Switch Theme:

Can you manifest blessings after arriving from reserve??  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
HIWPI: Blessings from reserves, Yea or Nea?
YEA!
NEA!
WAT?

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





Goobi2 wrote:
Re-read, its still not when you move the models. Its just when they pass their reserve rolls. After the Outflank rolls are made the "Models move onto the table as described for other Reserves" as per the Outflank rule, which is still after all rolls are made and powers should be cast.

You might want to trade your rulebook in then...
BRB 40 wrote:When an Outflanking unit arrives from Reserves,

And when does a unit arrive from Reserves?
BRB 124 wrote:If the roll is a 3 or more, that unit arrives this turn

What does arriving mean?
BRB 124 wrote:When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below.

Taking all of this into account and knowing that - according to the rules - Outflank rolls are simultaneous with Reserve rolls, we can show that you make Outflank rolls when a unit arrives from Reserve (because you must deploy when arriving and must roll when arriving).

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Goobi2 wrote:
Re-read, its still not when you move the models. Its just when they pass their reserve rolls. After the Outflank rolls are made the "Models move onto the table as described for other Reserves" as per the Outflank rule, which is still after all rolls are made and powers should be cast.


You don't know that following your interpretation if someone has more than 1 unit arrive from outflank on the same turn all but the first one rolled for are auto destroyed. Do you really believe that is the rules?

The reason being you are forced to move the units on as you make the Outflank roll. So after the first roll is made the first unit arrives. According to you that is now no longer the beginning of the turn therefore the next unit can not roll for outflank and therefore can not legally come on from ANY board edge and is thus destroyed. Seriously you play it this way?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Actually, according to me you would do all your rolls Psychic, Reserves, Outflank in the same stage and then all models that arrived from Reserves or Outflank would come onto the board as the first models moved in the movement phase.

The game is divided up into lots of simultaneous stages like that.

Also, arriving doesn't mean:

"BRB 124 wrote:
When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below."

That statement says players picks one of the units that arriving that turn, not that doing so is the cause of them arriving. Otherwise it would say "Reserve arrive when." If a unit had to be moved onto the board in order to arrive, that would mean that Outflanking units would have to walk onto the board normally before they came in from the sides. That's just silly.

Instead a unit arrives:

"BRB 124 wrote:
If the roll is a 3 or more, that unit arrives this turn"

That statement says if the roll is appropriate that turn then the unit arrives. Its right after this that Outflanks rolls are made, unless you wanted to do Blessings right then for some reason.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/21 22:03:27


 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

rigeld2 wrote:
And what does the FAQ tell us? That you can pick to resolve Reserves first, or cast powers. If you choose to resolve Reserves first, what is stopping you from casting powers on the units that just moved on?
His point seemed to be that once you start moving models on you're past the point where you can cast powers. That's demonstrably false.

That makes the most sense, it allows you to cast powers on models that just arrived and you can use powers that increase the chance of them coming in play.

One thing that is unclear to me: Do you have to pick between all powers or can you say "Scrier's Gaze first, then reserve and then I cast prescience"?
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Goobi2:

You seem to separate the process of rolling for reserves and units coming into play from reserve as if they occur at different points in the movement phase. It looks to me like one continuous procedure. The turn advances as the BRB tells us it does and the reserves rules do not permit it to do so until the units have moved onto the board. The obvious conclusion being that the movement phase does not progress beyond 'start of movement' until the reserves procedure is observed in its entirety and units enter play. This and other things that happen at the 'start of movement' are ordered as the controlling player sees fit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/21 22:58:46


-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Goobi2 wrote:
Actually, according to me you would do all your rolls Psychic, Reserves, Outflank in the same stage and then all models that arrived from Reserves or Outflank would come onto the board as the first models moved in the movement phase.

The game is divided up into lots of simultaneous stages like that.

Also, arriving doesn't mean:

"BRB 124 wrote:
When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below."

That statement says players picks one of the units that arriving that turn, not that doing so is the cause of them arriving. Otherwise it would say "Reserve arrive when." If a unit had to be moved onto the board in order to arrive, that would mean that Outflanking units would have to walk onto the board normally before they came in from the sides. That's just silly.

Instead a unit arrives:

"BRB 124 wrote:
If the roll is a 3 or more, that unit arrives this turn"

That statement says if the roll is appropriate that turn then the unit arrives. Its right after this that Outflanks rolls are made, unless you wanted to do Blessings right then for some reason.

When do Reserves arrive? When you roll a 3+.
What happens when they arrive? They move on.

So when you roll a 3+ they move on. One simultaneous action.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




When do you move on? Oh yeah, after you roll. The fact that one has to come after the other makes them not simultaneous.

When do cast powers? At the same time you roll, which is before moving on.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Goobi2 wrote:
When do you move on? Oh yeah, after you roll. The fact that one has to come after the other makes them not simultaneous.

Actually, according to the FAQ (and all the rules taken together), moving on is simultaneous with the roll. Yes, that's physically impossible, but as far as the rules are concerned that's what happens.

When you roll a 3+, units arrive.
When they arrive, they move on.

That's not a first this then this - it's when a happens, b happens.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The FAQ doesn't say that the movement is at the same time though, just the rolls. Arriving and moving on are not the same thing, as we covered earlier.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Goobi2 wrote:
When do you move on? Oh yeah, after you roll. The fact that one has to come after the other makes them not simultaneous.

When do cast powers? At the same time you roll, which is before moving on.


Within the turn order, they are in fact simultaneous. Permissive rule set. No permission is given for the turn or phase to progress between rolling for reserves and bringing in reserves nor does it state those two things as separate events. That means as far as the order of events goes reserves(the whole process), blessings/maledictions and any other 'at start of movement' events/effects/abilities all occur at the same time.

Edit: I just realized the funniest part is that by your line of thought here is that to use Terrify you'd have to declare it's use while selecting the target, rolling the psychic test all at once while simultaneously your opponent, all at once, rolls their moral, fallback distance and moves the models.... of course you wouldn't know if they were going to fall back til after the moral test and you won't know if you need to do that until after the psychic test but as it all happens simultaneously you don't have the opportunity to see if anything succeeds or not so you just have to guess it will work... or not... I think not.

Simultaneous in the game does not mean all the mechanics are handled simultaneously.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/22 05:34:30


-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Goobi2 wrote:
The FAQ doesn't say that the movement is at the same time though, just the rolls. Arriving and moving on are not the same thing, as we covered earlier.

It does by saying that the outflank rolls are simultaneous as well - because those are done when the units arrive.
What else happens when they arrive? They move onto the table.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Permissive rule set? You aren't permitted to move on until you have rolled. One MUST follow the other.

Permissive rule set: blessings are at the same time as the ROLLS to come on. Nothing permits going after movement.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

You totally missed what has already been said. By the rules, rolling for reserves and moving on from reserves happens simultaneously.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




While they are at the start of the movement phase, it is definitively not at the same time if one must be before the other. The only part involving the timing of the movement part limits the models from reserve must be moved on before anyone else moves.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Again, by the rules they do occur at the same time. It doesn't matter that you have to pass the roll first to move on from reserve or not. By the rules they occur simultaneously.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




By the rules, you can't come on until after rolls.

By the rules, (FAQ takes precedence) blessings occur at the same time as the rolls, which by the rules occurs before coming on.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Goobi2 wrote:
By the rules, you can't come on until after rolls.

By the rules, (FAQ takes precedence) blessings occur at the same time as the rolls, which by the rules occurs before coming on.


And when do you make Outflank rolls?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Goobi2 wrote:
By the rules, you can't come on until after rolls.

By the rules, (FAQ takes precedence) blessings occur at the same time as the rolls, which by the rules occurs before coming on.

And you still don't get the picture. Those events are considered to be simultaneous by the rules. Events that occur sequentially in real life can be considered to be simultaneous by the rules.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

BRB FAQ wrote:Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.


Outflank rolls happen when a unit moves onto the table.
So moving onto the table from reserve must occur simultaneously with Blessings.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/22 23:07:04


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




By that logic you couldn't roll for outflank until the models were on the table...
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Goobi2 wrote:
By that logic you couldn't roll for outflank until the models were on the table...

You should read outflank, take 2 minutes to slowly read over it. It is very clear that outflank rolls happens AS models enter play ie are coming on. There is no permission to stop outflanking, do something else and move the models on. You need to finish the execution of this special rule before you continue on to execute some other special rule.

This is why you cannot cast all the maledictions, bring in the reserves that could block line of sight and then bless the newly arrived reserves so they can shoot extra good this turn.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Goobi2 wrote:
By that logic you couldn't roll for outflank until the models were on the table...


Again you mistake simultaneous events in game with having to preform the necessary mechanics in real time. While this is incorrect I'd like to see a video of someone trying.

Player A is thinking about firing his bolters from his ten man squad... no time to think in the middle of it...
Player A declares the firing unit, declares target, checks range, rolls to hit, rolls to wound(with every possible combination of dice he might need to do so) and allocates wounds all at once while Player B guessing at which unit Player A was going to shoot with and at whom, rolls every possible combination of dice he might need in that moment for their saves.... all simultaneously!


This is the logic you did in fact present earlier... i'm still loling over it(no offense but its funny)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/23 04:15:04


-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




They are not simultaneous by the games standards though. Reserves are rolled for, then outflanks, and then they can come on. Outflankers move on exactly at the same time as regular reserves, which is still at a later step than the rolls to see if they come in at all.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Again, they ARE simultaneous. There are no separate steps at the beginning of the turn. Everything that happens at the beginning of the turn is simultaneous.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Goobi2 wrote:
They are not simultaneous by the games standards though. Reserves are rolled for, then outflanks, and then they can come on. Outflankers move on exactly at the same time as regular reserves, which is still at a later step than the rolls to see if they come in at all.


You said they are now you say they are not. You seem confused.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

This is another situation where people are under the misapprehension that reality can be applied to 40k. Yes, you do roll for reserves before moving them on, no, they are not treated as sequential events as per the rules of the game. Simultaneous in rules, sequential in reality.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: