Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/22 21:28:34
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
champagne_socialist wrote:OK so you want to play the repetitive game where we keep repeating the same things, ok I can oplay that game. i did prove that the rule allows you to set up outside your deployment. SS rules lets you set it up outside your deployment and SS rules let flyers start on it. That is me proving it 
But that is incorrect as none of those rules you referenced specifically allow a unit to deploy outside their deployment zone.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/22 21:45:53
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
the two rues combined do allow it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/22 21:50:26
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
champagne_socialist wrote:rigeld2 wrote:champagne_socialist wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
And which of those rules mentions ignoring normal deployment rules? I know which one allows a flyer to deploy on the board instead of Reserves, but you're also ignoring a second restriction and haven't cited a rule allowing it.
But this is why this debate is just going around in circles. I believe the ready for take off rule allows you to ignore deployment rules because it lets you start a flyer on the SS and the SS can be placed anywhere in your table half. You obviously disagree so why do you keep repeating it? you disagree end of debate
You can believe the sky is taupe - what's relevant is what you can prove.
You cannot prove that Ready for take off allows you to ignore deployment rules. I've proven it does not.
Please stop saying there's a debate here - there isn't as far as what the rules actually say.
Or rather, not an honest one.
OK so you want to play the repetitive game where we keep repeating the same things, ok I can oplay that game. i did prove that the rule allows you to set up outside your deployment. SS rules lets you set it up outside your deployment and SS rules let flyers start on it. That is me proving it 
Neither rule allows you to ignore the deployment rules. I can tell because neither of them mentions the deployment rules.
Which is, you know, how you can tell if a rule is ignored - another rule will tell you. What you're doing is making a leap unsupported by the rules, meaning it's not actually RAW. Let's break it down...
Why are you saying a Flyer can be deployed outside the deployment zone? Because the SSLP can be deployed outside the deployment zone, and another rule allows a Flyer to deploy on the LP. So you're making an assumption that A+B=C when there's no explicit permission. Assumptions aren't valid here. Use actual rules to prove your point.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/22 22:07:34
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
yes the two rules combined allow you to do it
rule 1) Sky shield can be placed anywhere in your tabe half
rule 2) flyers can start the game in hover mode on top of your sky shield
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/22 22:08:26
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
champagne_socialist wrote:yes the two rules combined allow you to do it
rule 1) Sky shield can be placed anywhere in your tabe half
rule 2) flyers can start the game in hover mode on top of your sky shield
Please show where the rules specifically state that a Flyer can be deployed outside of your deployment zone.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/22 22:29:05
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You haven't proven anything to me. I believe in my interpretation of the rules which is
yes the two rules combined allow you to do it
rule 1) Sky shield can be placed anywhere in your table half
rule 2) flyers can start the game in hover mode on top of your sky shield
this allows flyers to start outside deployment
Now we can end the debate and agree to disagree because neither of us are going to convince the other or we can continue to argue and I will continue to copy and paste my views.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/22 22:57:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/22 22:31:10
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Please brush up on the tenets, which require you to support your arguments with rules. You have not done so, and in factCANNOT do so, as no rule exists that does what you claim
You are making the equivalent argument that a unit can assault from reserves, as long as it disembarked from an assault vehicle. Given we know that is false, we can handily disprove your argument as having any merit whatsoever.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/22 22:57:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/22 22:41:37
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Crawfordsville Indiana
|
I can't get to my rule book right now, but if I remember correctly in the Building section, it has rules for deploying units in buildings not in the deployment zone. Something about requiring the Infiltrate special rule. I will look when I can get to my book.
|
All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/22 22:54:10
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
champagne_socialist wrote:yes the two rules combined allow you to do it
rule 1) Sky shield can be placed anywhere in your table half
rule 2) flyers can start the game in hover mode on top of your sky shield
this allows flyers to start outside deployment
This is not how rules in a game work. Permissions do not override restrictions unless the permissions explicitly say so. So in order for your premise #2 to be correct, the rule would have to say that flyers can start the game in hover mode on top of your shy shield landing pad, even when that landing pad is outside of your deployment zone.
To give you another example (and there are hundreds) of how permissions do not override restrictions except when specified otherwise:
1) The rules disallow making a charge on the first turn if you made a scout redeployment.
2) The 'assault vehicle' rules on a vehicle allow a unit to charge after disembarking.
3) By your way of thinking, this would mean a unit that makes a scout redeployment and then on the first turn disembarks from an 'assault vehicle' can charge.
But again, this is patently untrue across the board in all game rules, because if you don't play that way, the rules cease to function in any coherent way.
Restrictions always override permissions, except when the permissions explicitly say that they override the restriction.
And to everyone: if you have nothing further to add to a conversation, then simply stop posting, regardless of what anyone else is asking or doing. Otherwise (continuing to post the same things over and over and over again), this is SPAM and your account will be disciplined, capiche?
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2014/03/22 23:09:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 05:47:18
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Green Bay
|
megatrons2nd wrote:I can't get to my rule book right now, but if I remember correctly in the Building section, it has rules for deploying units in buildings not in the deployment zone. Something about requiring the Infiltrate special rule. I will look when I can get to my book.
The sky shield is not a building, so those rules would not apply in this situation.
|
rigeld2 wrote: Now go ahead and take that out of context to make me look like a fool. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 06:50:33
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nolzur wrote: megatrons2nd wrote:I can't get to my rule book right now, but if I remember correctly in the Building section, it has rules for deploying units in buildings not in the deployment zone. Something about requiring the Infiltrate special rule. I will look when I can get to my book.
The sky shield is not a building, so those rules would not apply in this situation.
Though on that train of thought, if you could buy a flyer as a dedicated transport, and the unit had infiltrate would you be able to infiltrate the flyer onto the SSLP, if the SSLP was still out of your deployment but in the range limits for infiltrate?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 06:54:52
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
That seems reasonable. It follows deployment rules, and makes use of the upgrade.
Which flyer has infiltrate?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 07:53:54
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
chelsea_hollywood wrote:That seems reasonable. It follows deployment rules, and makes use of the upgrade.
Which flyer has infiltrate?
(Just a wild guess here, not sure if there is such a unit combination).
an IG flyer bought as a DT for a squad with infiltrate?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 11:04:21
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
IG flyers are not dedicated transports, nor are grey knights, blood angels, and space marines.
Tau, dark eldar, orks and dark angels do not have transport flyers.
Necrons have dedicated transport flyers, but no unit that can take them can infiltrate.
Only elysians can take dedicated flyer transports and infiltrate. But the have combat drop anyway, so it's a bit of a moot point.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 13:25:51
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Crawfordsville Indiana
|
Found the rule I was thinking of.
Page 121.
Deploying within a Fortification.
It only allows for units with scouts or infiltrators rules to be deployed in it, regardless of enemy proximity.
Which specifically refutes the OP's premise of being allowed to deploy in the Sky shield with said flyer outside of the deployment zone.
|
All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 17:46:55
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
chelsea_hollywood wrote:That seems reasonable. It follows deployment rules, and makes use of the upgrade.
Which flyer has infiltrate?
Didn't know of a squad with infiltrate that could buy a DT flyer or a flyer with infiltrate. was just posting a "what if... then"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 18:22:34
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
champagne_socialist wrote:the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.
Not really, it gives no permission to deploy outside your deployment zone at all.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 00:57:28
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut
|
its something that always drived me nuts with some of the poeple in our Club.
for them its impossible, even if the units are exactly at 24" of each others, and that one or another unit can do a 12+12" move, like lets say the Maulerfiend and enter in contact, even if the adverseray is on the 12" from the center and i'm at 12" of the center.
i really don't understand how they count and measure, to me if something is at 24 of you, and you make 24", then you enters contact with it, now if the ennemy is 24.5" or 25" away okay, but 24" fits in 24"...
And they really seem to not get it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 00:59:26
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Well, with the standard deployments, you start more than 12" away from the centre line meaning that you need more than 24" to get into base contact first turn. Barring Scout and Infiltrate of course.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 01:02:09
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Slayer le boucher wrote:its something that always drived me nuts with some of the poeple in our Club.
for them its impossible, even if the units are exactly at 24" of each others, and that one or another unit can do a 12+12" move, like lets say the Maulerfiend and enter in contact, even if the adverseray is on the 12" from the center and i'm at 12" of the center.
i really don't understand how they count and measure, to me if something is at 24 of you, and you make 24", then you enters contact with it, now if the ennemy is 24.5" or 25" away okay, but 24" fits in 24"...
And they really seem to not get it.
the problem is you deploy "greater than 12" so you should be a microscopic hair over 24" which is where most people get that from.
But as things get nudged, bumped, and just deployed fully believing you are a hair over 12", it should come down to measuring the distance and seeing where things fall.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 15:54:20
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut
|
Yeah , but if you have to look with a microscope your moves when playing, then you really need to play another game, thats my opinion.
Now GW should have rather said " deploy at 26 from each other" and be done with it, because more then 24, is as vague as it can be.
Well vagueness and randomness are GW MO...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 15:56:51
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Slayer le boucher wrote:Yeah , but if you have to look with a microscope your moves when playing, then you really need to play another game, thats my opinion.
Now GW should have rather said " deploy at 26 from each other" and be done with it, because more then 24, is as vague as it can be.
Well vagueness and randomness are GW MO...
It's not vague at all.
More then 12" each from the centerline means it's literally impossible to move 24" and be in contact. If it happens someone did something against the rules.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 16:16:22
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
rigeld2 wrote: Slayer le boucher wrote:Yeah , but if you have to look with a microscope your moves when playing, then you really need to play another game, thats my opinion.
Now GW should have rather said " deploy at 26 from each other" and be done with it, because more then 24, is as vague as it can be.
Well vagueness and randomness are GW MO...
It's not vague at all.
More then 12" each from the centerline means it's literally impossible to move 24" and be in contact. If it happens someone did something against the rules.
One of the few cases where GW actually wrote a good rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 16:46:37
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
Scarab farm. 9 spyders. Deploy scarab squad at the front. Turn one add one scarab base to the squad 2" further forward. Now add another scarab base. And another etc. Do this 9 times. You have just made ~16/20 inches. Now you have 12" movement and a 2d6 charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 16:51:46
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Poly Ranger wrote:Scarab farm. 9 spyders. Deploy scarab squad at the front. Turn one add one scarab base to the squad 2" further forward. Now add another scarab base. And another etc. Do this 9 times. You have just made ~16/20 inches. Now you have 12" movement and a 2d6 charge.
Illegal. Read the FAQ/Errata.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 16:53:12
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
Ahhh bugger. Which one? What does it say specifically to prevent it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 16:53:20
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Poly Ranger wrote:Scarab farm. 9 spyders. Deploy scarab squad at the front. Turn one add one scarab base to the squad 2" further forward. Now add another scarab base. And another etc. Do this 9 times. You have just made ~16/20 inches. Now you have 12" movement and a 2d6 charge.
That's not how it works anymore. You can only gain 2" + a scarab's base worth of distance now.
Attached is the excerpt from the digital codex.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 16:56:23
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
Noooooooo! Good job I only own 1 spyder :-p! (And never use it - probably why I was unaware) Automatically Appended Next Post: Still makes it 'possible' to get a 1st turn charge mind...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/26 16:57:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 17:01:00
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
yakface wrote:Poly Ranger wrote:Scarab farm. 9 spyders. Deploy scarab squad at the front. Turn one add one scarab base to the squad 2" further forward. Now add another scarab base. And another etc. Do this 9 times. You have just made ~16/20 inches. Now you have 12" movement and a 2d6 charge.
That's not how it works anymore. You can only gain 2" + a scarab's base worth of distance now.
Granted 2 inches plus 40mm is enough to make a first turn charge as you gain about 3.7 inches past your deployment line and the deployment zone goes from just over 24 inches to just over 20.3 inches, so it is possible with a 12 inch move and a 9+ inch charge, though a 9+ inch charge should never be counted upon.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 17:24:21
Subject: First turn charge?
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
I've found the ultimate guy for first turn "charges" and he's not even charging.
I give you Zhadsnark, ork biker. He moves 12, then can turbo boost 24 and tank shock any units he can reach. Worse yet, if he starts with warbikers & is your warlord, he can scout. So redeploy 12" move 12" turbo boost/tank shock 24" so 46" threat range
SO he can tank shock any unit on the back of the table and it will be well worth it and funny as heck, any time a unit runs off the table
If the unit DOG's and causes a wound (which can be saved), then they're locked in combat with Zhadsnark in the shooting phase so they can move onto the assault phase as normal  He didn't assault, so no overwatches, and it can be done on the first turn
edited (I forgot bikes redeploy 12 not 6", so its 46" threat range.  )
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/26 17:45:11
|
|
 |
 |
|