Switch Theme:

Terminators in transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






Rhino rules specifically state that they can't tranport terminators iirc thus leaving landraiders and stormravens as their only possible transport.

BUT! Now you can ride allie's transports.

Taurox termie missile?
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






That is a really good question and needs to be FAQed.
   
Made in nl
Devious Space Marine dedicated to Tzeentch





The Hague (NL)

Why should that be FAQed? Terminators are bulky, that rule explains how they enter transports. The only problem is the stupid rule Rhinos have, feels like an old rule that should've been removed.

12k+ pts Chaos Marines, Heretic Guard and Daemons (The Scourged)
2k pts Tyranids (Hive Fleet Hornet) 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 koooaei wrote:
Rhino rules specifically state that they can't tranport terminators iirc thus leaving landraiders and stormravens as their only possible transport.

BUT! Now you can ride allie's transports.

Taurox termie missile?


 Hansisaf wrote:
Why should that be FAQed? Terminators are bulky, that rule explains how they enter transports. The only problem is the stupid rule Rhinos have, feels like an old rule that should've been removed.


The Rhinos rule is actually "cannot carry models with the Bulky, Very Bulky or Extremely Bulky special rules" under transport capacity. No mention of Terminators specifically in the Rhinos rules.

So, as above, if the Transport can carry bulky models, it can carry Terminators (unless specified otherwise). No FAQ needed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/23 09:15:55


 
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps





Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry

Is that the same for bikes?
I've always wanted to run a 3-man bike squad with boss in a Land Raider. Open the doors and ride out.

6000 pts - Harlies: 1000 pts - 4000 pts - 1000 pts - 1000 pts DS:70+S+G++MB+IPw40k86/f+D++A++/cWD64R+T(T)DM+
IG/AM force nearly-finished pieces: http://www.dakkadakka.com/gallery/images-38888-41159_Armies%20-%20Imperial%20Guard.html
"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw (probably)
Clubs around Coventry, UK https://discord.gg/6Gk7Xyh5Bf 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Skinnereal wrote:
Is that the same for bikes?
I've always wanted to run a 3-man bike squad with boss in a Land Raider. Open the doors and ride out.

No. Bikes aren't Infantry and Transports can only carry Infantry without a rule saying otherwise.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Rorschach9 wrote:


The Rhinos rule is actually "cannot carry models with the Bulky, Very Bulky or Extremely Bulky special rules" under transport capacity. No mention of Terminators specifically in the Rhinos rules.

So, as above, if the Transport can carry bulky models, it can carry Terminators (unless specified otherwise). No FAQ needed.


At least in the Dark Angel Codex, the Rhino explicitly excludes Terminators, not other bulky models.

Battlescribe Catalog Editor - Please report bugs here http://battlescribedata.appspot.com/#/repo/wh40k 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Massachusetts

axisofentropy wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:


The Rhinos rule is actually "cannot carry models with the Bulky, Very Bulky or Extremely Bulky special rules" under transport capacity. No mention of Terminators specifically in the Rhinos rules.

So, as above, if the Transport can carry bulky models, it can carry Terminators (unless specified otherwise). No FAQ needed.


At least in the Dark Angel Codex, the Rhino explicitly excludes Terminators, not other bulky models.


DA codex is from 6th ed so the wording is different.

<--Bolt on Cuteness: S:20,No armour save, no invul save, no cover save, Range:unlimited---DEAL
Enough too have fun
 
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps





Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry

I was sure bikes were infantry, but 7th says otherwise.
Jetpack models are jetpack (type), like jetpack infantry now. It's the same with Jump-.

Oh well. Very Bulky for Bikes only affects Grav weaponry, then.

So, just C:SM Rhino-types have the restriction for Bulky, etc?
Ogryn in a Taurox, despite the little doors?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/23 15:18:29


6000 pts - Harlies: 1000 pts - 4000 pts - 1000 pts - 1000 pts DS:70+S+G++MB+IPw40k86/f+D++A++/cWD64R+T(T)DM+
IG/AM force nearly-finished pieces: http://www.dakkadakka.com/gallery/images-38888-41159_Armies%20-%20Imperial%20Guard.html
"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw (probably)
Clubs around Coventry, UK https://discord.gg/6Gk7Xyh5Bf 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Skinnereal wrote:
I was sure bikes were infantry, but 7th says otherwise.
Jetpack models are jetpack (type), like jetpack infantry now. It's the same with Jump-.

They never have been. Rather - not since 5th for sure and I can't remember past that.

Oh well. Very Bulky for Bikes only affects Grav weaponry, then.

No, no it doesn't.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Don't think it needs to be faqed, there are models in the AM codex with bulky/very bulky that can go into it already.

terminators = bulky.

   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Guess the Taurox suspension system counts for something more then Dangerous Terrain tests.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/23 19:39:28


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 jason1977 wrote:
axisofentropy wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:


The Rhinos rule is actually "cannot carry models with the Bulky, Very Bulky or Extremely Bulky special rules" under transport capacity. No mention of Terminators specifically in the Rhinos rules.

So, as above, if the Transport can carry bulky models, it can carry Terminators (unless specified otherwise). No FAQ needed.


At least in the Dark Angel Codex, the Rhino explicitly excludes Terminators, not other bulky models.


DA codex is from 6th ed so the wording is different.


Hmm, so is the C:SM codex (from 6th). However, written at the later end of 6th. I don't have the DA Codex, so the only Rhino wording I had to go on was the standard C:SM. So, as it stands, DA Rhinos can carry infantry except Terminators (in effect, this is the same thing really until you put Allies into play I guess as there are no other Marine infantry that are Bulky/Very Bulky anyway).



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Skinnereal wrote:

Oh well. Very Bulky for Bikes only affects Grav weaponry, then.


What do you mean by that?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/23 22:26:11


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Artificer Armour is not Bulky?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Massachusetts

JinxDragon wrote:
Artificer Armour is not Bulky?


Nope. Its just made better.


This is a goofy thing with GW. Terminators, from almost all chapters, must ride in a LR, storm turkey, deep strike or pod. GK terminators, however, get LR, pods, deep striking, storm turkey AND chimeras.

<--Bolt on Cuteness: S:20,No armour save, no invul save, no cover save, Range:unlimited---DEAL
Enough too have fun
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 jason1977 wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
Artificer Armour is not Bulky?


Nope. Its just made better.


This is a goofy thing with GW. Terminators, from almost all chapters, must ride in a LR, storm turkey, deep strike or pod. GK terminators, however, get LR, pods, deep striking, storm turkey AND chimeras.


And now all Terminators can ride in chimeras because BB's can ride in BB transports!

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






 jason1977 wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
Artificer Armour is not Bulky?


Nope. Its just made better.


This is a goofy thing with GW. Terminators, from almost all chapters, must ride in a LR, storm turkey, deep strike or pod. GK terminators, however, get LR, pods, deep striking, storm turkey AND chimeras.


I guess they ride in a pile. Than the hatch opens and a pile of gk termies falls out on the ground. It probably happens cause gk are supposed not to feel pride while regular termies can't cope with such treatment.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/07/24 05:29:55


 
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps





Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry

Rorschach9 wrote:

 Skinnereal wrote:

Oh well. Very Bulky for Bikes only affects Grav weaponry, then.


What do you mean by that?
Yeah, bad wording on my part.
I meant that the only affects that I can think of that takes the Bulky sizes into account are transport capacity and Grav weaponry*.
If bikes cannot be carried in transports, then only the only need to pay attention to the Bulky categories is Grav effects*.
* And then I check up, and it's not Grav I was thinking of.
What are the other reasons to refer to the Bulky sizes?
Just to pull the thread off-track for a minute. Sorry, OP.
rigeld2 wrote:
No, no it doesn't.
Thanks for the help there. Very informative.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/24 09:37:25


6000 pts - Harlies: 1000 pts - 4000 pts - 1000 pts - 1000 pts DS:70+S+G++MB+IPw40k86/f+D++A++/cWD64R+T(T)DM+
IG/AM force nearly-finished pieces: http://www.dakkadakka.com/gallery/images-38888-41159_Armies%20-%20Imperial%20Guard.html
"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw (probably)
Clubs around Coventry, UK https://discord.gg/6Gk7Xyh5Bf 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





The forge world riptide has a gun that cares about bulky status
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

Rorschach9 wrote:
 jason1977 wrote:
axisofentropy wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:


The Rhinos rule is actually "cannot carry models with the Bulky, Very Bulky or Extremely Bulky special rules" under transport capacity. No mention of Terminators specifically in the Rhinos rules.

So, as above, if the Transport can carry bulky models, it can carry Terminators (unless specified otherwise). No FAQ needed.


At least in the Dark Angel Codex, the Rhino explicitly excludes Terminators, not other bulky models.


DA codex is from 6th ed so the wording is different.


Hmm, so is the C:SM codex (from 6th). However, written at the later end of 6th. I don't have the DA Codex, so the only Rhino wording I had to go on was the standard C:SM. So, as it stands, DA Rhinos can carry infantry except Terminators (in effect, this is the same thing really until you put Allies into play I guess as there are no other Marine infantry are Bulky/Very Bulky


Centurions. That's why.

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 Deadshot wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:
 jason1977 wrote:
axisofentropy wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:


The Rhinos rule is actually "cannot carry models with the Bulky, Very Bulky or Extremely Bulky special rules" under transport capacity. No mention of Terminators specifically in the Rhinos rules.

So, as above, if the Transport can carry bulky models, it can carry Terminators (unless specified otherwise). No FAQ needed.


At least in the Dark Angel Codex, the Rhino explicitly excludes Terminators, not other bulky models.


DA codex is from 6th ed so the wording is different.


Hmm, so is the C:SM codex (from 6th). However, written at the later end of 6th. I don't have the DA Codex, so the only Rhino wording I had to go on was the standard C:SM. So, as it stands, DA Rhinos can carry infantry except Terminators (in effect, this is the same thing really until you put Allies into play I guess as there are no other Marine infantry are Bulky/Very Bulky


Centurions. That's why.


my mistake, nvm. I forgot Centurions are infantry.

Only Infantry models can embark upon Transports (this does not include Jump or Jet Pack Infantry), unless specifically stated otherwise. Some larger Infantry models count as more than one model for the purposes of Transport Capacity, and this will be specified in
the model’s rules. Sometimes, there will be constraints on which types of models can embark upon a particular vehicle, and this will be specified in the unit’s entry.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/24 10:42:30


 
   
Made in jp
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Sydney South West

it seems legal for now, but it's bloody expensive, 280 points minimum, that's almost twice the cost of a MANz missile for 2 more bodies but a weaker transport, not to mention the lack of two wounds, but the invul makes up for it a bit i suppose.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
its a front armour 11, 280 point missile that gives 15 S8 AP2 I1 hits, and en extra 5 points for every chainfist which you wil want to take some of. ill stick to my trukk nobz thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/24 11:05:42


 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

Hmm... I'm juts here thinking that Centurions can embark on DA Rhinos and Razorbacks, RAW. They only prohibit Termies

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps





Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry

nvm. Didn't read.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/24 12:51:40


6000 pts - Harlies: 1000 pts - 4000 pts - 1000 pts - 1000 pts DS:70+S+G++MB+IPw40k86/f+D++A++/cWD64R+T(T)DM+
IG/AM force nearly-finished pieces: http://www.dakkadakka.com/gallery/images-38888-41159_Armies%20-%20Imperial%20Guard.html
"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw (probably)
Clubs around Coventry, UK https://discord.gg/6Gk7Xyh5Bf 
   
Made in au
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Sydney South West

Would anyone actually consider using this? I mean it is an exceptionally expensive unit, 280 points base, with a vehichle that can be glanced to death with bolt pistols and 5 T4 W1 models that is.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: