Switch Theme:

Legion of the Damned in Drop Pods?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




 Ghaz wrote:
The point is where do the rules say as much?


my apologies - i edited the post above:

"In the Movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one."

There is nothing implied here.
It is black and white, crunchy, non-negotiable RAW

The Drop Pod and the embarked unit are both deployed in Deep Strike Reserve and enter play by Deep Strike.

This fulfills LoD's "Aid Unlooked For".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/26 00:20:39


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




That only applies iff they are already a deepstriking unit

It does NOT say that every unit that arrives inside a DS transport is a DS unit.

Logical fallacy - excluded middle (A implies B does not mean that B implies A is true)
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Page: 99
A unit that deep strikes via Drop Pod cannot charge int he turn it arrives.
So the unit that lands embarked on the pod has deep struck.
Aid unlooked for requires the unit to start in reserve and arrive by deep strike. The drop pod rule does state that the unit deep strike (via pod), so it has deep struck.

Looks like all the requirements are met if you put the legion in the pod.

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




nosferatu1001 wrote:
That only applies iff they are already a deepstriking unit

It does NOT say that every unit that arrives inside a DS transport is a DS unit.

Logical fallacy - excluded middle (A implies B does not mean that B implies A is true)


They are a deepstriking unit.
They have been deployed in Deep Strike Reserve and enter play by Deep Strike from their Pod.
The text indicates them as deep striking as shown above.

It is a logical fallacy to say they are not deep striking when they are coming into play by deepstrike.
(A=B, B=A)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/08/26 15:33:52


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They come into play embarked on a ds vehicle

If you claim they have deep struck themselves, please show where and when you placed the first model of the unit. Note, not the drop pod, of course.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




nosferatu1001 wrote:
They come into play embarked on a ds vehicle

If you claim they have deep struck themselves, please show where and when you placed the first model of the unit. Note, not the drop pod, of course.


They come in with the Pod.
Pods are an exception to the normal Deep Strike Placement.

-"Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserve."
-"In the Movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one."
-"Once the Drop Pod lands, all passagers must disembark..."

The Pod enters play by Deep Strike.
The Embarked models enter play by Deep Strike with the Pod.

Question: Is a unit disembarking from an Outflanking transport concidered to have Outflanked? Of course!

***guys - there's not some magical little sub-world inside the vehicle. They are actually concidered to be inside the transport!***
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Again, none of those rules back up your contention that they are actually deep striking

Show your exemption. Page and graph stating "instead of placing a model...", etc. You have shown nothing.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Again, none of those rules back up your contention that they are actually deep striking


Pg. 74 Codex: Space Wolves
"Drop Pod Assault: Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserve."

Pg. 74 Codex: Space Wolves
"Transport Capacity: Once a Drop Pod lands, all passagengers must disembark..."

The Pod and the Embarked Unit is deployed in Deep Strike Reserve and enter play by Deep Strike.


Now prove to me how they are NOT entering play by Deep Strike citing page number and quote.



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/26 16:12:49


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

xAndurilx,
Embarked Unis are not 'inside' the Transport as far as the Rules are concerned. They are on what I like to call 'the side board,' the area where Models are placed when they are removed from the board for any reason. We know Embarked Models are in this location because the Rule literally states that we remove the Models from the table and therefore we place them in this little 'dimension' known as Off the Table. We are then instructed to keep track of which Transport they are 'Embarked' on, all so other Rules with specific permission to interact with an 'Embarked Unit' know which Unit they are actually interacting with. All this shows that the Unit is not inside of the Transport, but also that it is very important for Rules to be specific about when they are interacting with an Embarked Unit.

What you have failed to show is that the Embarked Unit has permission to ignore the arriving by Deep Strike sequence simply because it is an 'Embarked Unit.'
This is because the Authors failed to write Rules on how Deep-Striking Transports interacts with the Unit Embarked inside... forcing the Embarked Unit to use the sequence.

As far as I am concerned, it is a known break in the Written Rules at this point in time and it will take a specific Rule to fix. Quoting secondary Rules which might indicate what the Authors intended is not an incorrect thing to do to try and patch up the problem, but it does not fix the problem in the slightest from a Rule as Written stand point. That is what has caused us to take issue with what you have been stating, it is your constant claim that what you have quoted is a 'Rule as Written' answer to this problem when it has already been debated and shown to be inapplicable to the situation... debated with you, so I doubt you will read this post either. From a Rule as Written stand point we simply have no Rules to follow, unless you are for the concept of scattering the Embarked Unit separate to the Transport of course.

The closest we can come is to state the Disembarking Rules creates an obvious conflict with the sequence and then hope someone better then I can find a good Rule Supported argument as to why Disembarking from a Transport is more specific then a Special Rule.

This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2014/08/26 16:29:30


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




JinxDragon wrote:
xAndurilx,
Embarked Unis are not 'inside' the Transport as far as the Rules are concerned. They are on what I like to call 'the side board,' the area where Models are placed when they are removed from the board for any reason. We know Embarked Models are in this location because the Rule literally states that we remove the Models from the table and therefore we place them in this little 'dimension' known as Off the Table. We are then instructed to keep track of which Transport they are 'Embarked' on, all so other Rules with specific permission to interact with an 'Embarked Unit' know which Unit they are actually interacting with.

What you have failed to show is that the Embarked Unit has permission to ignore the arriving by Deep Strike sequence simply because it is an 'Embarked Unit.'
This is because the Authors failed to write Rules on how Deep-Striking Transports interacts with the Unit Embarked inside... forcing the Embarked Unit to use the sequence.


The embarked unit is NOT on the side board in this case. It is in Deep Strike Reserve:

Pg. 74 Codex: Space Wolves
"Drop Pod Assault: Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserve."


Then the normal sequence for placing a model is modified by the Drop Pod:

Pg. 74 Codex: Space Wolves
"Transport Capacity: Once a Drop Pod lands, all passagengers must disembark..."


I apologize if I have been unclear JinxDragon. I really feel that it is clear that they are arriving by deep strike per RAW. (And I do read your posts)

If being deployed in Deep Strike Reserve does not mean they enter play by Deep Strike, please show me how a Drop Pod is entering play by Deep Strike, quoting rules




This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/08/26 16:39:20


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I see where your problem is now, you are assuming that because I point out the problem I actually have a Rule as Written answer for it: I don't... that is the problem!
We can use Interpenetration arguments to patch the situation up, but that is not the same as stating we have a Written Rule answering the problem which you continue to do so. In order to try and better explain this I will do something I usually leave for just technical tickets, giving away a lot of my profession in the mean while I guess, because it sometimes is the most simplest way to state a lot of information. It looks broken and does not read very well in proper English, but it might have a chance to explain this better then anything I have written up that seems to have gone unread.

The Problem:
The Deep Strike Special Rule requires the Unit to use the Arrive Via Deep Strike Sequence
- An Embarked Unit clearly does not use this Sequence

Dis-proven Answers:
all passengers must disembark..
- Mentions nothing about the Deep Strike Sequence, let alone permission for the Disembarking Unit to count as having Deep Struck
- Is actually a Restriction on Drop Pods, even if it was evidence it would fail to address the dozen other Deep Striking transport methods
other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in on
- Mentions nothing about the Deep Strike Sequence, let alone permission for the Disembarking Unit to count as having Deep Struck
- Is an Exception clause designed to over-turn one specific Restriction, Movement after Deep Striking, in one specific situation
--- Restriction is only in play if the Unit can be shown to have Deep Struck, - Intent but not Written Support

Possible answer:
Conflict between the Deep Strike Sequence and the Disembarking Sequence, as both are marked as Must.
- This would grant the ability to over-write one of the Musts, removing either the Requirement to evoke the Deep Strike Special Rule or to Disembark using the Basic Disembark Sequence
--- Special Rule would mean the Unit does not interact with the Disembark Sequence at all, and scatters as per the Arriving Via Deep Strike Sequence
--- Disembarking would mean the Unit did not interact with the Deep Strike Special Rule at all, and therefore simply 'Arrives' via Disembarking
Issue:
- How do you show that a Special Rule can be trumped by a Basic Process?
--- Both Musts are in Different Codex Special Rule, making the 'Which is More Advanced' argument worse

As for Drop Pods, as I only have the space marine handy at the moment so:
- must enter play using the Deep Strike rules
Not only is there a Specific Rule stating that they have permission to enter play by evoking the Deep Strike Special Rule, and the Arriving Via Deep Strike sequence subsequently required, but that they Must do so....
Again, back to the original problem of how does a Embarked Unit count as Arriving Via Deep Strike without actual permission to treat the Disembarking as having done so?

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2014/08/26 17:13:09


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above, really

I Agree they are in DS RESERVE.

I disagree that, when they arrive, they are DS. I do this because

A) they follow NONE of the ds rules
B) they are not granted an exemption from it

You haven't shown a of b despite requests to do so. You have made the affirmative assertion that they arrive by DS, yet cannot show it. Ergo your assertion is discounted.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/26 17:07:49


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Just been thinking; my current problem really is how to resolve two Must instructions when both are found in the same Codex, because we do not know which one wins the 'more advanced' debate and is therefore obeyed.

There is an easy and a little ******* solution though:
I am just going to state that the Disembarking Must trumps the Deep Strike Special Rule Must and when questioned on it I will simply ask for evidence that we follow the Deep Strike instructions. Given that neither side wants that resolution to be the Written Rule, it would put them in a position to disagree with the collective masses whom may not even realize there is a problem to begin with. They would also be the one's faced with the impossible task of determining if X is more advanced then Y when the Rule tell us that X and Y are equally advanced, something I simply do not want to do at this point in time. So therefore, by reasoning I have put in technical notes abovem I state my stance on the matter is thus:

A Unit in a Drop Pod does not Arrive from Deep Strike
The 'Must Enter Play Using the Deep Strike Rule' is being over-turned by the more advanced Requirement to Disembark instead
If you disagree, prove why we Disembark from the Transport if the Deep Strike requirement trumps the Disembark Requirement

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2014/08/26 17:57:44


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Think of it this way. In the space marine codex do the legion of the dammed have a dedicated transport option? Ie a drop pod.

Answer no.

They arrive after the 1st turn via deep strike sans vehicle of any sort. These guys are in the warp and come from the warp and arrive to help the forces in trouble out.

In a permissive rule set you need permission to put the LOD in a drop pod and have them come in on turn number 1. They do not have permission to do so. Until you do have permission (FAQ). Don't do it.

Just look at all the trying to explain this and ask yourself this. Is it fun. I'm going with NO here.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

So just to be clear.

Hypothetical situation. Piece of vehicle wargear allows a vehicle to be removed from the table, and then deep strike (sort of like the Veiltek) anywhere on the table.

I give this piece of wargear to an open-topped transport (say a DE Raider). I utilize the wargear to deep strike said Raider. Can the unit that was embarked assault?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





In that turn’s Assault phase, however, these units cannot charge. This also applies to units that have disembarked from Transports that arrived by Deep Strike that turn.


if the vehicles arrival to the table was by deep strike then any unit embarked on it may not assault. This does not mean the unit on the transport was deep striking.

Deep Strike and Transports
Units do not confer the Deep Strike special rule onto a Transport vehicle they are embarked inside. A Transport vehicle with Deep Strike may Deep Strike regardless of whether its passengers have Deep Strike or not.


this shows us a unit without deepstrike can be on a deepstriking transport. The transport may still deep strike, although the unit inside does not have deep strike.

In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule and the unit must start the game in Reserve.


this shows us that you are not deep striking if you do not have deep strike.

so if you take a squad of tac marines, and put them in a drop pod, the drop pod is the unit deep striking/arriving by deep strike

the tac squad is the unit disembarking from the unit that arrived from deep strike.

they may not assault because the rules state models disembarking from a transport that did deep strike may not assault on that turn.

the reason the tac squad inside was not deep striking is because
1- we are never told they count as deep striking
2 they do not have deep strike, and their transport does not give it to them.
2a- only models with deep strike are deep striking
3- they did not arrive by deepstrike as they did not follow the rules for arriving by deepstrike, the drop pod however did. The unit embarked ont he DSing drop pod have explicit permission to be embarked even if they do not have the deep strike rule.


as to the hypothetical above the answer is no they cannot assault, but that is because of:

In that turn’s Assault phase, however, these units cannot charge. This also applies to units that have disembarked from Transports that arrived by Deep Strike that turn.


which tells us they cannot, and says the transport arrived from deepstrike but does not say the unit arrived from deepstrike.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/27 00:14:46


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

blaktoof, in that case please explain what GW meant by the following:

In the Movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one.

Color added for emphasis.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/27 00:17:38


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I can't, for the same reason no one can explain:

A Transport vehicle with Deep Strike may Deep Strike regardless of whether its passengers have Deep Strike or not.

and

In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule and the unit must start the game in Reserve.


that a unit can only deep strike if it has deep strike- RAW
if a transport has deep strike the transport is deep striking, and the unit inside does not gain deep strike-RAW
You can only deep strike if you have deep strike-RAW

from those rules it obvious the unit in the transport does not gain deep strike, and is not deep striking.

However from

In the Movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one.


it says the unit inside a deep striking transport are deep striking despite them not gaining deep strike and not being allowed to deepstrike, and not following the rules for arriving from deep strike.

The closest thing like this ruleswise is scout.

A transport can have scout, and the unit inside not have scout. If the transport scouts, does the unit count as scouting?

these rules remind of the writing in FnP:

When a model with this special rule suffers an unsaved Wound, it can make a special Feel No Pain roll to avoid being wounded (this is not a saving throw..


and further down the rules for FnP..

Feel No Pain saves may not be taken against Destroyer attacks or against...


not a saving throw. but is a save. okay then.

the models in the transport that arrives by deep strike are arriving, but are they arriving by deep strike or are they arriving by a transport that arrived by deepstrike. They obviously did not follow the rules for arriving by deep strike.

that they end the section with:
In that turn’s Assault phase, however, these units cannot charge. This also applies to units that have disembarked from Transports that arrived by Deep Strike that turn.


there would be no need to state the distinction for transports if the units were arriving from deepstrike that were inside of them.





   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Arriving By Deep Strike
In the Movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one.


Deep Strike and Transports
Units do not confer the Deep Strike special rule onto a Transport vehicle they are embarked inside. A Transport vehicle with Deep Strike may Deep Strike regardless of whether its passengers have Deep Strike or not.


These seem to be contradictory. For both to be true, the unit must be able to Deep Strike without having the Deep Strike rule. This contradicts the earlier statement:

In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule...

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Jinx and Nosferatu - you gave some great insight.
Please be open to my train of thought here:

Requirements:
"(LoD) must arrive by deep strike."

"Drop Pod Assault: Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in deep strike reserves."


Permission:
Pg 162, Deep Strike:
"When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by deep strike (sometimes called deep strike reserve)"

So Permission is granted because the Requirement of "arriving by deep strike" is fulfilled by placing it in Deep Strike Reserve, which is also called "arriving by deep strike".

But let's continue:
Pg 80, Embarking and Disembarking
"When the unit embarks...make a note that the unit is being transported" it is now embarked: So we know the unit is actually inside the vehicle and not in some magical place.

Note that the embarked models are also "arriving by deepstrike" by being in deepstrike reserve due to the above proofs which already fulfills the requirement by RAW.

***note that the sequence does not need to be fully processed as they already fulfilled the "arrive by deepstrike" requirement.

Then it clarififies even further by stating:

Pg 162
"Deepstriking units (I.e. The unit embarked) may not move any farther, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport."


All requirements have been fulfilled before they enter the battlefield due to the wording of "arrive by deep strike" meaning "Deep Strike Reserve".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/27 01:47:58


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I think the rules are contradictory as to whether a unit embarked on a deep striking transport is itself arriving by deepstrike.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Happy - Again - the line "deep striking units..." does NOT mean that if you disembark from a DS vehicle you are a DS unit.

That is a logical fallacy. A -> B != B->A.

Now, that line effectively does nothing, as there is no way for you to DS while inside a vehicle - you cannot follow any of the rules to do so.

xAndurilx wrote:Jinx and Nosferatu - you gave some great insight.
Please be open to my train of thought here:

Will do, and thanks!

xAndurilx wrote:Requirements:
"(LoD) must arrive by deep strike."

"Drop Pod Assault: Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in deep strike reserves."


Agreed.

xAndurilx wrote:Permission:
Pg 162, Deep Strike:
"When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by deep strike (sometimes called deep strike reserve)"

So Permission is granted because the Requirement of "arriving by deep strike" is fulfilled by placing it in Deep Strike Reserve, which is also called "arriving by deep strike".


Incorrect. All that states is that you must state that the unit is arriving by DS, ie intends to make use of the DS rule. It does not mean they actually CAN use the DS rule.
xAndurilx wrote:But let's continue:
Pg 80, Embarking and Disembarking
"When the unit embarks...make a note that the unit is being transported" it is now embarked: So we know the unit is actually inside the vehicle and not in some magical place.

Actually the unit is not, theyre on the side of the table. You remove them from the table and place them elsewhere. Nothing else. Its why ou have to make a note

xAndurilx wrote:Note that the embarked models are also "arriving by deepstrike" by being in deepstrike reserve due to the above proofs which already fulfills the requirement by RAW.


Incorrect, as already proven - a unit without DS CANNOT arrive by DS, and a tac squad in a Drop pod does NOT have DS. Proof by contradiction, your assertion is flawed. I had already shown that it does not mean that the embarked unit cannot be arriving by DS, as they will follow only one part of the rule - you never place htem..

xAndurilx wrote:***note that the sequence does not need to be fully processed as they already fulfilled the "arrive by deepstrike" requirement.

This note is factually incorrect. If you do not follow the rules for DS, or have an exemption to the rules called out, you have not arrived by DS.

xAndurilx wrote:Then it clarififies even further by stating:

Pg 162
"Deepstriking units (I.e. The unit embarked) may not move any farther, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport."


Logical fallacy, as pointed out. A tac squad is not a DS unit, and doesnt become one by virtue of being embarked in a DS transport - they CANNOT be a ds unit, as they lack the DS rule
xAndurilx wrote:All requirements have been fulfilled before they enter the battlefield due to the wording of "arrive by deep strike" meaning "Deep Strike Reserve".

That is not what the rules actually state. They say "Being placed in reserve so I can arrive using the DS rule" (to paraphrase) is sometimes called "Deep Strike Reserve"; arriving by DS is not DSR (as models can arrive by DS while never being in reserve - see: Gate of Infinity.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




blaktoof wrote:
I think the rules are contradictory as to whether a unit embarked on a deep striking transport is itself arriving by deepstrike.


I think you're right because of:

xAndurilx wrote:

"Drop Pod Assault: Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in deep strike reserves."

Pg 162, Deep Strike:
"When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by deep strike (sometimes called deep strike reserve)"


The only way to be placed in DS Reserve is to tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike. If the embarked unit isn't arriving by Deep Strike, how does it get into Deep Strike Reserve. There are no other instructions on placing a unit in DSR beyond that above.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Thanks for the feedback guys
Favor for discussion: please quote rules when saying something is false or a logical fallacy because otherwise it may be concidered subjective. Also paraphrasing can also be subjective, so thats why we should use actual quotes.

As for Units in Transports: these units are actually concidered to be in the Deployment zone of their transport because:

Pg 132 Deployment:
"Models can be deployed inside buildings, fortifications, or Transport vehicles in their deployment zone"

And

"Drop Pod Assault: Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in deep strike reserves."

And

Pg 80, Embarking and Disembarking
"When the unit embarks...make a note that the unit is being transported" it is now embarked.


As for Deep Strike Reserve:
Pg 162, Deep Strike:
"When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by deep strike (sometimes called deep strike reserve)"

The purpose of quoting this was to show that the terms "arriving by deep strike" and "deep strike reserve" are equal.
Yes i know we are simply just telling our opponent this, however then this happens:

"Drop Pod Assault: Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in deep strike reserves."
So the embarked unit is actually placed in Deep Strike Reserve.

Then after it lands:

Pg 162
"Deepstriking units (I.e. The unit embarked) may not move any farther, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport."

This is only a logical facilicy if you dont agree with the fact that they are arriving by Deep Strike. This is RAW.
It is a Rule that is Written in this book. It is a logical fallacy to say that RAW is a logical fallacy.





This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/27 17:06:44


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The issue is, the unit doesn't gain deep strike by being in a transport with deep strike. And RAW the only way to deepstrike is if you have the deepstrike special rule.

Units without deepstrike do have permission to be in a transport with deepstrike, but they do not gain deep strike. So the question is, are they deep striking? When they arrive are they arriving by deepstrike? How can they be doing these things without the rule for it, and the transport does not extend the rule for them to deep strike.

Additionally the words "arriving from deepstrike" are not simply words that mean the models are on the table, there are very specific rules for what arriving from deepstrike means and units inside a transport that arrives from deepstrike do not follow those rules for arriving from deepstrike, despite the fact they have arrived on the table through something deep striking.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




For further clarity, we are discussing SW Pods (are there any other pods LoD can ride in?) and Legion of the Damned (which has the DS rule), so any side points not pertaining to this may benefit from another thread.

Codex: Space Wolf does not indicate that their Drop Pod has the Deep Strike Rule. Nor does it say it uses the Deep Strike rule in any way execept for this very important point:

*The Drop Pod and the Embarked Unit are both in Deep Strike Reserve (i.e. "arriving by deep strike")

Due to the fact that both the Drop Pod and the Embarked Unit are in Deep Strike Reserve, they both are concidered to arrive by Deep Strike.

If this is not the case, then how do SW Pods deep strike?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/27 18:18:34


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





the relationship with the pod and the contents has nothing to do with how the Pod Deep strikes.

The pod follows the rules for "arriving by deep strike" and obviously the models inside do not, and follow the rules for disembarking from vehicles, along with the rules regarding disembarking from a deep striking vehicle.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




blaktoof wrote:
the relationship with the pod and the contents has nothing to do with how the Pod Deep strikes.

The pod follows the rules for "arriving by deep strike" and obviously the models inside do not, and follow the rules for disembarking from vehicles, along with the rules regarding disembarking from a deep striking vehicle.


Source?

They are arriving by Deep Strike through the Drop Pod (as well as being in deep strike reserve) as they are actually inside the transport, proven in the above quotes.
Drop Pods override the normal sequence for Deep Strike, yet are still arriving by Deep Strike.

Requirement:
Legion of the Damned "must arrive by deep strike."

Permission:
Arrives by Deep Strike by being embarked and inside the Deep Striking Drop Pod (following special rules for placement which supercede normal DS placement).

We are good to go

We are good to go


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Arriving by Deep Strike Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows: • First, place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position where you would...


the above its the RAW for arriving from deep strike.

only models with deep strike may deep strike from the RAW.

I don't believe there is a source that states "Drop Pods override the normal sequence for Deep Strike, yet are still arriving by Deep Strike. "

there is raw that models in a Deep striking transport are arriving, and are deep striking, there is raw saying they are disembarking and that the transport is deep striking, and there is raw stating they are not deep striking as the transport allows them to be embarked, but does not give them deep strike which is required to be deep striking.

That is why I said it is contradictory.

Ultimately there is a defined rules sequence for what arriving from deep strike means. The models embarked on a DSing transport do not follow this sequence and there is no specific permission given for them to ignore it. There are rules supporting that models in an embarked transport do not need to have the deep strike rule, and as its obvious they are not following the rules for arriving by deepstrike it seems RAI that models disembark from a DSing transport are disembarking from a DSing transport that arrived by deepstriking and that the models themselves did not arrive by the rules for deep striking as shown in the above quote. Given that the RAW is contradictory you cannot make a RAW argument that says they are arriving from deep strike without ignoring the raw that they are not arriving by deepstrike and vice versa.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/27 19:08:34


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




blaktoof wrote:

Arriving by Deep Strike Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows: • First, place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position where you would...


the above its the RAW for arriving from deep strike.

only models with deep strike may deep strike from the RAW.

I don't believe there is a source that states "Drop Pods override the normal sequence for Deep Strike, yet are still arriving by Deep Strike. "

there is raw that models in a Deep striking transport are arriving, and are deep striking, there is raw saying they are disembarking and that the transport is deep striking, and there is raw stating they are not deep striking as the transport allows them to be embarked, but does not give them deep strike which is required to be deep striking.

That is why I said it is contradictory.

Ultimately there is a defined rules sequence for what arriving from deep strike means. The models embarked on a DSing transport do not follow this sequence and there is no specific permission given for them to ignore it. There are rules supporting that models in an embarked transport do not need to have the deep strike rule, and as its obvious they are not following the rules for arriving by deepstrike it seems RAI that models disembark from a DSing transport are disembarking from a DSing transport that arrived by deepstriking and that the models themselves did not arrive by the rules for deep striking as shown in the above quote. Given that the RAW is contradictory you cannot make a RAW argument that says they are arriving from deep strike without ignoring the raw that they are not arriving by deepstrike and vice versa.


Its only contradictory if we do not believe they are arriving by deepstrike with the pod.
Otherwise it makes sense.
The simplest explaination is usually the right one
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: