Switch Theme:

Can a unit assault from a assault transport that has scouted on the first turn?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





 HawaiiMatt wrote:
If the unit has scout, they confer it to the transport. Both then have scout and are allowed to be deployed outside of their deployment zone.
If the Transport has scout, and the unit does not, the Transport can redeploy, but cannot redeploy outside of your deployment zone. To do so, you would need to find permission for a non-scouting unit to deploy in transport outside of your DZ.

Incorrect.
Scouts deploy normally first, then optionally redeploy after normal deployment. They are not like Infiltrators.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 HawaiiMatt wrote:
Here's two interesting tidbits.

Page 130, under deployment zones. "We've found that 12" away from the center line works best; this ensures that armies will start at least 24" apart, which makes first turn charges hard to achieve while still giving you enough space on a typical table to deploy your army".

Ok, so GW flat out said that 1st turn charges are ok, but they want them hard to do.

Page 132: Models can be deployed 'inside' buildings, fortifications or Transport vehicles in their deployment zone, subject to their Transport Capacity.
Where's permission to be deployed outside your DZ?

I see permission for the vehicle to be their, but not the embarked unit.

They deployed inside the vehicle. The vehicle deployed in the dz, then redeployed outside. At no point did the unit embarked ever redeploy because, and this has been pointed out repeatedly, no rule says they have.

So it's put up or shut up time, again. Find a rule stating they have redeployed. Page and para. Failure to do so is instant concession on this point.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
Angelic wrote:
But it has been redeployed in it.

Statement without rules support - assumption.
If a Transport hasn't been deployed, the unit can't be deployed in it.

Incorrect - Transports can be in Reserves with units deployed in them.

Not incorrect. Holding in Reserves is not being deployed. Neither the unit, nor the transport have been deployed if they are held in Reserve. Reserve rules allow for Combined Units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/10 18:05:56


 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

nosferatu1001 wrote:

They deployed inside the vehicle. The vehicle deployed in the dz, then redeployed outside. At no point did the unit embarked ever redeploy because, and this has been pointed out repeatedly, no rule says they have.
So it's put up or shut up time, again. Find a rule stating they have redeployed. Page and para. Failure to do so is instant concession on this point.


Page 132.
Models must either deploy in their deployment zone, or be held back in reserve.
Models can be deployed 'inside' building, fortifications, or Transports vehicles in their deployment zone,...
When you are done with deployment and redeployment, is that unit in question deployed in a vehicle in your DZ as required by the deployment rules?
Did it deploy legally? Yes.
Is it deployed legally? Possibly not. This depends on when Deployment ends.

Then the question is, when does DEPLOYMENT end?
Page 132 has everything up to rolling for seize the initiative as part of "Standard Deployment Method".
Scout has it taking place after deployment, but before the roll to steal initiative, which is between steps 3 and 4 of the Standard Deployment.
Since scouting is redeployment and takes place before the end of the Standard Deployment Method, I'd argue that standard deployment isn't done and you're still required to follow deployment rules.

If deployment ends as soon as the model is on the table, then you would indeed be able to assault out of a scouting transport.
Now, I've given you a bit to read, please work on where in the rules deployment ends, and if Deploy does or doesn't equal Deployed.
Pages if possible.

I actually believe that RAW, it is possible to assault out, I'm just working through the whole process to eliminate any possibility of doubt.


 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Scout moves and rolling to seize the initiative happen at the same time frame of "after deployment but before turn 1"

This leads me to believe it happens after standard deployment.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You siad it yourself, really - "Scout has it taking place after deployment, but before the roll to steal initiative, which is between steps 3 and 4 of the Standard Deployment"

It is *after* deployment, meaning they *have* deployed (past tense) within a vehicle inside their deployment zone. That the vehicle, after deployment, moves outside f the DZ is irrelevant, as you are not required to re-evaluate the deployment-status of the unit inside - in fact you cannot, as no rule allows / compels you to.

It is clear ot me that, once deployED inside a vehicle, the unit has deployED unless another rule states otherwise. Scout does not state otherwise for an embarked unit.
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
You siad it yourself, really - "Scout has it taking place after deployment, but before the roll to steal initiative, which is between steps 3 and 4 of the Standard Deployment"

It is *after* deployment, meaning they *have* deployed (past tense) within a vehicle inside their deployment zone. That the vehicle, after deployment, moves outside f the DZ is irrelevant, as you are not required to re-evaluate the deployment-status of the unit inside - in fact you cannot, as no rule allows / compels you to.

It is clear ot me that, once deployED inside a vehicle, the unit has deployED unless another rule states otherwise. Scout does not state otherwise for an embarked unit.

So you're saying it's ok to break deployment rules before the end of "Standard Deployment", as long as the sequence that got you there is legal.
It's a "Don't go left" rule, and you just made 3 right turns.
To take this to an extreme... nevermind, that thought needs it's own thread.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You gavent broken the rules though. You have indeed deployed legally. After deployment the vehicle scouts.
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
You gavent broken the rules though. You have indeed deployed legally. After deployment the vehicle scouts.


And redeployment is not Deployment, even if it happens during Standard Deployment.

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter






Be advised that the Ghaz supplement provides us with a Formation that includes 5 battlewagons with the Scout special rule. They bother to specifically add, as a SPECIAL RULE, that models inside the Battlewagons cannot assault on the first turn if the Battlewagons used a scout redeployment.

I would take this as an implication that you CAN assault from a scouting vehicle (assuming assault vehicle, not out of reserves, etc), normally.

The Scouts special rule says that the unit with this special rule makes the scout redeployment. Any unit that makes a scout redeployment cannot charge on the first turn. The infantry models are not moving at all, themselves (although they counts-as moving FOR THE PURPOSE OF SHOOTING, not for any other purpose, thanks to Combat/Crusing speed rules) - it's just the vehicle that's making the scout movement. Nor are they considered the same unit as the vehicle.

So, the natural conclusions to the above: the infantry models inside do NOT!! need the Scout special rule - the transport vehicle having it is sufficient. Assuming the infantry inside do not have the rule, they cannot make a scout redeployment themselves (they don't have the rule!). If they are somehow making this scout redeployment despite the findings above, then HOW are they moving more than 6" as per Infantry Scouting? It is very clear that infantry cannot scout more than 6". If they are doing so anyway, this is VERY CLEARLY against the rules.

Therefore, they are not scout redeploying, and can charge on the first turn. OR, The vehicle can only move 6" due to the infantry models inside counting-as scouting as well, despite not having the special rule themselves (and therefore being unable to make a scout move). OR. The vehicle cannot scout at all, as it's holding models inside who cannot make a scout move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/13 22:45:01


: 7000+ : 2200+ : 570 : 400+
Fortifications: 400+

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Dilt wrote: The infantry models are not moving at all, themselves (although they counts-as moving FOR THE PURPOSE OF SHOOTING, not for any other purpose, thanks to Combat/Crusing speed rules) - it's just the vehicle that's making the scout movement. Nor are they considered the same unit as the vehicle..

This is not correct - a redeployment is not a move, and even if it were it would not matter as it is prior to the first turn, meaning that the embarked unit would not have been in a moving vehicle the phase before their shooting phase.
   
Made in gb
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




no idea

 Dilt wrote:


So, the natural conclusions to the above: the infantry models inside do NOT!! need the Scout special rule - the transport vehicle having it is sufficient. Assuming the infantry inside do not have the rule, they cannot make a scout redeployment themselves (they don't have the rule!). If they are somehow making this scout redeployment despite the findings above, then HOW are they moving more than 6" as per Infantry Scouting? It is very clear that infantry cannot scout more than 6". If they are doing so anyway, this is VERY CLEARLY against the rules.

Apply this same logic to a tac squad deep striking in a drop pod.

You wart-ridden imbeciles! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I think it was summed up earlier,

If a unit is in a DT, and they confer scout (and outflank if in reserve), then by your logic, if you held them in reserve and then outflank they could assault on the the turn they come in. By your logic they did not make the outflank move, the DT did and therefor there is no restriction on the unit.

I disagree with the interpretation of your rules sir.

~2k
~4k

kill team 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





taurising wrote:
I think it was summed up earlier,

If a unit is in a DT, and they confer scout (and outflank if in reserve), then by your logic, if you held them in reserve and then outflank they could assault on the the turn they come in. By your logic they did not make the outflank move, the DT did and therefor there is no restriction on the unit.

I disagree with the interpretation of your rules sir.

Not true at all.
The unit arrived from Reserve that turn. They're forbidden from assaulting the turn they arrive from Reserve.
It helps to know the rules before trying to craft an argument.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




taurising wrote:
I think it was summed up earlier,

If a unit is in a DT, and they confer scout (and outflank if in reserve), then by your logic, if you held them in reserve and then outflank they could assault on the the turn they come in. By your logic they did not make the outflank move, the DT did and therefor there is no restriction on the unit.

I disagree with the interpretation of your rules sir.

How do you assault when you have arrived from reserve? Or are you making up other rules as well?
   
Made in gb
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




no idea

taurising wrote:
If a unit is in a DT, and they confer scout (and outflank if in reserve), then by your logic, if you held them in reserve and then outflank they could assault on the the turn they come in. By your logic they did not make the outflank move, the DT did and therefor there is no restriction on the unit.

Nearly, but not quite.

A unit is held in reserve, embarked on a transport, the unit confers scout and therefore outflank on the vehicle.
Both units come on from reserve (despite the passengers being off-table), even though it is the vehicle doing the moving, so no assault.

What their argument is claiming, is that both units arrive from reserve, but it is the vehicle that is scouting (so in this case, outflanking) which is why its wrong.
For their argument to remain consistent, this must be the case, which it clearly isn't.

You wart-ridden imbeciles! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So, still no rules support ? Just checking.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

I think this discussion can be left at "Scout USR needs clearing up".

It repeats how units may not disembark from their DT (and so should also re-specify how they cannot charge) but as it does not specify, charging on turn 1 is allowed by RaW.

Intended? I highly doubt it. They must have wanted the wording to work like it does for infiltrate, but it just doesn't...

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If they wanted it to work like infiltrate, they could have used the exact same wording. That they didnt can only be intentional (I dont assume they randomly write sentences down...despite some evidence of this...) and so claiming "RAI" on no-assault is also fairly tricky to do.
   
Made in gb
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




no idea

nosferatu1001 wrote:
So, still no rules support ? Just checking.

Was that aimed at me?

In any case, I don't think you have proved in any way that the passengers have not been redeployed, where does it say that?
The simple reading of the rule certainly shows that both units' position has changed, because of the scout rule, therefore both units have redeployed via scout.
Nothing in the rules suggests that this is not true.

Is it true that if a scout unit in a dt, which is placed in reserves and the combination outflanks, the transport outflanks but not the unit? To remain consistent with your argument. that must be true.
If it is, then scout redeployment inside a vehicle would work the way you say.

Either both units scout and redeploy/scout and outflank or just the vehicle does, where do the rules state they are different?

You wart-ridden imbeciles! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, youre wrong. You have to prove they HAVE been redeployed, as the RULES do not state that they have been

The plain, to the letter reading of the rule is that the vehicle redeploys. The unit inside NEVER changes its deployment - they remain DEPLOYED inside the vehicle, the new location they are still DEPLOYED inside the vehicle. Note, no redeployment there.

Again, your "argument" results in the transport only redeploying 6". The actual rules state 12", so your argument is unlikely to be correct.

   
Made in gb
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




no idea

Would you answer the questions I put or not?

Why is scout redeployment different to scout outflank in a dt?

You wart-ridden imbeciles! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I answered the relevant questions

WIll you answer why you are redeploying the vehicle 12", not 6" as yoru "argument" results in?
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

I would not say it is any different: The unit is deployed inside the transport, whether it's in reserves or outflanking.
Only the transport outflanks, and it can arrive empty or filled, which would make no difference RaW-wise

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




no idea

nosferatu1001 wrote:
I answered the relevant questions

Another refusal then.
Personally, I think you are bright enough to know where I am going with this, so you want to avoid it at all costs.

nosferatu1001 wrote:
WIll you answer why you are redeploying the vehicle 12", not 6" as yoru "argument" results in?

I will if you but do the same which you have refused to so far.
Care to redeem yourself?

 BlackTalos wrote:
I would not say it is any different: The unit is deployed inside the transport, whether it's in reserves or outflanking.
Only the transport outflanks, and it can arrive empty or filled, which would make no difference RaW-wise

Thankyou Black Talos.
I will reply, but would like to see what nos says first ... not holding breath.

You wart-ridden imbeciles! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ah, so I answer your relevant questions - not all - but you refuse to answer one?

Classy!

So, can you prove they have been redeployed? The burden is on you. Do so, or concede.

Further refusal is concession, as the point is so far proven.
   
Made in gb
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




no idea

So you havent answered all relevant questions then, glad you admit that.

No, the burden is on you to prove that a unit that changes its position via the scout rule has not redeployed.

No concession.

This point can easily be moved beyond if you answer my question. You know what's coming so an impasse would be good for you.

You wart-ridden imbeciles! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, I answered ALL RELEVANT questions, not ALL questions. Nice try attwisting words though!

I have done. The unit has remained in exactly the same deployment-state as it was before - Embarked. Can you please prove they HAVE redeployed, given the actual rules - you know, as youve been asked to?

Concession accepted.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 fuusa wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
I would not say it is any different: The unit is deployed inside the transport, whether it's in reserves or outflanking.
Only the transport outflanks, and it can arrive empty or filled, which would make no difference RaW-wise

Thankyou Black Talos.
I will reply, but would like to see what nos says first ... not holding breath.


But this defies your point (in a way):

The embarked unit is deployed inside the transport - the marines inside do not Scout redeploy, and they do not outflank either. Their DT does these things, and unless (like Infiltrate and possibly outflank, definitely "reserves") the rule states any restrictions about units embarked, they may assault / shoot / run / teleport as normal...?

Ie turn 1 charge fully legal, and so is charging from outflanking - IF the restriction from arriving from reserve did not exist.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Magnolia, TX

Redacted.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/16 12:29:20


Captain Killhammer McFighterson stared down at the surface of Earth from his high vantage point on the bridge of Starship Facemelter. Something ominous was looming on the surface. He could see a great shadow looming just underneath the waters of the Gulf of Mexico, slowly spreading northward. "That can't be good..." he muttered to himself while rubbing the super manly stubble on his chin with one hand. "But... on the other hand..." he looked at his shiny new bionic murder-arm. "This could be the perfect chance for that promotion." A perfect roundhouse kick slammed the ship's throttle into full gear. Soon orange jets of superheated plasma were visible from the space-windshield as Facemelter reentered the atmosphere at breakneck speed. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: