Switch Theme:

Troops in Formations  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






There is no "slot" only a role defined by the unit definition. The role is what is defined in the FOC section of the BRB.

In my example of the Tau Firebase, what is the role designation of the Broadside and does it score in the Guns Never Tire mission?

   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
Look at it this way. It's the troops selection of the FOC not the army list that defines being a troop and hence scoring. See page 123.
To be a selection you have to be in the ascribed slot.

Does a formation contain troops selections or slots? If yes, then where and can you show which they are? Does it describe that the tervigon meets the requirements to be a troop choice in a formation? Or is this just another case of it doesn't say I can't?



Without referencing the army list section of a codex for the role, you cannot put a unit into an FOC selection. The FOC cannot be separated from the army list. If you think it can, then show how a tactical squad can be selected for an army without referring to its role on the army list.

Hint: it can't be because without referencing the role in the army list, you have no permission to slot it anywhere on the FOC.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





PanzerLeader wrote:
Hint: it can't be because without referencing the role in the army list, you have no permission to slot it anywhere on the FOC.

How does referencing the Formation's Army List tell me to put that unit in the Troops section of the FOC? Because it's part of a Formation detachment which explicitly doesn't follow the normal FOC.

And how do you handle slot-shifting with this assertion? Paladins are listed as Elites in the Army List. So using your assertion they do not score.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

rigeld2 wrote:
PanzerLeader wrote:
Hint: it can't be because without referencing the role in the army list, you have no permission to slot it anywhere on the FOC.

How does referencing the Formation's Army List tell me to put that unit in the Troops section of the FOC? Because it's part of a Formation detachment which explicitly doesn't follow the normal FOC.

And how do you handle slot-shifting with this assertion? Paladins are listed as Elites in the Army List. So using your assertion they do not score.


My assertion does cover paladins explicitly. Without referencing the army list section, you cannot determine that paladins are normally selected as Elites but CAN be selected as Troops under certain circumstances. Per the BRB, each unit must have a role. Show me how you can select a unit for any slot on the FOC without referencing the Codex entry in the army list section.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

PanzerLeader wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
PanzerLeader wrote:
Hint: it can't be because without referencing the role in the army list, you have no permission to slot it anywhere on the FOC.

How does referencing the Formation's Army List tell me to put that unit in the Troops section of the FOC? Because it's part of a Formation detachment which explicitly doesn't follow the normal FOC.

And how do you handle slot-shifting with this assertion? Paladins are listed as Elites in the Army List. So using your assertion they do not score.


My assertion does cover paladins explicitly. Without referencing the army list section, you cannot determine that paladins are normally selected as Elites but CAN be selected as Troops under certain circumstances. Per the BRB, each unit must have a role. Show me how you can select a unit for any slot on the FOC without referencing the Codex entry in the army list section.


And where are those circumstances found? In the Army List which you cannot reference.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

 Happyjew wrote:
PanzerLeader wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
PanzerLeader wrote:
Hint: it can't be because without referencing the role in the army list, you have no permission to slot it anywhere on the FOC.

How does referencing the Formation's Army List tell me to put that unit in the Troops section of the FOC? Because it's part of a Formation detachment which explicitly doesn't follow the normal FOC.

And how do you handle slot-shifting with this assertion? Paladins are listed as Elites in the Army List. So using your assertion they do not score.


My assertion does cover paladins explicitly. Without referencing the army list section, you cannot determine that paladins are normally selected as Elites but CAN be selected as Troops under certain circumstances. Per the BRB, each unit must have a role. Show me how you can select a unit for any slot on the FOC without referencing the Codex entry in the army list section.


And where are those circumstances found? In the Army List which you cannot reference.


Except every data slate tells you to reference the army list and/or reprints the entry in the data slate so it can be referenced per the screenshot earlier.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





PanzerLeader wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
PanzerLeader wrote:
Hint: it can't be because without referencing the role in the army list, you have no permission to slot it anywhere on the FOC.

How does referencing the Formation's Army List tell me to put that unit in the Troops section of the FOC? Because it's part of a Formation detachment which explicitly doesn't follow the normal FOC.

And how do you handle slot-shifting with this assertion? Paladins are listed as Elites in the Army List. So using your assertion they do not score.


My assertion does cover paladins explicitly. Without referencing the army list section, you cannot determine that paladins are normally selected as Elites but CAN be selected as Troops under certain circumstances. Per the BRB, each unit must have a role. Show me how you can select a unit for any slot on the FOC without referencing the Codex entry in the army list section.

You can't.
Show slots inside the Formation detachment. You continue to assert they're there but have yet to prove that assertion.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 thejughead wrote:
There is no "slot" only a role defined by the unit definition. The role is what is defined in the FOC section of the BRB.

In my example of the Tau Firebase, what is the role designation of the Broadside and does it score in the Guns Never Tire mission?


The role of the broadside could be to soak fire or for a nicely painted gun platform. It doesn't matter. If you aren't in a HS slot then you don't score in big guns.

Slot is defined by the foc and it's what a unit takes up on the foc. If it's not a troops slot then you don't score. I'd love some substantive answer to why you think these units are in a specific slot other than "because".

BTW is it a roll or battlefield roll now? Is it the handwavy non definition of the brb or the undefined nonsense of the dataslate?

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

"There are a few exceptions, however, when a unit of troops does not count as a scoring unit:
- If it is a vehicle, or is a unit currently embarked on a Transport vehicle, or is occupying a building.
- If it has the Swarms special rule.
- If it has a special rule specifying that it never counts as a
scoring unit.
- If it is currently falling back (if the unit Regroups it immediately reverts to being a scoring unit again)."

These are the only times a Troops choice isn't a scoring unit according to the BRB.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






Liturgies,

Please cite where slot is defined in the BRB.

-theJughead


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And the broadside is defined as a Heavy and part of the formation which is part of the FOC. I've cited numerous times where this is referenced in the Dataslate ad nauseum.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/09 03:09:54


 
   
Made in ca
Rampaging Carnifex




West Coast, Canada

Troops are scoring.

The dataslates have headers for 'Troops' (and others, elites, hq etc).

Why would they reiterate in each dataslate that troops are troops? Because they're troops.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 PrinceRaven wrote:
"There are a few exceptions, however, when a unit of troops does not count as a scoring unit:
- If it is a vehicle, or is a unit currently embarked on a Transport vehicle, or is occupying a building.
- If it has the Swarms special rule.
- If it has a special rule specifying that it never counts as a
scoring unit.
- If it is currently falling back (if the unit Regroups it immediately reverts to being a scoring unit again)."

These are the only times a Troops choice isn't a scoring unit according to the BRB.

You still haven't supported the statement that a unit from a dataslate is a Troop selection.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 thejughead wrote:
Liturgies,

Please cite where slot is defined in the BRB.

Slot == selection. Page 109 defines selections. Perhaps you'd care to read the rulebook.

And the broadside is defined as a Heavy and part of the formation which is part of the FOC. I've cited numerous times where this is referenced in the Dataslate ad nauseum.

Partially true.
The formation is part of the FOC. There are no Heavy selections in the formation, however.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/09 03:57:57


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

rigeld2 wrote:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
"There are a few exceptions, however, when a unit of troops does not count as a scoring unit:
- If it is a vehicle, or is a unit currently embarked on a Transport vehicle, or is occupying a building.
- If it has the Swarms special rule.
- If it has a special rule specifying that it never counts as a
scoring unit.
- If it is currently falling back (if the unit Regroups it immediately reverts to being a scoring unit again)."

These are the only times a Troops choice isn't a scoring unit according to the BRB.

You still haven't supported the statement that a unit from a dataslate is a Troop selection.


From the Tyranid Vanguard dataslate:

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/09 04:21:35


 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






Slot == selection. Page 109 defines selections. Perhaps you'd care to read the rulebook.


At this point it's obvious you prefer to ridicule and talk down to people instead of promoting a healthy exchange of ideas. Class act.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/09 04:31:08


 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

TBH jughead, I've been using common parlance for the little boxes on the FOC that denote where you put the units. If you prefer I use the word selection that's fine I will do so.

Can you please back up the assertion that units from the troops category in the army list are always scoring?

I am well aware there is a non-exhaustive list of reasons why a troops selection on the FOC would not be scoring. What I'm asking is where does the unit get to be in a troops selection and not a formation selection? You are not selecting a unit to fulfil a role you are selecting a list of units to be a formation. It's the difference between a multipack and a single can.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/09 10:37:49


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





thejughead wrote:
Slot == selection. Page 109 defines selections. Perhaps you'd care to read the rulebook.


At this point it's obvious you prefer to ridicule and talk down to people instead of promoting a healthy exchange of ideas. Class act.

You're reading more into my inflection than is actually there. I said that because you cited pages 108 and 109 multiple times, and then asked for something that's plainly defined on page 109. To me, that implies you haven't actually read the rulebook.


PrinceRaven wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
"There are a few exceptions, however, when a unit of troops does not count as a scoring unit:
- If it is a vehicle, or is a unit currently embarked on a Transport vehicle, or is occupying a building.
- If it has the Swarms special rule.
- If it has a special rule specifying that it never counts as a
scoring unit.
- If it is currently falling back (if the unit Regroups it immediately reverts to being a scoring unit again)."

These are the only times a Troops choice isn't a scoring unit according to the BRB.

You still haven't supported the statement that a unit from a dataslate is a Troop selection.


From the Tyranid Vanguard dataslate:
 Nilok wrote:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/s/i/at/2014/1/25/cb7ff5022a5ed60aae85133d28973eb6_24153.jpg__thumb]

That doesn't do what you think it does.
One box on the chart allows you to make one selection from that part of your army list in the relevant codex.

Please, as I've asked for before, show the FOC for a dataslate. Show me multiple boxes that allow you to make a Troop selection rather than a Formation selection.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

So you're saying that being a Troops choice doesn't make you a Troops choice? Literally having big capital letter saying TROOPS isn't enough?

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in gb
Infiltrating Broodlord






 PrinceRaven wrote:
So you're saying that being a Troops choice doesn't make you a Troops choice? Literally having big capital letter saying TROOPS isn't enough?


That is what it comes down to, despite the qualifier "normally" on p122, which of course doesn't cover formations, and despite the qualifier that Troops need a special rule in order not to score (''a special rule... specifiying it never counts as a scoring unit/") .Really the only argument for disallowing is that you get to choose which troops you take from a main codex, and the choice is normally dictated for a Formation. But that paper-thin argument is denied by the Dataslate intro which mentioned levels of alliance, which echoes the qualification that scoring troops cannot be Desperate Allies.

Funny, though, how the denial that units are scoring involves being incredibly rigorous about the FOC (despite the "normally" qualifier) and yet slack about other key sentences, hence the insistence that Large Type headings like TROOPS, or other worlds like "battlefield role", are merely decorative. What is a battlefield role for Troops, but to do the normal troop things - ie to control objectives?

(But then this argument was made, and has never been refuted, on p1. )

rigeld2 wrote:

An Endless Swarm Termagant brood is a Troops choice, therefore it is scoring.

It's a unit in a dataslate and exists outside the FOC. Hence it cannot be a Troops choice.
.


Worth repeating to show the logic we are faced with. That the medium is the message: cos it's a dataslate, let's ignore it. Which would be fine if you're oganising your own tournament, of course.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Hivefleet Oblivion wrote:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
So you're saying that being a Troops choice doesn't make you a Troops choice? Literally having big capital letter saying TROOPS isn't enough?


That is what it comes down to, despite the qualifier "normally" on p122, which of course doesn't cover formations, and despite the qualifier that Troops need a special rule in order not to score (''a special rule... specifiying it never counts as a scoring unit/") .Really the only argument for disallowing is that you get to choose which troops you take from a main codex, and the choice is normally dictated for a Formation. But that paper-thin argument is denied by the Dataslate intro which mentioned levels of alliance, which echoes the qualification that scoring troops cannot be Desperate Allies.

No, not at all. I've explained my position multiple times and have apparently been ignored.
Despite the fact that the *ARMY LIST* section of the Dataslate shows Troops, the units are absolutely *NOT* taken as a Troop *selection*, which is what's required to score.
An army's scoring units are normally all the units that come from the troops selection of the Force Organisation chart

(emphasis mine)
Please, show me where units from a Formation are Troop, etc. *selections*. I've asked multiple times and been ignored.
I've shown that a single unit fills a selection on the FOC. I've asked for, and never received, anything showing a Formation FOC that has Troops selections.

Funny, though, how the denial that units are scoring involves being incredibly rigorous about the FOC (despite the "normally" qualifier) and yet slack about other key sentences, hence the insistence that Large Type headings like TROOPS, or other worlds like "battlefield role", are merely decorative. What is a battlefield role for Troops, but to do the normal troop things - ie to control objectives?

(But then this argument was made, and has never been refuted, on p1. )

I'd accuse you of failing to read the thread, but I know you have. I refuted that argument multiple times. I've never - ever - said that those words are "merely decorative". I'd like you to not put words in my mouth.

rigeld2 wrote:

An Endless Swarm Termagant brood is a Troops choice, therefore it is scoring.

It's a unit in a dataslate and exists outside the FOC. Hence it cannot be a Troops choice.
.


Worth repeating to show the logic we are faced with. That the medium is the message: cos it's a dataslate, let's ignore it. Which would be fine if you're oganising your own tournament, of course.

I misworded that and have fixed my wording since then. Perhaps you'd like to stay current with the thread and attempt to refute arguments instead of accusing me of arguing dishonestly?
That'd be great. Thanks.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






It's a unit in a dataslate and exists outside the FOC. Hence it cannot be a Troops choice.


This is a false statement. The dataslate clearly says its a special detachment. Detachments can only exist within the FOC per the big rule book page 108-109. You continue to promote the idea that the FOC is only Primary, Allied and Fortification detachments.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 thejughead wrote:
It's a unit in a dataslate and exists outside the FOC. Hence it cannot be a Troops choice.


This is a false statement. The dataslate clearly says its a special detachment. Detachments can only exist within the FOC per the big rule book page 108-109. You continue to promote the idea that the FOC is only Primary, Allied and Fortification detachments.

That's a lie. It was a quote taken from page 1 that I've corrected myself.
I don't "continue" to promote that at all. I said it once.

Heck - I even corrected the person who put that quote in 6 minutes before you posted.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/09 13:28:45


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine







Please, show me where units from a Formation are Troop, etc. *selections*. I've asked multiple times and been ignored.
I've shown that a single unit fills a selection on the FOC. I've asked for, and never received, anything showing a Formation FOC that has Troops selections.


You keep referring to the FOC as the actual selection. This is incorrect. The detachment has the selection. The FOC is a collection of all the detachments.

It looks like this:

FOC
-----Primary
------------HQ
------------ELITES, etc.
-----Allied
------------HQ
------------ELITES, etc.
-----Fortifications
------------Fortification
-----Special Allies
------------HQ
------------ELITES, etc.
-----Formations
------------HQ
------------ELITES, etc.

Edit: I apologize the editor hacked my outline above.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/09 13:36:50


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 thejughead wrote:

Please, show me where units from a Formation are Troop, etc. *selections*. I've asked multiple times and been ignored.
I've shown that a single unit fills a selection on the FOC. I've asked for, and never received, anything showing a Formation FOC that has Troops selections.


You keep referring to the FOC as the actual selection. This is incorrect. The detachment has the selection. The FOC is a collection of all the detachments.

No, if you're looking at the chart on page 108, the boxes are selections. That's what I'm saying.
Please, show me a FOC (that's the chart) that includes more than a single box for Formations. Show me the FOC for Formations. The actual chart. I've asked for it - repeatedly.
I've never been shown one.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

rigeld2 wrote:
 thejughead wrote:

Please, show me where units from a Formation are Troop, etc. *selections*. I've asked multiple times and been ignored.
I've shown that a single unit fills a selection on the FOC. I've asked for, and never received, anything showing a Formation FOC that has Troops selections.


You keep referring to the FOC as the actual selection. This is incorrect. The detachment has the selection. The FOC is a collection of all the detachments.

No, if you're looking at the chart on page 108, the boxes are selections. That's what I'm saying.
Please, show me a FOC (that's the chart) that includes more than a single box for Formations. Show me the FOC for Formations. The actual chart. I've asked for it - repeatedly.
I've never been shown one.


We've reached an impasse. Rigeld will never be convinced until someone at GW makes a little line and block chart for every formation. The argument essentially comes down to those who think the specified composition in list format for each formation is the equivalent of an FOC because it outlines the compulsory and optional selections for each formation (Jughead, myself, hivefleet, etc.) and those who don't (liturgies, rigeld). No one is going to budge so lets just call it.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





PanzerLeader wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 thejughead wrote:

Please, show me where units from a Formation are Troop, etc. *selections*. I've asked multiple times and been ignored.
I've shown that a single unit fills a selection on the FOC. I've asked for, and never received, anything showing a Formation FOC that has Troops selections.


You keep referring to the FOC as the actual selection. This is incorrect. The detachment has the selection. The FOC is a collection of all the detachments.

No, if you're looking at the chart on page 108, the boxes are selections. That's what I'm saying.
Please, show me a FOC (that's the chart) that includes more than a single box for Formations. Show me the FOC for Formations. The actual chart. I've asked for it - repeatedly.
I've never been shown one.


We've reached an impasse. Rigeld will never be convinced until someone at GW makes a little line and block chart for every formation. The argument essentially comes down to those who think the specified composition in list format for each formation is the equivalent of an FOC because it outlines the compulsory and optional selections for each formation (Jughead, myself, hivefleet, etc.) and those who don't (liturgies, rigeld). No one is going to budge so lets just call it.

Yes, one side has quoted rules showing that selections matter and the other side is making assumptions and guessing at RAI.
Since the latter keeps claiming it's RAW despite being unable to show a rule allowing it...

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






rigeld2 wrote:
 thejughead wrote:

Please, show me where units from a Formation are Troop, etc. *selections*. I've asked multiple times and been ignored.
I've shown that a single unit fills a selection on the FOC. I've asked for, and never received, anything showing a Formation FOC that has Troops selections.


You keep referring to the FOC as the actual selection. This is incorrect. The detachment has the selection. The FOC is a collection of all the detachments.

No, if you're looking at the chart on page 108, the boxes are selections. That's what I'm saying.
Please, show me a FOC (that's the chart) that includes more than a single box for Formations. Show me the FOC for Formations. The actual chart. I've asked for it - repeatedly.
I've never been shown one.


There is no Chart. The formation is preset. It tells you what you must bring to comply. If you have the Imperial Knight codex then you will notice that it to has a chart, but it is disregarded when making a IK Primary Detachment. There is no way for you to fill the HQ or TROOPS selection. The Knight has no Role and cannot be part of the selection.

PanzerLeader, you are correct. We should close it.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 thejughead wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 thejughead wrote:

Please, show me where units from a Formation are Troop, etc. *selections*. I've asked multiple times and been ignored.
I've shown that a single unit fills a selection on the FOC. I've asked for, and never received, anything showing a Formation FOC that has Troops selections.


You keep referring to the FOC as the actual selection. This is incorrect. The detachment has the selection. The FOC is a collection of all the detachments.

No, if you're looking at the chart on page 108, the boxes are selections. That's what I'm saying.
Please, show me a FOC (that's the chart) that includes more than a single box for Formations. Show me the FOC for Formations. The actual chart. I've asked for it - repeatedly.
I've never been shown one.


There is no Chart. The formation is preset. It tells you what you must bring to comply. If you have the Imperial Knight codex then you will notice that it to has a chart, but it is disregarded when making a IK Primary Detachment. There is no way for you to fill the HQ or TROOPS selection. The Knight has no Role and cannot be part of the selection.

It's almost like Knights have an exception... that's specified in the rules... or something like that.
Bringing them up is a red herring.

The formation is preset and therefore there are no selections. No selections, no scoring. You know, exactly what I've been saying.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

"The army list entries for each unit in the Formation (the units’ profiles, points values, unit types, unit composition, special rules, battlefield role etc.) can either be found in the codex corresponding to the Faction on the datasheet, or elsewhere in the dataslate itself."

Genestealers, Warriors, Termagants, Hormagaunts and Tervigons taken as Troops selections via The Scuttling Swarm are all definitely Troops selections in Faction Codex, therefore they are Troops selections in their Formations.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/09 14:05:16


 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 PrinceRaven wrote:
"The army list entries for each unit in the Formation (the units’ profiles, points values, unit types, unit composition, special rules, battlefield role etc.) can either be found in the codex corresponding to the Faction on the datasheet, or elsewhere in the dataslate itself."

Genestealers, Warriors, Termagants, Hormagaunts and Tervigons taken as Troops choices via The Scuttling Swarm are all definitely Troops choices in Faction Codex, therefore they are Troops choices in their Formations.

False. On the FOC they do not take up a Troop selection, which (as I've quoted multiple times) is what's required to score.
It literally uses those words - "troop selection of the Force Organization chart". If you cannot prove that a Formation uses the troop selection of the FOC, you cannot prove that Formation units score.
Since you've failed to prove that a Formation uses the troop selection of the FOC, you've failed to prove that Formation units score.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






The formation is preset and therefore there are no selections. No selections, no scoring. You know, exactly what I've been saying.


By what judgment do you draw that conclusion? That is completely false in my view.


It's almost like Knights have an exception... that's specified in the rules... or something like that.
Bringing them up is a red herring.


It is relevant. We are talking about Army composition.


It doesn't matter. Our group will continue with our interpretation and I know the major tournaments will have the POV that they are scoring and that Troop does equate to Troop. In the end thats all that matters.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: