copy paste and knee jerk responses.

Funny. I just made a full drop pod army that will never be allowed to get on board except for the second half.

HQ-IC
HQ-IC
Techmarine-IC x 2
Squads x 4
Drop Pods x 4


Based on what you are saying, I have 4 Drop Pods with a squad and an independent character inside each one. These would be 4 units (squad and pod ignored in calculations). Half of these could go to reserve. Now the problem is that "Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in reserve and must enter play using the Deep Strike rules." Since all Drop Pods must start in reserves and half of them can't and you can't deploy the pod with the models inside (because they are embarked on the Drop Pod) normally the game just explodes.

Why does this happen? All of the pods must start in reserve. Also half of the pods can not start in reserve (they have IC aboard). Half of the pods can start in reserve. Half of the pods is not all of the pods.


Tell me, how is the above handled according to you?


Ps. This is stupid.

Forever a pone. 
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





Virginia

 kaapelikala wrote:

HQ-IC
HQ-IC
Techmarine-IC x 2
Squads x 4
Drop Pods x 4

...how is the above handled...?



So if we're playing Purge the Alien then I'm counting 12 units (2HQsd, 2 Techmarines, 4 squads, 4 DPs). Your drop pods start in reserve automatically and are not counted when determining reserves. The Squads start on the pods and therefore aren't counted either. If you don't put anything else into the pods, then you only have 4 units that I am allowed to count towards determining reserves. So, you can put 2 more units into reserves. If, however, you put your 2 HQ units onto a pod, then you only have 2 units that I am allowed to count towards determining reserves. So, you can put 1 more unit into reserves. Finally, if your pods have room, and you, for instance, put 1 HQ into DP-A, 1 HQ into DP-B, 1 techmarine into DP-C, and 1 techmarine into DP-D, then you have no units that I'm allowed to count towards reserves. This is because all 8 units are embarked on 4 units that "must arrive by Deep Strike" and in this case all units that "must be deployed by Deep Strike (along with any models embarked upon them) are ignored" when trying to calculate how many units may start in reserves. (p36) This is further clarified with the same language on p124 and reconfirmed in the FAQ when it states "Do unitS [plural] that are TRANSPORTED in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example, must I count the units IN a DROP POD or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124) A: No." (emphasis added).

So, to answer the OP question:

gausus wrote:
If i put all my units into 7 drop pods 4 of them arrive at the begining of my first turn.
In that scenario, if i get to go second, my oponent does not have ant thing to shoot in the first turn. He can just move his units, and that is is?


Yes, if you go second, then all your opponent may do during his first player turn is move his units around.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Yes, if you go second, then all your opponent may do during his first player turn is move his units around.


Not entirely true. He can cast blessings and use wargear like forinstance the Grimoire. A daemon player will be more than happy for your drop pod army to go second...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 FlingitNow wrote:
Yes, if you go second, then all your opponent may do during his first player turn is move his units around.


Not entirely true. He can cast blessings and use wargear like forinstance the Grimoire. A daemon player will be more than happy for your drop pod army to go second...


As a Daemon, I am happy to go first against Drop Pods, because of the Grimoire.
But as a GREY KNIGHT, I absolutely MUST go first, to the point that I will pay you $1. Warp Quake ahoy!

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 kaapelikala wrote:
 juraigamer wrote:
Just the same happyjew, page 124 tells us IC's are always counted as a separate unit in reserve, regardless of if they join a unit, so two specific rules are colliding. What do. Which takes precedent? Both rules take effect, being in the pod and being an IC. Page 124. I'm not arguing what it says on page 36, please stop blindly quoting it. I have never encountered two specifics colliding before like this. I'm looking for an explanation on this, since page 1, not copy paste and knee jerk responses.

Funny. I just made a full drop pod army that will never be allowed to get on board except for the second half.

HQ-IC
HQ-IC
Techmarine-IC x 2
Squads x 4
Drop Pods x 4


Based on what you are saying, I have 4 Drop Pods with a squad and an independent character inside each one. These would be 4 units (squad and pod ignored in calculations). Half of these could go to reserve. Now the problem is that "Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in reserve and must enter play using the Deep Strike rules." Since all Drop Pods must start in reserves and half of them can't and you can't deploy the pod with the models inside (because they are embarked on the Drop Pod) normally the game just explodes.

Why does this happen? All of the pods must start in reserve. Also half of the pods can not start in reserve (they have IC aboard). Half of the pods can start in reserve. Half of the pods is not all of the pods.


Tell me, how is the above handled according to you?


Ps. This is stupid.


While I agree that this formation is 100% legal, it does not address his logic. He would likely say that the IC or squad can not both deploy in the drop pod and be a legal formation. Since The drop pods are dedicated transports the IC would be required to start on the field. (Unless he is willing to admit pg 124 does handle this because drop pods must arrive via deep strike)
   
Made in sg
Brainy Zoanthrope





Orock wrote:
Isn't there. Rule in sixth now that says if you have no models on the board at anytime now you lose?


At the end of the game turn only.

So starting with the entire army in drop pods is fine.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

 juraigamer wrote:


Been doing that, but oh well for those without a book, page 124 brb:

"Units that must start the game in reserve are
ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units
may do so. A unit and its Dedicated Transport are counted as a
single unit for these purposes. Independent Characters are also
counted as a single unit regardless of whether they have joined
another unit or not.
"

To me, this means that it doesn't matter if the IC joins a unit in a drop pod or flier, it still counts towards the reserve limit.

The FAQ doesn't matter in this case, because it doesn't address this situation in the rulebook, there it says you can't do it.


No one is arguing that an IC counts separately when calculating reserves.

Your argument for Pg.124 simply tells you that they are normally counted separate when joined to a unit. It mentions nothing in regards to being embarked on a transport that must be taken in reserve. There's nothing telling you you can't do it either....it tells you what you can do, by virtue of specific permissions. In this case, we are given explicit permission to ignore the IC (or MODEL) when calculating reserve totals, because he is embarked on a transport that must start the game in reserve.


::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

What about using a small amount of table units, like TLOS hiding TFC, to allow for some additional units like scout speeders. Thoughts?

Edit: Ahhh got linked from tactics... Didn't realise it was YMDC

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/21 21:17:28


 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw




 NickTheButcher wrote:
 juraigamer wrote:


Been doing that, but oh well for those without a book, page 124 brb:

"Units that must start the game in reserve are
ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units
may do so. A unit and its Dedicated Transport are counted as a
single unit for these purposes. Independent Characters are also
counted as a single unit regardless of whether they have joined
another unit or not.
"

To me, this means that it doesn't matter if the IC joins a unit in a drop pod or flier, it still counts towards the reserve limit.

The FAQ doesn't matter in this case, because it doesn't address this situation in the rulebook, there it says you can't do it.


No one is arguing that an IC counts separately when calculating reserves.

Your argument for Pg.124 simply tells you that they are normally counted separate when joined to a unit. It mentions nothing in regards to being embarked on a transport that must be taken in reserve. There's nothing telling you you can't do it either....it tells you what you can do, by virtue of specific permissions. In this case, we are given explicit permission to ignore the IC (or MODEL) when calculating reserve totals, because he is embarked on a transport that must start the game in reserve.



This doesn't quite work. The IC is not "a unit that must start in reserves", the only wording that allows an embarked unit in a drop pod to be ignored along with the drop pod is the statement that units and their dedicated transport are considered one unit. Even when embarked in a drop pod, the DP is not the IC's dedicated transport, therefore he must count towards reserves.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





You are ignoring the FAQ that says anyone embarked on any transport (not just dedicated) are not counted. It's been quoted multiple times in this thread - perhaps you would like to read it?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw




rigeld2 wrote:
You are ignoring the FAQ that says anyone embarked on any transport (not just dedicated) are not counted. It's been quoted multiple times in this thread - perhaps you would like to read it?


Fair enough. Not even sure why I chimed in since it's in my best interest for it to be allowed. LOL
   
Made in gr
Regular Dakkanaut




Ok. So one question - does anyone tested an all drop-pod list and would like to share the info, how did the game went?
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

@juraigamer

1. In the described scenario, is the IC embarked in a transport that must start in reserve? (yes/no)

2. Do units that start embarked in a transport that must start in reserve count towards your reserves limit? (yes/no)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/23 04:14:03


-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: