Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 19:35:34
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jasper76 wrote:Uh....how so?
RP and EL don't work on entire units, they work on a model-by-model basis.
Correct!
Read the SA rule. Does it remove models from play, or units?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 19:37:26
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
Sure...it removes the entire unit. SA works on units. EL works on models.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/04/28 19:39:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 19:38:26
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
rigeld2 wrote: jasper76 wrote:Uh....how so?
RP and EL don't work on entire units, they work on a model-by-model basis.
Correct!
Read the SA rule. Does it remove models from play, or units?
I get what you're saying here, but
How do you remove a unit, without removing the models?
When you remove the unit, do you not remove all the models as casualties?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 19:41:07
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
sirlynchmob wrote:rigeld2 wrote: jasper76 wrote:Uh....how so?
RP and EL don't work on entire units, they work on a model-by-model basis.
Correct!
Read the SA rule. Does it remove models from play, or units?
I get what you're saying here, but
How do you remove a unit, without removing the models?
When you remove the unit, do you not remove all the models as casualties?
OMFG you are analyzing and nitpicking this WAY to much. You remove the models as part of the unit, but the rule says units not models. No matter how you try to use semantics here, a model is a model, a group of models is a unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 19:41:36
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jasper76 wrote:Sure...it removes the entire unit. SA works on units. EL works on models.
Great!
Now - since SA says that nothing can save the unit, what rule are you using to save the unit?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 19:42:07
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Wrong. By the plain English defintion they were saved. No longer dead = saved from death.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 19:43:45
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
Ghaz wrote:Wrong. By the plain English defintion they were saved. No longer dead = saved from death.
Nope. They were "reanimated". Totally different than "saved". The Cryptek was never, ever "saved from death" against the Sweeiping Adcance..to the contrary, he was killed dead by it.
Examples:
That doctor saved my life!
Dr. Frankenstein reanimated a dead corpse.
These are not interchangeable words.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/28 19:47:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:08:14
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote: Sigvatr wrote:It's been a misunderstanding then, thanks for clearing it up.
I'd appreciate, but don't expect, an apology for your accusations. I hereby apologize for assuming and falsely accusing you of trolling me - you made clear that your intent wasn't to do so. I perceived it as such an attempt as you continued to do so despite being asked to stop doing it. While not being a troll attempt, it was offensive to me. In the future, to avoid further misunderstandings, I'd appreciate if you could refrain from keeping to do sth. you were asked to cease. Thanks Now: where does it explicitely say that a single model isn't a unit on its own? /e: BRB, p. 39. A single model is still a unit on its own. It's a 1-model-unit.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/28 20:10:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:10:42
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Sigvatr wrote:Now: where does it explicitely say that a single model isn't a unit on its own?
It's a unit that contains a single model.
A single model unit, if you will.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:11:43
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ninja'd ya.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:13:10
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Yes - it's a unit. I've never disputed that.
Does EL give permission for a unit to be saved by a special rule after SA? The unit isn't being "reanimated" - it's being saved.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:14:45
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Yes - it's a unit. I've never disputed that.
Does EL give permission for a unit to be saved by a special rule after SA? The unit isn't being "reanimated" - it's being saved.
I wasn't referring to you, I was referring to another post who said that models weren't units.
I have already adressed the faulty premise of "saving" above.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:17:09
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Murdius Maximus wrote:sirlynchmob wrote:rigeld2 wrote: jasper76 wrote:Uh....how so?
RP and EL don't work on entire units, they work on a model-by-model basis.
Correct!
Read the SA rule. Does it remove models from play, or units?
I get what you're saying here, but
How do you remove a unit, without removing the models?
When you remove the unit, do you not remove all the models as casualties?
OMFG you are analyzing and nitpicking this WAY to much. You remove the models as part of the unit, but the rule says units not models. No matter how you try to use semantics here, a model is a model, a group of models is a unit.
oh I'm using semantics? When all those making the counter argument can't even quote the proper rule and change the said rule.
no saves means no armor, cover or invuln saves.
the rule is rescue the unit, not save the unit. so everyone you see saying "save the unit" is wrong to do so.
and at this stage means at the end of the assault, not at the end of the assault phase.
so at the end of the assault the unit was not rescued, all the models in the unit were removed as casualties. Now at the end of the phase ...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:19:25
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
Good gawd, man! This is devolving into a display of willful ignorance.
What does Ever Living "save" the unit from? Being dead? How did you get dead? Sweeping Advance.
(a) enemy outdoes your initiative and performs a sweeping advance
(b) the unit is killed by the sweeping advance.
(c) You place an EL marker on any model in the unit that has EL.
(d) After all Assaults are resolved, there is a chance for the model to come back via Ever Living.
You are skipping (b) repeatedly. That is where you would get saved if you could, but you cant, and you dont. There is no Save.
Ever Living is a reanimation tool...it does nothing whatsoever to stop wounds, or stop being killed by a Sweeping Advance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:22:20
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
Guys, might as well give up. Some people will never change their minds. This question has dragged on long enough. I'll bet a new necron player who looks at this will be confused beyond belief.
As long as your gaming group plays it that way they/you want it, there's no need to convince people otherwise. Just play it that way and be happy.
I'm glad my gaming group plays it the way I read it.
|
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:24:09
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
milkboy wrote:Guys, might as well give up. Some people will never change their minds. This question has dragged on long enough. I'll bet a new necron player who looks at this will be confused beyond belief.
As long as your gaming group plays it that way they/you want it, there's no need to convince people otherwise. Just play it that way and be happy.
I'm glad my gaming group plays it the way I read it.
Good advice. I'm taking it!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:28:22
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
jasper76 wrote:
Examples:
That doctor saved my life!
Dr. Frankenstein reanimated a dead corpse.
These are not interchangeable words.
Exalted for the only post that got a LOL from me in the last three pages!
|
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 20:26:06
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
milkboy wrote: jasper76 wrote:
Examples:
That doctor saved my life!
Dr. Frankenstein reanimated a dead corpse.
These are not interchangeable words.
Exalted for the only post that got a LOL from me in the last three pages!
Except the actual rule never once uses 'reanimation' or 'resurrection'. It uses 'returned to play'. If a model is 'returned to play' then it was saved from no longer being able to take part in the battle.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 20:53:53
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
jasper76 wrote:Good gawd, man! This is devolving into a display of willful ignorance.
What does Ever Living "save" the unit from? Being dead? How did you get dead? Sweeping Advance.
(a) enemy outdoes your initiative and performs a sweeping advance
(b) the unit is killed by the sweeping advance.
(c) You place an EL marker on any model in the unit that has EL.
(d) After all Assaults are resolved, there is a chance for the model to come back via Ever Living.
You are skipping (b) repeatedly. That is where you would get saved if you could, but you cant, and you dont. There is no Save.
Ever Living is a reanimation tool...it does nothing whatsoever to stop wounds, or stop being killed by a Sweeping Advance.
This wins. Plain and simple.  Now if only this had come up eight pages ago lol!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 21:03:42
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jasper76 wrote:Ever Living is a reanimation tool...it does nothing whatsoever to stop wounds, or stop being killed by a Sweeping Advance.
EL does not reanimate. Using actual rules, it returns to play.
If something was removed from play and then returned to play, it was saved from destruction.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 21:13:16
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:
Except the actual rule never once uses 'reanimation' or 'resurrection'. It uses 'returned to play'. If a model is 'returned to play' then it was saved from no longer being able to take part in the battle.
Again: you are using your very own definition of "save" here and not the ones presented in SA. This is a huge problem. If we did this to any terms, Necrons cannot be "killed" as they aren't alive, they can merely be "destroyed". A hovering unit could not "run" because it has no legs. "Our weapons are useless" would never be used because technically, you can always hurt an enemy as you can always deal damage to it, even if it fails to have any impact in the tabletop itself. Sure, a Guardsmen might not be able to "hurt" a Dreadnought by the rules. But he might certainly "hurt" it by adding a few scratches to its armor.
I could go on.
If you want to use your own definition of words in a rules context, you are as far away from RAW as you can possibly be. Keep rules-terms to rules and, to be more precise, to the place where you find the rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 21:40:27
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Yet you're using your own definition as well as substituting words such as 'resurrection' which never appear in the rules. How is returning a unit that was removed from play not saving them? It is. It also clearly ignores the statement for them that the battle is over. If they're returned to play, then obviously the battle is not over.
Granting a model an 'Everliving' roll does mean that you used a special rule to save the model.
Granting a model an 'Everliving' roll means the battle is not over.
You have ignored the rules for sweeping advance.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 21:44:51
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
a) "For them the battle is over" is fluff, not rules.
b) You still ignore the fact that EL happens after SA. Unless you realize that, you won't understand how EL works.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 21:49:30
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Debatable but irrelevant
b) You still ignore the fact that EL happens after SA. Unless you realize that, you won't understand how EL works.
You keep assuming that SA is limited to a point in time. That's incorrect. It has an ongoing effect, as I've explained previously.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 21:55:19
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
Ghaz wrote:How is returning a unit that was removed from play not saving them?
You have ignored the rules for sweeping advance.
It did NOT save them. If it saved them, why are they off the board in the first place? (A: They got killed with NO SAVES ALLOWED)
Now I am home, and have the rules.
You guys are really, really reaching on this.
Point 1 - You guys are using unbolded fluff.
Point 2 - Rules in codices trump the rules in BRB.
Point 3 - The actual fluff section you are quoting starts with "Unless otherwise specified...". Ever Living (a special rule from the codex that trumps this rule anyways) counts as "otherwise specified".
Point 4 - This has already been FAQ'd
"Q: If an entire unit. including an attached character from a Royal Court, is wiped out, do you get to make any Reanimation Protocol roll?
A: You would only get to make one roll for the attached character as he has the Ever-living special rule. Note that in this case, he must be placed within 3" of the counter as his unit has been wiped out."
FOR NEW NECRON PLAYERS
On the extremely rare chance that someone challenges you on this, do no let lawyerly debate tactics trick you into thinking the FAQ on this subject does not apply to being "wiped out" by a Sweeping Advance.
(countdown to argument over what being "wiped out" means in 5, 4, 3...)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 21:58:36
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote: You keep assuming that SA is limited to a point in time. That's incorrect. It has an ongoing effect, as I've explained previously. And as I have explained before, assuming such a thing is wrong from both a RAW and RAI point of view. EL does not conflict with SA. If a unit gets swept, you get to roll for EL (NOT RP!) and get a chance to get back in the game.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/28 21:59:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 22:03:26
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
P.S. Point 5 - In the context of the section of the book, "at this stage" is a clear reference to the "Sweeping Advance" stage. The next stage is "End of Combat Pile In", followed by "Consolidation"
So, Sweeping Advance happens 2 FULL STEPS ahead of the end of the Assault Phase, which is where Ever Living is performed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 22:04:44
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Counterpoint - not every rule is bolded.
Point 2 - Rules in codices trump the rules in BRB.
Counterpoint - only when there is a conflict. There is no conflict.
Point 3 - The actual fluff section you are quoting starts with "Unless otherwise specified...". Ever Living (a special rule from the codex that trumps this rule anyways) counts as "otherwise specified".
Counterpoint - EL does not mention SA. At all. Otherwise someone would have pointed to where it is.
Point 4 - This has already been FAQ'd
"Q: If an entire unit. including an attached character from a Royal Court, is wiped out, do you get to make any Reanimation Protocol roll?
A: You would only get to make one roll for the attached character as he has the Ever-living special rule. Note that in this case, he must be placed within 3" of the counter as his unit has been wiped out."
Counterpoint - That still does not specify EL works against SA. Therefore it does not.
FOR NEW NECRON PLAYERS
On the extremely rare chance that someone challenges you on this, do no let lawyerly debate tactics trick you into thinking the FAQ on this subject does not apply to being "wiped out" by a Sweeping Advance.
(countdown to argument over what being "wiped out" means in 5, 4, 3...)
FOR NEW NECRON PLAYERS
Clearly this is a rule that is under disention. If you discuss it with your gaming group, you can probably come up with a group rule on how to handle this situation. That way neither you nor your opponent will not be blind-sided by what happens. Obviously at a Tourney, bring it up to the TO, if not in a Tournament FAQ.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 22:05:21
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
Sigvatr wrote:You keep assuming that SA is limited to a point in time. That's incorrect. It has an ongoing effect, as I've explained previously.
Nope. After Sweeping Advance is DONE, then you move into End of Combat Pile In, then you move to Consolidation, and then you have ended the Assault Phase. It is at THIS point, that you make your Ever Living roll...2 full steps later in the Phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/28 22:05:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/28 22:06:14
Subject: Imhotek and a few Necron questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
jasper76 wrote:P.S. Point 5 - In the context of the section of the book, "at this stage" is a clear reference to the "Sweeping Advance" stage. The next stage is "End of Combat Pile In", followed by "Consolidation"
So, Sweeping Advance happens 2 FULL STEPS ahead of the end of the Assault Phase, which is where Ever Living is performed.
P.S. Counterpoint - the only change made in SA is that after 4th edition they dropped the line about WBB (a Necron special rule similar to RP/ EL except it happened even later game-wise) as an example of a rule that didn't work.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|