Switch Theme:

Nemesis Strike Formation and Allied Drop Pods  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

blaktoof wrote:
the point is, the combined reserves rule does not allow you to ignore the restriction of when some of the units can arrive based on the permission of one of the units. Which you and everyone else suggesting this is valid has ignored and not addressed.

as has been pointed out to you multiple times

the purifies do not get to roll.

you make 1 roll for the combined units when they are available to arrive, instead of separate rolls for each one.


The purifiers absolutely do get to roll - like, it's literally there in black ink. I have no idea how to refute your point other than showing you the same quote 50 times. The purifiers roll per RoT, then bring along their transport because of the Combined Unit rule. It isn't even hard.
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

 BlackTalos wrote:
confoo22 wrote:
Though it is a combined unit, this rule allows you to pick which component you are rolling for when making a reserve roll, in this case the purifiers, who get to roll on turn one thanks to the modifier in NSF and the fact that they are in Deep Strike Reserves. And since everything must arrive together, it all does so via the Drop Pod because that's their transport.


There is indeed one rule that will make your certainty quoted above fail:
"Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"


What does "them" refer to in the sentence above? The "Deep Striking units" you are rolling for.
So, as per your argument, you may:

A) "roll a single dice for the unit or its (...)Transport vehicle." You choose to roll for the Transport Vehicle.
B) "roll a single dice for the unit or its (...)Transport vehicle." You choose to roll for the Unit of purifiers.

You then have to follow, per RaW: "then deploy them as follows".

I will insist on the rule i've quoted above, that you must deploy the Unit you rolled for.


"them" refers to the Combined Unit. The rules for Combined Unit allows you to roll for a specific part of that Combined Unit in order to bring the entire unit... all thanks to GW's poor use of 'and/or'.

I really believe it was not intended, but RAW that's how it looks to me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 15:02:54


6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





blaktoof wrote:
the point is, the combined reserves rule does not allow you to ignore the restriction of when some of the units can arrive based on the permission of one of the units. Which you and everyone else suggesting this is valid has ignored and not addressed.

That's a lie - I have addressed it.

as has been pointed out to you multiple times

the purifies do not get to roll.

you make 1 roll for the combined units when they are available to arrive, instead of separate rolls for each one.

The rules do not state, nor even suggest, that you make 1 roll based on one of the units in the combined reserves and then arrive all the units based on solely when that unit may arrive.

Yes or no - are the Purifiers eligible to arrive on turn one? Simple question, just needs a one word answer.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





So still no rules to cite you can bring models that are not eligible to arrive using the special rule of a different unit?

got it, your failure to support your point is noted.
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





blaktoof wrote:
the point is, the combined reserves rule does not allow you to ignore the restriction of when some of the units can arrive based on the permission of one of the units. Which you and everyone else suggesting this is valid has ignored and not addressed.

as has been pointed out to you multiple times

the purifies do not get to roll.

you make 1 roll for the combined units when they are available to arrive, instead of separate rolls for each one.

The rules do not state, nor even suggest, that you make 1 roll based on one of the units in the combined reserves and then arrive all the units based on solely when that unit may arrive.


Except you haven't pointed that out at all. All you've done is insist that it can't be done, but you don't cite any rules that actually say you can't. When making a reserves roll you can make a single roll for any component and the entire unit arrives at the same time. The purifiers get to roll for reserves on turn one, that is when they are available to arrive. When they come in the drop pod comes in. There is nothing in the rules that says that a modifier for one component of the unit is automatically invalidated because they are in a combined unit. Since you already permitted by the NSF rules to roll on turn one if you are in DS reserves, you need something that countermands that, and I have yet to see a solid rule that does that.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Unit1126PLL wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
the point is, the combined reserves rule does not allow you to ignore the restriction of when some of the units can arrive based on the permission of one of the units. Which you and everyone else suggesting this is valid has ignored and not addressed.

as has been pointed out to you multiple times

the purifies do not get to roll.

you make 1 roll for the combined units when they are available to arrive, instead of separate rolls for each one.


The purifiers absolutely do get to roll - like, it's literally there in black ink. I have no idea how to refute your point other than showing you the same quote 50 times. The purifiers roll per RoT, then bring along their transport because of the Combined Unit rule. It isn't even hard.


In either case, when making a Reserve Roll (see below) for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/ or its Independent Character/ Transport vehicle.


where in there does it say you get to roll for just the unit and bring the rest?

As it reads you make a single roll for all of the things together. Not one of the things and bring the rest.

are all of the things eligible to roll turn 1?

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





blaktoof wrote:
So still no rules to cite you can bring models that are not eligible to arrive using the special rule of a different unit?

got it, your failure to support your point is noted.

The rule is there and has been quoted, repeatedly.
Have you actually missed all the posts referring to the "Combined Units Rule"? I can't believe that you have...

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





blaktoof wrote:
In either case, when making a Reserve Roll (see below) for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/ or its Independent Character/ Transport vehicle.


where in there does it say you get to roll for just the unit and bring the rest?

As it reads you make a single roll for all of the things together. Not one of the things and bring the rest.

are all of the things eligible to roll turn 1?



The first part of that rule says that any ICs and transports attached to a combined unit must all arrive at the same time but you only make a single roll. Please go read the rule, it's on page 135, right side column, about halfway down. And it doesn't matter whether or not all the components are eligible to roll on turn one, you only need to make a single roll for one component to determine if you arrive from reserves, in this case the purifiers, which are eligible to roll beginning on turn 1. Again, the rule is clear that you get to choose which component you roll for and there is nothing that precludes you from rolling on turn one for the purifiers.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





blaktoof wrote:
In either case, when making a Reserve Roll (see below) for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/ or its Independent Character/ Transport vehicle.


where in there does it say you get to roll for just the unit and bring the rest?

I underlined it. I can't believe you missed it every time.

As it reads you make a single roll for all of the things together. Not one of the things and bring the rest.

Perhaps you have... you do see the word "or" there, correct?

are all of the things eligible to roll turn 1?

One is. Now, cite the rule denying the Purifiers the ability to come in turn 1. You've asserted that fact; support it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

confoo22 wrote:
Correct, you must deploy the unit you roll for, in this case, the purifiers. And since you're deploying them you must deploy the transport they are in because of combined units in reserve rule. Because they are coming from deep strike reserves and since they must arrive together with the purifiers embarked you deep strike the drop pod as you normally would. The purifiers are being deployed by deep strike (remember that arriving from deep strike reserves is the same as deep striking thanks to the deep strike rule), so the rule you're citing is satisfied, but there is nothing there that restricts the drop pod from arriving via deep strike as the transport for the purifiers.

 jeffersonian000 wrote:

Insist all you want, we're just asking that you cite proof.

Deploying "them" is an accurate statement based on the wording of Combined Units, which means that as "proof", it's very weak. So weak, in fact that it supports the "NSF + DP + RoT = Legal" position as read (RAW) rather than your position as you have implied (RAI).

SJ
Zimko wrote:
"them" refers to the Combined Unit. The rules for Combined Unit allows you to roll for a specific part of that Combined Unit in order to bring the entire unit... all thanks to GW's poor use of 'and/or'.

I really believe it was not intended, but RAW that's how it looks to me.


This is not a RaW misunderstanding, but a grammatical mistake:
"Roll for (X) as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"

"them" does not refer to the Combined Unit. "them" refers to the Unit you are rolling for, (X).

If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

The above is simple grammar. "Them" is a pronoun that is specifically linked to the phrase before it: "rolling for (object)". Whatever you choose to as the subject of "rolling for" will be what "them" is referring to.

This then leads to the secondary issue of deploying your selected "subject".

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





 BlackTalos wrote:
This is not a RaW misunderstanding, but a grammatical mistake:
"Roll for (X) as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"

"them" does not refer to the Combined Unit. "them" refers to the Unit you are rolling for, (X).

If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

The above is simple grammar. "Them" is a pronoun that is specifically linked to the phrase before it: "rolling for (object)". Whatever you choose to as the subject of "rolling for" will be what "them" is referring to.

This then leads to the secondary issue of deploying your selected "subject".


There's no mistake here. "Them" could refer to a single model in the unit, but thanks to rule on page 135, if any part of the unit comes in the entire unit comes in. There's no implied "only" because it's spelled out elsewhere that the entire unit must arrive at the same time and if they arrive from DS reserves then they arrive by deep strike and the rule you're citing is satisfied. And since the purifiers are in a transport you deploy the transport first and then follow the rules for deep striking in a drop pod since those supersede the standard DS deployment rules.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/29 15:41:59


 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

 BlackTalos wrote:
confoo22 wrote:
Correct, you must deploy the unit you roll for, in this case, the purifiers. And since you're deploying them you must deploy the transport they are in because of combined units in reserve rule. Because they are coming from deep strike reserves and since they must arrive together with the purifiers embarked you deep strike the drop pod as you normally would. The purifiers are being deployed by deep strike (remember that arriving from deep strike reserves is the same as deep striking thanks to the deep strike rule), so the rule you're citing is satisfied, but there is nothing there that restricts the drop pod from arriving via deep strike as the transport for the purifiers.

 jeffersonian000 wrote:

Insist all you want, we're just asking that you cite proof.

Deploying "them" is an accurate statement based on the wording of Combined Units, which means that as "proof", it's very weak. So weak, in fact that it supports the "NSF + DP + RoT = Legal" position as read (RAW) rather than your position as you have implied (RAI).

SJ
Zimko wrote:
"them" refers to the Combined Unit. The rules for Combined Unit allows you to roll for a specific part of that Combined Unit in order to bring the entire unit... all thanks to GW's poor use of 'and/or'.

I really believe it was not intended, but RAW that's how it looks to me.


This is not a RaW misunderstanding, but a grammatical mistake:
"Roll for (X) as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"

"them" does not refer to the Combined Unit. "them" refers to the Unit you are rolling for, (X).

If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

The above is simple grammar. "Them" is a pronoun that is specifically linked to the phrase before it: "rolling for (object)". Whatever you choose to as the subject of "rolling for" will be what "them" is referring to.

This then leads to the secondary issue of deploying your selected "subject".

Of all the people to play the grammar card, you sir are far from the best authority based on your previous posts to date. I would recommend an English 101 class.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






 jeffersonian000 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
confoo22 wrote:
Correct, you must deploy the unit you roll for, in this case, the purifiers. And since you're deploying them you must deploy the transport they are in because of combined units in reserve rule. Because they are coming from deep strike reserves and since they must arrive together with the purifiers embarked you deep strike the drop pod as you normally would. The purifiers are being deployed by deep strike (remember that arriving from deep strike reserves is the same as deep striking thanks to the deep strike rule), so the rule you're citing is satisfied, but there is nothing there that restricts the drop pod from arriving via deep strike as the transport for the purifiers.

 jeffersonian000 wrote:

Insist all you want, we're just asking that you cite proof.

Deploying "them" is an accurate statement based on the wording of Combined Units, which means that as "proof", it's very weak. So weak, in fact that it supports the "NSF + DP + RoT = Legal" position as read (RAW) rather than your position as you have implied (RAI).

SJ
Zimko wrote:
"them" refers to the Combined Unit. The rules for Combined Unit allows you to roll for a specific part of that Combined Unit in order to bring the entire unit... all thanks to GW's poor use of 'and/or'.

I really believe it was not intended, but RAW that's how it looks to me.


This is not a RaW misunderstanding, but a grammatical mistake:
"Roll for (X) as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"

"them" does not refer to the Combined Unit. "them" refers to the Unit you are rolling for, (X).

If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

The above is simple grammar. "Them" is a pronoun that is specifically linked to the phrase before it: "rolling for (object)". Whatever you choose to as the subject of "rolling for" will be what "them" is referring to.

This then leads to the secondary issue of deploying your selected "subject".

Of all the people to play the grammar card, you sir are far from the best authority based on your previous posts to date. I would recommend an English 101 class.

SJ

What is obvious is that the drop pod must be deployed first. So "deploy them" must refer to the drop pod in this case - which is not eligible to arrive turn one outside of drop pod assault.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Xenomancers wrote:
What is obvious is that the drop pod must be deployed first. So "deploy them" must refer to the drop pod in this case - which is not eligible to arrive turn one outside of drop pod assault.

Sure, if you ignore the Combined Reserve Units rule.

Which, of course, you shouldn't. But your argument absolutely does.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






confoo22 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
This is not a RaW misunderstanding, but a grammatical mistake:
"Roll for (X) as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"

"them" does not refer to the Combined Unit. "them" refers to the Unit you are rolling for, (X).

If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

The above is simple grammar. "Them" is a pronoun that is specifically linked to the phrase before it: "rolling for (object)". Whatever you choose to as the subject of "rolling for" will be what "them" is referring to.

This then leads to the secondary issue of deploying your selected "subject".


There's no mistake here. "Them" could refer to a single model in the unit, but thanks to rule on page 135, if any part of the unit comes in the entire unit comes in. There's no implied "only" because it's spelled out elsewhere that the entire unit must arrive at the same time and if they arrive from DS reserves then they arrive by deep strike and the rule you're citing is satisfied. And since the purifiers are in a transport you deploy the transport first and then follow the rules for deep striking in a drop pod since those supersede the standard DS deployment rules.

I believe you used the word "could" - this present a problem for you because that word - implies there are other possibilities.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

confoo22 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
This is not a RaW misunderstanding, but a grammatical mistake:
"Roll for (X) as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"

"them" does not refer to the Combined Unit. "them" refers to the Unit you are rolling for, (X).

If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

The above is simple grammar. "Them" is a pronoun that is specifically linked to the phrase before it: "rolling for (object)". Whatever you choose to as the subject of "rolling for" will be what "them" is referring to.

This then leads to the secondary issue of deploying your selected "subject".


There's no mistake here. "Them" could refer to a single model in the unit, but thanks to rule on page 135, if any part of the unit comes in the entire unit comes in. There's no implied "only" because it's spelled out elsewhere that the entire unit must arrive at the same time and if they arrive from DS reserves then they arrive by deep strike and the rule you're citing is satisfied. And since the purifiers are in a transport you deploy the transport first and then follow the rules for deep striking in a drop pod since those supersede the standard DS deployment rules.

The rule on page 135 tells you that "they will arrive together". It does not bypass the "you deploy what you roll for" as clearly explained above. If you roll for the Purifiers, then you deploy the Purifiers. But as you have clearly said yourself "you deploy the transport first and then follow the rules for deep striking in a drop pod".

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






rigeld2 wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
What is obvious is that the drop pod must be deployed first. So "deploy them" must refer to the drop pod in this case - which is not eligible to arrive turn one outside of drop pod assault.

Sure, if you ignore the Combined Reserve Units rule.

Which, of course, you shouldn't. But your argument absolutely does.

What am I ignoring? The combined reserve rule does not grant permission to extend special rules to a unit that does not have them. Which is exactly where the flaw in your argument lies.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 BlackTalos wrote:
confoo22 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
This is not a RaW misunderstanding, but a grammatical mistake:
"Roll for (X) as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"

"them" does not refer to the Combined Unit. "them" refers to the Unit you are rolling for, (X).

If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

The above is simple grammar. "Them" is a pronoun that is specifically linked to the phrase before it: "rolling for (object)". Whatever you choose to as the subject of "rolling for" will be what "them" is referring to.

This then leads to the secondary issue of deploying your selected "subject".


There's no mistake here. "Them" could refer to a single model in the unit, but thanks to rule on page 135, if any part of the unit comes in the entire unit comes in. There's no implied "only" because it's spelled out elsewhere that the entire unit must arrive at the same time and if they arrive from DS reserves then they arrive by deep strike and the rule you're citing is satisfied. And since the purifiers are in a transport you deploy the transport first and then follow the rules for deep striking in a drop pod since those supersede the standard DS deployment rules.

The rule on page 135 tells you that "they will arrive together". It does not bypass the "you deploy what you roll for" as clearly explained above. If you roll for the Purifiers, then you deploy the Purifiers. But as you have clearly said yourself "you deploy the transport first and then follow the rules for deep striking in a drop pod".


The Purifiers absolutely deploy - at the same time as their Transport and their IC, per the Combined Unit rule. Subsequent to their deployment, they disembark.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

rigeld2 wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
What is obvious is that the drop pod must be deployed first. So "deploy them" must refer to the drop pod in this case - which is not eligible to arrive turn one outside of drop pod assault.

Sure, if you ignore the Combined Reserve Units rule.

Which, of course, you shouldn't. But your argument absolutely does.


I fully agree with Rigeld by the way, the only correct RaW is:
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

These are incorrect by RaW and the "Combined Reserve Units" Rule:
If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 Xenomancers wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
What is obvious is that the drop pod must be deployed first. So "deploy them" must refer to the drop pod in this case - which is not eligible to arrive turn one outside of drop pod assault.

Sure, if you ignore the Combined Reserve Units rule.

Which, of course, you shouldn't. But your argument absolutely does.

What am I ignoring? The combined reserve rule does not grant permission to extend special rules to a unit that does not have them. Which is exactly where the flaw in your argument lies.


No, but it does grant them permission to arrive together when their Reserve Roll is passed. The Purifiers roll on Turn 1, following the RoT rules for a unit in DS reserves. Then, Combined Units brings them all in together. No rules are transferred.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
The Purifiers absolutely deploy - at the same time as their Transport and their IC, per the Combined Unit rule. Subsequent to their deployment, they disembark.
Edit:

They cannot be deploying, as only the Model arriving by Deep Strike may Deploy, per RaW:

deploy them as follows:
• First, place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position where you
would like it to arrive,

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/29 16:05:02


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





 Xenomancers wrote:
confoo22 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
This is not a RaW misunderstanding, but a grammatical mistake:
"Roll for (X) as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"

"them" does not refer to the Combined Unit. "them" refers to the Unit you are rolling for, (X).

If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

The above is simple grammar. "Them" is a pronoun that is specifically linked to the phrase before it: "rolling for (object)". Whatever you choose to as the subject of "rolling for" will be what "them" is referring to.

This then leads to the secondary issue of deploying your selected "subject".


There's no mistake here. "Them" could refer to a single model in the unit, but thanks to rule on page 135, if any part of the unit comes in the entire unit comes in. There's no implied "only" because it's spelled out elsewhere that the entire unit must arrive at the same time and if they arrive from DS reserves then they arrive by deep strike and the rule you're citing is satisfied. And since the purifiers are in a transport you deploy the transport first and then follow the rules for deep striking in a drop pod since those supersede the standard DS deployment rules.

I believe you used the word "could" - this present a problem for you because that word - implies there are other possibilities.


I was using that as an example to bolster my point since it doesn't matter what part of the unit "them" actually refers to. But even if what you were saying was true (it's not) it doesn't change my argument or make it any less valid.

Do you have any rules citations to refute my claims yet?
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 BlackTalos wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
What is obvious is that the drop pod must be deployed first. So "deploy them" must refer to the drop pod in this case - which is not eligible to arrive turn one outside of drop pod assault.

Sure, if you ignore the Combined Reserve Units rule.

Which, of course, you shouldn't. But your argument absolutely does.


I fully agree with Rigeld by the way, the only correct RaW is:
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

These are incorrect by RaW and the "Combined Reserve Units" Rule:
If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).


How about you roll for the Purifiers (only) and then bring in the whole Combined Unit, utilizing the and/or clause cited multiple times?
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

confoo22 wrote:
Do you have any rules citations to refute my claims yet?


Yup, right here:
Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:
• First, place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position where you would like it to arrive,


The purifiers cannot do the above, especially "place one model from the unit anywhere on the table". Because only the Pod does so.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
How about you roll for the Purifiers (only) and then bring in the whole Combined Unit, utilizing the and/or clause cited multiple times?


Because no rules allow you to do so, or find it and Quote it...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 16:07:37


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

 BlackTalos wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
What is obvious is that the drop pod must be deployed first. So "deploy them" must refer to the drop pod in this case - which is not eligible to arrive turn one outside of drop pod assault.

Sure, if you ignore the Combined Reserve Units rule.

Which, of course, you shouldn't. But your argument absolutely does.


I fully agree with Rigeld by the way, the only correct RaW is:
If you think that you can roll for the Combined Unit , then you deploy the Combined Unit.

These are incorrect by RaW and the "Combined Reserve Units" Rule:
If you think that you can roll for the Purifiers (only) , then you deploy the Purifiers (only).
If you think that you can roll for the Drop Pod (only) , then you deploy the Drop Pod (only).


The 'Arriving by Deep Strike' section doesn't care how you rolled for 'them' (the Combined Unit). The rules for Combined Unit allow you to roll for a single part of that unit (via and/or) in order to determine if the Combined Unit can arrive. The Purifiers are part of a Combined Unit (Drop Pod and Purifiers) which are both together in Deep Strike Reserves. RoT allows for a Grey Knight unit to roll for arriving on Turn 1 if they are in Deep Strike Reserve. The Purifiers have permission to roll, and the Combined Unit rule gives them permission to roll on behalf of the entire Combined Unit.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 BlackTalos wrote:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
The Purifiers absolutely deploy - at the same time as their Transport and their IC, per the Combined Unit rule. Subsequent to their deployment, they disembark.
Edit:

They cannot be deploying, as only the Model arriving by Deep Strike may Deploy, per RaW:

deploy them as follows:
• First, place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position where you
would like it to arrive,


Except that is overridden by the Drop Pod's rules as a deep-striking transport. Unless you think the passengers aren't arriving by Deep Strike, which they explicitly are by the last sentence just after the bullet point list you started to quote.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Zimko wrote:
The 'Arriving by Deep Strike' section doesn't care how you rolled for 'them' (the Combined Unit). The rules for Combined Unit allow you to roll for a single part of that unit (via and/or) in order to determine if the Combined Unit can arrive. The Purifiers are part of a Combined Unit (Drop Pod and Purifiers) which are both together in Deep Strike Reserves. RoT allows for a Grey Knight unit to roll for arriving on Turn 1 if they are in Deep Strike Reserve. The Purifiers have permission to roll, and the Combined Unit rule gives them permission to roll on behalf of the entire Combined Unit.


And when you follow the rules for Deep Strike, it demands you deploy the Unit you rolled for (which, as you've just said: "roll for a single part of that unit (via and/or) in order to determine if the Combined Unit can arrive)
Did you roll for the Purifiers, or did you roll for the Combined Unit? Simple question.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 BlackTalos wrote:
Because no rules allow you to do so, or find it and Quote it...


BRB wrote: when making a Reserve Roll for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/or its Independent Character/Transport Vehicle.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 BlackTalos wrote:
Zimko wrote:
The 'Arriving by Deep Strike' section doesn't care how you rolled for 'them' (the Combined Unit). The rules for Combined Unit allow you to roll for a single part of that unit (via and/or) in order to determine if the Combined Unit can arrive. The Purifiers are part of a Combined Unit (Drop Pod and Purifiers) which are both together in Deep Strike Reserves. RoT allows for a Grey Knight unit to roll for arriving on Turn 1 if they are in Deep Strike Reserve. The Purifiers have permission to roll, and the Combined Unit rule gives them permission to roll on behalf of the entire Combined Unit.


And when you follow the rules for Deep Strike, it demands you deploy the Unit you rolled for (which, as you've just said: "roll for a single part of that unit (via and/or) in order to determine if the Combined Unit can arrive)
Did you roll for the Purifiers, or did you roll for the Combined Unit? Simple question.


We rolled for the Purifiers, which results in the arrival of the entire Combined Unit simultaneously.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/29 16:13:19


 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
Except that is overridden by the Drop Pod's rules as a deep-striking transport. Unless you think the passengers aren't arriving by Deep Strike, which they explicitly are by the last sentence just after the bullet point list you started to quote.


Sigh, the passengers aren't arriving by Deep Strike. Proven many times, i will not do it again.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 BlackTalos wrote:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
Except that is overridden by the Drop Pod's rules as a deep-striking transport. Unless you think the passengers aren't arriving by Deep Strike, which they explicitly are by the last sentence just after the bullet point list you started to quote.


Sigh, the passengers aren't arriving by Deep Strike. Proven many times, i will not do it again.


Then what do you make of this sentence:
BRB wrote:In the movement phase, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to Disembark from a Deep Striking transport vehicle.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: