Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 02:31:01
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
|
milkboy wrote:CrownAxe, the vehicle type was changed by the recent faq. Yet the part about embarkation was not. So barontuman has a point.
That is why I quoted what I quoted. The Night Scythe has a Rule[or rule clarification] (Access Points) that allows a unit to embark so long as it is within 2in of the base of the Night Scythe at the end of its move. This is also supported by the FAQ making the Base of the Model an access point.
|
3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 07:35:37
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DanielBeaver wrote:It just seems weird that something that was perfectly legal in 6th edition (via the FAQ) is now illegal, despite nothing having changed in the flyer rules.
Just ask Heldrake players how they feel about this issue. Automatically Appended Next Post: BLADERIKER wrote: milkboy wrote:CrownAxe, the vehicle type was changed by the recent faq. Yet the part about embarkation was not. So barontuman has a point.
That is why I quoted what I quoted. The Night Scythe has a Rule[or rule clarification] (Access Points) that allows a unit to embark so long as it is within 2in of the base of the Night Scythe at the end of its move. This is also supported by the FAQ making the Base of the Model an access point.
No the NS has rules on how to embark disembark, there is no permission given to embark on a zooming flyer.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/02 07:36:13
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 09:48:11
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Currently they would be allowed to embark if within 2" AND the vehicle was not zooming.
I'd love to utilize whichever FAQ I wanted, but that is not how it works.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 11:27:01
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
BLADERIKER wrote: milkboy wrote:CrownAxe, the vehicle type was changed by the recent faq. Yet the part about embarkation was not. So barontuman has a point.
That is why I quoted what I quoted. The Night Scythe has a Rule[or rule clarification] (Access Points) that allows a unit to embark so long as it is within 2in of the base of the Night Scythe at the end of its move. This is also supported by the FAQ making the Base of the Model an access point.
Very important:
The rule in the codex is not a rule, it's an example. The clear definition of access points is necessary for units to disembark.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 13:47:28
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
Thornton Colorado
|
No because the FAQ overrides the Codex
|
10000
1250
Check out my Blog for local events and other 40K things
http://lightofterra.blogspot.com
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 14:22:03
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The codex does NOT grant permission to embark on a zooming flyer. The sentence about being in 2'' radius of the base in an example that was written back when it was a skimmer. Examples are not rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/02 14:22:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 14:52:35
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Malicious Mutant Scum
Belfast, Northern Ireland
|
Sigvatr wrote:The codex does NOT grant permission to embark on a zooming flyer. The sentence about being in 2'' radius of the base in an example that was written back when it was a skimmer. Examples are not rules.
The codex clearly states 'embark'. This overrules the rule in the BRB that prevents units from embarking as it is a more advanced rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 15:05:32
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Quote then?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 15:12:16
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Malicious Mutant Scum
Belfast, Northern Ireland
|
Page 51 Necron Codex "Access points: Treat the wormhole Gateway on the underside of the Night Scythe as its Access Point. For the purpose of embarking or disembarking from a Night Scythe, measure to and from the model's base. For example, models wishing to embark within a Night Scythe can do so if at the end of their movement, all the models of the unit are within 2in of the Night Scythe base."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 15:15:36
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The entire paragraph is no longer existent.
FAQ:
Page 51 - Night Scythe, Access Points
Change to "1 (the base of the model)".
Your rules quote please?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/07/02 15:16:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 15:16:51
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
barontuman wrote: models wishing to embark within a Night Scythe can do so if at the end of their movement, all the models of the unit are within 2in of the Night Scythe base."
Codex overrides main rule book. If models wish to embark they may given the above stipulation.
RAW, RAI, how reasonable people should play it, all wrapped into one nice tidy bundle.
The rule actually says,
"For example, models wishing to embark within a Night Scythe can do so if at the end of their movement, all the models of the unit are within 2in of the Night Scythe base."
It's referencing the previous sentence which states you use the glowy crystal as the access point for embarking/disembarking. It makes it a little less cut and dry.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 15:40:33
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Matt, the entire paragraph has been deleted with the FAQ and was replaced with "1 (the base of the model)". But yes, you are correct. It's an example, not a rule.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/02 15:41:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 15:58:35
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Sigvatr wrote:The codex does NOT grant permission to embark on a zooming flyer. The sentence about being in 2'' radius of the base in an example that was written back when it was a skimmer. Examples are not rules.
False. The FAQ that allowed Necrons to use the base of the Night Scythe as an access point was added 24th July 2012. That was in 6th edition after the unit type was changed to 'Flyer'.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 15:59:11
Subject: Re:Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
This is quite clear RAW.
2 major things are present in the FAQ/Errata.
Via Errata the Night Scythe was changed into a Flyer, one that cannot hover, only Zoom.
Via Errata, Access Points was changed to "Access Points: 1 (the base of the model)". The old paragraph was removed, it no longer exists.
Now we have a Zooming Flyer that is a Transport. We have a special rule added via FAQ/Errata Invasion Beams that lets us disembark from a Zooming Flyer.
No where is there any permission remaining that allows a unit to Embark on a Zooming flyer. Any reference or previous permission is gone. It is quite clear, the basis for the arguments for allowing a Night Scythe to Embark are based upon rules that have been removed and no longer exist.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 16:49:12
Subject: Embarking on a Night Scythe
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote: Sigvatr wrote:The codex does NOT grant permission to embark on a zooming flyer. The sentence about being in 2'' radius of the base in an example that was written back when it was a skimmer. Examples are not rules.
False. The FAQ that allowed Necrons to use the base of the Night Scythe as an access point was added 24th July 2012. That was in 6th edition after the unit type was changed to 'Flyer'.
Correct. Pointed out earlier - my bad.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|