Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 17:23:14
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
NightHowler wrote:Whatever, I don't really care.
It's just a general plea that the players also consider the health of the community when fighting tooth and nail for one minor advantage of such questionable validity.
I've seen RAW arguments that you can deepstrike a fortification, so this thread is clearly not the worst ever, it's just when I go to a tournament and some guy across the table looks me square in the eye and says that he can do something... if he has to go through 6 pages worth of rules lawyering to explain how he does it, he probably shouldn't be doing it.
I'm curious - how many pages does it take to resolve a shooting attack?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 17:24:56
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
confoo22 wrote: Happyjew wrote:See my issue is from the Deep Strike special rule. "Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units". Since the Purifiers are not Deep Striking (despite being in Deep Strike Reserves), you cannot roll for them, you are rolling for the Pod, and the Purifiers tag along.
The rule for Deep Strike specifically says that Deep Strike and Deep Strike Reserves are interchangeable. Therefore, if something is in Deep Strike Reserves, it's considered to be Deep Striking.
So do you place a model from the Purifiers and roll scatter, or do you disembark from a vehicle? One is Deep Striking, the other is not.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 17:45:44
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
NightHowler wrote:Whatever, I don't really care.
It's just a general plea that the players also consider the health of the community when fighting tooth and nail for one minor advantage of such questionable validity.
I've seen RAW arguments that you can deepstrike a fortification, so this thread is clearly not the worst ever, it's just when I go to a tournament and some guy across the table looks me square in the eye and says that he can do something... if he has to go through 6 pages worth of rules lawyering to explain how he does it, he probably shouldn't be doing it.
I pointed to three rules to make my argument (combined units reserves, units arriving from reserves in transports, and Deep Strike), not 6 pages worth of rules lawyering. And if I think I'm right I'm going to argue my point, not fold the moment someone disagrees with me or else I might as well not bring it up at all.
Happyjew wrote:confoo22 wrote: Happyjew wrote:See my issue is from the Deep Strike special rule. "Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units". Since the Purifiers are not Deep Striking (despite being in Deep Strike Reserves), you cannot roll for them, you are rolling for the Pod, and the Purifiers tag along.
The rule for Deep Strike specifically says that Deep Strike and Deep Strike Reserves are interchangeable. Therefore, if something is in Deep Strike Reserves, it's considered to be Deep Striking.
So do you place a model from the Purifiers and roll scatter, or do you disembark from a vehicle? One is Deep Striking, the other is not.
The act of rolling to scatter is not the defining crux of Deep Strike. When a unit arrives from Deep Strike Reserves it's deep striking, as per the rules. Units inside of transports that are deep striking are considered to be in Deep Strike Reserves along with the transport, as per the rules. Therefore, the NSF special rules trigger for the purifiers because they are in DS Reserves, and then again when they arrive from DS Reserves, as per the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 17:53:15
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
That's awfully accusatory. I was arguing in favor of RoT working in this case, and I don't even own a Space Marine army, let alone grey knights. I just think the argument in favor is sound, and if my opponent wants to DS his purifiers in a pod with RoT, then who am I to ruin his fun if his logic is sound?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 21:02:23
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Everyone stop talking and pay attention to me now!
That's better, to the people claiming that they can use RoT on an allied drop pod because "the rules don't say that I can't," what do you think about the following?:
A Tactical Marine can replace his bolter with a cyclone missile launcher because the rules don't say that he can't. Sure, they say what he *can* take as an upgrade, but it doesn't say that he *can not* take the cyclone missile launcher.
A Rhino can take heavy bolter sponsons because the rules don't say that it cannot.
Do you see how idiotic that reasoning is? Anyway, I doubt the rule was written with ally abuse in mind when the codex was being written.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 21:30:04
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
SGTPozy wrote:Everyone stop talking and pay attention to me now!
That's better, to the people claiming that they can use RoT on an allied drop pod because "the rules don't say that I can't," what do you think about the following?:
A Tactical Marine can replace his bolter with a cyclone missile launcher because the rules don't say that he can't. Sure, they say what he *can* take as an upgrade, but it doesn't say that he *can not* take the cyclone missile launcher.
A Rhino can take heavy bolter sponsons because the rules don't say that it cannot.
Do you see how idiotic that reasoning is? Anyway, I doubt the rule was written with ally abuse in mind when the codex was being written.
False argument. We are saying that RoT can be used with an Allied Drop a Pod because the rules say we can, not because there are no rules saying we can't. This thread has been quite clear on what the rules support, and what the rules don't. Your attempt to add to the debate with fallacious example adds nothing other than to show you have not bothered to read what people are posting.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 21:35:13
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
SGTPozy wrote:Everyone stop talking and pay attention to me now!
That's better, to the people claiming that they can use RoT on an allied drop pod because "the rules don't say that I can't," what do you think about the following?:
A Tactical Marine can replace his bolter with a cyclone missile launcher because the rules don't say that he can't. Sure, they say what he *can* take as an upgrade, but it doesn't say that he *can not* take the cyclone missile launcher.
A Rhino can take heavy bolter sponsons because the rules don't say that it cannot.
Do you see how idiotic that reasoning is? Anyway, I doubt the rule was written with ally abuse in mind when the codex was being written.
Faulty logic made to create a false equivalency, or what is commonly referred to in the writing world as "a plea to ignorance." Nobody is making the argument that you can do it because the rules don't say that you can't and no one should ever expect to win an argument based off of that. In fact, numerous rules have been cited to explain why you can do it (the most relevant is the Combined Reserve Units pg 135). The only reason the "rules don't say I can't" argument was even brought up was because people were trying to make it sound like every step in the process needed to be spelled out and specifically allowed in order for this to be valid, when the generic rule covering the situation should have been enough. Since a reading of the rules can can tell you that this is a permitted action (read back through this post for the rules citations), then the onus should be on the naysayers to disprove this by citing a rule that disallows this series of events. What people are actually saying in this thread isn't "the rules don't say I can't," it's "this rule says I can, so show me the rule that overturns it."
And as for your doubt, you're certainly entitled to your opinion, but it is just an opinion after all, and quite frankly you don't know what the intention was. SW codex came out right before the GK one, so for all you know this is exactly what the writers had in mind when they created the rule. I'm pretty sure that GW is ok with "ally abuse" if it encourages GK players to buy some drop pods.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/01/28 21:56:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 22:26:54
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
SGTPozy wrote:Everyone stop talking and pay attention to me now!
That's better, to the people claiming that they can use RoT on an allied drop pod because "the rules don't say that I can't," what do you think about the following?:
A Tactical Marine can replace his bolter with a cyclone missile launcher because the rules don't say that he can't. Sure, they say what he *can* take as an upgrade, but it doesn't say that he *can not* take the cyclone missile launcher.
A Rhino can take heavy bolter sponsons because the rules don't say that it cannot.
Do you see how idiotic that reasoning is? Anyway, I doubt the rule was written with ally abuse in mind when the codex was being written.
The rules actually say that you CANNOT take a cyclone missle launcher. The rules says WHERE you can purchase your upgrades from, and those upgrades are listed with everything you can purchase. If it isn't listed there, then they rules say that you cannot purchase it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 22:54:12
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, actually, the rules do not say you "cannot" take a cyclone. They are just silent on allowing you to take one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 23:01:09
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
The rules are explicit on where you can take upgrades from, so they are implying where you cannot. Now, please, get back on topic and stop throwing out scarecrows.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 09:05:17
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
....meaning they still do not say you "cannot" take a cyclone. I was correcting your obviously false assertion.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 09:09:59
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
They very much so imply that you can't. You are very off topic and trying to grasp at straws for a non-raw, ra(possibly)I argument.
If you have any actual, factual, rules to deny any of the permissions that have been quoted, please post them. Otherwise, accept that you are wrong by raw, and move on.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 09:19:41
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sigh. No, you stated the rules state you cannot. Clearly they do not state that, because the rules never use those words. You're great at changing approach hoping no one notices, from states to implies.
Your next sentence is just bizarre - I think you have me and pozy mixed up. Here's a tip - we have different names.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 09:38:12
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Belittling AND off topic. Welcome to ignore. You have nothing useful to add to the conversation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 09:50:58
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
greytalon666 wrote:The rules are explicit on where you can take upgrades from, so they are implying where you cannot. Now, please, get back on topic and stop throwing out scarecrows.
You used the word "implying", and I'd say that the RoT rule implies that the tactic will not work as the rule is Teleportation and drop pods do not teleport. Automatically Appended Next Post: jeffersonian000 wrote:SGTPozy wrote:Everyone stop talking and pay attention to me now!
That's better, to the people claiming that they can use RoT on an allied drop pod because "the rules don't say that I can't," what do you think about the following?:
A Tactical Marine can replace his bolter with a cyclone missile launcher because the rules don't say that he can't. Sure, they say what he *can* take as an upgrade, but it doesn't say that he *can not* take the cyclone missile launcher.
A Rhino can take heavy bolter sponsons because the rules don't say that it cannot.
Do you see how idiotic that reasoning is? Anyway, I doubt the rule was written with ally abuse in mind when the codex was being written.
False argument. We are saying that RoT can be used with an Allied Drop a Pod because the rules say we can, not because there are no rules saying we can't. This thread has been quite clear on what the rules support, and what the rules don't. Your attempt to add to the debate with fallacious example adds nothing other than to show you have not bothered to read what people are posting.
SJ
I don't think that the rules have been clear a how can Purifiers be held in deep strike reserves if they don't have deep strike? Sure, you can 'combine' them with a drop pod but the Purifiers didn't originally have deep strike so why should it be valid?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 09:55:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 10:14:51
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
SGTPozy wrote: greytalon666 wrote:The rules are explicit on where you can take upgrades from, so they are implying where you cannot. Now, please, get back on topic and stop throwing out scarecrows.
You used the word "implying", and I'd say that the RoT rule implies that the tactic will not work as the rule is Teleportation and drop pods do not teleport.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
jeffersonian000 wrote:SGTPozy wrote:Everyone stop talking and pay attention to me now!
That's better, to the people claiming that they can use RoT on an allied drop pod because "the rules don't say that I can't," what do you think about the following?:
A Tactical Marine can replace his bolter with a cyclone missile launcher because the rules don't say that he can't. Sure, they say what he *can* take as an upgrade, but it doesn't say that he *can not* take the cyclone missile launcher.
A Rhino can take heavy bolter sponsons because the rules don't say that it cannot.
Do you see how idiotic that reasoning is? Anyway, I doubt the rule was written with ally abuse in mind when the codex was being written.
False argument. We are saying that RoT can be used with an Allied Drop a Pod because the rules say we can, not because there are no rules saying we can't. This thread has been quite clear on what the rules support, and what the rules don't. Your attempt to add to the debate with fallacious example adds nothing other than to show you have not bothered to read what people are posting.
SJ
I don't think that the rules have been clear a how can Purifiers be held in deep strike reserves if they don't have deep strike? Sure, you can 'combine' them with a drop pod but the Purifiers didn't originally have deep strike so why should it be valid?
Naming it rites of teleportation and then saying it excludes drop pods because they don't teleport isn't implying anything rules wise, because the name of a rule isn't a rule., you are trying to make a rai argument.
Secondly, when a unit is inside of a drop pod, BOTH units are held in deep strike reserve. This has been gone overnAT LEAST once per page of THIS specific argument. Feel free to read it anywhere I or anyone else has previously quoted.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 12:37:20
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
SGTPozy wrote: greytalon666 wrote:The rules are explicit on where you can take upgrades from, so they are implying where you cannot. Now, please, get back on topic and stop throwing out scarecrows. You used the word "implying", and I'd say that the RoT rule implies that the tactic will not work as the rule is Teleportation and drop pods do not teleport. Automatically Appended Next Post: jeffersonian000 wrote:SGTPozy wrote:Everyone stop talking and pay attention to me now! That's better, to the people claiming that they can use RoT on an allied drop pod because "the rules don't say that I can't," what do you think about the following?: A Tactical Marine can replace his bolter with a cyclone missile launcher because the rules don't say that he can't. Sure, they say what he *can* take as an upgrade, but it doesn't say that he *can not* take the cyclone missile launcher. A Rhino can take heavy bolter sponsons because the rules don't say that it cannot. Do you see how idiotic that reasoning is? Anyway, I doubt the rule was written with ally abuse in mind when the codex was being written.
False argument. We are saying that RoT can be used with an Allied Drop a Pod because the rules say we can, not because there are no rules saying we can't. This thread has been quite clear on what the rules support, and what the rules don't. Your attempt to add to the debate with fallacious example adds nothing other than to show you have not bothered to read what people are posting. SJ I don't think that the rules have been clear a how can Purifiers be held in deep strike reserves if they don't have deep strike? Sure, you can 'combine' them with a drop pod but the Purifiers didn't originally have deep strike so why should it be valid? I can answer that one with some RaW from the Codex: "Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserves." The Purifiers are indeed held in Deep Strike Reserves. The question is, does the RoT transfer through "combined reserves roll"? (Not completely convinced yet, good arguments on both sides)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 12:37:42
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 12:50:59
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Rites effectively "transfers" to the Drop Pod due to the language of the Combined Unit rules directing all the units in the Combined unit to arrive together on a single die roll, while also giving the player the option of which of the units in the Combined unit to roll for. The Drop Pod never actually gains the Rite of Teleportation benefit, however, the Drop Pod does arrive with the NSF Purifiers that do have the RoT benefit.
SJ
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 12:51:59
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 13:15:26
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Omnipotent Necron Overlord
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:Rites effectively "transfers" to the Drop Pod due to the language of the Combined Unit rules directing all the units in the Combined unit to arrive together on a single die roll, while also giving the player the option of which of the units in the Combined unit to roll for. The Drop Pod never actually gains the Rite of Teleportation benefit, however, the Drop Pod does arrive with the NSF Purifiers that do have the RoT benefit.
SJ
This is clearly abuse of the rules but I can't argue with the "combined unit roll" though clearly this rules intent was to allow you to roll a single dice for an IC and his unit when rolling from reserves. IF GW cared about it's game it would be immediately FAQed. I don't see a TO allowing this ether - if he has any grasp of the game. Automatically Appended Next Post: I'd also be interested to know the order of things in your interpretation. Half your pods arrive on turn 1 rounded up and the rest arrive as normal. Do you roll for rites first? How can you when half your pods automatically arrive on first turn? Lets say you can do that or have to do that....do the pods that are arriving from rites count towards your drop pod total for drop pod assault?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 13:23:23
If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 13:26:54
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:Rites effectively "transfers" to the Drop Pod due to the language of the Combined Unit rules directing all the units in the Combined unit to arrive together on a single die roll, while also giving the player the option of which of the units in the Combined unit to roll for. The Drop Pod never actually gains the Rite of Teleportation benefit, however, the Drop Pod does arrive with the NSF Purifiers that do have the RoT benefit.
SJ
I agree with the conclusion, as Rigeld demonstrated earlier, but will yet again point out that the underline above is incorrect, and recommend you read the entirety of pages 5 and 6 again, or at least this post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:What theyre stating is that you *cannot* claim to be rolling solely for the Purifiers, as you *cannot* comply with the requisite rules if you do so - you *cannot* BOTH place a model from the unit that is arriving (the purifier unit) AND have them disembark from the Drop Pod *after* the drop pod lands.
The Combined Unit rule allows you to roll once for the entire combined unit, not specific parts of it...
Xenomancers wrote:This is clearly abuse of the rules but I can't argue with the "combined unit roll" though clearly this rules intent was to allow you to roll a single dice for an IC and his unit when rolling from reserves. IF GW cared about it's game it would be immediately FAQed. I don't see a TO allowing this ether - if he has any grasp of the game.
I am also still in doubt as to whether the "combined unit roll" covers RoT transferring, but other situations (such as ICs) can allow it, so i would not see why not.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 13:52:11
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
Xenomancers wrote:This is clearly abuse of the rules but I can't argue with the "combined unit roll" though clearly this rules intent was to allow you to roll a single dice for an IC and his unit when rolling from reserves. IF GW cared about it's game it would be immediately FAQed. I don't see a TO allowing this ether - if he has any grasp of the game.
The idea of this being "abuse" is solely your opinion. This is hardly a game breaking combo, and with the moving of Dedicated Transports to Fast Attack, this could be exactly what the rules writers intended. You simply don't know enough of the rules writing process or thoughts to make that call
Xenomancers wrote:I'd also be interested to know the order of things in your interpretation. Half your pods arrive on turn 1 rounded up and the rest arrive as normal. Do you roll for rites first? How can you when half your pods automatically arrive on first turn? Lets say you can do that or have to do that....do the pods that are arriving from rites count towards your drop pod total for drop pod assault?
The drop pods that qualify for the drop pod assault rule arrive automatically while all the rest roll for reserves. That is stated in the rules, so it doesn't matter what order you place them on the table, all that's affected is whether or not you roll for them to arrive.
BlackTalos wrote:I agree with the conclusion, as Rigeld demonstrated earlier, but will yet again point out that the underline above is incorrect, and recommend you read the entirety of pages 5 and 6 again, or at least this post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:What theyre stating is that you *cannot* claim to be rolling solely for the Purifiers, as you *cannot* comply with the requisite rules if you do so - you *cannot* BOTH place a model from the unit that is arriving (the purifier unit) AND have them disembark from the Drop Pod *after* the drop pod lands.
The Combined Unit rule allows you to roll once for the entire combined unit, not specific parts of it...
I've made this argument elsewhere but I will refer to you the Combined Reserve Units rule on page 135. I don't want to reprint the entire rule since I'm unclear on whether or not that's allowed, but I will tell you that it states that during deployment you must decide if any ICs join a unit and if they're in a transport and then it states that they must all arrive together. However, the relevant part is the last sentence, which says this: "when making a Reserve Roll (see below) for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/or its Independent Character/Transport vehicle."
Thanks to the and/or and the slashes there, you can read the sentence this way: When making a reserve roll for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit or its Independent Character or its Transport. Though it is a combined unit, this rule allows you to pick which component you are rolling for when making a reserve roll, in this case the purifiers, who get to roll on turn one thanks to the modifier in NSF and the fact that they are in Deep Strike Reserves. And since everything must arrive together, it all does so via the Drop Pod because that's their transport. And again I will say, Rites of Teleportation is never granted to the Drop Pod, it's only ever on the purifiers, but since they're using the pod as a transport it all arrives at the same time, on turn one (assuming you pass the roll, of course).
Quite frankly, the more I look at this I just don't see how this is false. The rules are fairly clear on how Combined units rolling for reserves works, and the fact that you are placed in Deep Strike Reserves. If someone can point to an actual rule that refutes this, please do, but RAI arguments are not a counter to the facts presented here.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/01/29 13:56:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 13:58:04
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
no one has shown that you are allowed to use special rules that modify when things can come into reserves by only one of the units in a combined reserves roll having the ability.
There is no actual RaW that you can ignore the restrictions on when things may arrive.
You have permission to roll for units placed in DS reserves starting turn 1 if they are from the NSF.
So you have an combined unit:
Drop PoD [SW Detachment]
Purifier Squad [NSFDetachment]
one has permission to roll for arrival on turn 1, the other does not.
Combined reserves do not give you permission to extend special rules across the units, and it is a combined roll not a combined unit where you get to count the special rules for any unit for all the units.
As you are not allowed to roll for one of the units until turn 2, you may not make a combined roll for both- ie 1 roll in place of rolling separately for both, until turn 2 because one of the units is not allowed to arrive yet, or roll to arrive.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 14:07:23
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
No, it's demonstrably a combined unit - the rule calls it that.
And please cite the rule denying the Purifiers the ability to roll to arrive turn 1. They demonstrably have it and you're denying them that rule. Cite the denial.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 14:12:38
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
blaktoof wrote:no one has shown that you are allowed to use special rules that modify when things can come into reserves by only one of the units in a combined reserves roll having the ability.
There is no actual RaW that you can ignore the restrictions on when things may arrive.
You have permission to roll for units placed in DS reserves starting turn 1 if they are from the NSF.
So you have an combined unit:
Drop PoD [ SW Detachment]
Purifier Squad [NSFDetachment]
one has permission to roll for arrival on turn 1, the other does not.
Combined reserves do not give you permission to extend special rules across the units, and it is a combined roll not a combined unit where you get to count the special rules for any unit for all the units.
As you are not allowed to roll for one of the units until turn 2, you may not make a combined roll for both- ie 1 roll in place of rolling separately for both, until turn 2 because one of the units is not allowed to arrive yet, or roll to arrive.
Comm Relays modify the rolls to arrive, which is a specific special rule that modifies what Turn a Combined a Unit may arrive by directly effecting the roll. That's just one example.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 14:13:32
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
comm relays modifies the roll to arrive, it does not give the ability to arrive a turn the unit count not arrive. Automatically Appended Next Post: rigeld2 wrote:No, it's demonstrably a combined unit - the rule calls it that.
And please cite the rule denying the Purifiers the ability to roll to arrive turn 1. They demonstrably have it and you're denying them that rule. Cite the denial.
again you fail to cite a single rule supporting special rules for one unit to extend to another.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 14:13:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 14:30:24
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
blaktoof wrote:rigeld2 wrote:No, it's demonstrably a combined unit - the rule calls it that.
And please cite the rule denying the Purifiers the ability to roll to arrive turn 1. They demonstrably have it and you're denying them that rule. Cite the denial.
again you fail to cite a single rule supporting special rules for one unit to extend to another.
It's been cited repeatedly in this thread.
It's called "Combined Reserve Units". I'm sure you are just confused because you thought it was called "Combined Reserve Rolls". I'm glad I could clear up your confusion.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 14:32:25
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
confoo22 wrote:Though it is a combined unit, this rule allows you to pick which component you are rolling for when making a reserve roll, in this case the purifiers, who get to roll on turn one thanks to the modifier in NSF and the fact that they are in Deep Strike Reserves. And since everything must arrive together, it all does so via the Drop Pod because that's their transport.
There is indeed one rule that will make your certainty quoted above fail:
"Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"
What does "them" refer to in the sentence above? The "Deep Striking units" you are rolling for.
So, as per your argument, you may:
A) "roll a single dice for the unit or its (...)Transport vehicle." You choose to roll for the Transport Vehicle.
B) "roll a single dice for the unit or its (...)Transport vehicle." You choose to roll for the Unit of purifiers.
You then have to follow, per RaW: "then deploy them as follows".
I will insist on the rule i've quoted above, that you must deploy the Unit you rolled for.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 14:50:43
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
blaktoof wrote:no one has shown that you are allowed to use special rules that modify when things can come into reserves by only one of the units in a combined reserves roll having the ability.
There is no actual RaW that you can ignore the restrictions on when things may arrive.
You have permission to roll for units placed in DS reserves starting turn 1 if they are from the NSF.
So you have an combined unit:
Drop PoD [SW Detachment]
Purifier Squad [NSFDetachment]
one has permission to roll for arrival on turn 1, the other does not.
Combined reserves do not give you permission to extend special rules across the units, and it is a combined roll not a combined unit where you get to count the special rules for any unit for all the units.
As you are not allowed to roll for one of the units until turn 2, you may not make a combined roll for both- ie 1 roll in place of rolling separately for both, until turn 2 because one of the units is not allowed to arrive yet, or roll to arrive.
I feel like you missed the entire last paragraph of my post. Rites of Teleportation is not, nor will ever be, on the Drop Pod. But in this case it doesn't matter, because the drop pod isn't what's receiving the modifier, it's the purifiers. The rule that allows them to modify the turn they roll for reserves is RoT, so I will refer you to that when you ask me to cite a rule. And I've already explained why the purifiers get to roll even when the Drop Pod doesn't, and why they all arrive together, a la the Combined Units rule for reserves, so I will refer you to that on page 135 of the BRB. Please cite a rule that countermands this.
BlackTalos wrote:confoo22 wrote:Though it is a combined unit, this rule allows you to pick which component you are rolling for when making a reserve roll, in this case the purifiers, who get to roll on turn one thanks to the modifier in NSF and the fact that they are in Deep Strike Reserves. And since everything must arrive together, it all does so via the Drop Pod because that's their transport.
There is indeed one rule that will make your certainty quoted above fail:
"Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"
What does "them" refer to in the sentence above? The "Deep Striking units" you are rolling for.
So, as per your argument, you may:
A) "roll a single dice for the unit or its (...)Transport vehicle." You choose to roll for the Transport Vehicle.
B) "roll a single dice for the unit or its (...)Transport vehicle." You choose to roll for the Unit of purifiers.
You then have to follow, per RaW: "then deploy them as follows".
I will insist on the rule i've quoted above, that you must deploy the Unit you rolled for.
Correct, you must deploy the unit you roll for, in this case, the purifiers. And since you're deploying them you must deploy the transport they are in because of combined units in reserve rule. Because they are coming from deep strike reserves and since they must arrive together with the purifiers embarked you deep strike the drop pod as you normally would. The purifiers are being deployed by deep strike (remember that arriving from deep strike reserves is the same as deep striking thanks to the deep strike rule), so the rule you're citing is satisfied, but there is nothing there that restricts the drop pod from arriving via deep strike as the transport for the purifiers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 14:54:53
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
the point is, the combined reserves rule does not allow you to ignore the restriction of when some of the units can arrive based on the permission of one of the units. Which you and everyone else suggesting this is valid has ignored and not addressed.
as has been pointed out to you multiple times
the purifies do not get to roll.
you make 1 roll for the combined units when they are available to arrive, instead of separate rolls for each one.
The rules do not state, nor even suggest, that you make 1 roll based on one of the units in the combined reserves and then arrive all the units based on solely when that unit may arrive.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/01/29 14:56:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 14:55:07
Subject: Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
BlackTalos wrote:confoo22 wrote:Though it is a combined unit, this rule allows you to pick which component you are rolling for when making a reserve roll, in this case the purifiers, who get to roll on turn one thanks to the modifier in NSF and the fact that they are in Deep Strike Reserves. And since everything must arrive together, it all does so via the Drop Pod because that's their transport.
There is indeed one rule that will make your certainty quoted above fail:
"Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"
What does "them" refer to in the sentence above? The "Deep Striking units" you are rolling for.
So, as per your argument, you may:
A) "roll a single dice for the unit or its (...)Transport vehicle." You choose to roll for the Transport Vehicle.
B) "roll a single dice for the unit or its (...)Transport vehicle." You choose to roll for the Unit of purifiers.
You then have to follow, per RaW: "then deploy them as follows".
I will insist on the rule i've quoted above, that you must deploy the Unit you rolled for.
Insist all you want, we're just asking that you cite proof.
Deploying "them" is an accurate statement based on the wording of Combined Units, which means that as "proof", it's very weak. So weak, in fact that it supports the "NSF + DP + RoT = Legal" position as read ( RAW) rather than your position as you have implied ( RAI).
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
|