Switch Theme:

New Necron Reanimation Protocall  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

No one is ignoring it, you are misunderstanding it. The required dice roll is always 5+. The roll itself is what is being modified per pg 11 BRB.

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in jp
Proud Triarch Praetorian





 Ghaz wrote:
Are you ignoring this?

Technomancer: This model and all models with the Reanimation Protocols special rule in his unit receive a +1 bonus to Reanimation Protocols rolls.

Technomancer doesn't modify the 'required dice roll', it modifies the actual physical roll.

Oh Please don't bypass the language filter like this. Reds8n , it's a wording technicality.
By RAW you're right... that's not good.
That's really not good.
(how do we expedite a FAQ already?)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/08 10:49:47


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

No it's not, it's them thinking it's saying one thing because they want to obfuscate the issue.

If you have 2 Technomancers in the squad and you roll a 3, does it become a 5?

No because as it states

Certain special rules and wargear items can provide modifiers to this dice roll ; these are cumulative, but the required dice roll can never be improved to be better than 4+

The required roll to pass can never be better than a 4+.

If you would succeed your RP on a 2+ meaning you physically rolled a 2, even with bonuses you would fail because that rule states it cannot happen.

It's not even semantics, it's just bad comprehension of words.

You want it to say one thing, similar to the way that the Cronos and Nightmare doll work but it doesn't it's worded completely differently.

See my previous posts for the nightmare doll and cronos wording and why that works and this doesn't.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Cool, the required Roll is a 5++, your dice roll is a 2, you add a bonus of 3 from three sources of "RP Bonus" this isn't modifying what you require to roll, this is adding numbers to your physical roll making it a total of a 5++
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

No, because we know that any dice rolled that is lower than a 4+ will not succeed regardless of modifiers.


Automatically Appended Next Post:

Literally the rules :

Certain special rules and wargear items can provide modifiers to this dice roll ; these are cumulative, but the required dice roll can never be improved to be better than 4.

What do the words Dice Roll mean? Do they mean save? No.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/08 07:33:31


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





This thread just come going around and around.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

yup, because its people playing semantics, trying to make necrons completely broken and probably unbeatable by anyone. Armor save or invul save if they have one and then a 2+ reanimation roll....yeah thats what GW wanted

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

'Required' Dice roll could be referencing the original requirement, or when is required when you actually roll the dice. The latter would mean regardless of modifiers to the roll, a 4 on the dice is [physically] required.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/08 09:41:40


It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

 Ghazkuul wrote:
yup, because its people playing semantics, trying to make necrons completely broken and probably unbeatable by anyone. Armor save or invul save if they have one and then a 2+ reanimation roll....yeah thats what GW wanted

No, people aren't trying to make Necrons completely broken and probably unbeatable.
People are trying to point out how, for the hundredth time, Games Workshop failed to correctly write a rule.

There was exactly one person and one thread that seriously argued to use this and he got laughed at and ignored.
Because we all know what GW wanted with this rule, but what they want is not what they actually wrote.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

It's not poorly written it is in fact written exactly how it needs to be written, people again want to interrupt it in such a way that this isn't true but it's just a bad a attempt at a semantic argument.

What do you think the required dice roll means, it means the dice roll required to pass the RP test, which can not be better than a 4+ regardless of modifiers.

What other possible Dice Roll would it mean?

Please name me something else that the words REquired Dice Roll would me?

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Hollismason wrote:
It's not poorly written it is in fact written exactly how it needs to be written, people again want to interrupt it in such a way that this isn't true but it's just a bad a attempt at a semantic argument.
Or we could just make it personal instead of actually addressing the rules.
What do you think the required dice roll means, it means the dice roll required to pass the RP test, which can not be better than a 4+ regardless of modifiers.

What other possible Dice Roll would it mean?
Please name me something else that the words REquired Dice Roll would me?
The 'required dice roll' is the amount you need to roll to pass a "RP test", which is 5+ and there is nothing in the Codex that improves this.

We have two things:
1. The required dice roll, aka the number you need to roll. This is a 5+ and cannot be better than 4+ but nothing in the book improves it.
2. The roll you make for the test, which has no limitation and is affected by stuff like the Decurion and Crypteks.
   
Made in jp
Proud Triarch Praetorian





If it was clear, we wouldn't be having the discussion.
I think it needs clarification.
... is there anything we can actually do about it?
Potentially:
Start an email campaign, writing in to the FAQ writers.

Gamefaqs@gwplc.com

Will this accomplish? Not a clue.
Could it help? Possibly? But probably not unless a ton of people are bombarding them with questions about this (and all the other things which are unclear)

 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






apologize for the necro.

so is there a rule that actually improve the required dice roll?

if not, it seems pretty clear that modifiers adjust dice rolls to up to 4+.

i.e.

case 1

base RP 5+, crytek (+1), instant death (-1)
=required RP roll: 4+; modified by ID: 5+
rolls 4: does not make RP as: 4+1-1 = 4 < 5+ required

case 2
base RP 5+, crytek (+1), ever living (+1) instant death (-1)
=required RP roll: 4+ (as it cannot be below 4+); ID modifier cancelled out by remaining +1 everliving modifier
rolls 4: makes RP as: 4+1+1-1 = 5

no?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/20 06:20:39


 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury


Thread is being locked due to thread necromancy.

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: