Switch Theme:

Assaulting Spore Mines on the shot  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






Ok, basic question here. When a Biovore launches it's spore mines and misses, then d3 mines are placed where the template is. Spore Mines have new rules and may assault as normal. There is no restriction on assaulting after they drop, but no units can assault after Deep striking. However, this is definitely NOT deepstriking, I only mention this because the Spore can deepstrike if bought separately.

RAW, they may assault anytime and are never barred from assaulting after being placed. So, I'd have to say... yes they can. Thoughts?


 
   
Made in ca
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation




Brantford, Ontario

If they deepstrike they can't assault pretty cut and dry.

Iron Warriors  
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






to the op

Yes the d3 "place" after the biovore barrage can assault that same turn, but remember spore mines assault distance is half the rolled amount so still need to be close.

However the spore cluster purchased as a fast attack choice that deep strikes cannot assault the turn they arrive.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






 Guitarquero wrote:
If they deepstrike they can't assault pretty cut and dry.


No arguments there. However Spore mines that miss are not deep stuck.

@Eihnlazer: I agree with you, and yeah that's true on the halved, but it would also be very easy to use them to deny overwatch. Shoot them at the back of a unit, if you get a hit on the second or third blast, just flip it over so no one is hit and place the mines! Then, declare an assault, and if they're killed assault with another unit.


 
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





you wouldn't be able to intentionally place the blast marker so it is not covering any models, that would break the blast rules.
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






 nutty_nutter wrote:
you wouldn't be able to intentionally place the blast marker so it is not covering any models, that would break the blast rules.


In a barrage unit, the first must be targetting an enemy model. However, the second and third simply scatter off the original. If I roll a "hit" I chose where it scatters, so long as it touches the original. I could choose to place it not on enemy models, if I wanted to assault with the mines it produces, in case I wanted to soak up overwatch, or hit a second unit.


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 jifel wrote:
 nutty_nutter wrote:
you wouldn't be able to intentionally place the blast marker so it is not covering any models, that would break the blast rules.


In a barrage unit, the first must be targetting an enemy model. However, the second and third simply scatter off the original. If I roll a "hit" I chose where it scatters, so long as it touches the original. I could choose to place it not on enemy models, if I wanted to assault with the mines it produces, in case I wanted to soak up overwatch, or hit a second unit.

Partially true.

Only the first marker can create spores. If the second or third ones miss no spores are created.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






rigeld2 wrote:
 jifel wrote:
 nutty_nutter wrote:
you wouldn't be able to intentionally place the blast marker so it is not covering any models, that would break the blast rules.


In a barrage unit, the first must be targetting an enemy model. However, the second and third simply scatter off the original. If I roll a "hit" I chose where it scatters, so long as it touches the original. I could choose to place it not on enemy models, if I wanted to assault with the mines it produces, in case I wanted to soak up overwatch, or hit a second unit.

Partially true.

Only the first marker can create spores. If the second or third ones miss no spores are created.


Good catch. That clears up that part of it then.


 
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig



Southern California

I don't have the rule book in front of me right now, so forgive the question if the answer seems obvious.

Can Deep Striking units run instead of shoot the turn that they arrive?

If so, the little spuds could move one to three inches (depending on your D3 run roll) after Deep Striking.


Brunettes and Beer 
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





yes they are permitted to run.
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






IVEATCH wrote:
I don't have the rule book in front of me right now, so forgive the question if the answer seems obvious.

Can Deep Striking units run instead of shoot the turn that they arrive?

If so, the little spuds could move one to three inches (depending on your D3 run roll) after Deep Striking.



Yes they can run, but not assault. The question is if they can assault after being Biovore-launched, which is not a Deep Strike.


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

Currently nothing prevents the biovore spore mines from assaulting. If GW ever produces a FAQ for the book, I'd expect that to get changed though (you know, because it's actually useful).

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener






 Maelstrom808 wrote:
Currently nothing prevents the biovore spore mines from assaulting. If GW ever produces a FAQ for the book, I'd expect that to get changed though (you know, because it's actually useful).


This is how i'm running my biovores today. Honestly, missing with a spore min should but you close enough to charge the target unit, even with the 2d6/2 range.


The new question is, does missing with the biovore brood count the spore mines as 'shooting' at the biovores' target? For purposes of assaulting what you shot at.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/18 13:17:06



Lots and lots and lots. 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

The spores didn't shoot anything, so the spore unit is free to charge whoever they want.

It's interesting that if the first template misses, you get D3 spores. The 2nd and 3rd template can hit. Looks like I'll be firing on the edge of a unit with another unit near it.

It's odd that the spore mine cluster (fast attack choice) is 3 models, with the option to buy 3 more. The rule for them says that they hit at S4, +1 for each additional spore mine with a max of 10. Even if you take all 6, you cap at S9. Odd they put in a Max of 10 when you can't reach it.


-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Not odd at all. Vibro cannons are the same way, cap at S9, rule says cannot go above 10. Most likely it is in case of future releases (such as an apocalypse formation).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan




In the Casualty section of a Blood Bowl dugout

Yep, and who knows, maybe in future releases there'll be a psychic power which will cause all hits against the target unit to be +2 Strength?

It's more for continuity and for potential future releases, so they have it all covered, than anything else. Same reason why many Nid units have the Very Bulky special rule, despite there being no transports.

DT:90S+++G++MB++IPwhfb06#+++D+A+++/eWD309R+T(T)DM+

9th Age Fantasy Rules

 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

It's actually a rare moment of good rules writing on GW's part.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Actually I was initially wondering why Nids were given the very bulky rule. Then I read the red terror's swallow whole special rule.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

 The Shadow wrote:
Same reason why many Nid units have the Very Bulky special rule, despite there being no transports.


Actually we do have transports, in the Fortifications slot.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: