Switch Theme:

Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

SGTPozy wrote:
When rolling for a combined unit you can only use benefits that everything in the combined unit has.


[CITATION NEEDED]
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





SGTPozy wrote:
When rolling for a combined unit you can only use benefits that everything in the combined unit has.

If a Gey Knight character was in an IG squad and the squad received the monster hunter order; would the Grey Knight gain it? Yes. This is why allies break the game as why would this Grey Knight accept orders from an IG?

Back on topic, does the drop pod have RoT? No? Therefore it cannot be used as both units do not have it.


Rule quote, please
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

SGTPozy wrote:
When rolling for a combined unit you can only use benefits that everything in the combined unit has.


This is where a rules quote would be nice. I haven't found such a restriction.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in gb
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife




 Unit1126PLL wrote:
SGTPozy wrote:
When rolling for a combined unit you can only use benefits that everything in the combined unit has.


[CITATION NEEDED]


Page 104
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






greytalon666 wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
confoo22 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
The Drop Pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. The Passengers must:
"Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must immediately disembark."


Ok, so the drop pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. Why exactly does placing the drop pod not satisfy this requirement?

And btw, codex rules always superseded BRB rules when they disagree. Don't have the BRB in front of me so I can't find the exact passage that says that, but i'm pretty sure it's somewhere in first few pages.

Says that no where I am sure.

Furthermore the codex says nothing about how you would deploy the unit. So there isn't a disagreement. It's just an inconsistent dead end. Sure you can make the roll but you can't legally place the unit. Therefore it's fail. (talking about the purifiers ofc)


Page 13, basic vs advanced, last sentence. You're welcome.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Xenomancers wrote:
confoo22 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
The Drop Pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. The Passengers must:
"Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must immediately disembark."


Ok, so the drop pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. Why exactly does placing the drop pod not satisfy this requirement?

And btw, codex rules always superseded BRB rules when they disagree. Don't have the BRB in front of me so I can't find the exact passage that says that, but i'm pretty sure it's somewhere in first few pages.

Says that no where I am sure.

Furthermore the codex says nothing about how you would deploy the unit. So there isn't a disagreement. It's just an inconsistent dead end. Sure you can make the roll but you can't legally place the unit. Therefore it's fail. (talking about the purifiers ofc)


It does not fail, per the combined unit rules where it explicitly states they arrive together by rolling for the unit and/OR their transport/ic.

Again, your welcome for me looking up all those rules for you. Now please, cease your useless nu-uhs and actually *add* something to this, or acknoiwkedge you are wrong and move on.

We've already proven you can't place the purifiers if you roll for them per the deep strike placement rules. Combined reserves roll rule does not override deep strike placement rules which require you to place the 1 model for the unit you are rolling for and roll scatter...Since purifiers don't have deep strike it is not possible - then furthermore it is impossible for the unit to disembark from the drop pod if they are already on the table. 2 impossibilities that you guys so quickly ignore and just make up a situation that works for your liking. No - you can't roll for the purifiers and then deploy the pod first...outside of it also making no sense it also isn't supported by any rules ether.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





So you say it applies in one instance but not the other? Way to cherry pick. Please, quote me the rule, with page number and paragraph number, where it says the entire combined unit has to be from a NSF detachment.
   
Made in gb
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife




Removed by insaniak. Please see Dakka's Rule #1.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 19:06:03


 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

The Drop Pod doesn't need RoT in order for the Purifiers to make a Reserves Roll on turn 1. The Purifiers are making the roll for the combined unit.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





 Xenomancers wrote:
greytalon666 wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
confoo22 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
The Drop Pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. The Passengers must:
"Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must immediately disembark."


Ok, so the drop pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. Why exactly does placing the drop pod not satisfy this requirement?

And btw, codex rules always superseded BRB rules when they disagree. Don't have the BRB in front of me so I can't find the exact passage that says that, but i'm pretty sure it's somewhere in first few pages.

Says that no where I am sure.

Furthermore the codex says nothing about how you would deploy the unit. So there isn't a disagreement. It's just an inconsistent dead end. Sure you can make the roll but you can't legally place the unit. Therefore it's fail. (talking about the purifiers ofc)




Page 13, basic vs advanced, last sentence. You're welcome.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Xenomancers wrote:
confoo22 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
The Drop Pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. The Passengers must:
"Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must immediately disembark."


Ok, so the drop pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. Why exactly does placing the drop pod not satisfy this requirement?

And btw, codex rules always superseded BRB rules when they disagree. Don't have the BRB in front of me so I can't find the exact passage that says that, but i'm pretty sure it's somewhere in first few pages.

Says that no where I am sure.

Furthermore the codex says nothing about how you would deploy the unit. So there isn't a disagreement. It's just an inconsistent dead end. Sure you can make the roll but you can't legally place the unit. Therefore it's fail. (talking about the purifiers ofc)


It does not fail, per the combined unit rules where it explicitly states they arrive together by rolling for the unit and/OR their transport/ic.

Again, your welcome for me looking up all those rules for you. Now please, cease your useless nu-uhs and actually *add* something to this, or acknoiwkedge you are wrong and move on.

We've already proven you can't place the purifiers if you roll for them per the deep strike placement rules. Combined reserves roll rule does not override deep strike placement rules which require you to place the 1 model for the unit you are rolling for and roll scatter...Since purifiers don't have deep strike it is not possible - then furthermore it is impossible for the unit to disembark from the drop pod if they are already on the table. 2 impossibilities that you guys so quickly ignore and just make up a situation that works for your liking. No - you can't roll for the purifiers and then deploy the pod first...outside of it also making no sense it also isn't supported by any rules ether.


Except we've already quoted other raw that makes this possibke. It's your fault you've buried the dozen quotes several pages back, feel free to go reread this entire thread to find them.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





SGTPozy wrote:
When rolling for a combined unit you can only use benefits that everything in the combined unit has.

Citation required.

If a Gey Knight character was in an IG squad and the squad received the monster hunter order; would the Grey Knight gain it? Yes. This is why allies break the game as why would this Grey Knight accept orders from an IG?

No, because IG orders only apply to models from an IG codex iirc.

Back on topic, does the drop pod have RoT? No? Therefore it cannot be used as both units do not have it.

Rules to support statements are cool. You should try giving some.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
You roll for the combined unit - what allows you to use part of the combined unit to set when you can turn up? Nothing in the combined unit rules allows you to inspect each unit component, reveal when it is able to roll, and set the "best" one as the roll and turn for the combined unit.

I must make a Reserve roll for a combined unit. How do I determine what that roll is?

Ignore what the makeup of the combined unit is - cite the rules telling you what and when to roll.

It tells you that you can make a single roll. It gives you no rules on how to resolve conflicts on when you can roll

Which was my point. Cite permission to pick the turn one roll, over the turn two roll.

I'm asking genuinely - I do not believe the rules cover this. So if I can only make one roll, and I can roll turn two and break no rules, or turn one but break a rule, which one do I go for ?

Confoo - you must deploy according to the DS rules. Nothing in the DPA rules allow you to override this. If it does, cite it.

Your case has not been proven. Summarise.
Grey - fab, I will not address you further.
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





SGTPozy wrote:
Guys, stop being idiotic and look up page 104.

Would that be in the brb, the gk codex, the sw codex, the blood as gel codex, or romeo and Juliet?

Or is it page 104 of my psychology book?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





nosferatu1001 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
You roll for the combined unit - what allows you to use part of the combined unit to set when you can turn up? Nothing in the combined unit rules allows you to inspect each unit component, reveal when it is able to roll, and set the "best" one as the roll and turn for the combined unit.

I must make a Reserve roll for a combined unit. How do I determine what that roll is?

Ignore what the makeup of the combined unit is - cite the rules telling you what and when to roll.

It tells you that you can make a single roll. It gives you no rules on how to resolve conflicts on when you can roll

Which was my point. Cite permission to pick the turn one roll, over the turn two roll.

I'm asking genuinely - I do not believe the rules cover this. So if I can only make one roll, and I can roll turn two and break no rules, or turn one but break a rule, which one do I go for ?

What. Rule. Is. Broken. By. Rolling. Turn. One.

You've continuously asserted that the pod *must* come in turn 2 but have utterly failed to provide a rule proving that. It doesn't exist. Stop saying it does.
The pod must roll "as normal". Normal for a Combined Reserves unit that has access to RoT is turn 1. No rule is broken.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wow. That's. Impressive. Failing. To. Answer. My. Request. In. A. Deliberately. Provocative. Manner.

The pod must roll as normal, what's normal for a non nsf pod? Turn two.

What allows you to consider the pods "as normal" when you're in an abnormal situation - seriously the rules aren't covering this.

I'm done attempting to engage you. I assume you're having a bad day, as you're normally better than this.
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





A combined unit is still a NSF unit, giving the pod permission to override the normal turn two reserves via basic vs advanced on page 13 brb.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Wow. That's. Impressive. Failing. To. Answer. My. Request. In. A. Deliberately. Provocative. Manner.

The pod must roll as normal, what's normal for a non nsf pod? Turn two.

What allows you to consider the pods "as normal" when you're in an abnormal situation - seriously the rules aren't covering this.

I'm done attempting to engage you. I assume you're having a bad day, as you're normally better than this.

You're not rolling for the pod. You're rolling for the combined unit.
The pod has literally no restriction on when it can come in - you've invented one.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





A combined unit is still a NSF unit, giving the pod permission to override the normal turn two reserves via basic vs advanced on page 13 brb.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

SO, this doesn't appear to be still going anywhere new, so I think it's time to give it a rest.


If in doubt, ask your opponent. One day GW might rediscover the glorious lost art of the FAQ.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: