Switch Theme:

Flamer placement - Which of the following is legal? Please read before voting!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Which of these three placements are valid and legal? (READ THE POST FIRST!)
A is the only legal way.
B is the only legal way.
C is the only legal way.
A and B are legal.
B and C are legal.
A and C are legal.
A, B, and C are legal.
None of them are legal.
Other.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL



The salient rules points:
BRB p.52 wrote:...place the template so that the narrow end is touching the base of the firing model, and the rest of the template covers as many models in the target unit as possible, without touching any other friendly models...


So...which of the three flamer placements above are valid, legal placements? (Let us assume that the template is covering enemy models, and not touching any other friendly models.)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/06 23:14:59


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in au
Terrifying Treeman






The Fallen Realm of Umbar

Provided they hit as many enemies as possible in the target unit, all are legal.

DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Krellnus wrote:
Provided they hit as many enemies as possible in the target unit, all are legal.

I was just about to say, none are legal because none of them are touching any enemy models.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I posted this because some people have claimed that you can't fire from the back or the side of the base.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






A is obviously the normal way, and I've often seen people do C, but never seen anyone try B.

After a read through p52 though, I can see nothing wrong with it with the exception of when firing at vehicles "without touching a friendly model", but further on it does say "never hits the model firing it.".

So I've voted all.
   
Made in au
Terrifying Treeman






The Fallen Realm of Umbar

I'm curious as to the reasoning of whomever voted A only.

DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.

 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

 Krellnus wrote:
Provided they hit as many enemies as possible in the target unit, all are legal.


this
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




I can understand why people may quip at option B, as its not common sense that you can fire through yourself, but there is nothing preventing you from doing so for infantry.
   
Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





All are legal, B is gamey though
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Onerios wrote:
I can understand why people may quip at option B, as its not common sense that you can fire through yourself, but there is nothing preventing you from doing so for infantry.

The BRB explicitly states the flamer can not hit itself,so commen sense should have nothing to do with it.

All are legal as long as you hit as many enemy models as possible and none of your own unit not counting the flamer guy himself.
   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

Does this mean that I need to use "B" if it would end up covering the most enemy units? Because while RAW, it feels wrong.

I guess I'm just a dirty cheater for playing it as "A"

   
Made in ca
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge




Wainwright, AB

I voted for all, and my reasoning is the same as the previous points which have been made. Personally in game I just place the tip of the template over the weapon, so 98% of the time Im using something very close to A or B.
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







I said A and C would be acceptable. My issue with B is that it says the template must be "touching" and doesn't mention allowing it to be "over" the base. If you refer to the multiple barrage rules there is a distinction. People who vote for A only are following the example in the rulebook that only shows the template in that configuration.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




I voted A and C, though I suppose there's nothing to stop B from being legal - I don't suppose it's ever been done.

The plural of codex is codexes.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I voted none of them. I don't like template weapons. They ignore my cover. Gants only get a 6+ armour save they *need* cover.
Also, so it got one vote.
In all seriousness though, while all are legal, I've only seen people use method A.

OK I guess they are all technically illegal as they do not cover any enemy models, but...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Edited the original post to include the assumption that the template is hitting some enemies.

Personally, I've been using method B for some time, and while I've had some opponents express surprise, I don't think anyone has complained (certainly not to my face) yet.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Psss: Jim, also stick in there that it is not touching any friendly models either....

Anyway, B is the interesting one, I can see it being very useful in a lot of situations and voted Yes on it being legal. There is a few requirements before a template can be legally placed and the check list appears to be all full. The narrow end touches the base of the firing model. I assume in this situation it does not lie over other friendly models. We also know now that it is hitting as many enemy models as possible. It would of normally generated a hit against itself, but that last sentence that indicates it is immune from it's own damage is there.

Which brings up the question, why have a sentence stating that the firing model will not damage itself if you can not place the template in a way to make a self-inflicted hit possible?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

JinxDragon wrote:
Which brings up the question, why have a sentence stating that the firing model will not damage itself if you can not place the template in a way to make a self-inflicted hit possible?

Vehicles maybe?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

 Ghaz wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
Which brings up the question, why have a sentence stating that the firing model will not damage itself if you can not place the template in a way to make a self-inflicted hit possible?

Vehicles maybe?


I know that the baal preds flamestorm hits itself iirc or maybe I'm thinking of the heavy flamer on a razorback

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Or a template weapon from an access point.

Edit: ignore that, it's not hitting itself but it's transport.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/06 23:32:30


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

If that was the case, wouldn't the rule be better written as 'a vehicle firing a template weapon can never hit itself?'

We know that Game Workshop does differentiates between vehicle and non-vehicle models. This is even apparent within the section detailing what different weapon types do, of which template is a part. Ordinance weapons inform us that a non-vehicle model can not fire an additional weapon, if they where allowed in the first place. Given that the word 'model' normally means anything with a model profile, and the section of the book has previously called out non-vehicle models, it is very difficult to support an argument that it exists only for those rare situations where measuring down a weapons barrel makes the template fall over-top the vehicle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/06 23:42:15


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

JinxDragon wrote:
If that was the case, wouldn't the rule be better written as 'a vehicle firing a template weapon can never hit itself?'

No, because the way it is written covers it just fine.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





out of pure laziness, i been measuring it up only once per unit and multiply the hits by how many flamers are in that unit

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/07 08:48:53


 
   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

shadowsfm wrote:
out of pure laziness, i been measuring it up only once per unit and multiply the hits by how many flamers are in that unit


That's more then lazy, it's wrong. Normally there is one "sweet spot" where you can have one guy drop a template and hit a large number of targets. If only have two flamers, they may be able to share that spot. Normal unit spacing will push additional shooters out of that spot and they will be hitting less targets. Especially if you are talking about 4-10 flamers in a squad.

   
Made in gb
Cowboy Wannabe



London

I voted all are legal.

I commonly use both A and C, A as it is the most 'obvious' method, and C can be very useful at times. Though a lot of people don't even think about it.

Never done or seen B, but I can see no reason why is is not allowed. Even if it will only be really useful in very specific circumstances.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

DeathReaper,

Can you explain why it 'covers it just fine?'

My post was in direct relation to the possibility that single sentence was designed only for vehicles. If this was the case then it was far from 'covers it just fine' as the sentence is applicable to all models and not just vehicles. So, pray tell how you come to the conclusion that the last sentence is 'just fine' at covering that this particular step of the rules apply to just vehicles because I am finding it very hard to say that sentence is meant for anything bar permission to ignore the fire using a template weapon regardless of whom that model is.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/10/07 16:43:35


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader





London, England

I voted for all of them. I can't see a reason that any of the three would be illegal.
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





I see nothing wrong with any of the placements. Each of them meet RAW and there isn't much of a case to argue that RAI is any different.

Even HIWPI is all are legal.

Page 10 in the the Turning and Facing section. "Whilst the direction a model is facing won't impact its ability to shoot or charge..." essentially gives us permission to treat the model as facing in any direction we want.

So even if your models are facing forward they can be treated as if they have turned around...

I'm more interested in why this is even a question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/08 01:03:33


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

clively wrote:
I see nothing wrong with any of the placements. Each of them meet RAW and there isn't much of a case to argue that RAI is any different.

Even HIWPI is all are legal.

Page 10 in the the Turning and Facing section. "Whilst the direction a model is facing won't impact its ability to shoot or charge..." essentially gives us permission to treat the model as facing in any direction we want.

So even if your models are facing forward they can be treated as if they have turned around...

I'm more interested in why this is even a question.


One of our players questioned the legality of B + C, since I tend to use them both. I figured that, as a flamer heavy army, I'm not exactly unbiased, so I wanted to get some objective feedback.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gb
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




So if you've modeled a figure with a flamer leaning backwards, say a jp model... why then is b not possible?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: