Poll |
 |
|
 |
Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/14 18:28:57
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Still not the same word.
rigeld2 wrote:that's why we are having the discussion where "failed To Hit" is the same as "If the scatter dice does not roll a Hit"
Until that one's done, and you still haven't proved it, it's interpretation and not going anywhere....
So would you care to actually, I don't know, address my rules quotes that prove your statement that they're the same wrong?
No, because this is a permissive Ruleset. I'm not proving why you can't, you need to prove why you can.
Prove:
A model firing a Blast weapon that has a Special Rule allowing Re-rolls of 1 is allowed re-rolls of the scatter and 2D6 Dice.
Until you prove that, in RaW, we are done and you have no permission. No need in asking me for rules.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/14 18:55:47
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:No, because this is a permissive Ruleset. I'm not proving why you can't, you need to prove why you can.
Prove:
A model firing a Blast weapon that has a Special Rule allowing Re-rolls of 1 is allowed re-rolls of the scatter and 2D6 Dice.
Until you prove that, in RaW, we are done and you have no permission. No need in asking me for rules.
Has been done.
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit
This either applies without regards to conditionals, or it never allows any ability ever.
Now, can you actually cite rules supporting your "interpretation" that a failing To Hit roll is the same as failing to roll a Hit on the scatter die?
Because that's what I was actually asking you to cite rules for. You keep saying that Prescience works while PE does not and have been proven wrong and refused to cite rules to support your viewpoint.
It's amusing you're hung up on "ability" being a synonym for "capactiy" yet you keep saying that "failed To Hit" and "failing to roll a Hit" are the same. Even though the former has been proven to be correct and the latter incorrect.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/14 19:01:16
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
So you don't know what synonym means. Got it. Not that it matters because "Capacity" is not used in the rules at all (except in the concept of the number of units can fit into a transport or building).
BlackTalos wrote:rigeld2 wrote:that's why we are having the discussion where "failed To Hit" is the same as "If the scatter dice does not roll a Hit"
Until that one's done, and you still haven't proved it, it's interpretation and not going anywhere....
So would you care to actually, I don't know, address my rules quotes that prove your statement that they're the same wrong?
No, because this is a permissive Ruleset. I'm not proving why you can't, you need to prove why you can.
Prove:
A model firing a Blast weapon that has a Special Rule allowing Re-rolls of 1 is allowed re-rolls of the scatter and 2D6 Dice.
Until you prove that, in RaW, we are done and you have no permission. No need in asking me for rules.
"If a model has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit" .. there is no conditional or "when a model gains the ability to".
Therefore, a model that has a special rule allowing re-rolls of 1's to hit means that model has a special rule allowing re-rolls To Hit (with conditions, but the blast rule does not care about conditions on the ability to re-roll). Therefore, that model has the ability to choose to re-roll it's scatter.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/14 19:01:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/14 19:14:33
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
rigeld2 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:No, because this is a permissive Ruleset. I'm not proving why you can't, you need to prove why you can.
Prove:
A model firing a Blast weapon that has a Special Rule allowing Re-rolls of 1 is allowed re-rolls of the scatter and 2D6 Dice.
Until you prove that, in RaW, we are done and you have no permission. No need in asking me for rules.
Has been done.
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit
This either applies without regards to conditionals, or it never allows any ability ever.
Has not been done, or the thread and the Poll would not exist.
"applies without regards to conditionals, OR it never allows any ability ever"
Why is there an "or" in your phrase? I'm asking for RaW, not 1 interpretation OR another interpretation?
Quote rules that it "applies without regards to conditionals" then? Automatically Appended Next Post: Rorschach9 wrote:Therefore, a model that has a special rule allowing re-rolls of 1's to hit means that model has a special rule allowing re-rolls To Hit (with conditions, but the blast rule does not care about conditions on the ability to re-roll).
No, the two highlighted parts are different.
If "a model that has a special rule allowing re-rolls of 1's" it can re-roll 1s. It does not have a rule that allows re-rolls To Hit, or it would re-roll 2s, and 3s, and 4s....
And again, you assume "blast rule does not care about conditions on the ability to re-roll"
PE:(p40) "A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule re-rolls failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1 if attacking its Preferred Enemy."
Conditions on "ability to re-roll": Roll a failed 1 and attack your Preferred Enemy.
You ignore conditions: PE lets you re-roll when you fight anything?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/14 19:22:53
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/14 19:39:33
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
nutty_nutter wrote: BlackTalos wrote:
prefered enemy only grants it capacity for a re-roll agasint the target of which the enemy is prefered.
Yes, but the rule is missing a bit:
prefered enemy only grants it capacity for a re-roll when a 1 is rolled.
Or is half the rule just ignored?
no, only that the roll of a 1 is not a requirement to have the capacity for a re-roll.
again, does the model have the capacity for a re-roll? answer is yes, while the condition for that reroll is rolling a 1, it has the capacity to reroll the to hit dice.
does the blast weapon re-roll rule care what the trigger for the reroll is? answer is no, it only cares that you ever could re-roll the dice.
why you, and obviously half the people that visitied this thread to vote, are making a disticintion between the rerolls I do not know.
all I know is, I have no dog in this fight, and the rule only ever asks if you could re-roll, it does not specify that this reroll must be all encompassing so therefore it is satisfied with a reroll of any sort.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/14 20:20:49
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Want me to start a thread and poll about LoS and a model with a helmet?
Or find the polls about blasts and swarms being IDd?
"applies without regards to conditionals, OR it never allows any ability ever"
Why is there an "or" in your phrase? I'm asking for RaW, not 1 interpretation OR another interpretation?
Quote rules that it "applies without regards to conditionals" then?
I've quoted the rule. Do you see anywhere it cares about conditionals? I sure don't.
I included the OR because you're asserting that the rules care about the difference between Prescience and PE. You've utterly failed to back up that assertion, however.
Also, could we rewind a second? You seem to have stopped arguing that a "failed To Hit roll" is the same as a "failure to roll Hit on the scatter dice". Have you conceded you were wrong then? Or have you found rules to support that stance?
To remind, your last comment on it was:
BlackTalos wrote:that's why we are having the discussion where "failed To Hit" is the same as "If the scatter dice does not roll a Hit"
Until that one's done, and you still haven't proved it, it's interpretation and not going anywhere....
And I replied:
rigeld2 wrote:So would you care to actually, I don't know, address my rules quotes that prove your statement that they're the same wrong?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/14 20:23:19
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/14 23:03:30
Subject: Re:Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I stopped arguing it as it was an interpretation, based on the ruling for Twin Linked, which meant Blasts could actually be re-rolled in more cases than simply Twin Linked.
I still believe the interpretation is valid, but it was a tangent to the original Question and Poll subject.
The original issue being that re-rolls granted upon rolling 1s somehow allow the re-roll of 3 dice regardless of what they roll....
Now, please quote the rule that allows you to ignore the conditionals of having the *ability* to re-roll.
If you think that is not necessary, then we can ignore the condition that you are "shooting at your Preferred Enemy", or the condition that "whilst the power is in effect". This then breaks the re-roll on blasts completely.
Make your choice, ignore conditionals completely, or don't. Once we've resolved RaW, we can move on to interpretations on how to not have it "broken" and the "failed To Hit" is the same as "If the scatter dice does not roll a Hit" part of the issue.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/14 23:50:06
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Reverent Tech-Adept
|
While whether other than Twin-linked allows a re-roll of the scatter dice is still up in the air, the fact that such a re-roll of the scatter dice would be possible for something having the ability to re-roll only To Hit rolls of 1 is pretty obvious.
Just think about it in a different context.
If you have the ability to pick up tan rocks, do you have the ability to pick rocks? Unarguably a yes.
If you have the ability to drive red and bule cars, do you have the ability to drive cars? Again, a clear yes.
If, when drawing cards from a deck of 52, you have the ability to re-draw if you get a spade, do you have the ability to re-draw cards? Obviously yes.
What you are doing is changing the question from 'does it have the ability to re-roll To Hit rolls?' to 'does it have the ability to re-roll ANY To Hit rolls.' There is no reasonable basis in the rules for adding the 'any.'
There is no rule that allows you to ignore a conditional, but there is also no requirement in the rules that you even consider the conditional. The RAW is (as some would argue) that a model with the ability to re-roll To Hit rolls can re-roll the scatter dice - there is no basis for adding an 'all' or 'any.'
Also, Preferred Enemy cannot allow for re-rolls of the scatter dice. This one is simple. Having PE does not grant the model re-rolls of the To Hit dice - only having PE and then rolling a '1' on a To Hit roll grants such a model the ability to re-roll the To Hit dice, which can never happen when a model is firing a blast weapon.
|
Think first. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/15 00:29:16
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Rapture wrote:Also, Preferred Enemy cannot allow for re-rolls of the scatter dice. This one is simple. Having PE does not grant the model re-rolls of the To Hit dice - only having PE and then rolling a '1' on a To Hit roll grants such a model the ability to re-roll the To Hit dice, which can never happen when a model is firing a blast weapon.
I do not understand why you dispute my point?
I argue PE does not allow re-roll of a Blast weapon.
Rigeld, Nosferatu and nutty_nutter are arguing that per RaW, PE would allow re-roll of scatter.
So you have voted NO in the original Poll? Automatically Appended Next Post: Rapture wrote:There is no rule that allows you to ignore a conditional, but there is also no requirement in the rules that you even consider the conditional. The RAW is (as some would argue) that a model with the ability to re-roll To Hit rolls can re-roll the scatter dice - there is no basis for adding an 'all' or 'any.'
With this (your main point?) you decide that the RaW do not consider the conditionals? So the PE condition that your target is a PE is not considered? The rule is just conferring a conditional re-roll after all....
the condition "whilst the power is in effect" for prescience is also not considered?
Similar for Earth Cast array (reason for the original post)?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/15 00:37:23
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/15 00:38:59
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
BlackTalos wrote:Rapture wrote:Also, Preferred Enemy cannot allow for re-rolls of the scatter dice. This one is simple. Having PE does not grant the model re-rolls of the To Hit dice - only having PE and then rolling a '1' on a To Hit roll grants such a model the ability to re-roll the To Hit dice, which can never happen when a model is firing a blast weapon.
I do not understand why you dispute my point?
I argue PE does not allow re-roll of a Blast weapon.
Rigeld, Nosferatu and nutty_nutter are arguing that per RaW, PE would allow re-roll of scatter.
So you have voted NO in the original Poll?
this is not what I said, at least not exactly.
I also did not say that we toss the conditionals for the re-roll out of the window, only that said conditionals do not matter in terms of triggering, a re-roll can only normally be triggered by satisfying its critera, be it not rolling the desired hit value or rolling a set value that permits the reroll.
so a re-roll of any failed to hit rolls for a BS 4 character would allow a re-roll of all 1's and 2's.
a set value re-roll, in the case of preferred enemy, would allow a reroll of any dice that comes up with a 1
in both instances the character has access to a re-roll of the dice, this is all the re-rolling of the scatter dice actually cares about to satisfy the critera given. the model does indeed have a re-roll.
in the case of preferred enemy, the reroll is only granted when attacking the specified enemy, so as I gave this very example erlier in the thread.
a model with preferred enemy orks, shooting at orks, has a reroll available to him, thus he may re-roll the scatter dice.
if this model were to then shoot at Tau, he does not have a reroll available to him, his preferred enemy is not in effect so he doesn't have the ability to reroll a to hit dice, thus no re-roll is permitted.
the conditionals only matter if they are paramount at providing a reroll ability, if they only rely on a set value or a failed hit roll then that aspect is what is ignored since they have satisfied the critera of actually having a reroll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/15 06:59:56
Subject: Re:Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:I stopped arguing it as it was an interpretation, based on the ruling for Twin Linked, which meant Blasts could actually be re-rolled in more cases than simply Twin Linked.
So no rules support then. Gotcha.
If you think that is not necessary, then we can ignore the condition that you are "shooting at your Preferred Enemy", or the condition that "whilst the power is in effect". This then breaks the re-roll on blasts completely.
How's it broken? Because if you'd actually read the threads involved I said this long ago.
Make your choice, ignore conditionals completely, or don't. Once we've resolved RaW, we can move on to interpretations on how to not have it "broken" and the "failed To Hit" is the same as "If the scatter dice does not roll a Hit" part of the issue.
Sure. Cite rules instead of making them up and we can discuss it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/15 07:00:23
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/15 15:41:43
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
nutty_nutter wrote: BlackTalos wrote:Rapture wrote:Also, Preferred Enemy cannot allow for re-rolls of the scatter dice. This one is simple. Having PE does not grant the model re-rolls of the To Hit dice - only having PE and then rolling a '1' on a To Hit roll grants such a model the ability to re-roll the To Hit dice, which can never happen when a model is firing a blast weapon.
I do not understand why you dispute my point?
I argue PE does not allow re-roll of a Blast weapon.
Rigeld, Nosferatu and nutty_nutter are arguing that per RaW, PE would allow re-roll of scatter.
So you have voted NO in the original Poll?
this is not what I said, at least not exactly.
I also did not say that we toss the conditionals for the re-roll out of the window, only that said conditionals do not matter in terms of triggering, a re-roll can only normally be triggered by satisfying its critera, be it not rolling the desired hit value or rolling a set value that permits the reroll.
so a re-roll of any failed to hit rolls for a BS 4 character would allow a re-roll of all 1's and 2's.
a set value re-roll, in the case of preferred enemy, would allow a reroll of any dice that comes up with a 1
in both instances the character has access to a re-roll of the dice, this is all the re-rolling of the scatter dice actually cares about to satisfy the critera given. the model does indeed have a re-roll.
in the case of preferred enemy, the reroll is only granted when attacking the specified enemy, so as I gave this very example erlier in the thread.
a model with preferred enemy orks, shooting at orks, has a reroll available to him, thus he may re-roll the scatter dice.
if this model were to then shoot at Tau, he does not have a reroll available to him, his preferred enemy is not in effect so he doesn't have the ability to reroll a to hit dice, thus no re-roll is permitted.
the conditionals only matter if they are paramount at providing a reroll ability, if they only rely on a set value or a failed hit roll then that aspect is what is ignored since they have satisfied the critera of actually having a reroll.
Which is basically an inconsistency in adhering to the conditionals.
A model with PE Orks will only have a re-roll if 1.) He shoots at Orks and 2.) he rolls a 1
You cannot argue that you follow 1.) and then ignore 2.)
If i shoot at Tau, and roll a 1, i meet condition 2.), can i then ignore 1.) ? I have satisfied the criteria of having the re-roll...
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/15 18:41:19
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ah, so you're pretending ability doesn't mean what it says? Fair enough, the comprehension issue is resolved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/15 23:07:37
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
no you have not Talos, and yes you do ignore the second condition because it is not relevant to the reroll being present.
if you have preferred enemy orks and you are shooting at orks, then you have the potential for a re-roll, therefore you have one.
if you have preferred enemy orks and you are NOT shooting at orks, then you do not have the potential for a re-roll.
please state where the blast re-roll cares if you would normally trigger the re-roll to take place?
you yourself have said that presiance would allow a re-roll, but it is exactly the same thing, your not rolling to hit dice so the power would not take effect, but because you have the potential for a re-roll, you are permitted to reroll the scatter.
there really is no difference between the two as far as blast weapon rerolls are concerned, in both instances a model has the potential for a reroll, it does not care how good a chance that is.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/16 11:29:08
Subject: Re:Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It has no effect because blast and template weapons don't roll to hit.
I'll just use an FAQ as an example, because that's where I most recently seen it.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any
weapon that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically –
interact with Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and novas.
I.E: Blast weapons don't roll to hit because if they do, then you can hit flyers with them. I thought this was fairly self-evident given the obvious contradiction.
A better example might be "Does a plasma cannon overheat if it rolls a 1 on its scatter dice?". No, it doesn't.
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2014/02/16 21:17:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/16 12:22:46
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sonic - except the rule which grants a Reroll doesn't require you to be actually rolling to hit. It requires you to gave the ability to Reroll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/16 16:48:49
Subject: Re:Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
sonicaucie wrote:It has no effect because blast and template weapons don't roll to hit.
I'll just use an FAQ as an example, because that's where I most recently seen it.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any
weapon that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically –
interact with Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and novas.
I.E: Blast weapons don't roll to hit because if they do, then you can hit flyers with them. I thought this was fairly self-evident given the obvious contradiction.
A better example might be "Does a plasma cannon overheat if it rolls a 1 on its scatter dice?". No, it doesn't.
in what way is that FAQ relevant?
grab your rulebook, open to p33 and under the heading Blast weapons and Re-Rolls.
note that the rule does not care HOW the model got a re-roll only that it CAN re-roll
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/16 17:27:33
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard
Catskills in NYS
|
Ignore this, Just me being an idiot.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/02/17 16:09:40
Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
kronk wrote:Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
sebster wrote:Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens BaronIveagh wrote:Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/17 00:00:58
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, and? They can also Reroll that, from memory, if they have the ability to reroll. Which is all the written rule requires,
It does not say "are you rolling to hit?" Just do you have the ability to reroll, if you were rerolling to hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/17 16:07:03
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard
Catskills in NYS
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, and? They can also Reroll that, from memory, if they have the ability to reroll. Which is all the written rule requires,
It does not say "are you rolling to hit?" Just do you have the ability to reroll, if you were rerolling to hit.
Oops, silly me, I replied to the wrong message.
|
Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
kronk wrote:Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
sebster wrote:Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens BaronIveagh wrote:Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/22 19:03:27
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Sonic - except the rule which grants a Reroll doesn't require you to be actually rolling to hit. It requires you to gave the ability to Reroll.
Which rule is that, out of curiosity? The original rules question was about Earth Caste Pilot Array which reads:
Models with battlesuits only. The model rerolls
all rolls of 1 To Hit in the Shooting
phase, and may re-roll the dice when using a
Nova Reactor. However, their Weapon Skill
is 1 (included above).
Which does specify rolling a 1 on the "to hit" roll. Preferred Enemy specifies To Hit and To Wound. So what rule, if any gives you a blanket re-roll of 1's without specifying the type of roll. If such a rule exists we could discuss how it effects scatter rolls... but so far, I haven't seen one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/22 20:24:23
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
chanceafs wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Sonic - except the rule which grants a Reroll doesn't require you to be actually rolling to hit. It requires you to gave the ability to Reroll.
Which rule is that, out of curiosity? The original rules question was about Earth Caste Pilot Array which reads:
Models with battlesuits only. The model rerolls
all rolls of 1 To Hit in the Shooting
phase, and may re-roll the dice when using a
Nova Reactor. However, their Weapon Skill
is 1 (included above).
Which does specify rolling a 1 on the "to hit" roll. Preferred Enemy specifies To Hit and To Wound. So what rule, if any gives you a blanket re-roll of 1's without specifying the type of roll. If such a rule exists we could discuss how it effects scatter rolls... but so far, I haven't seen one.
I emboldened the part that gives the model a blanket re-roll
extracted: The model rerolls all rolls of 1 To Hit
open your rulebook and go to p33 under the heading blast weapons and re-rolls.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/22 21:10:50
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nutty_nutter wrote:chanceafs wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Sonic - except the rule which grants a Reroll doesn't require you to be actually rolling to hit. It requires you to gave the ability to Reroll.
Which rule is that, out of curiosity? The original rules question was about Earth Caste Pilot Array which reads:
Models with battlesuits only. The model rerolls
all rolls of 1 To Hit in the Shooting
phase, and may re-roll the dice when using a
Nova Reactor. However, their Weapon Skill
is 1 (included above).
Which does specify rolling a 1 on the "to hit" roll. Preferred Enemy specifies To Hit and To Wound. So what rule, if any gives you a blanket re-roll of 1's without specifying the type of roll. If such a rule exists we could discuss how it effects scatter rolls... but so far, I haven't seen one.
I emboldened the part that gives the model a blanket re-roll
extracted: The model rerolls all rolls of 1 To Hit
open your rulebook and go to p33 under the heading blast weapons and re-rolls.
How about you read the page you mentioned. Blast & Large Blast: Second paragraph, first sentence "When firing a Blast weapon, models do not roll To Hit."
You highlighted the exact correct part. In order to get that re-roll you have to roll a 1 To Hit, since no 'To Hit' roll was made, you didn't "roll 1 To Hit", therefor no re-roll was granted. Since no re-roll was granted the entry under blast weapons and re-rolls never enters into the equation. QED
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/22 21:11:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/22 21:16:59
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
chanceafs wrote:How about you read the page you mentioned. Blast & Large Blast: Second paragraph, first sentence "When firing a Blast weapon, models do not roll To Hit."
You highlighted the exact correct part. In order to get that re-roll you have to roll a 1 To Hit, since no 'To Hit' roll was made, you didn't "roll 1 To Hit", therefor no re-roll was granted. Since no re-roll was granted the entry under blast weapons and re-rolls never enters into the equation. QED
And by that logic, everything barring Twin-linked does not give blast weapons a re-roll. For example, Prescience allows you to re-roll failed To Hit rolls. In order to get that re-roll you have to fail a roll To Hit, since no 'To Hit' roll was made, you didn't "fail a To Hit roll", therefor no re-roll was granted. Since no re-roll was granted the entry under blast weapons and re-rolls never enters into the equation. QED
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/22 21:47:51
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
chanceafs wrote:
How about you read the page you mentioned. Blast & Large Blast: Second paragraph, first sentence "When firing a Blast weapon, models do not roll To Hit."
You highlighted the exact correct part. In order to get that re-roll you have to roll a 1 To Hit, since no 'To Hit' roll was made, you didn't "roll 1 To Hit", therefor no re-roll was granted. Since no re-roll was granted the entry under blast weapons and re-rolls never enters into the equation. QED
nice, very mature.
well done, you can read that blast weapon don't roll to hit, what exactly is your point?
you asked for permission for a re-roll, I showed you where.
I gave you the answer already for a blast weapon having permission to re-roll...on p33, under the heading BLAST AND RE_ROLLS, care to point out what your point is? don't worry, I'll wait.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/22 23:17:39
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Chance - does that model have the ability to Reroll to hit ? Yes. So it can Reroll blasts.
Note the utter lack of a requirement to be rolling to hit in the actual written rules. I'd suggest rereading the thread, as you're repeating a debunked argument.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/22 23:27:42
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
Why is this even a question when there is a rule that specifically details what to do?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/23 01:07:26
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
In addition to having the ability to re-roll to-hit you must also choose to do so. The blast rules do give you that option but is that an option you can ever take?
Can you choose to re-roll a to-hit roll you never made?
-Yes. The blast rules clearly give the option to do so even though it's impossible and nothing breaks because they replace the re-roll to-hit with re-rolling scatter.
-No. There is no specific roll you can 'choose' to re-roll and the option is broken. RAW states how re-rolls are made and the rules for it cannot be followed for blasts, therefore it cannot be done.
-Yes. Sure you can re-roll a roll you never made, the blast rule says so.
-No. That choice is dysfunctional and cannot operate as stated. You cannot re-do anything that never existed.
-Etc.
There is no single correct answer by the rules specific wording. However if you consider that all rules should be taken in a way that allows them to have a functional purpose and you must then choose between interpreting a rule in a way that causes it to become meaningless and a way that causes it to have an effect on the game, the answer is clear.
Both answers being correct the one that causes the rule to have an effect is the one that should be chosen. You are permitted to proceed into paradox and can choose to re-roll a to-hit roll you never made therefore causing you to re-roll your scatter.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/23 01:07:46
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/23 01:49:31
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
" There is no specific roll you can 'choose' to re-roll and the option is broken. "
All it says is that "if you have the ability to re-roll To Hit" and if you do so you re-roll the scatter dice if it is a blast weapon.
Blasts not rolling to hit is irrelevant, all that is required is that the model have the ability to re-roll.
You not re-rolling a roll you never made, you are just re-rolling the scatter dice as you are permitted to do.
Of all the non issues this is the "non-est" of all I have seen.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/23 05:57:02
Subject: Re-rolling 1s on Blast weapons
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Happyjew wrote:chanceafs wrote:How about you read the page you mentioned. Blast & Large Blast: Second paragraph, first sentence "When firing a Blast weapon, models do not roll To Hit."
You highlighted the exact correct part. In order to get that re-roll you have to roll a 1 To Hit, since no 'To Hit' roll was made, you didn't "roll 1 To Hit", therefor no re-roll was granted. Since no re-roll was granted the entry under blast weapons and re-rolls never enters into the equation. QED
And by that logic, everything barring Twin-linked does not give blast weapons a re-roll. For example, Prescience allows you to re-roll failed To Hit rolls. In order to get that re-roll you have to fail a roll To Hit, since no 'To Hit' roll was made, you didn't "fail a To Hit roll", therefor no re-roll was granted. Since no re-roll was granted the entry under blast weapons and re-rolls never enters into the equation. QED
I totally agree with this line of logic. It also solves the runt dilema. If you don't meet the initial criteria for a reroll, you do not have the ability to reroll.
runt, you already rerolled once this game you no longer have the ability to reroll.
if you don't roll a 1 to hit, you don't have the ability to reroll.
so yes only TL grants rerolls to blasts, I like it, nice and simple
|
|
|
 |
 |
|