Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 18:52:39
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
SGTPozy wrote:When rolling for a combined unit you can only use benefits that everything in the combined unit has.
[CITATION NEEDED]
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 18:54:13
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
SGTPozy wrote:When rolling for a combined unit you can only use benefits that everything in the combined unit has.
If a Gey Knight character was in an IG squad and the squad received the monster hunter order; would the Grey Knight gain it? Yes. This is why allies break the game as why would this Grey Knight accept orders from an IG?
Back on topic, does the drop pod have RoT? No? Therefore it cannot be used as both units do not have it.
Rule quote, please
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 18:54:16
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
SGTPozy wrote:When rolling for a combined unit you can only use benefits that everything in the combined unit has.
This is where a rules quote would be nice. I haven't found such a restriction.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 18:54:34
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 18:56:22
Subject: Re:Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Omnipotent Necron Overlord
|
greytalon666 wrote: Xenomancers wrote:confoo22 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:The Drop Pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. The Passengers must:
"Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must immediately disembark."
Ok, so the drop pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. Why exactly does placing the drop pod not satisfy this requirement?
And btw, codex rules always superseded BRB rules when they disagree. Don't have the BRB in front of me so I can't find the exact passage that says that, but i'm pretty sure it's somewhere in first few pages.
Says that no where I am sure.
Furthermore the codex says nothing about how you would deploy the unit. So there isn't a disagreement. It's just an inconsistent dead end. Sure you can make the roll but you can't legally place the unit. Therefore it's fail. (talking about the purifiers ofc)
Page 13, basic vs advanced, last sentence. You're welcome.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Xenomancers wrote:confoo22 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:The Drop Pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. The Passengers must:
"Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must immediately disembark."
Ok, so the drop pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. Why exactly does placing the drop pod not satisfy this requirement?
And btw, codex rules always superseded BRB rules when they disagree. Don't have the BRB in front of me so I can't find the exact passage that says that, but i'm pretty sure it's somewhere in first few pages.
Says that no where I am sure.
Furthermore the codex says nothing about how you would deploy the unit. So there isn't a disagreement. It's just an inconsistent dead end. Sure you can make the roll but you can't legally place the unit. Therefore it's fail. (talking about the purifiers ofc)
It does not fail, per the combined unit rules where it explicitly states they arrive together by rolling for the unit and/OR their transport/ ic.
Again, your welcome for me looking up all those rules for you. Now please, cease your useless nu-uhs and actually *add* something to this, or acknoiwkedge you are wrong and move on.
We've already proven you can't place the purifiers if you roll for them per the deep strike placement rules. Combined reserves roll rule does not override deep strike placement rules which require you to place the 1 model for the unit you are rolling for and roll scatter...Since purifiers don't have deep strike it is not possible - then furthermore it is impossible for the unit to disembark from the drop pod if they are already on the table. 2 impossibilities that you guys so quickly ignore and just make up a situation that works for your liking. No - you can't roll for the purifiers and then deploy the pod first...outside of it also making no sense it also isn't supported by any rules ether.
|
If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 18:56:27
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
So you say it applies in one instance but not the other? Way to cherry pick. Please, quote me the rule, with page number and paragraph number, where it says the entire combined unit has to be from a NSF detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 18:58:22
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Removed by insaniak. Please see Dakka's Rule #1.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 19:06:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 18:58:31
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
The Drop Pod doesn't need RoT in order for the Purifiers to make a Reserves Roll on turn 1. The Purifiers are making the roll for the combined unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:00:37
Subject: Re:Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Xenomancers wrote:greytalon666 wrote: Xenomancers wrote:confoo22 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:The Drop Pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. The Passengers must:
"Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must immediately disembark."
Ok, so the drop pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. Why exactly does placing the drop pod not satisfy this requirement?
And btw, codex rules always superseded BRB rules when they disagree. Don't have the BRB in front of me so I can't find the exact passage that says that, but i'm pretty sure it's somewhere in first few pages.
Says that no where I am sure.
Furthermore the codex says nothing about how you would deploy the unit. So there isn't a disagreement. It's just an inconsistent dead end. Sure you can make the roll but you can't legally place the unit. Therefore it's fail. (talking about the purifiers ofc)
Page 13, basic vs advanced, last sentence. You're welcome.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Xenomancers wrote:confoo22 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:The Drop Pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. The Passengers must:
"Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must immediately disembark."
Ok, so the drop pod must "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table" first. Why exactly does placing the drop pod not satisfy this requirement?
And btw, codex rules always superseded BRB rules when they disagree. Don't have the BRB in front of me so I can't find the exact passage that says that, but i'm pretty sure it's somewhere in first few pages.
Says that no where I am sure.
Furthermore the codex says nothing about how you would deploy the unit. So there isn't a disagreement. It's just an inconsistent dead end. Sure you can make the roll but you can't legally place the unit. Therefore it's fail. (talking about the purifiers ofc)
It does not fail, per the combined unit rules where it explicitly states they arrive together by rolling for the unit and/OR their transport/ ic.
Again, your welcome for me looking up all those rules for you. Now please, cease your useless nu-uhs and actually *add* something to this, or acknoiwkedge you are wrong and move on.
We've already proven you can't place the purifiers if you roll for them per the deep strike placement rules. Combined reserves roll rule does not override deep strike placement rules which require you to place the 1 model for the unit you are rolling for and roll scatter...Since purifiers don't have deep strike it is not possible - then furthermore it is impossible for the unit to disembark from the drop pod if they are already on the table. 2 impossibilities that you guys so quickly ignore and just make up a situation that works for your liking. No - you can't roll for the purifiers and then deploy the pod first...outside of it also making no sense it also isn't supported by any rules ether.
Except we've already quoted other raw that makes this possibke. It's your fault you've buried the dozen quotes several pages back, feel free to go reread this entire thread to find them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:01:33
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
SGTPozy wrote:When rolling for a combined unit you can only use benefits that everything in the combined unit has.
Citation required.
If a Gey Knight character was in an IG squad and the squad received the monster hunter order; would the Grey Knight gain it? Yes. This is why allies break the game as why would this Grey Knight accept orders from an IG?
No, because IG orders only apply to models from an IG codex iirc.
Back on topic, does the drop pod have RoT? No? Therefore it cannot be used as both units do not have it.
Rules to support statements are cool. You should try giving some.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:01:57
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:You roll for the combined unit - what allows you to use part of the combined unit to set when you can turn up? Nothing in the combined unit rules allows you to inspect each unit component, reveal when it is able to roll, and set the "best" one as the roll and turn for the combined unit.
I must make a Reserve roll for a combined unit. How do I determine what that roll is?
Ignore what the makeup of the combined unit is - cite the rules telling you what and when to roll.
It tells you that you can make a single roll. It gives you no rules on how to resolve conflicts on when you can roll
Which was my point. Cite permission to pick the turn one roll, over the turn two roll.
I'm asking genuinely - I do not believe the rules cover this. So if I can only make one roll, and I can roll turn two and break no rules, or turn one but break a rule, which one do I go for ?
Confoo - you must deploy according to the DS rules. Nothing in the DPA rules allow you to override this. If it does, cite it.
Your case has not been proven. Summarise.
Grey - fab, I will not address you further.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:02:23
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Would that be in the brb, the gk codex, the sw codex, the blood as gel codex, or romeo and Juliet?
Or is it page 104 of my psychology book?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:08:48
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:You roll for the combined unit - what allows you to use part of the combined unit to set when you can turn up? Nothing in the combined unit rules allows you to inspect each unit component, reveal when it is able to roll, and set the "best" one as the roll and turn for the combined unit.
I must make a Reserve roll for a combined unit. How do I determine what that roll is?
Ignore what the makeup of the combined unit is - cite the rules telling you what and when to roll.
It tells you that you can make a single roll. It gives you no rules on how to resolve conflicts on when you can roll
Which was my point. Cite permission to pick the turn one roll, over the turn two roll.
I'm asking genuinely - I do not believe the rules cover this. So if I can only make one roll, and I can roll turn two and break no rules, or turn one but break a rule, which one do I go for ?
What. Rule. Is. Broken. By. Rolling. Turn. One.
You've continuously asserted that the pod *must* come in turn 2 but have utterly failed to provide a rule proving that. It doesn't exist. Stop saying it does.
The pod must roll "as normal". Normal for a Combined Reserves unit that has access to RoT is turn 1. No rule is broken.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:11:39
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Wow. That's. Impressive. Failing. To. Answer. My. Request. In. A. Deliberately. Provocative. Manner.
The pod must roll as normal, what's normal for a non nsf pod? Turn two.
What allows you to consider the pods "as normal" when you're in an abnormal situation - seriously the rules aren't covering this.
I'm done attempting to engage you. I assume you're having a bad day, as you're normally better than this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:15:13
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
A combined unit is still a NSF unit, giving the pod permission to override the normal turn two reserves via basic vs advanced on page 13 brb.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:15:22
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Wow. That's. Impressive. Failing. To. Answer. My. Request. In. A. Deliberately. Provocative. Manner.
The pod must roll as normal, what's normal for a non nsf pod? Turn two.
What allows you to consider the pods "as normal" when you're in an abnormal situation - seriously the rules aren't covering this.
I'm done attempting to engage you. I assume you're having a bad day, as you're normally better than this.
You're not rolling for the pod. You're rolling for the combined unit.
The pod has literally no restriction on when it can come in - you've invented one.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:15:27
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
A combined unit is still a NSF unit, giving the pod permission to override the normal turn two reserves via basic vs advanced on page 13 brb.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:21:28
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
SO, this doesn't appear to be still going anywhere new, so I think it's time to give it a rest.
If in doubt, ask your opponent. One day GW might rediscover the glorious lost art of the FAQ.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|