Switch Theme:

Shadowseers and Psychic Powers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

OK, so this is about the Eldar Shadowseer, not the Dark Eldar.

Per the FAQ, Eldar Psykers have access to Daemonolgy.
Per the Codex, Shadowseers have the Veil of Tears Psychic Power, but says nothing about rolling for Psychic Powers (as in 6th edition they did not have permission to roll on any Discipline).
Compared to the Hemlock Wraithfighter, which says "The Hemlock Wraithfighter does not roll for psychic powers."

Now it would appear RAW, the Shadowseer, now has Veil of Tears, plus one roll (and Primaris) off of Sanctic or Daemonology.

Thoughts?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Warrington, UK

Page 23, second paragraph down has your answer.

Basically if the model has a psychic power listed on his profile he always starts with that power.

Website: http://www.northernwarlords.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/northernwarlords

Dark Eldar 35,000pts
Craftworld Eldar 27,500pts
+ 10,000pts of Ynnari, Corsairs & Harlequins 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Shingen wrote:
Page 23, second paragraph down has your answer.

Basically if the model has a psychic power listed on his profile he always starts with that power.


I'm not arguing the Shadowseer doesn't start with VoT.

Per the Eldar FAQ, "Any model with the Psyker or Psychic Pilot special rule may generate powers from the Daemonology discipline in addition to the others listed in their Army List Entries."

Per the Eldar Army List, Shadowseers do not have any Disciplines listed.

Daemonology is added in addition to this null set.

Leaving us with Shadowseers generate their powers from no disciplines and Daemonology.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Warrington, UK

True as that is the Eldar Codex clearly states on page 99 that:

"A Shadowseer always has the Veils of Tears Psychic Power"

As he is only ML1 he cant take a second power so I think that settles that. The word always kinda negates the FAQ unless the FAQ is very specific.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/15 22:31:07


Website: http://www.northernwarlords.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/northernwarlords

Dark Eldar 35,000pts
Craftworld Eldar 27,500pts
+ 10,000pts of Ynnari, Corsairs & Harlequins 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Shingen, compare the Shadowseer with the Wraithfighter.

The Shadowseer always knows VoT (and per the FAQ can roll on Daemonology).
The Wraithfighter does not roll for its powers but always knows Terrify (and per the FAQ can roll on Daemonology).

Both say the model knows a power, however, only one actually has a restriction on rolling for powers. In 6th edition it did not matter, as the codex specifically told you what Disciplines you could roll on and Shadowseers did not have a Discipline listed.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also, if you are wondering, this is not HIWPI. I firmly believe the RAI is no power generation, however, the FAQ does give the Wraithfighter permission to roll on Daemonology despite the fact hte codex says it doesn't roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/15 22:36:15


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Warrington, UK

Again, it says the Hemlock always knows Terrify and again its ML1 so he cant roll on anything anyway irrespective.

To me its pretty clear but if I can help clear your mind in any way I will do...


Website: http://www.northernwarlords.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/northernwarlords

Dark Eldar 35,000pts
Craftworld Eldar 27,500pts
+ 10,000pts of Ynnari, Corsairs & Harlequins 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Right, the Hemlock knows Terrify, and doesn't roll for powers.

The Shadowseer knows VoT and its entry says nothing about not rolling for powers.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Happyjew wrote:
Right, the Hemlock knows Terrify, and doesn't roll for powers.

The Shadowseer knows VoT and its entry says nothing about not rolling for powers.


You only roll for powers if you don't have powers specified.

From Generating Psychic Powers, emphasis added.

"In some Army List Entries, a Psyker will have one or more specific psychic powers listed – where this is the case, it will be clearly stated. These Psykers always start the game with those psychic powers. Otherwise, a Psyker generates random psychic powers from amongst the psychic disciplines known to him."

If you have listed powers, you know those powers. Otherwise you roll. The Shadowseer has powers listed, so he never has the opportunity to roll.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

But the Eldar FAQ would override the more general rules in the BRB.

In the GK FAQ, for example, every single psyker in the codex is listed, with their known powers and/or available trees to roll on. It clearly states who may and may not roll, and who has set powers and who doesn't.
This isn't the case with the Shadowseer.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
But the Eldar FAQ would override the more general rules in the BRB.


There's no conflict. The Shadowseer adds Daemonology to the list of disciplines it can generate powers from, bringing the total disciplines to one. So if it could generate powers by rolling, it could generate from Daemonology, no question. The Shadowseer doesn't have permission to roll powers though, as roliing powers is something you do if you don't have specific powers. So while Daemonology is one of it's disciplines, the Shadowseer will never generate a power from there because it has specific powers.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Chrysis wrote:
 Elric Greywolf wrote:
But the Eldar FAQ would override the more general rules in the BRB.


There's no conflict. The Shadowseer adds Daemonology to the list of disciplines it can generate powers from, bringing the total disciplines to one. So if it could generate powers by rolling, it could generate from Daemonology, no question. The Shadowseer doesn't have permission to roll powers though, as roliing powers is something you do if you don't have specific powers. So while Daemonology is one of it's disciplines, the Shadowseer will never generate a power from there because it has specific powers.


Not necessarily.

For example (and I know this is a poor example, but is the only one that comes to mind at the moment), Ezekiel (DA) knows the Mind Worm power, and also rolls for powers.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Happyjew wrote:
Chrysis wrote:
 Elric Greywolf wrote:
But the Eldar FAQ would override the more general rules in the BRB.


There's no conflict. The Shadowseer adds Daemonology to the list of disciplines it can generate powers from, bringing the total disciplines to one. So if it could generate powers by rolling, it could generate from Daemonology, no question. The Shadowseer doesn't have permission to roll powers though, as roliing powers is something you do if you don't have specific powers. So while Daemonology is one of it's disciplines, the Shadowseer will never generate a power from there because it has specific powers.


Not necessarily.

For example (and I know this is a poor example, but is the only one that comes to mind at the moment), Ezekiel (DA) knows the Mind Worm power, and also rolls for powers.


As explained in his rules, overriding the either/or of specific or rolling. There's nothing in the Shadowseer rules to do the same.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

It seems a little shaky, but RAW seems to back you, Happyjew. Now, RAI doesn't, and I don't think anyone would ever play/run it that way (which is what I think you said up above). But you are nevertheless, technically correct.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/16 00:41:40


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Warrington, UK

Erm no it doesn't. It clearly says in black and white you can't.

Website: http://www.northernwarlords.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/northernwarlords

Dark Eldar 35,000pts
Craftworld Eldar 27,500pts
+ 10,000pts of Ynnari, Corsairs & Harlequins 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Shingen wrote:
Erm no it doesn't. It clearly says in black and white you can't.


This. The main rulebook says you can't. The codex doesn't say either way. Why would this suddenly mean you can?
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Chrysis wrote:
Shingen wrote:
Erm no it doesn't. It clearly says in black and white you can't.


This. The main rulebook says you can't. The codex doesn't say either way. Why would this suddenly mean you can?


Can you give the exact BRB line you're referring to? I assume it's not something like, "By the way, the Shadowseer can't roll on Daemonology." But I don't know what it is.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

I already quoted it, but here it is again. I don't have a page number because I'm using the ebook.

From Generating Psychic Powers, emphasis added.

"In some Army List Entries, a Psyker will have one or more specific psychic powers listed – where this is the case, it will be clearly stated. These Psykers always start the game with those psychic powers. Otherwise, a Psyker generates random psychic powers from amongst the psychic disciplines known to him."

The rulebook only gives permission to generate powers if you don't have specific powers listed. The Shadowseer has specific powers listed, ergo doesn't have permission to generate powers. So she can add Daemonology to his list of disciplines, but as she never gets the chance to generate powers she will never get to use it. Exceptions exist, such as Ezekial, but they outline in their rules exactly how they work thus overriding the rulebook. The Shadowseer does not outline that it is an exception, either in the codex or the FAQ, so there's no reason to think that it is.
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





Chrysis wrote:
I already quoted it, but here it is again. I don't have a page number because I'm using the ebook.

From Generating Psychic Powers, emphasis added.

"In some Army List Entries, a Psyker will have one or more specific psychic powers listed – where this is the case, it will be clearly stated. These Psykers always start the game with those psychic powers. Otherwise, a Psyker generates random psychic powers from amongst the psychic disciplines known to him."

The rulebook only gives permission to generate powers if you don't have specific powers listed. The Shadowseer has specific powers listed, ergo doesn't have permission to generate powers. So she can add Daemonology to his list of disciplines, but as she never gets the chance to generate powers she will never get to use it. Exceptions exist, such as Ezekial, but they outline in their rules exactly how they work thus overriding the rulebook. The Shadowseer does not outline that it is an exception, either in the codex or the FAQ, so there's no reason to think that it is.


From the Eldar FAQ
"Any model with the Psyker or Psychic Pilot special rule may generate powers from the Deamonology discipline in addition to the others listed in their Army List Entries."

Not only does the FAQ allow Daemonology to be added to the Shadowseer's list of disciplines, but it also gives the Shadowseer permission to actually generate a power.

Looking further into this it seems the the Hemlock would also get to generate a power from Daemonology. If there is a clear conflict between the two rules, doesn't the FAQ win out? Also, why else would they include the term "Psychic Pilot" in the FAQ if our only model with that rule could not take advantage of it?


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/17 00:51:16


4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Warrington, UK

No it doesn't, the FAQ is clearly telling you the warlocks, spiritseers, eldrad and farseers have access. The BRB clearly states the rule, I've already posted it, someone else has quoted it.

If you start with a psychic power unless a special rule states you are stuck with it.

Website: http://www.northernwarlords.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/northernwarlords

Dark Eldar 35,000pts
Craftworld Eldar 27,500pts
+ 10,000pts of Ynnari, Corsairs & Harlequins 
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





Shingen wrote:
No it doesn't, the FAQ is clearly telling you the warlocks, spiritseers, eldrad and farseers have access. The BRB clearly states the rule, I've already posted it, someone else has quoted it.

If you start with a psychic power unless a special rule states you are stuck with it.


If it is clearly only warlocks, farseers, and spiritseers, how would you explain the inclusion of "Psychic Pilot"?

When there is a conflict in the rules, the BRB gives us this. Pg.13
"On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex ot Army List Entry always takes precedence."
FAQ is part of the codex, and it gives us permission to generate Daemonology powers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/17 05:38:16


4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

Whether they meant to or not, they wrote in that the shadow seer can now create slaanesh daemons.

Wow.
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Warrington, UK

No they didn't. The BRB clearly states that models with set psychic powers can't roll for different powers. Yes technically the shadowseer has access but he can't roll on it due to the BRB restriction.

Website: http://www.northernwarlords.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/northernwarlords

Dark Eldar 35,000pts
Craftworld Eldar 27,500pts
+ 10,000pts of Ynnari, Corsairs & Harlequins 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

Right. No one is debating that part of the rule book. What they are debating is that the Eldar faq, which according to extremefreak13's quote takes precedence over the BRB, says they are allowed to roll on daemonology.
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

From the Eldar FAQ
"Any model with the Psyker or Psychic Pilot special rule may generate powers from the Deamonology discipline in addition to the others listed in their Army List Entries."

If there are no other disciplines that can be generated from in the first place does this apply though?

The 'in addition to the others listed...' is actually 'in addition to the other (disciplines they may generate from) listed in their ...' rather than other powers which some people might be reading it as.

Seems contextually it's giving a new discipline to ones who already have some they can generate from, due to the wording 'addition to the others' the model doesn't have 'other' disciplines to be able to add deamonology to the list of disciplines it knows.Could be bad phrasing though.



Doesn't this also link in with how many powers a unit can cast - I mean, if how many powers you know is not dependent on ML then it must be how many you cast.

This message was edited 11 times. Last update was at 2014/06/17 12:05:13


It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Ignatius wrote:
Right. No one is debating that part of the rule book. What they are debating is that the Eldar faq, which according to extremefreak13's quote takes precedence over the BRB, says they are allowed to roll on daemonology.

IIRC generating is also determining set powers - so no, the FAQ does not give permission to roll.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

rigeld2 wrote:
 Ignatius wrote:
Right. No one is debating that part of the rule book. What they are debating is that the Eldar faq, which according to extremefreak13's quote takes precedence over the BRB, says they are allowed to roll on daemonology.

IIRC generating is also determining set powers - so no, the FAQ does not give permission to roll.


Now you've confused me.

"Any model with the Psyker or Psychic Pilot special rule may generate powers from the Deamonology discipline in addition to the others listed in their Army List Entries." Eldar FAQ first posted by Extremefreak17

I'm actually curious, how does this faq NOT say that you can generate from daemonology?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Ignatius wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Ignatius wrote:
Right. No one is debating that part of the rule book. What they are debating is that the Eldar faq, which according to extremefreak13's quote takes precedence over the BRB, says they are allowed to roll on daemonology.

IIRC generating is also determining set powers - so no, the FAQ does not give permission to roll.


Now you've confused me.

"Any model with the Psyker or Psychic Pilot special rule may generate powers from the Deamonology discipline in addition to the others listed in their Army List Entries." Eldar FAQ first posted by Extremefreak17

I'm actually curious, how does this faq NOT say that you can generate from daemonology?

Because generation includes having a set power.
The models have a set power pre-generated for them, and no permission to generate additional ones (they're ML1 and know 1 power).
So while they can generate from that tree, their power is generated for them.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





rigeld2 wrote:
 Ignatius wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Ignatius wrote:
Right. No one is debating that part of the rule book. What they are debating is that the Eldar faq, which according to extremefreak13's quote takes precedence over the BRB, says they are allowed to roll on daemonology.

IIRC generating is also determining set powers - so no, the FAQ does not give permission to roll.


Now you've confused me.

"Any model with the Psyker or Psychic Pilot special rule may generate powers from the Deamonology discipline in addition to the others listed in their Army List Entries." Eldar FAQ first posted by Extremefreak17

I'm actually curious, how does this faq NOT say that you can generate from daemonology?

Because generation includes having a set power.
The models have a set power pre-generated for them, and no permission to generate additional ones (they're ML1 and know 1 power).
So while they can generate from that tree, their power is generated for them.


That would be a conflict of rules, as you would never get to generate a power from Daemonology., which the FAQ specifically allows us to do. Generating Veil of Tears is not the same as generating a power from Daemonology, which we have specific permission to do.

EDIT: Also, I cant find anything that says having a set power = generating a power. Do you have a page number for that?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/17 17:32:35


4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Cite permission to generate an additional power.
Or cite permission to replace Veil.

You have to prove one of the two to move forward with your argument.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





rigeld2 wrote:
Cite permission to generate an additional power.
Or cite permission to replace Veil.

You have to prove one of the two to move forward with your argument.


Edited my post. Need a page number from you first.

It doesn't seem to refer to set powers as being generated anywhere. (that I could find)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/17 17:36:56


4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: