Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 19:58:44
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Ouze wrote:Boss GreenNutz wrote:10 pages and this is still going? It has been shown that there are Games Workshop Gretchin and IG that can see over an Aegis without modification.
No one has posted a picture of such yet. The closest anyone came to addressing that was someone posted that 2nd ed Grots could see over it, and someone else said they couldn't - hardly definitive.
Peek a boo. I see you.....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 20:14:28
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Cowboy Wannabe
London
|
Is he on a normal or a scenic base? also can we see him from the other side right up close to the aegis line?
If that grot can see over it, all well and good...for that grot, not for other that cannot however.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 20:15:20
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan
|
Boss GreenNutz wrote: Ouze wrote:Boss GreenNutz wrote:10 pages and this is still going? It has been shown that there are Games Workshop Gretchin and IG that can see over an Aegis without modification.
No one has posted a picture of such yet. The closest anyone came to addressing that was someone posted that 2nd ed Grots could see over it, and someone else said they couldn't - hardly definitive.
Peek a boo. I see you.....

What's on the other side? I'd like to see more of this warboss-size grot.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/08 20:17:14
lord_blackfang wrote:Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.
Flinty wrote:The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 20:24:10
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ouze wrote:
What's on the other side? I'd like to see more of this warboss-size grot.
Wow... A FANTASY spear chukka crew on a cinematic base. Fails 'Rule of Cool', 'Counts as' and ' MFA'.
I have that model, He is barley tall enough if you accept he is even valid as a 40k grot and doesn't serve an explicit cinematic purpose for a fantasy model.
Putting him up higher is just gross boldface cheating so anytime this would be tried, the game ends. Automatically Appended Next Post: Boss GreenNutz wrote:10 pages and this is still going? It has been shown that there are Games Workshop Gretchin and IG that can see over an Aegis without modification. If you want to use one pick yourself up some of those models. Problem solved for everyone.
Orcs & Goblins Goblin Spear Chukka =! 40k Gretchin
Stop lying about the spear chukka grot saying it is a valid 40k model. Fantasy models in 40k would fall under 'counts as' which shouldn't be different size than the model it is standing in for.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/08 20:26:09
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 20:39:31
Subject: Re:Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan
|
So here's a size reference for supergrot:
What's he standing on?
If you can put this down and say with a straight face you're not cheating...
|
lord_blackfang wrote:Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.
Flinty wrote:The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 21:24:56
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nkelsch wrote: Ouze wrote:
What's on the other side? I'd like to see more of this warboss-size grot.
Wow... A FANTASY spear chukka crew on a cinematic base. Fails 'Rule of Cool', 'Counts as' and ' MFA'.
I have that model, He is barley tall enough if you accept he is even valid as a 40k grot and doesn't serve an explicit cinematic purpose for a fantasy model.
Putting him up higher is just gross boldface cheating so anytime this would be tried, the game ends.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Boss GreenNutz wrote:10 pages and this is still going? It has been shown that there are Games Workshop Gretchin and IG that can see over an Aegis without modification. If you want to use one pick yourself up some of those models. Problem solved for everyone.
Orcs & Goblins Goblin Spear Chukka =! 40k Gretchin
Stop lying about the spear chukka grot saying it is a valid 40k model. Fantasy models in 40k would fall under 'counts as' which shouldn't be different size than the model it is standing in for.
Before you open your mouth and remove all doubt about your stupidity you should actually check that model if you own it as you say. And you yourself have even stated that you can not state with certainty that that model was never sold in a blister labeled "Gretchin". So until you prove that a game produced by Games Workshop can not be played with miniatures produced by ........wait for it.....games workshop then you should reevaluate what you say before hitting the post button. That little guy has the word "gretchin" on his mounting tab. The entry in the CODEX for that unit is titled (I'll type this slowly since you obviously are not that fast at comprehending the written word) G R E T C H I N. Wow they match. who would have ever thunk it.
And to show he is as he was out of the blister.
Your apology is accepted.
Edit: oops IPAD doesn't have preview pane.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/08 21:33:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 21:34:07
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
^...why so much internet rage?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 21:35:18
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Boss GreenNutz wrote:
Before you open your mouth and remove all doubt about your stupidity you should actually check that model if you own it as you say. And you yourself have even stated that you can not state with certainty that that model was never sold in a blister labeled "Gretchin".
Plausibile denyability LIAR.
That model was never sold as a 40k gretchin. It was never sold as a big gunz crew. It has never been sold as anything BUT crew for the spear chukkas as that is a newer model. There is no evidence a liar as yourself would ever accept to 'prove' your 'unprovable' position.
So until you prove that a game produced by Games Workshop can not be played with miniatures produced by ........wait for it.....games workshop then you should reevaluate what you say before hitting the post button.
No. GW makes models for different purposes and different games. You cannot swap models simply because they are the same race or same color or whatever. You should re-evaluate your boldface lying by claiming this was sold as a 40k model and is anything but a 'permission required counts as'
That little guy has the word "gretchin" on his mounting tab.
He is not a 40k model. You cannot blindly substitute any model anywhere which is supposedly the same race in these games.
The entry in the CODEX for that unit is titled (I'll type this slowly since you obviously are not that fast at comprehending the written word) G R E T C H I N. Wow they match. who would have ever thunk it.
It is not a 40k model and you know it. By your logic I can use any goblin model GW has ever produce as any other goblin model GW has ever produced. You are wrong. STOP LYING about that being a 40k model. It is explicitly designed to pull a lever ont he spear chucker which makes it serve no purpose without the spearchukka.
And to show he is as he was out of the blister.
Your apology is accepted.
Then you lied and posted him on top of another base behind the wall as I have that model, and the wall doesn't come to his wasteline. You are saying that model is 1" tall at his waste? It isn't.
There is no apology for a boldface cheating you are proposing and the documented lying you are doing about this being a 40k model.
The only way that model would sit that high is if you had an additional base or more under his base. There is zero way he would sit as high as your photo claims. I have the exact same model and his eyes are barley 1" which is the lowest part of the wall. Your photo is a lie, pure and simple.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/12/08 21:43:36
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 21:45:16
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Then take the one you claim you own and prove me wrong that he can not see over an ADL. You know he can or you would have all ready done it.
I am using. Games workshop model in a .....sigh.....wait for it again........Games Workshop game. By your line of reasoning I can not use a marine out of a Tac squad box in a Dev squad because he doesn't have "devastator" stamped on his ass.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/08 21:49:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 21:48:30
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Boss GreenNutz wrote:Then take the one you claim you own and prove me wrong that he can not see over an ADL. You know he can or you would have all ready done it.
Yes, Because I carry my photobooth, and all my 40k models with me wherever I go. that is not a 40k model, it is a 'permission required counts as' which people would disallow for not matching the dimensions of the stock models and you really claim that model is close to 2"tall? You are sticking to that story?
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 21:53:42
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So which is it? Are you claiming it isn't a GW model? That he Can not see over an ADL? Hell I never said he was 2" tall.
If your hard on over this is a camera angle here is another one with him right up against it and the lens below the table.
Wow imagine that he can still see over it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/08 21:55:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 21:57:10
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Boss GreenNutz wrote:So which is it? Are you claiming it isn't a GW model? That he Can not see over an ADL? Hell I never said he was 2" tall.
If your hard on over this is a camera angle here is another one with him right up against it and the lens below the table.

GW's photo is on a 20mm base, so there he is next to 2 20mm bases. the wall is exactly 1" or 25mm tall.
How come your photos get progressively shorter? Only 1 extra base now instead of 2? Show it from the other side huh?
And none of this changes the fact it is not and never was a 40k model or packaged or sold as one and is not a valid 40k model unless you are using 'opponents consent' to allow counts as... Which the second you do it for advantage,the game ends.
Wow, you have lost all credibility with the drastic differences between your 2 photos and continuing to take pictures from the side where we can't see the base. No 'angle' can raise the model 10mm or so like in your first photo.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/08 22:00:59
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 22:03:54
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Sigh.... Only to make you look silly yet again. And wouldn't you know it he is even tall enough from this side. Wait let me guess next you'll claim I just shaved the bottom of my ADL line down didn't I? Get over yourself junior.
None of this changes the fact that he is a grot used as a grot in a game that allows the use of a ...wait for it......grot.
Your turn........
Edit. The funny thing is I don't use a ADL with my Orks. It is fun to prove those that can not listen the reason wrong though.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/12/08 22:09:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 22:08:28
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Boss GreenNutz wrote:Sigh.... Only to make you look silly yet again. And wouldn't you know it he is even tall enough from this side. Wait let me guess next you'll claim I just shaved the bottom of my ADL line down didn't I? Get over yourself junior.
None of this changes the fact that he is a grot used as a grot in a game that allows the use of a ...wait for it......grot.
Your turn........
No, he is a fantasy model, not a 40k model. Fantasy and 40k are not the same game at all. It doesn't gibe you blind permission to use whatever you want in any game.
How did you get your first photo with that model? How many bases did you put under him?
And here is the 2nd edition plastic, The base is 1" so a grot on the base his eyes can't see over.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 22:11:18
Subject: Re:Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
octarius.Lets krump da bugs!
|
No.He is NOT a grot.He comes with a GOBLIN spear chukka.Warhammer fantasy kit.not 40k.Not big gun crew.Not grot.Goblin.From spear chukka.A FANTASY kit.(Ninja'd)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/08 22:12:05
Kote!
Kandosii sa ka'rte, vode an.
Coruscanta a'den mhi, vode an.
Bal kote,Darasuum kote,
Jorso'ran kando a tome.
Sa kyr'am nau tracyn kad vode an.
Bal...
Motir ca'tra nau tracinya.
Gra'tua cuun hett su dralshy'a.
Aruetyc talyc runi'la trattok'a.
Sa kyr'am nau tracyn kad, vode an! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 22:13:21
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Good deflection junior. Proven wrong so you attempt to move the goalposts.
Yes or no. Does his tab say gretchin?
Yes or no. Is there a unit in the ork dex named Gretchin
Yes or no can you use Gretchin in a mob named Gretchin?
Yes or no can this guy see over an ADL?
Yes or no can you prove this model was never ever sold in a blister labeled Grots, or Gretchin? I've seen both over the years.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 22:21:50
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Any chance of a picture straight on, at the right level? As from what I can see of that last spear chukka model he is below the level. Just looking at where the shadow of his arm is suggests fhat.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 22:25:55
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
[DCM]
.
|
Yikes.
Rule #1 - everyone.
Final warning?
Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 22:26:23
Subject: Re:Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
octarius.Lets krump da bugs!
|
My old goblin doom diver has goblin on his slot tab.
Yes or no does it have the word goblin on his base?
Yes or no.Is there a unit in the orcs and goblins army book called goblin?
And can you prove that the metal orc cheerleader was never sold in a blister named grots or gretchin?
|
Kote!
Kandosii sa ka'rte, vode an.
Coruscanta a'den mhi, vode an.
Bal kote,Darasuum kote,
Jorso'ran kando a tome.
Sa kyr'am nau tracyn kad vode an.
Bal...
Motir ca'tra nau tracinya.
Gra'tua cuun hett su dralshy'a.
Aruetyc talyc runi'la trattok'a.
Sa kyr'am nau tracyn kad, vode an! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 22:31:06
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Boss GreenNutz wrote:
Yes or no can you prove this model was never ever sold in a blister labeled Grots, or Gretchin? I've seen both over the years.
No you haven't. You have never seen this model released in a blister labeled gretchin on a 40k blister.
The only models ever blister packed as such since the spearchucka was released were the gorkamorka gretchin and runts. GW did not take random riggers, snots and so on from other lines and randomly pack blisters.
Your argument that any 'race of model' can be any other unit with the same race is absurd. Automatically Appended Next Post: These are the 8 '3rd edition' metal gretchin GW sold in blisters.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/8-GROTS-Metal-Space-Orks-Army-Rebel-Grot-Grotz-Gretchin-Mob-40K-1997-58-/141134158530?pt=UK_Toys_Wargames_RL&hash=item20dc405ac2
There were 4 more 'RUNTS' which were smaller and had bow and arrows/slingshots.
Then there was HEAD HONCHO, BANNA WAVA and RED GOBBO Which were never packed as 40k Gretchin.
These were made and packaged BEFORE the spearchukka was made. After the stone thrower and spearchukka was released, GW was not 'randomly packing' blisters like in the mid 90s. There was never a 'gretchin' blister released with fantasy models with no guns ever released.
And he was never packed with a big gun as the 3rd edition big guns had explicit crew and the 2nd edition and older had the old style 'non pointy nose' goblins.
It simply never happened. Never. No one ever got a spearchukka crew outside of purchasing a fantasy spear chuckka. Stop beating that drum.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/08 22:39:24
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 22:41:58
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Any chance of a picture straight on, at the right level? As from what I can see of that last spear chukka model he is below the level. Just looking at where the shadow of his arm is suggests fhat.
That was with an PAD level on the table. If it isn't good enough you'll have to take your own.
Sovyou finally admit he can see over an ADL
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/08 22:53:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 23:07:37
Subject: Grots and the ADL
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
If his tab says 'gretchin' (which I doubt) it's a production error. The model is a goblin.
Yes or no can this guy see over an ADL?
With the raised mound that you have on his base, yes, he appears to be able to see over the ADL. Well done, you have proven that one particular fantasy goblin, when given a slight boost from his base, can see over the ADL.
I think we're done here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|