Switch Theme:

LoS and Focus FIre  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

Can a model outside of the Focus Fire you declared be allocated LoS wounds.?

Let me know if this has been hashed out...for some reason every time I make a search on dakka it comes up with an error message (and yes I've cleared my cache.)

Thanks guys.

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in it
Death-Dealing Devastator





Italy

I think you can allocate wounds only on the models you focused fire.
Any excess wound is lost.
If you Focus Fire and you fire on a Character, a model outside Focus Fire can make a Look Out Sir, thus allocating the wound outside the Focus Fire "range".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/29 17:18:30


 the_Armyman wrote:
...grav is almost always a better choice. Grav is gravy. Grav all day errday. Grav über alles. 360 mlg noscope 420 grav it.

DQ:90S--G+MB++IPw40kPw40k(HoR_Kill_Team)16+D+A++/m 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You still have permission to LOS!
   
Made in it
Death-Dealing Devastator





Italy

nosferatu1001 wrote:
You still have permission to LOS!

Do you mean the Look Out Sir thing?

EDIT: I misinterpreted LOS as Line Of Sight, you were referring to Look Out Sir

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/29 18:23:14


 the_Armyman wrote:
...grav is almost always a better choice. Grav is gravy. Grav all day errday. Grav über alles. 360 mlg noscope 420 grav it.

DQ:90S--G+MB++IPw40kPw40k(HoR_Kill_Team)16+D+A++/m 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The explanation mark is how to tell them apart, but more reason to avoid abbreviations as they are not always clear.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

nosferatu1001 wrote:
You still have permission to LOS!


To LoS to models outside of the definitive Focus Fire Cover Save?

Not arguing, just wanting to be clear.

Would they then get their own better cover save...or the defined save.

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Their save, as they always have the advantage of,..
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Which would surely break P18.

I have no objection to LOS! to another model within 6", but I do object to a model taking a cover save when it's not allowed to.

Both rules require your opponent to allocate the wounds. One rule must allocate to another model within 6". The other can only allocate to a model with a cover save equal to or worse than the value stated. Neither are exclusive of the other.

?

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






JinxDragon wrote:
The explanation mark is how to tell them apart, but more reason to avoid abbreviations as they are not always clear.


Actualy, the "o" or "O" is how you tell them apart. When making an acronym you should not include words like "of" unless the acronym would be clunky. You can use a lower case letter the represent those kind of words if needed. So LOS is Look Out Sir, while Line of Sight is LoS. No one ever gets it right though.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Its a debatable point. There should be previous threads on it.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Which is even more reason not to use them.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






While Look out sir may allow the wounded model to allocate to another model within 6", the focus fire allocation can prevent that.

This is because you are restricted from allocating to any model with a better cover save that the one stated in the focus fire action.

The Look Out Sir! rule does not mention anywhere that you have permission to break the focus fire restriction and therefor you do not.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Look out Sir is the more specific rule, so it trumps Focus fire.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Eihnlazer wrote:
While Look out sir may allow the wounded model to allocate to another model within 6", the focus fire allocation can prevent that.

This is because you are restricted from allocating to any model with a better cover save that the one stated in the focus fire action.

The Look Out Sir! rule does not mention anywhere that you have permission to break the focus fire restriction and therefor you do not.

I would agree with this assessment.

From normal shooting, allocating to a model out of LoS or in cover would be fine... But the Focus Fire rules specifically prevent it.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

But you are not allocating a wound to a model with a better cover save, the Look Out sir rule is doing that.

The Focus Fire rules prevent you from allocating, not anything else that may re-allocate a wound.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 DeathReaper wrote:
But you are not allocating a wound to a model with a better cover save, the Look Out sir rule is doing that.

The Focus Fire rules prevent you from allocating, not anything else that may re-allocate a wound.


The problem is that Focus Fire says the attacked unit's owner cannot allocate wounds to those models. When does the attacked player allocate shooting wounds?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Death you are prevented by one rule and allowed by another.

Normally you would say specific rule overrides, but they are both equally specific (contrary to your belief).

In such a case if the conflicting permission does not specifically call out the prevention, then the prevention trumps, therefore no, you cannot LOS a focus fire wound to an ineligible model.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Just to clarify, rather than find out later we've been debating a RAW point in a vacuum: how do each of you PLAY it?

I just re-read the LOS! rules, and I think that I would go bug-eyed in disbelief if anyone actually attempted to say you couldn't LOS! a wound to a model out of the Focus Fire cover band.

In any event, I can't possibly believe that's the way it was intended to function. I lo-o-ove my Focus Fire shenanigans, but this one is a bridge too far for me.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

As I said earlier Jim, I have no problem with LOS! to another model, you just can't benefit from their cover save, beyond that specified by the Focus Fire.

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

 AndrewC wrote:
As I said earlier Jim, I have no problem with LOS! to another model, you just can't benefit from their cover save, beyond that specified by the Focus Fire.

Cheers

Andrew


Hmmm. Yeah, that might work. I don't really see it as being expressly spelled out that way in the rules, but fluff-wise it makes the most sense, and doesn't seem like a bad compromise.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in au
Flashy Flashgitz




Canberra, Down Under

 Jimsolo wrote:
Just to clarify, rather than find out later we've been debating a RAW point in a vacuum: how do each of you PLAY it?

I just re-read the LOS! rules, and I think that I would go bug-eyed in disbelief if anyone actually attempted to say you couldn't LOS! a wound to a model out of the Focus Fire cover band.

In any event, I can't possibly believe that's the way it was intended to function. I lo-o-ove my Focus Fire shenanigans, but this one is a bridge too far for me.


Look Out Sir! can be palmed off to a model outside of the Focus Fire band, but are given an equivalent Cover Save to the original target. I am aware this is outside the rules in nearly every way, but after all the bloke is diving in front of his officer, he's occupying the same space as him in the end (after being riddled with bullets or what have you).

FORGE THAT NARRATIVE!


EDIT: Riddled with bullets. Riddles with bullets would be quite non lethal.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/30 01:27:48


Current Proposed Rules Project: Orkish AC-130 Spekta Gunship!

WAAAGH Sparky!
1400 (ish) - On the rebound!
Kommander Sparks DKoK
1000 (ish) - Now on the backburner

- Men, you're lucky men. Soon, you'll all be fighting for your planet. Many of you will be dying for your planet. A few of you will be put through a fine mesh screen for your planet. They will be the luckiest of all.  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Jimsolo wrote:
Just to clarify, rather than find out later we've been debating a RAW point in a vacuum: how do each of you PLAY it?

Hasn't come up yet... but given the Focus Fire restriction, I would treat it basically as only those models that are valid wound targets for the Focus Fire would be valid candidates for LOS.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Eihnlazer wrote:
Death you are prevented by one rule and allowed by another

No you are not as the Look Out Sir rule does the re-allocation for you.

Focus Fire says " Your opponent can only allocate Wounds to models..." (18)

With Look Out Sir your Opponent is not the one re-allocation so it does not break the Focus Fire rule at all.

 Happyjew wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
But you are not allocating a wound to a model with a better cover save, the Look Out sir rule is doing that.

The Focus Fire rules prevent you from allocating, not anything else that may re-allocate a wound.


The problem is that Focus Fire says the attacked unit's owner cannot allocate wounds to those models. When does the attacked player allocate shooting wounds?


This does not matter as the attacked unit's owner is not re-allocating the wound, the Look Out Sir rule is doing the re-allocating.

So you allocate a wound to the Character since he is eligible, declare Look out sir, and if successful the Look Out Sir rule re-allocates the wound.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Idaho

 DeathReaper wrote:
Eihnlazer wrote:
Death you are prevented by one rule and allowed by another

No you are not as the Look Out Sir rule does the re-allocation for you.

Focus Fire says " Your opponent can only allocate Wounds to models..." (18)



By this logic, focus fire does absolute nothing at all. Players themselves dont allocate wounds, the rules tell you who the wound goes to.... and since the player is never allocating the wound focus fire as no effect and is just fluffy page filler.


Its either that.....or your opinion is wrong.... Hmmm, tough call.

2200
4500
3500 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






I've made my argument for this before. FF prevents allocation to models with X or better save, and LOS! is a re-allocation. I'm under the belief that no, a model cannot LOS! against focus fire based off the face that a re-allocation is still an allocation.


link to old thread.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/572924.page
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

To be fair though, there was a time when your opponent allocated Wounds, making Focus Fire work normally - on a successful LOS!

Then GW changed it from choosing a model within 6" to the nearest model.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Eihnlazer wrote:
While Look out sir may allow the wounded model to allocate to another model within 6", the focus fire allocation can prevent that.
.


Point of order, FAQ changed this from within 6" to closest model.

Edit: Note to self. Next time read the whole thread before posting......... Happyjew already mentioned this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/30 11:34:06


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Re the nearest model thing, I haven't checked out the BL FAQs, but I thought they had ditched that particular ruling to go back to the BRB. Can someone clarify?

Death, what you seem to be advocating is that LOS! circumvents any special rules that apply to the wounds transferred. Focus Fire restricts the cover saves that may apply to the wound to a specific number. Why do you think that LOS! gets to ignore that restriction?

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

 AndrewC wrote:
Re the nearest model thing, I haven't checked out the BL FAQs, but I thought they had ditched that particular ruling to go back to the BRB. Can someone clarify?

Death, what you seem to be advocating is that LOS! circumvents any special rules that apply to the wounds transferred. Focus Fire restricts the cover saves that may apply to the wound to a specific number. Why do you think that LOS! gets to ignore that restriction?

Cheers

Andrew


From my understanding he's taking it as.


Step 1: Only allocate wounds to models in the definitive cover save.
STOP
Step 2: Reallocate wounds as LoS allows.



Instead of


Step 1: Only allocate wounds to models in the definitive cover save.
Step 2: Only reallocate wounds as both LoS and the definitive cover save allow.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/30 12:35:53


Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

I just want to make sure exactly what he is saying before providing a counter.

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: