Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:11:50
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Gloomfang wrote:Fun Tyranid trick of the day:
Looks like SitW stacks now. If your within 12" of 3 warriors that is a -9ld for all psykers. Big buff to warriors unless they FAQ that away.
No it doesn't, someone checked the wording over at Tyranid hive.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:15:11
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Hivefleet Oblivion wrote: Gloomfang wrote:Fun Tyranid trick of the day:
Looks like SitW stacks now. If your within 12" of 3 warriors that is a -9ld for all psykers. Big buff to warriors unless they FAQ that away.
No it doesn't, someone checked the wording over at Tyranid hive.
Well i hope this is sorted out soon. This is good news if true.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:18:59
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hivefleet Oblivion wrote: Gloomfang wrote:Fun Tyranid trick of the day:
Looks like SitW stacks now. If your within 12" of 3 warriors that is a -9ld for all psykers. Big buff to warriors unless they FAQ that away.
No it doesn't, someone checked the wording over at Tyranid hive.
It's because the summary page is completely terrible.
Going by this:
http://i.imgur.com/xgHkG7v.jpg
It would lead you believe that a psyker's leadership is actually -3, thus 1 (minimum it can go). The rules elsewhere say something different.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:21:35
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Yad wrote: Gloomfang wrote:Fun Tyranid trick of the day:
Looks like SitW stacks now. If your within 12" of 3 warriors that is a -9ld for all psykers. Big buff to warriors unless they FAQ that away.
It's actually a -3 penalty if they are within 12'' of one or more models with this rule. So wouldn't say that they do stack. Pg.38 SITW
-Yad
That seems to clear it up, imo. Doesn't stack... (even if it had, they would've FAQ'ed it out most likely).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:23:16
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
sLeEpYrOcK wrote: streamdragon wrote:
Lol. I clicked "quote" asking for a summary since I'm work blocked, but in that time you had edited your post leaving me slightly confused.
i apologize, the latest FAQ for the nids was in January of 2013, and being the new year, forgot that it was 2014, so i mindlessly copied and pasted it thinking it was the actual most recent (as in 2014) FAQ, sorry for the confusion steamdragon
Haha no worries, no worries!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:30:26
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gloomfang wrote:Fun Tyranid trick of the day:
Looks like SitW stacks now. If your within 12" of 3 warriors that is a -9ld for all psykers. Big buff to warriors unless they FAQ that away.
Please Please let this be true.... Edit: Aaaand it has been squashed
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/10 20:32:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:31:29
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Norway
|
|
Evolve, overcome, consume. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:33:05
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
barnowl wrote: Gloomfang wrote:Fun Tyranid trick of the day: Looks like SitW stacks now. If your within 12" of 3 warriors that is a -9ld for all psykers. Big buff to warriors unless they FAQ that away. Please Please let this be true.... Edit: Aaaand it has been squashed Not true It's only a flat -3. -Yad Edit: Missed your edit
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/10 20:33:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:33:52
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
streamdragon wrote:
As has been covered in this thread, check the wording of Shrouded. As long as a single model in the unit has Shrouded, the whole unit benefits.
The wording on the actual rule gets me thinking that it could be FAQ'd out some-point. Do any other models in the game "emit" shrouded in this way. I know we have plenty of units, rules and gear that can give shrouded to a unit and those that join it... but does anything open it up like that. I just see someone spreading shrouded units 40" across a board and GW promptly smacking it down and limiting it to just those models next to the venom.
Be nice if they don't because it provides a much needed rule for the bugs, but don't be shocked if it does get changed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/10 20:34:34
- 4500pts: Shinzon Dynasty
3000pts: Hive Fleet Empusa
- 3000pts Rampagers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:38:08
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Snivelling Workbot
|
Have the codex in my hand now woohoo just having a quick look through it.
I think down the line there will be a dataslate allowing the use of units no longer in the book, as with the Zoan page there is an entry talking about the Doom, doesn't say you can take it but would appear its not been written out.
Also looking at the hive tyrant, would seem can only take one set of twin linked devourers no a pair of them
Any questions do ask away
Kimbie
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:41:42
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Does a Falling Back result on the IB:feed table get changed if they fail another IB:feed test and get Seek Cover? Could be and interesting way around the weak morale of gaunts that leave synapse range......
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:45:28
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Reading - UK
|
Kimbie wrote:Have the codex in my hand now woohoo just having a quick look through it.
Also looking at the hive tyrant, would seem can only take one set of twin linked devourers no a pair of them
Any questions do ask away
Kimbie
Are you totally sure about that?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:45:28
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yad wrote:barnowl wrote: Gloomfang wrote:Fun Tyranid trick of the day:
Looks like SitW stacks now. If your within 12" of 3 warriors that is a -9ld for all psykers. Big buff to warriors unless they FAQ that away.
Please Please let this be true.... Edit: Aaaand it has been squashed
Not true
It's only a flat -3.
-Yad
Edit: Missed your edit 
Say, which units have a set Warlord trait? Got wait till work is over to get my book.... (I know the rules hurt, but I still can't help wanting it)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:48:06
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
barnowl wrote:Does a Falling Back result on the IB:feed table get changed if they fail another IB:feed test and get Seek Cover? Could be and interesting way around the weak morale of gaunts that leave synapse range...... There is no 'Falling Back' result on the Feed table. You must take an IB test at the beginning of each of your turns if: 1.) You are out of Synapse. and 2.) You are not Engaged, Falling Back, going to ground, or arriving from Reserves. So yes, if you fit the criteria to roll on the table you could get a different result each time. -Yad Automatically Appended Next Post: L0rdF1end wrote:Kimbie wrote:Have the codex in my hand now woohoo just having a quick look through it. Also looking at the hive tyrant, would seem can only take one set of twin linked devourers no a pair of them Any questions do ask away Kimbie Are you totally sure about that? Not true. Tyrant has 2 pairs of Scything Talons. Monstrous Bio-Weapons rule allows model to exchange any 1 pair with any of the weapons on the list. So the Tyrant can exchange each pair for a twin-linked devourer. -Yad
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/10 20:53:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:54:09
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Can Warriors take a pair of Boneswords? What is the effect if so?
Can Tyrants take two sets of guns? Can they take e.g. a Venom Cannon and Devours!?
Thank you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:55:59
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Snivelling Workbot
|
L0rdF1end wrote:Kimbie wrote:Have the codex in my hand now woohoo just having a quick look through it.
Also looking at the hive tyrant, would seem can only take one set of twin linked devourers no a pair of them
Any questions do ask away
Kimbie
Are you totally sure about that?
I blame the fact I can't read lol
A model will replace any pair of scything talons with one of the following:
Twin-Linked devourer with brainleech worms
Kimbie
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:57:01
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Trying to read between here and TTH, I forget what has been said where. TTH someone pointed out Tervigon can outflank (via HT) and spawn now. Of course it will get shot in the face, but pressure points are always good.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/10 20:59:34
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:57:03
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Snivelling Workbot
|
Souleater wrote:Can Warriors take a pair of Boneswords? What is the effect if so?
Can Tyrants take two sets of guns? Can they take e.g. a Venom Cannon and Devours!?
Thank you.
With Tyrants I would say yes you can.
Warriors - Come with a Devourer and Scything Talons, and they can take items from the basic bio weapons. As they only have one pair of ST can take a pair or boneswords OR a Lash whip and bonesword
Kimbie
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/10 20:59:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:58:04
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Souleater wrote:Can Warriors take a pair of Boneswords? What is the effect if so?
Can Tyrants take two sets of guns? Can they take e.g. a Venom Cannon and Devours!?
Thank you.
Can't answer the second one but I am fairly certain the answer to the first is buried in this thread. The ID is now on a to wound roll of six and no way to change that so there would really be no point to have two. I'm 99% certain its just paired with the lashwhip now which adds +3 to your init.
|
- 4500pts: Shinzon Dynasty
3000pts: Hive Fleet Empusa
- 3000pts Rampagers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 20:59:25
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Souleater wrote:Can Warriors take a pair of Boneswords? What is the effect if so? Can Tyrants take two sets of guns? Can they take e.g. a Venom Cannon and Devours!? Thank you. Yes, Warriors can take 2 Boneswords. There is no additional benefit to having 2 Boneswords. Warriors can also take a Lash Whip + Bonesword. You have to have 2 pairs of Tyranid CCWs to get a +1 to your attack. Example, 2 pairs of Bonesword (4 boneswords). This cannot happen for warriors. But for Genestealers they come with Rending Claws and you can also give them Scything Talons. This gives them +1 attack and rending. Tyrants can take 2 sets of weapons for the most part. The only exception to this is that they cannot have both a Stranglethorn Cannon and Heavy Venom cannon from the Monstrous Bio-Weapon list. -Yad Edit: Made a correct, warriors can take 2 boneswords.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/10 21:03:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:01:41
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Roci wrote: Souleater wrote:Can Warriors take a pair of Boneswords? What is the effect if so?
Can Tyrants take two sets of guns? Can they take e.g. a Venom Cannon and Devours!?
Thank you.
Can't answer the second one but I am fairly certain the answer to the first is buried in this thread. The ID is now on a to wound roll of six and no way to change that so there would really be no point to have two. I'm 99% certain its just paired with the lashwhip now which adds +3 to your init.
Two costs you 15 points.
One and a whip is 20 points.
You buy a pair to save 5 points.
Pretty exciting, no? Automatically Appended Next Post: Unless there is a specific entry that says two boneswords grants an extra attack, two of any single type of weapon does not grant extra attack,
You need extra pairs of weapons to do that.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/10 21:02:55
DavePak
"Remember, in life, the only thing you absolutely control is your own attitude - do not squander that power."
Fully Painted armies:
TAU: 10k Nids: 9600 Marines: 4000 Crons: 7600
Actor, Gamer, Comic, Corporate Nerd
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:14:12
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Cinematic( tm)! Can you just feel the cinematicness!?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:16:12
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Can anyone confirm that a carnifex can replace both its scything talons for 2 heavy venom cannons?
|
01001000 01100001 01101001 01101100 00100000 01101111 01110101 01110010 00100000 01001110 01100101 01100011 01110010 01101111 01101110 00100000 01101111 01110110 01100101 01110010 01101100 01101111 01110010 01100100 01110011 00100001 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:18:10
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
buddha wrote:Can anyone confirm that a carnifex can replace both its scything talons for 2 heavy venom cannons? Doesn't look like it. The Heavy Venom Cannon has a notation that says '1 per model'. With a further addendum that a model cannot have both a Stranglethorn Cannon and Heavy Venom Cannon. -Yad
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/10 21:18:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:19:25
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Snivelling Workbot
|
buddha wrote:Can anyone confirm that a carnifex can replace both its scything talons for 2 heavy venom cannons?
I am not sure, but I would go with I don't think so.
The pic above shows can replace a set of ST with a heavy venom cannon with a tiny 1 after it
On the right the bit I missed it says "1. One per model. A model cannot have both a stranglethorn cannon and a heavy venom cannon"
Kimbie
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:20:46
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Oh wow - they fixed the Twin Linked Deathspitter cost. There's now a reason to take them!
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:22:40
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Double post.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/10 21:24:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:26:37
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And because you've edited no one knows what the post was. Just leave double posts alone. Dakka sorts them itself. It is just a hick up in the system
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:30:04
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Eldercaveman wrote: And because you've edited no one knows what the post was. Just leave double posts alone. Dakka sorts them itself. It is just a hick up in the system I see that now, thanks. Here is what I posted. Trygon Subterranean Assault: Any friendly Tyranid Infantry unit can emerge from the tunnel marker. They can only come out in turns after the Trygon deep strikes, meaning you can't deep strike the Trygon and then have a friendly unit emerge on the same turn. Friendly units must be placed wholly within 6'' of the center of the marker, excess are removed as casualties. Can't move or charge. Can shoot or run. -Yad
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/10 21:36:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:32:27
Subject: Tyranid Release in January: GW pre-orders up, discussion starts pg 80
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
So exactly like the current one.
And just as useless.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|