Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 07:10:18
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
The permission is given to it by the NSF unit it is attached to having permission.
Put otherwise, where is the permission to deny the NSF unit it's special rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 07:14:42
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
Show me this permission(a rule quote) that the SW drop pod can use rite of teleportation for it's reserve roll.
Edit2: As for the denial for NSF
Rites of Teleportation: Instead of making Reserve Rolls from the start of your turn two, you can make Reserve Rolls for any unit in this Formation that is placed in Deep Strike Reserve from the start of your turn one. These units will arrive from Deep Strike Reserve on turn one on the roll of 3+. In addition, all units from this Formation can both Run and Shoot, in any order, in the same turn that they arrive from Deep Strike Reserve.
During deployment, when deciding which units are kept as Reserves, you must specify if any of the Independent Characters in Reserve are joining a unit, in which case they must arrive together. Similarly, you must specify if any units in Reserve are embarked upon any Transport vehicles in Reserve, in which case they will arrive together. In either case, when making a Reserve Roll (see below) for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/or its Independent Character/Transport vehicle.
Tires of teleportation is for making Reserve Rolls for any unit in the formation. Combined Reserve Unit allows one to make one roll for the unit, and/or Transport vehicle. The roll is for the unit AND Transport vehicle, which the Drop pod is not a NSF unit, which means you are making a Rites of Teleportation Reserve roll for a unit NOT part of the formation regardless if it is in a Combined Reserve Unit. The other way is the Reserve Roll is for the Transport Vehicle instead of the unit, which once again is not a NSF unit and can't use the Rites of Teleportation.
The Combined Reserve roll is not for just one unit it is for all parts of the Combined reserve unit, which is the unit and the Drop pod, or for just the Transport.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/26 07:31:28
It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 07:23:35
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
Show me a rules quote that it CAN'T. I have implied permission to do so... Do you have any way to deny me that rite? Automatically Appended Next Post: That's right, you can't show me a quote, because we are given permission from the brb to make combined rolls for units in reserve together, and NSF let's us make that roll on turn one if the unit is in ds reserves.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/26 07:32:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 07:33:52
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
siege2142 wrote:Show me a rules quote that it CAN'T. I have implied permission to do so... Do you have any way to deny me that rite?
Rite of teleportation can be used for any NSF unit, sw drop pod is not a NSF unit and the purifier unit and drop pod have to arive togeather and the reserve roll for a Combined Reserve unit is made for BOTH units or only the transport as per edit in my pervious post.(Not sure if you read the 2nd edit)
|
It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 07:35:27
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
You are making the roll for the NSF unit, it's just bringing baggage with it. You yourself can not deny that. Everything you' e underlined has given me permission to use all these rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 07:38:24
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
siege2142 wrote:You are making the roll for the NSF unit, it's just bringing baggage with it. You yourself can not deny that. Everything you' e underlined has given me permission to use all these rules.
No you are making the roll for either BOTH as I have bolded But will post again.
In either case, when making a Reserve Roll (see below) for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/or its Independent Character/ Transport vehicle.
It isn't "bringing baggage" the roll is made for BOTH the units.
|
It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 07:41:21
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
And/or. I choose to make the roll for the unit. The unit OR ic OR transport. I've now successfully rolled for the unit, so the combined unit now comes in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 08:42:24
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
And you have then broken the Reserve rules for the SW drop pod, as that has no permission to enter play until turn two.
Explicit permission is required here to break a rule. Please post where the RoT rule allows you to break the reserve rules for the SW drop pod. Page and graph
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 09:33:22
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
Explicit permission is given by allowing the NSF unit to roll on turn one. It doesn't say a NSF unit that hasn't made a combined unit with non NSF units. It justnsays NSF unit. The codex has given permission, which overrides the standard brb.
The pod has no permission to roll to enter play on its own until turn two, but it's a good thing I stuck a NSF unit inside of it to get a free roll on turn one to bring a combined NSF unit into play.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 11:57:51
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
siege2142 wrote:Explicit permission is given by allowing the NSF unit to roll on turn one. It doesn't say a NSF unit that hasn't made a combined unit with non NSF units. It justnsays NSF unit. The codex has given permission, which overrides the standard brb.
The pod has no permission to roll to enter play on its own until turn two, but it's a good thing I stuck a NSF unit inside of it to get a free roll on turn one to bring a combined NSF unit into play.
Ah, youre not understanding explicit then.
Explicit here would mean written. So, where is it *written* that the SW drop pod, which has no permission to enter play until turn two, is allowed to use the permission for the NSF unit to turn up turn 1.
Page and graph. Second time of asking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 14:40:43
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There is no permission in combined unit reserves to extend special rules to other units.
The Space Wolf drop pod is not an unit from the NSF and does not have Rites of Teleportation. There is no rule allowing it to benefit from the special rule of models embarked in it (unless the special rule itself explicitly states so), in this case RoT.
the combined roll is 1 roll for the combined units to arrive, but they have to arrive as per the restrictions of the various units, not the permission of 1 of the units that is not extended to the rest.
honestly this is a rather silly discussion anyways. If you take a NSF you can take an allied SW detachment, take 1 pod and have it come in turn 1 anyways. The unit inside is arriving from deep strike reserves, and gets the run+shoot if its from the NSF. If you are taking a SW CAD you can get 3 drop pods and have 2 come in turn 1 and roll for the third on turn 2+. Coming in guaranteed versus rolling a 3+.
Why is this a discussion?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 15:18:58
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Actually, the Drop Pod's special rule "Drop Pod Assault" changes when the Drop Pod rolls to arrive from Turn 2 to "half, rounded up, arrive immediately on Turn 1 while the remainder roll to arrive normally". (That's a paraphrase, for those that are literally minded).
Rites of Teleportation moves "normally" from a Turn 2 roll to a Turn 1 roll.
Combined Units changes rolling for each unit individually to rolling once for the Combined Unit, which must arrive together.
Battle Brothers allows non-faction units to start the game embarked on non-Dedicated Transports.
Deep Strike allows a unit without the Deep Strike USR to arrive by Deep Strike if embarked on a Transport with the Deep Strike USR.
So, we have:
NSF unit + Drop Pod = Turn 1 roll to arrive
Rites does not require the entire Combined Unit to be members of the NSF, it only requires the NSF portion to be in Deep Strike Reserves, which is achieved via being embarked on a Fast choice SW (or BA) Drop Pod. The Drop Pod does not have restrictive language that requires a Turn 2 arrival, it does have general language to arrive normally. With Rites, normal changes from Turn 1 to Turn 2. You are not required to use a Combined Unit's more restrictive roll to arrive, you are literally given the choice of which roll the use via the written rules. You can chose to roll for the Unit OR the IC(s) OR the Transport, per RAW.
You would literally need to cite a rule that specifically states Combined units must use the more restrictive roll to arrive, or Drop Pods that don't arrive Turn 1 must start rolling on Turn 2. Rites of Teleportation does not include any restrictive language beyond requiring just the NSF unit to be in Deep Strike Reseves.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 16:53:12
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, RoT turns normally for the nsf unit to turn one. No one else. Stop making unsupported leaps.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 17:22:16
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Oberron wrote:But the SW Drop Pod Isn't part of the NSF. How is the drop pod coming in from Rite of teleportation? Where is this permission?
The Purifiers are coming in via Rite of Teleportation. The Pod is coming in via the Combined Unit rule. The pod never interacts with Rite of Teleportation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 17:32:42
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Unit1126PLL wrote:Oberron wrote:But the SW Drop Pod Isn't part of the NSF. How is the drop pod coming in from Rite of teleportation? Where is this permission?
The Purifiers are coming in via Rite of Teleportation. The Pod is coming in via the Combined Unit rule. The pod never interacts with Rite of Teleportation.
The Purifiers don't have the Deep Strike rule, so there is a mandatory interaction with the drop pod.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 17:50:25
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No, RoT turns normally for the nsf unit to turn one. No one else. Stop making unsupported leaps.
If you can't understand such a simple rules interaction, it's probably a lost cause to continue explaining the rules you keep refusing to understand. Suffice it to say, not only is the tactic supported in the rules, the entire rules interaction has been laid out in full several times in this thread. It is a waste in everyone's time to keep going in circles at this point.
Good luck with your house rule, the rest of us will play it per RAW.
SJ
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/26 17:51:28
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 18:17:02
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
The purifiers themselves are not the "unit" in Deep Strike Reserve. They are embarked on the SW Drop Pod via the ally transport rules and the new shenanigans via transports being fast attack choices. The unit placed in DS Reserve is the Pod.
The Pod arrives via DS reserve regardless of a unit being inside. The Purifiers do not arrive via DS reserve, in fact, they only disembark from the Pod after it lands.
The fact remains that GW has broken its own game by creating the possibility for situations like this to be debated. It boggles my mind that people try to manipulate rules that have obvious intentions in the effort to win at all costs.
|
7th Back in Action!
6th 2000+
5th 2000+ retired
4th 2000+ retired
3rd 2000+ retired |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 18:29:56
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote:Oberron wrote:But the SW Drop Pod Isn't part of the NSF. How is the drop pod coming in from Rite of teleportation? Where is this permission?
The Purifiers are coming in via Rite of Teleportation. The Pod is coming in via the Combined Unit rule. The pod never interacts with Rite of Teleportation.
The Purifiers don't have the Deep Strike rule, so there is a mandatory interaction with the drop pod.
The RoT only interacts with the Purifiers, not with the Pod. You asserting otherwise doesn't make it true.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 18:37:28
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Ghaz wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote:Oberron wrote:But the SW Drop Pod Isn't part of the NSF. How is the drop pod coming in from Rite of teleportation? Where is this permission?
The Purifiers are coming in via Rite of Teleportation. The Pod is coming in via the Combined Unit rule. The pod never interacts with Rite of Teleportation.
The Purifiers don't have the Deep Strike rule, so there is a mandatory interaction with the drop pod.
The RoT only interacts with the Purifiers, not with the Pod. You asserting otherwise doesn't make it true.
Rites of Teleportation must interact with the pod, because that's the only model in the unit that can Deep Strike. Your assertions don't make your claims true.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 18:39:02
Subject: Re:Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
 if a unit is inside a drop pod, and that pod is in Ds reserves, where is the unit inside of it?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/26 18:56:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 18:46:51
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Combined Reserves does not pass special rules between models in the unit as can be seen when they state all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule. The only reason the Purifiers can enter play is because the drop pod has Deep Strike.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 18:47:22
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
Rites of teleportation doesn't say"a deep striking NSF unit may roll for reserves on turn one" it says "instead of making reserve rolls from the start of turn two, you can make reserve roles for ANY UNIT in this detachment that is placed in deep strike reserves from the start of turn one. These units will arrive from deep strike reserve on turn one on the roll of 3+. In addition, all units from this detachment can both run and shoot, in any order, in the same turn they arrive from deep strike reserve."
So, as has been already affirmed, a unit in a drop pod is in deep strike reserve with the drop pod, and when the pod arrives and the unit disembarks, the unit will have arrived from deep strike reserves. Since the NSF unit inside the drop pod has permission to roll on turn one, the pod does to. The NSF unit is still a unit from the NSF detachment, even when combined.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 18:53:22
Subject: Re:Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
There is no need whatsoever to be as rude as some posters here are being towards other users.
Stop it. Now.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 18:55:28
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:No, RoT turns normally for the nsf unit to turn one. No one else. Stop making unsupported leaps.
If you can't understand such a simple rules interaction, it's probably a lost cause to continue explaining the rules you keep refusing to understand. Suffice it to say, not only is the tactic supported in the rules, the entire rules interaction has been laid out in full several times in this thread. It is a waste in everyone's time to keep going in circles at this point.
Good luck with your house rule, the rest of us will play it per RAW.
SJ
It's not so cut-and-dried as you seem to think. Even as a GK player, I'm tending toward the "no way Jose" camp. Don't call it a house rule when it's quite clear that this discussion is divided. And furthermore, I find it suspicious that so many of the "yes you can" side are GK players
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/26 19:01:15
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 18:59:20
Subject: Re:Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
You don't have to find it suspicious that way, I find it suspicious that until you identified yourself as a gk player, it was NON gk's only that were arguing against it. They probably haven't ever actually read the actual rule from the book, and they are trying to definetively say NO!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 19:05:02
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
siege2142 wrote: Since the NSF unit inside the drop pod has permission to roll on turn one, the pod does to.
You're still making a baseless assumption that somehow the Drop Pod changes detachments just because of Combined Reserves. They both remain in their respective detachments and enter play using the drop pod's ability to Deep Strike because the Purifiers never have the ability to use the bonus given by Rites of Teleportation.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 19:11:15
Subject: Re:Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
Now your trying to assert that because the name has teleportation in it, that the rule can only be used for teleporting? Sorry, but there are no rules distinctions between teleporting deep strike and dropping from the sky deep strike. The purifiers have every right to use the NSF special rule because they are in ds reserve. And, has been stated by the reserves rules, when I have a combined reserve unit, I can choose to roll for that entire combined reserve unit using only one part of that combined unit when ever I have the opportunity to roll for reserves to come in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 19:12:03
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Ghaz wrote:siege2142 wrote: Since the NSF unit inside the drop pod has permission to roll on turn one, the pod does to.
You're still making a baseless assumption that somehow the Drop Pod changes detachments just because of Combined Reserves. They both remain in their respective detachments and enter play using the drop pod's ability to Deep Strike because the Purifiers never have the ability to use the bonus given by Rites of Teleportation.
The pod is not changing detachments.
The Purifiers are in Deep Strike Reserve, agreed?
That means that they must roll to arrive on turn 2, agreed?
NSF allows units in Deep Strike Reserve to roll to arrive on turn one instead of two, agreed?
Please explain how the Purifiers are allowed to roll to arrive turn one without their Drop Pod.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 19:18:42
Subject: Re:Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
It doesn't, because without the drop pod they can't be in deep strike reserves. With the pod, they are in deep strike reserves, and thus benefit from NSF.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/26 19:19:05
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From the 'Nemesis Strike Force' rules:
you can make Reserve Rolls for any unit in this Detachment that is placed in Deep Strike Reserve from the start of your turn one.
So how is the pod benefiting from this rule if its not in this Detachment?
How are the Purifiers benefiting from this rule when the only reason they can be in Deep Strike Reserve is because of the pod?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
|