Switch Theme:

Morale checks on flying monstrous creatures? Terrify-does it work?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Doesn't the morale rules tell you you're immediatly Falling Back after failing a morale test?
You'd make a Falling back move immediatly after the test, but also regroup immediatly. Synapse precising it happens before the move, wouldn't it fall in the basic VS advanced category?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Spellbound wrote:
But you are not falling back until you are falling back.
By that do you mean "they are not falling back until they make a fall back move"?
As noted there are more parts to Falling Back then just the Fall Back Move.
   
Made in nl
Deadshot Weapon Moderati






 Spellbound wrote:
But you are not falling back until you are falling back.


You are falling back after you fail the test. And synapse states that if you fail the test and are in synapse range BEFORE you move you regroup.

So what happens is:
Fail the test
Check if you are in synapse
If yes: regroup without moving
If no: do the fallback move

HOWEVER, ive seen people post that they also regroup as soon as they ENTER synapse range. Which is not true.

If a unit from Codex: Tyranids is falling back and at least one of the unit’s models is within a friendly Synapse Creature’s synapse range before the unit moves, the unit automatically Regroups.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Spellbound wrote:
But you are not falling back until you are falling back..

No, as pointed out, falling back has within it a fall back move. You can be falling back without making a fall back move - the usual point you regroup we know that is true, as a trivial example

Again. You are arguing HIWPI, please mark your posts as such

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/12 22:10:43


 
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Can we quit discussing Synapse (move that to the other thread) and discuss how the fall back would actually occur?

If there was a hypothetical flying monstrous creature without fearless or any sort of auto-regroup, it is swooping and is caused to fall back, what happens?

It would seem sensible that it falls back 3D6" like a Jump Infantry unit, but importantly, which way does it end up facing?
Does it fall back but still retain its current facing? (Which could entail it strafing or flying in reverse)
Or does it need to attempt to fall back within the rules of a swooping MC, eg it must turn 90* towards its board edge and then move 3D6 forwards?
Does moving <12 on a 3D6 contradict with swooping rules that it must move 12"?


This one applies to the synapse question as well:
If the swooping flying MC regroups, and if it is still considered to be swooping at this stage, may it use this regroup to pivot 90*?

Pg 49, "At the start of its move, a flying monstrous creature must declare if it is swooping or gliding until the start of its next turn."
If a fall back move counts as a 'move', does this mean that every time it falls back it can declare whether it is swooping or gliding? (and thus potentially use an auto-regroup via synapse in the opponents turn to give a full 360* pivot before swooping again in your next turn?)
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Trasvi wrote:
If there was a hypothetical flying monstrous creature without fearless or any sort of auto-regroup, it is swooping and is caused to fall back, what happens?
The rules simply don't cover it.

I'd suggest a house rule that's it's forced to glide. Far less messy.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Trasvi wrote:
Can we quit discussing Synapse (move that to the other thread) and discuss how the fall back would actually occur?

If there was a hypothetical flying monstrous creature without fearless or any sort of auto-regroup, it is swooping and is caused to fall back, what happens?

It would seem sensible that it falls back 3D6" like a Jump Infantry unit, but importantly, which way does it end up facing?
Does it fall back but still retain its current facing? (Which could entail it strafing or flying in reverse)
Or does it need to attempt to fall back within the rules of a swooping MC, eg it must turn 90* towards its board edge and then move 3D6 forwards?
Does moving <12 on a 3D6 contradict with swooping rules that it must move 12"?

The Swooping rules are more specific than the fall back rules, so it would pivot 90 degrees towards its board edge and move 3d6 inches.
Falling back less than 12" would not break the rules any more than a jump unit falling back more than 12" or an infantry unit falling back more than 6" does.


This one applies to the synapse question as well:
If the swooping flying MC regroups, and if it is still considered to be swooping at this stage, may it use this regroup to pivot 90*?

The only time a Swooping FMC does not have permission to pivot when moving is when running.

Pg 49, "At the start of its move, a flying monstrous creature must declare if it is swooping or gliding until the start of its next turn."
If a fall back move counts as a 'move', does this mean that every time it falls back it can declare whether it is swooping or gliding? (and thus potentially use an auto-regroup via synapse in the opponents turn to give a full 360* pivot before swooping again in your next turn?)

"...until the start of its next turn" suggests that without specific permission to change the flight mode (e.g. grounding tests) you may not choose to change your flight mode for the entire game turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/13 02:18:25


 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If the Swooping Rules are move specific, the table says that a Swooping FMC cannot fall back.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

However the Swooping rules say that they move like a Jump unit, which fall back 3d6".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/13 02:20:32


 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






 PrinceRaven wrote:
However the Swooping rules say that they move like a Jump unit, which fall back 3d6".


While I don't necessarily disagree with you, I find that a bit of a weak point.
The rules for Monstrous Creatures don't say anything in particular about falling back moves, nor do they specifically reference moving like infantry, yet the summary table lists them with a 2D6" fall back move.
One could assume then that if Swooping Flying MC's are able to fall back they would have a 3D6" fall back move on the summary table, considering they they explicitly move like jump infantry, rather than needing to infer this fall back move. Instead they are listed with a n/a, which I would take as a much stronger indication that they don't fall back at all than that you should use the Jump Infantry fall back distance.
If we were supposed to infer the proper fall back distance from the jump infantry type, I would think that some of the other unit types (especially Monstrous Creatures) would also have a n/a fall back distance also.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The tables in the reference section were already erratted at least once to match earlier sections of the book. I don't trust the reference section when it contradicts the main chapters of the book and quoting them does not make for a strong argument in a debate.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




It makes just as strong a point as making up 90* turns and X distances.
   
Made in gb
Twisting Tzeentch Horror




delete

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/13 11:41:41


DS:80S++G++MB+I+Pw40k92/f#+D+A++/areWD156R++T(R)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Fragile wrote:
It makes just as strong a point as making up 90* turns and X distances.


I agree with this.

Even with moving like a Jump MC, the exceptions to that statement then listed make it impossible for a FMC to perform a fall back move, the FMC must continue in the same direction, a fall back move is towards your table edge, a swooping FMC, can not do this.

RAW wise a Swooping FMC is unable to make a fall back move. This is a very roundabout way of declaring that, and I don't like to take such things as gospel, but it is as much justified, if not more so than other options.

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Nem wrote:
the FMC must continue in the same direction
That's the important bit. A fall back move, or indeed any (standard) move doesn't require the model to be facing the direction they move in. You don't have to move forward in a straight line. So simply moving backwards without pivoting is fine.
Problem is the Swooping rules are an exception to this, they must move forward, that's the part of the rule that potential gets broken.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 grendel083 wrote:
 Nem wrote:
the FMC must continue in the same direction
That's the important bit. A fall back move, or indeed any (standard) move doesn't require the model to be facing the direction they move in. You don't have to move forward in a straight line. So simply moving backwards without pivoting is fine.
Problem is the Swooping rules are an exception to this, they must move forward, that's the part of the rule that potential gets broken.


Which makes more sense that a swooping FMC cannot fall back.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: