Switch Theme:

Do Skimmers mishap if they Deep Strike onto enemy/friendly models?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

 DeathReaper wrote:
Obstacle, when talking about deep strike, is the mishap.

So you need to clear the 1 inch zone for enemy models.



Mishap is an effect of being on/near units or impassable terrain, it is not in and of itself, an obstacle.

The rule calls out enemy models, and impassable terrain. 1" bubble(unless called out in the rule) is not a defined obstacle in the rule. If it were, then the rule would also scatter you off of dangerous, forest, and any other non discussed terrain. Obstacle is a very generic word, and can be anything. As such you must limit it to what the rule actually states. So if the rule does not say "an enemy model or within one inch of an enemy model" then the 1" bubble is not included as part of the obstacles that it avoids. Which is why I asked for the exact wordage of the rule.

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 megatrons2nd wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Obstacle, when talking about deep strike, is the mishap.

So you need to clear the 1 inch zone for enemy models.



Mishap is an effect of being on/near units or impassable terrain, it is not in and of itself, an obstacle.

This is incorrect.

Obstacle is not defined in the BRB, so we use the common English definition of the word.

With this definition any placement that results in a mishap after reducing the scatter (Provided the initial model was placed where it would not mishap) is an obstacle and you need to account for that inch and reduce the scatter to not mishap.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

 DeathReaper wrote:
 megatrons2nd wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Obstacle, when talking about deep strike, is the mishap.

So you need to clear the 1 inch zone for enemy models.



Mishap is an effect of being on/near units or impassable terrain, it is not in and of itself, an obstacle.

This is incorrect.

Obstacle is not defined in the BRB, so we use the common English definition of the word.

With this definition any placement that results in a mishap after reducing the scatter (Provided the initial model was placed where it would not mishap) is an obstacle and you need to account for that inch and reduce the scatter to not mishap.


Obstacle is defined in the rule itself. ie Enemy models, and impassable terrain. Using the common English definition of the word allows for silly things like allowing it to not scatter off the table, not take dangerous terrain tests due to landing in difficult terrain, and ignore units that have special rules that affect things that land in their radius of effect(at least there use to be models that hindered deepstrike) If the 1" is not in the pods obstacle list, it is not ignored.

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Obstacle pertains to the things mentioned.

An enemy unit is an obstacle, so is landing within one inch of an enemy unit.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It is a very poor choice of words, given that Mishap would of been vastly more obvious.

Honestly:
I thought it actually said Mishap, but my faction does not have drop pods so not knowing the exact wording is to be expected.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/11 15:36:00


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hollismason wrote:
Actually it doesn't it's quiet clear that you physically check to place a model on deepstrike, then account for scatter, then check the rule for mishap.

The skimmer rule states that it cannot end it's move on top of another model.

Like you don't "place a marker"

You physically put that model or a model from that squad on the board then roll to see IF it scatters. There's a physical placement on the board of a model straight up.

You're ignoring rules again, as it states you place a model form the unit where you want the unit to arrive. Until you check for mishap, the unit hasn't arrived.

Raw you mishap, you remain wrong on this.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

I've already stated that you cannot in fact physically place a model onto another it's clearly a restriction and basic rule layed out in the beginning of the book. My least favourite Wizard of Oz character is the Scarecrow.

The argument is if you place it and it scatters onto a unit does it mishap or does the Skimmer special rule kick in.

A noted interested would be that if you follow the reserve rules there is actually a direction implied by deep strike and it is not in fact up and down. It's from your board edge to where it is placed.

So if this did occur it would be placed 1 inch in front of said model/unit because the direction would in fact be from your board edge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/11 18:01:27


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Assuming you can prove why you are resolving the Deep Strike Special Rule using instructions not found within the Deep Strike Special Rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/11 19:30:37


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hollie - until you resolve the scatter it hasn't arrived. So you check for mishap. There's no issue here.

You mishap, raw.
   
Made in ca
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe






 insaniak wrote:
 DarknessEternal wrote:
The minimum distance will be one where there's a microscopically small distance between the enemy model and the skimmer, so that it is no longer over it. The skimmer will certainly still be within 1".

In which case the rule is useless... because you can't finish your movement within 1" of an enemy model unless you are charging.

That's not only going to cause mishaps when deep striking, but also apply during any other movement.

We've had the same argument over the years about the Drop Pod's inertial guidance. Because you can't wind up within 1" of an enemy model, when calculating how far you need to move to avoid that enemy model you need to include that 1" bubble.


I'm still not convinced by anyone who says the definition of "obstacle" includes being within 1" of enemy models. Because that isn't an "obstacle", it is open ground.

The reason people bring Drop Pods into this argument is because the wording is quite similar.

And how come the people who argue "you can't use the dictionary definition of the word Move as it pertains to Deep Strike and Deploying." then turn around and "use the dictionary definition of the word Obstacle." to imply it also includes the 1" bubble around enemy models...

which it sure as spam doesn't say it does?

The fall back of "people have been playing it that way for ages so that's how it works" is utter nonsense. The only reason people have been playing it like that is because someone noticed the wording, people on the internet had an argument about it, and one ruling/interpretation won out.

This IS THE SAME EXACT THING in regards to the skimmer rule. It just so happens that the skimmer question/interpretation issue was discovered at a later date than the drop pod one.

Has anyone sent a message to GW to ask?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/15 18:26:54


-I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Rock hard, ride free, and hold the heathen hammer high!
"Orkses is never beaten in battle; if we win, we win, if we die, we died fightin' so it doesn't count, and if we leg it, we always come back for anuvver go, see?"
God, I'd love to shunt the Hulk into the Eye of Terror and see what comes out. -Reiner
"Sons of the Last Breath"
"Host of Shattered Purity"
"Kabal of the Dying Sun, Cult of Marrow Excised, Coven of Lambent Hunger" 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





When the skimmer deep strikes, roll for scatter. If the result of the scatter would place the skimmer on top of an enemy model, move it the shortest distance away so that the enemy model is not underneath it. Seems simple enough to me.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Mavlun wrote:
When the skimmer deep strikes, roll for scatter. If the result of the scatter would place the skimmer on top of an enemy model, move it the shortest distance away so that the enemy model is not underneath it. Seems simple enough to me.

Except that's against the rules. Because the skimmer isn't forced to end its movement over a model until after the mishap is resolved - at which point the skimmer won't be there.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Mavlun wrote:
When the skimmer deep strikes, roll for scatter. If the result of the scatter would place the skimmer on top of an enemy model, move it the shortest distance away so that the enemy model is not underneath it. Seems simple enough to me.

If it was that simple this thread would have been done on the first page
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Not being able to use a dictionary meaning for the word "Move" has justification:
There exists whole sets of Rules for Movement and Movement related activities, Rules which provides the processes which a Model has to go through in order to 'Move.' If a Model does not use any of these processes, nor does it have a Rule stating it Moved even without following these processes, then it is literally impossible for us to state that the Model has Moved from a Rule perspective. It won't matter if we can find a dictionary that defines Movement in such a way that we can apply it to the situation.... As far as the Rules are concerned, that Model has not moved.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/15 19:14:02


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Laughingcarp wrote:
I'm still not convinced by anyone who says the definition of "obstacle" includes being within 1" of enemy models. Because that isn't an "obstacle", it is open ground.

If it prevents you from placing a model there, it's an obstacle.



Has anyone sent a message to GW to ask?

For what purpose? Any answer you get from GW will be the personal opinion of a mail order guy. The guys who are actually in a position to answer rules questions don't answer rules questions. According to GW, that would be creating some sort of cult of personality, and players prefer to discuss rules issues amongst themselves than to have clearly written rules.

 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
When the skimmer deep strikes, roll for scatter. If the result of the scatter would place the skimmer on top of an enemy model, move it the shortest distance away so that the enemy model is not underneath it. Seems simple enough to me.

Except that's against the rules. Because the skimmer isn't forced to end its movement over a model until after the mishap is resolved - at which point the skimmer won't be there.


No, the skimmer is forced to end its movement, which we know is at Combat Speed, on top of an enemy model, therefore, before checking for mishap, the skimmer's rule comes into effect.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Mavlun wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
When the skimmer deep strikes, roll for scatter. If the result of the scatter would place the skimmer on top of an enemy model, move it the shortest distance away so that the enemy model is not underneath it. Seems simple enough to me.

Except that's against the rules. Because the skimmer isn't forced to end its movement over a model until after the mishap is resolved - at which point the skimmer won't be there.


No, the skimmer is forced to end its movement, which we know is at Combat Speed, on top of an enemy model, therefore, before checking for mishap, the skimmer's rule comes into effect.

The Deep Strike is movement. Scatter is part of that Deep Strike. Resolving the mishap is part of the Deep Strike. The Deep Strike hasn't finished when it's time to check for mishap, so it hasn't been forced to finish its movement over an enemy unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Mavlun wrote:
No, the skimmer is forced to end its movement, which we know is at Combat Speed, on top of an enemy model, therefore, before checking for mishap, the skimmer's rule comes into effect.

Given that one of the results of a mishap is that the vehicle is put somewhere else, or doesn't deploy at all, until the mishap has been resolved the vehicle has not ended its movement.

 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





Except neither of those replies make sense, since there is no possible other reason why a skimmer would ever be "forced" to end its movement on top of an enemy model, other than a deep strike scatter (unless I'm missing something).
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Mavlun wrote:
Except neither of those replies make sense, since there is no possible other reason why a skimmer would ever be "forced" to end its movement on top of an enemy model, other than a deep strike scatter (unless I'm missing something).

iirc there are some scenarios in Tank Shocking that it could occur.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
Except neither of those replies make sense, since there is no possible other reason why a skimmer would ever be "forced" to end its movement on top of an enemy model, other than a deep strike scatter (unless I'm missing something).

iirc there are some scenarios in Tank Shocking that it could occur.


Don't think so. afaik, you can't tank shock vehicles, and when ramming, you declare the number of inches from the beginning, and if you ram a vehicle that isn't removed from play, you stop right there, if you reach a friendly unit you halt, and if you reach another unit, you follow the rules for tank shocking or tank ramming. So no, I don't think so.

The only scenario I can think of when a skimmer would be FORCED to end its movement on top of an enemy -or- friendly model, is a deep strike scatter.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Mavlun wrote:
Except neither of those replies make sense, since there is no possible other reason why a skimmer would ever be "forced" to end its movement on top of an enemy model, other than a deep strike scatter (unless I'm missing something).

Tank Shock is the only one that springs to mind, but I'm not really seeing what difference that makes. The fact that a rule has no current effect on the game doesn't mean that the rule should be read differently... it just means that the rule currently has no effect on the game. It's entirely possible that it was included to 'future-proof' against unforeseen rules interactions that might occur with codex-specific rules additions. It's entirely possible that they included that rule for completeness without realising that it would never actually apply.

Regardless, the reason for the rule being there is irrelevant, and whether or not it currently applies to anything in the game does not change the rule.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Mavlun wrote:
Don't think so. afaik, you can't tank shock vehicles...


Ramming is a special type of Tank Shock... (Vehicles chapter, Ramming section, 2nd graph 1st sentence).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/15 20:13:58


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
Don't think so. afaik, you can't tank shock vehicles...


Ramming is a special type of Tank Shock... (Vehicles chapter, Ramming section, 2nd graph 1st sentence).



Yeah, so it's not Tank Shock, it's ramming. My point stands
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Honestly, why would it matter if this was the only 'reasonable application' or not?

Ignoring that there have been previous pieces of war-gear capable of 'pushing' Enemy Units around, and the concept of 'future proofing' should there be such in the future, demanding that we post situations in which the Rule can be evoked does not prove a thing. Even if such a scenario does not exist, we still do not have permission to shoe-horn it in one that we believe it will fit in. Besides, it is very lazy a debate tactic to demand that your opponent carry out the research to prove that such a Rule has a purpose. No one here is going to be bothered to review every Rule that has existed at the same time as this one to populate such a list, least of all the person requesting that it be done, so as a debate tactic it is pointless.

If one wishes to use the Rule, it is up to them to prove it can be Evoked....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/15 20:34:47


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Mavlun wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
Except neither of those replies make sense, since there is no possible other reason why a skimmer would ever be "forced" to end its movement on top of an enemy model, other than a deep strike scatter (unless I'm missing something).

iirc there are some scenarios in Tank Shocking that it could occur.


Don't think so. afaik, you can't tank shock vehicles, and when ramming, you declare the number of inches from the beginning, and if you ram a vehicle that isn't removed from play, you stop right there, if you reach a friendly unit you halt, and if you reach another unit, you follow the rules for tank shocking or tank ramming. So no, I don't think so.

The only scenario I can think of when a skimmer would be FORCED to end its movement on top of an enemy -or- friendly model, is a deep strike scatter.

Box in an enemy unit using terrain and your units. Tank Shock it with a skimmer. DoG immobilizes it. It ends its movement on top of a unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
Except neither of those replies make sense, since there is no possible other reason why a skimmer would ever be "forced" to end its movement on top of an enemy model, other than a deep strike scatter (unless I'm missing something).

iirc there are some scenarios in Tank Shocking that it could occur.


Don't think so. afaik, you can't tank shock vehicles, and when ramming, you declare the number of inches from the beginning, and if you ram a vehicle that isn't removed from play, you stop right there, if you reach a friendly unit you halt, and if you reach another unit, you follow the rules for tank shocking or tank ramming. So no, I don't think so.

The only scenario I can think of when a skimmer would be FORCED to end its movement on top of an enemy -or- friendly model, is a deep strike scatter.

Box in an enemy unit using terrain and your units. Tank Shock it with a skimmer. DoG immobilizes it. It ends its movement on top of a unit.


You can't pass through friendly models when Tank shocking
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Mavlun wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
Except neither of those replies make sense, since there is no possible other reason why a skimmer would ever be "forced" to end its movement on top of an enemy model, other than a deep strike scatter (unless I'm missing something).

iirc there are some scenarios in Tank Shocking that it could occur.


Don't think so. afaik, you can't tank shock vehicles, and when ramming, you declare the number of inches from the beginning, and if you ram a vehicle that isn't removed from play, you stop right there, if you reach a friendly unit you halt, and if you reach another unit, you follow the rules for tank shocking or tank ramming. So no, I don't think so.

The only scenario I can think of when a skimmer would be FORCED to end its movement on top of an enemy -or- friendly model, is a deep strike scatter.

Box in an enemy unit using terrain and your units. Tank Shock it with a skimmer. DoG immobilizes it. It ends its movement on top of a unit.


You can't pass through friendly models when Tank shocking


And skimmers, when moving move over intervening models.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Mavlun wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Box in an enemy unit using terrain and your units. Tank Shock it with a skimmer. DoG immobilizes it. It ends its movement on top of a unit.


You can't pass through friendly models when Tank shocking

Read the underlined. Skimmers don't pass through anything.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

If I am not mistake it actually states the word if, so regardless of whether mishap would be resolved the word if automatically makes it become placed one inch away. I may be incorrect don't have my book near me but I am pretty sure it states IF.

It's literally just basic grammar.

Would it's placement of the model otherwise create a situation where it could end it's movement over another model?

If the the answer is Yes. Then it stops one inch away.

I dunno what's unclear about that but if it said WHEN it would be different.

It doesn't it's a important grammatical point to make and usually I don't argue semantics to much but the word if clearly implies a future situation occuring. The deep strike scatter would be a situation where it could end it's movement. It doesn't care about the deep strike rules or mishap, just that there is a situation where it could possibly end its move on top f another and it interjects and stops that from occuring.

It's also the reason you can't plop it down on top of a unit physically plus the actual rule that states models can't be placed on one another.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/15 21:28:03


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: