Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 21:36:27
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
So, reading over some of the spells, one of the Lore of Undeath ones says you can summon a monster with a cost of up to 200 points. Nagash can triple that, and then he can use a few Raise Dead counters, and theoretically, could summon Arkhan the Black, Mannfred, or any of the others. They are Monsters, and therefore if I'm reading this correctly, can be summoned by Nagash? If so, thats obnoxious......but I would have to try it....
|
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 21:58:46
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
The deck of the Widower
|
In a very unlikely scenario any wizard using the lore of undeath can summon Nagash himself. I do not think summoning big things like that is going to be a problem since it is a hard toc ast spell and also needs prior spells going off to improve your casting.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 22:27:55
Subject: Re:So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
He isn't saying someone summon Nagash, he is saying that with 2 raise dead counters on the field, Nagash can summon any of the other mortarchs with a 19 on the dice roll (24-5lvl). This would be easy for him to do by turn 2...grab the dude that pretty much maxes out your power dice pool and then then grab the stabby one....wouldn't be hard by turn 4 to have Nagash plus 2 of the others on the field. Assuming that you get some IF to prevent scrolling stops.
|
Let a billion souls burn in death than for one soul to bend knee to a false Emperor.....
"I am the punishment of God, had you not committed great sin, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 08:17:36
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
After playing a game, I must say... so what.
I ran a level 4 night goblin shaman who threw never failed to meet the casting requirement of a spell for the first 5 magic phases, and attempted at least 2 spells per phase.
(turn 6 didn't matter, because nothing summoned does anything turn 6, when you go 2nd).
So with ~12 spells meeting the casting level, I got off the banshee scream spell twice, raised 5 hex wraiths twice, and made 4 Vargheists once.
12 successes, 7 dispels; and that's with 12 bonus dice (more than 2 dice per phase).
Every phase, my single caster had another summons spells, without enough dice to make use of it.
The last thing that Nagash wants to do is bring another guy to the table that he has to share dice with. He is FAR better off rolling for the boosted Ryze and plopping 11 Crypt Horrors on the table.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/11 08:34:13
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Yea but i Think summoning Manfred would be a great thing since you get a lot of thing, like wind of magic manipulation 3 more dice if you need, and 4 Death spell on a Fly character, i have summoned him 2 times and i happen to make an insane magic phase, like 19/20 dice in a single magic phase, whit the atribute of death magic.... so yea nagash +manfred is pretty insane combo
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/11 13:38:40
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Do you guys think that there is anyway to cut off Nagash's magic? or atleast try to minimize it. I'm currently building Beastmen as my first real fantasy army and I think about having to face magic heavy armies like VC (Nagash specifically).
I've thought about running a Cygor (or 2) and using their Soul eater ability along with a Shammy with Shadow to drop their LD, forcing my opponent to use more dice. Is this even worth it?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/11 13:39:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/11 14:09:57
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Nagash is brutal when run properly.
If he takes death/undeath, and initially stores power dice for dispel dice, you're in trouble.
You don't have the shooting to down him (unless you get really lucky with multiple cygors).
You don't have the melee to take him out (T7 4+/4++ and WS7, along with 6 S8 attacks D3 wounds save -5.
In the magic phase, he can show up with 4 extra dispel dice and dispel at +5.
It's a pretty short list of ways to kill him other than shooting; and you don't have the shooting.
My advice is try and miasma and purple sun him.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/11 14:17:37
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hm that's sort of what I expected. Thanks. I really don't know if BM will ever stand a chance again Nagash.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/11 15:17:17
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Nagash staff only works when casting a spell, and you can only store dice in your magic phase
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/11 17:48:28
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
fØrgive wrote:Nagash staff only works when casting a spell, and you can only store dice in your magic phase
Good catch, that makes him slightly more balanced, as he isn't a dispelling god after all. Automatically Appended Next Post: On the original topic.
Kandorak - The Harbinger
The caster summons a single character, worth up to 65 points, selected from the Undead Legions army list (page 20). The caster can instead choose to summon a unit consisting of a single Monster, Chariot or blah blah blah.
If the first choice is to summon a Character, and the 2nd choice is to instead of summoning a character summon a monster, I don't think you can legally summon the Mortachs.
If you're instructed to summon a monster instead of a character, how is it that you are still summoning a character?
IMO, because the spell says "instead" as opposed to "alternatively", you cannot choose to summon a character/monsters instead of a character. Your still summoning a character.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/11 18:00:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/11 22:37:50
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
shauni55 wrote:Do you guys think that there is anyway to cut off Nagash's magic? or atleast try to minimize it. I'm currently building Beastmen as my first real fantasy army and I think about having to face magic heavy armies like VC (Nagash specifically).
I've thought about running a Cygor (or 2) and using their Soul eater ability along with a Shammy with Shadow to drop their LD, forcing my opponent to use more dice. Is this even worth it?
I like how you think VC when you think magic heavy. Makes me all tingly inside.
That's sarcasm, anyway. Nagash is way more brutal when run with Tomb Kings stuff, mainly the Casket of Souls, which is why Tomb Kings are infamous for good magic phases. Automatically Appended Next Post: HawaiiMatt wrote:Nagash is brutal when run properly.
If he takes death/undeath, and initially stores power dice for dispel dice, you're in trouble.
You don't have the shooting to down him (unless you get really lucky with multiple cygors).
You don't have the melee to take him out (T7 4+/4++ and WS7, along with 6 S8 attacks D3 wounds save -5.
In the magic phase, he can show up with 4 extra dispel dice and dispel at +5.
It's a pretty short list of ways to kill him other than shooting; and you don't have the shooting.
My advice is try and miasma and purple sun him.
He can't store them for dispelling, only for his own magic phases. I also don't think it works with dispel dice either, like, you can't store your dispel dice during your opponents magic phase. Automatically Appended Next Post: HawaiiMatt wrote:fØrgive wrote:Nagash staff only works when casting a spell, and you can only store dice in your magic phase
Good catch, that makes him slightly more balanced, as he isn't a dispelling god after all.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
On the original topic.
Kandorak - The Harbinger
The caster summons a single character, worth up to 65 points, selected from the Undead Legions army list (page 20). The caster can instead choose to summon a unit consisting of a single Monster, Chariot or blah blah blah.
If the first choice is to summon a Character, and the 2nd choice is to instead of summoning a character summon a monster, I don't think you can legally summon the Mortachs.
If you're instructed to summon a monster instead of a character, how is it that you are still summoning a character?
IMO, because the spell says "instead" as opposed to "alternatively", you cannot choose to summon a character/monsters instead of a character. Your still summoning a character.
Well, the Mortarchs ARE Monsters. That is their unit type.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/11 22:40:57
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 00:48:37
Subject: Re:So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Stubborn Hammerer
$1,000,000 and a 50% discount
|
The real question is: can Nagash summon another Nagash? Can multiples of the same special character be summoned as a result of Lore of Undeath?
|
just hangin' out, hangin' out |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 01:16:43
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
If he's unique then...
|
For the guy who leaves it all on the field (because he doesn't pick up after the game).
Keep on rolling |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 08:01:57
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Specifically, they are
Monsters (Special Character).
They are not Monsters INSTEAD of character, they are both monster and character. Since Kandorak requires you to summon a monster instead of a character with the boosted 24+ to cast, you are failing to do that if you still bring in a character.
A vampire lord riding a zombie dragon is unit type monster (character). Can I summon him with Kandorak? No.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 08:17:30
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
HawaiiMatt wrote:
Specifically, they are
Monsters (Special Character).
They are not Monsters INSTEAD of character, they are both monster and character. Since Kandorak requires you to summon a monster instead of a character with the boosted 24+ to cast, you are failing to do that if you still bring in a character.
A vampire lord riding a zombie dragon is unit type monster (character). Can I summon him with Kandorak? No.
I think you are wrong,
Mortarcs, are monster(caracter), but monster character, are the same as monster, whiout the character special rule. they follow the same rule, and they are affected by the same spell/item that affected monster
An exemple ? if you want to cast the bound spell of the lore BEAST (the +1 ST +1T) on a single bretonian paladin on horse, you get to use the Lore Attribute that let you discount the requiered casting cost by 1
You can't summon a Vampire Lord riding a Zombie dragon, because in the UNDEAD LEGION army list, the vampire lord are INFANTRY that can take an upgrade to became a MOnster, but the basic is that they are infantry
Similary, i think that you can summon Infantry(character) whit the RYZE, even if would guess that GW design the spell whit the purpose of not doing that
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 11:21:05
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Sinister Shapeshifter
The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.
|
HawaiiMatt wrote:
Specifically, they are
Monsters (Special Character).
They are not Monsters INSTEAD of character, they are both monster and character. Since Kandorak requires you to summon a monster instead of a character with the boosted 24+ to cast, you are failing to do that if you still bring in a character.
A vampire lord riding a zombie dragon is unit type monster (character). Can I summon him with Kandorak? No.
There is a difference between no troys mounts and unit type: monsters.
It may be pedantic, but it's there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 14:29:24
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
fØrgive wrote: HawaiiMatt wrote:
Specifically, they are
Monsters (Special Character).
They are not Monsters INSTEAD of character, they are both monster and character. Since Kandorak requires you to summon a monster instead of a character with the boosted 24+ to cast, you are failing to do that if you still bring in a character.
A vampire lord riding a zombie dragon is unit type monster (character). Can I summon him with Kandorak? No.
I think you are wrong,
Mortarcs, are monster(caracter), but monster character, are the same as monster, whiout the character special rule. they follow the same rule, and they are affected by the same spell/item that affected monster
An exemple ? if you want to cast the bound spell of the lore BEAST (the +1 ST +1T) on a single bretonian paladin on horse, you get to use the Lore Attribute that let you discount the requiered casting cost by 1
You can't summon a Vampire Lord riding a Zombie dragon, because in the UNDEAD LEGION army list, the vampire lord are INFANTRY that can take an upgrade to became a MOnster, but the basic is that they are infantry
Similary, i think that you can summon Infantry(character) whit the RYZE, even if would guess that GW design the spell whit the purpose of not doing that
Except that Character is also a unit type. You can cast lore of beast with the lore attribute on the character, because the spells doesn't EXCLUDE characters, it just includes Cav. For lore of beast, it doesn't matter that you are both.
The difference between the two is that the spell Kandorak excludes characters, the lore of beast does not.
Interesting point on Ryze, it does look by RAW you can bring in a 100 point character.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 15:07:12
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Sinister Shapeshifter
The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.
|
HawaiiMatt wrote:fØrgive wrote: HawaiiMatt wrote:
Specifically, they are
Monsters (Special Character).
They are not Monsters INSTEAD of character, they are both monster and character. Since Kandorak requires you to summon a monster instead of a character with the boosted 24+ to cast, you are failing to do that if you still bring in a character.
A vampire lord riding a zombie dragon is unit type monster (character). Can I summon him with Kandorak? No.
I think you are wrong,
Mortarcs, are monster(caracter), but monster character, are the same as monster, whiout the character special rule. they follow the same rule, and they are affected by the same spell/item that affected monster
An exemple ? if you want to cast the bound spell of the lore BEAST (the +1 ST +1T) on a single bretonian paladin on horse, you get to use the Lore Attribute that let you discount the requiered casting cost by 1
You can't summon a Vampire Lord riding a Zombie dragon, because in the UNDEAD LEGION army list, the vampire lord are INFANTRY that can take an upgrade to became a MOnster, but the basic is that they are infantry
Similary, i think that you can summon Infantry(character) whit the RYZE, even if would guess that GW design the spell whit the purpose of not doing that
Except that Character is also a unit type. You can cast lore of beast with the lore attribute on the character, because the spells doesn't EXCLUDE characters, it just includes Cav. For lore of beast, it doesn't matter that you are both.
The difference between the two is that the spell Kandorak excludes characters, the lore of beast does not.
Interesting point on Ryze, it does look by RAW you can bring in a 100 point character.
You can have monsters who are characters(Kholek, and Mortarchs). You can also have characters mounted on monsters. (Hellebron on Manticore, Malekith on Sulephet, Dragon Mage, and the like.)
The difference is that the former category ARE actually monsters who happen to be characters, or characters who are monsters. They'd be affected by anything that affects monsters because they are monsters. Character isn't a unit type. It's a category.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 15:46:03
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
thedarkavenger wrote:
You can have monsters who are characters(Kholek, and Mortarchs). You can also have characters mounted on monsters. (Hellebron on Manticore, Malekith on Sulephet, Dragon Mage, and the like.)
The difference is that the former category ARE actually monsters who happen to be characters, or characters who are monsters. They'd be affected by anything that affects monsters because they are monsters. Character isn't a unit type. It's a category.
Characters on monsters become unit type monster.
FAQ page 4 hidden under killing blow. Is a character on a Monster, Chariot, or Monstrous Beast affected by Killingblow?
Answer: No, the characters unit type changed to Monster, Chariot or Monstrous Cavalry respectively.
A vampire on a dragon is unit type monster. Just like Manfred is. The difference isn't in the unit type, but in the combined profile. A vampire lord can become infantry again (when he's no longer mounted).
Kandorak still requires you to summon a monster, instead of a character, and Manfred is still a character. You don't have permission to summon a monster and a character.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 15:51:08
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Character are not a unit type... They are not listed as unit type in the rulebook
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 15:51:14
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
HawaiiMatt wrote: thedarkavenger wrote:
You can have monsters who are characters(Kholek, and Mortarchs). You can also have characters mounted on monsters. (Hellebron on Manticore, Malekith on Sulephet, Dragon Mage, and the like.)
The difference is that the former category ARE actually monsters who happen to be characters, or characters who are monsters. They'd be affected by anything that affects monsters because they are monsters. Character isn't a unit type. It's a category.
Characters on monsters become unit type monster.
FAQ page 4 hidden under killing blow. Is a character on a Monster, Chariot, or Monstrous Beast affected by Killingblow?
Answer: No, the characters unit type changed to Monster, Chariot or Monstrous Cavalry respectively.
A vampire on a dragon is unit type monster. Just like Manfred is. The difference isn't in the unit type, but in the combined profile. A vampire lord can become infantry again (when he's no longer mounted).
Kandorak still requires you to summon a monster, instead of a character, and Manfred is still a character. You don't have permission to summon a monster and a character.
Well, the argument to that is they say that with Arkhan, Mannfred and Nefereta, they are one model, as you would think. But the mount is not it's own profile, and they can't get off once the mount dies. They aren't targeted differently or anything. They are LITERALLY one model. The only thing they get for technically being on a mount is a 6+ save. Theres a little blurb of text in their entries that explains it.
I'm not saying you're wrong. You are right. But the Mortarchs cannot be dismounted, and are therefor just Monsters.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/12 15:55:41
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 18:32:56
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
krodarklorr wrote:
I'm not saying you're wrong. You are right. But the Mortarchs cannot be dismounted, and are therefor just Monsters.
But they aren't just monsters. They are monsters who are also characters. Just like a daemon prince, Orion, or an Ancient Treeman.
If the spell said 24+ summon a monster, you'd be good to go.
But it doesn't. It says don't summon a character, summon a monster.
If you're still summoning a character, you're not following the spell.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/12 23:56:54
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
thedarkavenger wrote: HawaiiMatt wrote:fØrgive wrote: HawaiiMatt wrote:
Specifically, they are
Monsters (Special Character).
They are not Monsters INSTEAD of character, they are both monster and character. Since Kandorak requires you to summon a monster instead of a character with the boosted 24+ to cast, you are failing to do that if you still bring in a character.
A vampire lord riding a zombie dragon is unit type monster (character). Can I summon him with Kandorak? No.
I think you are wrong,
Mortarcs, are monster(caracter), but monster character, are the same as monster, whiout the character special rule. they follow the same rule, and they are affected by the same spell/item that affected monster
An exemple ? if you want to cast the bound spell of the lore BEAST (the +1 ST +1T) on a single bretonian paladin on horse, you get to use the Lore Attribute that let you discount the requiered casting cost by 1
You can't summon a Vampire Lord riding a Zombie dragon, because in the UNDEAD LEGION army list, the vampire lord are INFANTRY that can take an upgrade to became a MOnster, but the basic is that they are infantry
Similary, i think that you can summon Infantry(character) whit the RYZE, even if would guess that GW design the spell whit the purpose of not doing that
Except that Character is also a unit type. You can cast lore of beast with the lore attribute on the character, because the spells doesn't EXCLUDE characters, it just includes Cav. For lore of beast, it doesn't matter that you are both.
The difference between the two is that the spell Kandorak excludes characters, the lore of beast does not.
Interesting point on Ryze, it does look by RAW you can bring in a 100 point character.
You can have monsters who are characters(Kholek, and Mortarchs). You can also have characters mounted on monsters. (Hellebron on Manticore, Malekith on Sulephet, Dragon Mage, and the like.)
The difference is that the former category ARE actually monsters who happen to be characters, or characters who are monsters. They'd be affected by anything that affects monsters because they are monsters. Character isn't a unit type. It's a category.
So, to clarify, you are pro "Nagash can summon mortarchs" using the monster summoning spell using the above stated logic?
Couldn't you use the same logic to use the infantry summoning spell to just summon infantry characters? I mean, if character's aren't unit types, and if the spell summons infantry.....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/13 00:03:23
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Yea hawai, if it was the same stage of the spell you were right, but they are two different stage of the spell, so it' pretty unclear but i think that for raw purpose you can summon them, and balin yes the tought proces is the same for Ryze
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/13 04:24:38
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Sinister Shapeshifter
The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.
|
BallinWitStalin wrote: thedarkavenger wrote: HawaiiMatt wrote:fØrgive wrote: HawaiiMatt wrote:
Specifically, they are
Monsters (Special Character).
They are not Monsters INSTEAD of character, they are both monster and character. Since Kandorak requires you to summon a monster instead of a character with the boosted 24+ to cast, you are failing to do that if you still bring in a character.
A vampire lord riding a zombie dragon is unit type monster (character). Can I summon him with Kandorak? No.
I think you are wrong,
Mortarcs, are monster(caracter), but monster character, are the same as monster, whiout the character special rule. they follow the same rule, and they are affected by the same spell/item that affected monster
An exemple ? if you want to cast the bound spell of the lore BEAST (the +1 ST +1T) on a single bretonian paladin on horse, you get to use the Lore Attribute that let you discount the requiered casting cost by 1
You can't summon a Vampire Lord riding a Zombie dragon, because in the UNDEAD LEGION army list, the vampire lord are INFANTRY that can take an upgrade to became a MOnster, but the basic is that they are infantry
Similary, i think that you can summon Infantry(character) whit the RYZE, even if would guess that GW design the spell whit the purpose of not doing that
Except that Character is also a unit type. You can cast lore of beast with the lore attribute on the character, because the spells doesn't EXCLUDE characters, it just includes Cav. For lore of beast, it doesn't matter that you are both.
The difference between the two is that the spell Kandorak excludes characters, the lore of beast does not.
Interesting point on Ryze, it does look by RAW you can bring in a 100 point character.
You can have monsters who are characters(Kholek, and Mortarchs). You can also have characters mounted on monsters. (Hellebron on Manticore, Malekith on Sulephet, Dragon Mage, and the like.)
The difference is that the former category ARE actually monsters who happen to be characters, or characters who are monsters. They'd be affected by anything that affects monsters because they are monsters. Character isn't a unit type. It's a category.
So, to clarify, you are pro "Nagash can summon mortarchs" using the monster summoning spell using the above stated logic?
Couldn't you use the same logic to use the infantry summoning spell to just summon infantry characters? I mean, if character's aren't unit types, and if the spell summons infantry.....
I never said that. I just said that they're monsters. There is no unit type chalked monster/character. Either you're a monster, character or a monster who is a character. The combination benefits from anything that buffs monsters or characters. As well as their weaknesses.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/14 04:55:09
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It doesn't matter if there's a unit type character. Character is "a thing." The BRB makes frequent mention of it. Characters can do certain things (and must do others). They aren't unit types because you can have a characters who are infantry, cavalry, monster, monstrous infantry, even war machine (dorf on avil). But if something affects or excludes "Characters" it's really easy to tell what that encompasses.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/14 16:54:48
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Storming Storm Guardian
|
Characters just mean its a more higher version of a model for my instant plaguebearer and plaguebringer they are the same thing but one is a character wile the other is not so unless the rule states you cant summon monster with a character profile then summon to your hearts content but understand if it is a special character it can only ever have 1 in a army i believe there's a rule that special character can not be duplicated.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/14 17:01:48
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Kaligoth wrote:Characters just mean its a more higher version of a model for my instant plaguebearer and plaguebringer they are the same thing but one is a character wile the other is not so unless the rule states you cant summon monster with a character profile then summon to your hearts content but understand if it is a special character it can only ever have 1 in a army i believe there's a rule that special character can not be duplicated.
Uhh, I don't think squad leaders really count as characters. They have a slightly better statline, and can accept challenges, that's really it about them. And technically speaking, if you summon a unit of infantry using Ryze, you can give them upgrades. The squad leader is an upgrade. Therefor, you can summon him.
|
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/14 19:31:02
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Uh, no, it means it's a character as defined by the BRB on page 80 and 96+. There's a whole chapter on them that defines what they can and can't do.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/14 22:12:45
Subject: So, Nagash Can Summon Mortarchs?
|
 |
Sinister Shapeshifter
The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.
|
DukeRustfield wrote:It doesn't matter if there's a unit type character. Character is "a thing." The BRB makes frequent mention of it. Characters can do certain things (and must do others). They aren't unit types because you can have a characters who are infantry, cavalry, monster, monstrous infantry, even war machine (dorf on avil). But if something affects or excludes "Characters" it's really easy to tell what that encompasses.
Whilst that is true, the spell in question doesn't forbid the summoning of characters. You just summon a monster. If you somehow give Kholek the undead characteristic, he becomes a summon-able monster.
Just like the Mortarchs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|