Switch Theme:

hammer hand  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

 DeathReaper wrote:
 Bausk wrote:
Page two is a mechanic for many things, it is not however permission for accumulation of effects.

And here is where your argument falls apart when dealing with Multiple +1 modifiers.

Re-read page 2.


If I had multiple modifiers, say from two different Psychic powers effects like iron arm and might of titans, I would consult page two. But I am dealing with modifiers from two manifestations of the same powers effects, which I have no permission in the psyker section to accumulate.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Tell you what, if you can find any permission for the same powers effect to be cumulative that is just as definitive as the permission for different powers effects to be cumulative in the psyker section or grey knight codex I will concede. Till then I will stick to reading the rules with the base idea that nothing is permitted unless the rules state it is.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 04:53:37


 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

 Bausk wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 Bausk wrote:
Page two is a mechanic for many things, it is not however permission for accumulation of effects.

And here is where your argument falls apart when dealing with Multiple +1 modifiers.

Re-read page 2.


If I had multiple modifiers, say from two different Psychic powers effects like iron arm and might of titans, I would consult page two. But I am dealing with modifiers from two manifestations of the same powers effects, which I have no permission in the psyker section to accumulate.


Ok, so which step of manifesting the psychic power is denied permission?

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Bausk wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 Bausk wrote:
Page two is a mechanic for many things, it is not however permission for accumulation of effects.

And here is where your argument falls apart when dealing with Multiple +1 modifiers.

Re-read page 2.


If I had multiple modifiers, say from two different Psychic powers effects like iron arm and might of titans, I would consult page two. But I am dealing with modifiers from two manifestations of the same powers effects, which I have no permission in the psyker section to accumulate.


Yes you do. Where is the denial? Cite it.

 Bausk wrote:
2) Permission is granted for many psykers to manifest the same power with the same target. Absolutely correct, however it may be pointless.


Why would it be pointless, do you have a rules quote that tells restricts multiples of the same power from resolving its effects?

We are instructed to "resolve the psychic power according to instructions in its entry. " (68)

According to Hammerhand we apply a +1 modifier to the units Strength.

Please, just once, cite a restriction on this. Some actual rule that restricts you from resolving a second or third casting of Hammerhand.

If you do not provide a quote, as per the tenets of the forum, I will have to assume youa re arguing How you would play it and not arguing RAW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 04:56:21


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

For the last time, denial doesn't exist in a permissive rule set. Only permissions with limitations or restrictions.

For instance the movement phase. We assume no permission to even move the unit from the start. The rules grant us permission to move the unit but then restrict us to the units listed maximum movement. It also gives us permission to not move at all and permission to move less than the units maximum movement.

Each facet of the rules is based on this abundantly simple concept. I have shown permission for different powers effects to be cumulative in the relevant section of the rules. I have also shown that at no point in the relevant rules are we given permission for the same powers effect to be cumulative.

The onus is not mine to prove denial where none should exist. The onus is yours to prove permission exists.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

We have proved permission for every single step of manifesting and resolving the power.

You, meanwhile, have yet to show any support for your argument whatsoever apart from that you think it works that way.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

So am I to infer you have a different interpretation of what a permissive rule set is?

Please enlighten us.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

A permissive ruleset is one in which denial is assumed for everything you wish to do. This assumption can be overrided by a rule that grants permission, which is in turn overriden by a rule which provides denial, which can be overturned by a rule that grants specific permission to ignore the denial, which can then be overturned by a rule that specifically denies this specific permission. For instance:

1. It is the assault phase after assault moves but before blows are struck, my Psyker has a warp charge available and has not used used Hammerhand this turn, so I have permission to manifest Hammerhand. - "This power is used during the Assault phase in either's player turn, after assault moves have been made, but before any blows are struck."

2. I have permission to follow the usual steps for manifesting a psychic power in pages 67=68 as my Librarian is a Psyker.

3. I have permission to resolve the power according to instructions in its entry. - "Assuming that the Psychic test was passed and the enemy did not nullify it through a successful Deny the \Witch roll, you can now resolve the psychic power according to instructions in its entry."

4. The Hammerhand entry instructs me to apply +1 Strength to the unit, so I do. - "If the psychic test is passed, all models in the unit (including independent characters) have +1 Strength until the end of the Assault phase."

5. The unit already has had Hammerhand cast on it, so I have 2 +1 Strength modifiers, following the rules for multiple modifiers, Each model's current strength is now +2. - "If a model has a combination of rules or wargear that modify a characteristic, first apply any multipliers, then apply any additions or subtractions, and finally apply any set values."

Observe how I have permission to do each step, since I have rules-based permission I override any assumptions of denial and it requires an actual rule to deny permission.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 05:24:35


 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

Denial is absolutely required in a permissive ruleset.

For example, I have blanket permission to move models. However, an immobilized vehicle has had it's permission removed denied.

So, through Hammerhand, we have blanket permission to add +1 strength (given that you pass a psychic check, et al).

You'd have to find a denial to prevent it from working.
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

PR: Step three, you have permission to resolve the power following the rules for resolving a psychic power in which only permits different powers effects to be cumulative. I say only as it is the only mention of powers effects being cumulative and as such is the only rule for powers effects being permitted to be cumulative. Just thought I would point that out seeing as you missed it.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Unit: Immobilization is removal/revocation of permission which is not the same as denial.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Lets use that though. For there to be a removal/revocation of permission for same powers effects to be cumulative there first must be permission that is not assumed.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/05/05 06:09:38


 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

There is no denial of permission either, so we continue to resolve the power according to its entry, as we have permission to do so.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 Bausk wrote:
Lets use that though. For there to be a removal/revocation of permission for same powers effects to be cumulative there first must be permission that is not assumed.


We have permission to resolve the power.

The power grants +1 strength.

If you cast the power twice, you have permission to resolve the power both times.

The power grands +1 strength, twice.

If you cast the power three times, you have permission to resolve the power all three times.

The power grants +1 strength, three times.
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

PR: That's the dakka equivalent of a child's response. You stated the default state of permission in a permissive rule set is no permission. If no permission is given and no permission is removed/revoked then the default of no permission is what you have.

Unit: We have permission to resolve does not equate to permission to be cumulative. Resolution can be to no additional effect or no effect at all.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Permission is given to resolve the power, denial of resolution is not given apart from assumptions. Since the permission is rules-based and the denial is assumption-based the permission wins because rules always trump assumptions in a permissive ruleset.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 07:36:17


 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 Bausk wrote:
Unit: We have permission to resolve does not equate to permission to be cumulative. Resolution can be to no additional effect or no effect at all.


Is there a reason to expect it would have a different (or no) effect on subsequent resolutions than it did on the first?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Bausk wrote:
PR: Step three, you have permission to resolve the power following the rules for resolving a psychic power in which only permits different powers effects to be cumulative. I say only as it is the only mention of powers effects being cumulative and as such is the only rule for powers effects being permitted to be cumulative. Just thought I would point that out seeing as you missed it.
(Emphasis mine).
Fixed that for you.

I struck through your error. The word only should not be there. In fact the rule that "permits different powers effects to be cumulative" has nothing to do with the same power. Why do you keep citing that?

If we have permission to cast and resolve a power that gives a modifier, if we cast that power twice we are left with multiple modifiers since the rules say to resolve each power. Page 2 then kicks in and permits us to apply any additions by the rules of basic math. Ergo 4+1+1=6.

Since you can not find any restrictions in the rule book, please follow the tenets of the forum and mark your posts How you would play it.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

PR: You're still assuming permission to be cumulative fom just resolution, whereas in the rules for resolution we only have one reference on what is or is not permitted to be cumulative.

Unit: Same answer as PR.

DR: I have said previous to this the reason Ipreface the statement with only and it is because it is the only reference in the psyker rules section pertaining to accumulation. As it is the only statement on the matter the it is the only permission for accumulation we have.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

I have blanket permission to resolve, therefore I have permission to resolve even if Hammerhand has already been manifested on the unit.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

PR: Permission to resolve does not equate to permission to be cumulative. Especially when different effects are given explicit permission and same effects are not.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

I'm making no assumptions, I'm stating I have permission to resolve and there is no rules-based denial based on non-cumulativity. The assumption of not being cumulative cannot trump rules-based permission to resolve and apply the effects.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Bausk wrote:
PR: Permission to resolve does not equate to permission to be cumulative.
It does when the rule states you use a naturally cumulative/stacking symbol.
Or does the game define "+" as being something other than the standard usage? (It doesn't)
If they didn't want it to be stacking, they shouldn't have used "+" as it is by it's very nature stacking.

Also you're not looking for permission. You're looking for a double permission, which just isn't needed.
Permission is given through every single step to apply a subsequent modifiers. Yet you want a second permission on top of all this. Something saying it's allowed, when each step already allows it.
It's not needed.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/05/05 10:26:06


 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






The OP solved his problem on page1. Do you really still want to beat this dead horse on and on and on? Remember that the new edition will come anyway so no need to still argue points that have already been discussed to death. There will be a lot of new bloated rules to tear us apart over in ~3 weeks hopefully.
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





 Mywik wrote:
The OP solved his problem on page1. Do you really still want to beat this dead horse on and on and on? Remember that the new edition will come anyway so no need to still argue points that have already been discussed to death. There will be a lot of new bloated rules to tear us apart over in ~3 weeks hopefully.


Ah well, it's entertaining to see the con-stacking side struggling to find anything supporting their opinion, desperately grasping for straws. It's another example of a thread where the correct answer was on page 1 and then, endless, pointless debating started.

tl;dr: Hammerhand stacks with itself if cast by a different psyker. Detailed explanations have been provided above multiple times.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Bausk wrote:
PR: Permission to resolve does not equate to permission to be cumulative. Especially when different effects are given explicit permission and same effects are not.

First: please stop misspelling my name.
Second: I have permission to resolve both powers.
This resolution uses mathematical instructions.
Where in the rulebook would I go to find how to handle the maths involved?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Sigvatr wrote:
Fragile wrote:
 Sigvatr wrote:
Unless anyone comes up with an exact quote from the BRB that says that psychic powers are special rules, every single point you try to make is a waste of time.


So every model in the game can use psychic powers ?


Read the posts. You don't know what "special rules" means. "Special Rules" does NOT mean that it's a special rule if you use "special" as an everyday term. Special rules in Warhammer 40k are explicitely given by the BRB itself as pointed out in my previous posts.

Please refer to the tennets of YMDC:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/253892.page

Especially this:

6. Dictionary definitions of words are not always a reliable source of information for rules debates, as words in the general English language have broader meanings than those in the rules. This is further compounded by the fact that certain English words have different meanings or connotations in Great Britain (where the rules were written) and in the United States. Unless a poster is using a word incorrectly in a very obvious manner, leave dictionary definitions out.


So you had no answer ? Instead run off on a tangent about the tenets. Nothing in my question referenced a "definition". Perhaps you can stay on topic rather than cite the tenets. But I noticed your falling back on that to multiple threads, obviously your argument is falling apart that you've gone on such a defensive.
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Ask a proper question and you will certainly get an answer. If you don't know where to find a unit's special rules or don't know what a certain rule means, open a thread in YMDC and ask for it. I'd be glad to help you out. Feel free to PM me as well if you need help with something and I might be able to help you out.

I'm not wasting my breath on rhetorical questions, though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 12:56:44


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The rhetorical question had a point, which shows how incorrect you were in your statement about Special Rules. But I can see you dont care to be shown how wrong you are.
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Unless you want to rebutt anything someone else mentions with actual rules, you missed the point of YMDC.

Don't let the door hit you on your way out.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Fragile wrote:
So every model in the game can use psychic powers ?

Every model that has the special rule psyker can.

You need a special rule to cast Psychic powers.

Psychic powers themselves though are not special rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 18:33:35


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 PrinceRaven wrote:
I have blanket permission to resolve, therefore I have permission to resolve even if Hammerhand has already been manifested on the unit.


making it to the resolve step is not blanket permission for effect.

I can go through all of the steps to resolve any psychic shooting attack as long as the target is in line of sight.

There is no requirement for range under declare target or any of the other steps to resolve a psychic attack.

Therefore you can reach resolve psychic attack for a psychic shooting attack that is out of range, using your logic that making it to resolve step means the power has to have an effect now means psychic shooting attacks all have unlimited range.

obviously they do not.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Sigvatr wrote:
 Mywik wrote:
The OP solved his problem on page1. Do you really still want to beat this dead horse on and on and on? Remember that the new edition will come anyway so no need to still argue points that have already been discussed to death. There will be a lot of new bloated rules to tear us apart over in ~3 weeks hopefully.


Ah well, it's entertaining to see the con-stacking side struggling to find anything supporting their opinion, desperately grasping for straws. It's another example of a thread where the correct answer was on page 1 and then, endless, pointless debating started.

tl;dr: Hammerhand stacks with itself if cast by a different psyker. Detailed explanations have been provided above multiple times.


so despite your opinion not being RAW.

How do you resolve the RAW that different characteristic bonus and penalties stack?

And no mention that ones from the same source do stack.

Do you believe that bit of RAW was intentionally put in there as a red herring?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/05/05 20:21:31


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

blaktoof, how are you nominating a unit that is out of range for a psychic power?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: