Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 01:30:14
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne
|
Hunters from Hyperspace states that
During the player turn in which this unit arrives from deepstrike reserve, all shooting attacks made by the deathmarks in this unit will wound on To Wound rolls of 2+, regardgless of victim´s Toughness
Veil of Darkness states that
The bearer of the Veil of Darkness has the deep strike special rule. In addition, once per game, at the start of any friendly movement phase, the bearer can use the Veil of Darkness to remove himself and his unit from the table, even if they are locked in combat. They then immediately arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for deepstrike.
Imagine you have a group of Deathmarks with a (Over-)Lord/Cryptek with the Veil of Darkness.
1. Deepstrike the unit normally from reserves (no Ethereal Interception)
2. Shoot wounding on a 2+ because HfH
3. Next turn use VoD to deepstrike somewhere else.
4. Wound something else on +2 with HfH because you arrived via deepstrike again.
Would that be possible? There is no indication that this effect can only happen once (in the old codex it was explicitily stated you could only mark ONCE). Does deepstriking imply that you arrive from deepstrike reserve so HfH could be applied to the second shooting at point 4 again?
|
This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2015/02/10 01:36:15
stealth992 wrote:...
Or you can just keep buying chaos everything, and not play them. Just sit alone in your room for years, painting and detailing, and detailing some more. Then keep doing that for years until you own upwards of 10000 points of chaos. Keep shining their swords and sharpening their knives. Then some day, some wonderful day, when a new book comes out that will realize your armies' potential, come out from hiding. Everyone will have thought you had left warhammer 40k for good, but no, you had been training, preparing, and brooding for this moment. Return with such vengeance and hatred that you will not hold back, and you will destroy everything in your path. Like a true chaos crusade, wait for the right moment, then burst forth from the Eye of Terror and unleash your pain on the whole universe. And when they cry and complain that you are OP and that it's not fair. Reassure them that it's true. It isn't fair, but it's what they DESERVE. All of them, each and every one of them deserve to be obliterated into oblivion. And if they ask you to play with a fluffy army, tell them you will do so. But on game day bring the meanest nastiest, ugliest army you can. Give them no opportunity for victory, give them no opportunity for enjoyment. Your only goal is to inflict as much pain and suffering as possible. And when they cry, and they will cry, laugh at them, drink their salty tears, and bath in their sweet, sweet blood.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 01:42:28
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Uggh. This again,
Happyjew wrote:Here:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/631412.page
This is the exact same question. It went on for 8 pages before a mod locked it.
The basic argument came down to
Yes, you use all the rules for Deep Strike and as such go into Deep Strike Reserve.
No, you cannot follow all the rules for Deep Strike (such as not all models having the Deep Strike rule), and there is no rule telling you to place them in Reserves.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 02:23:54
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne
|
Happyjew wrote:Uggh. This again,
Happyjew wrote:Here:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/631412.page
This is the exact same question. It went on for 8 pages before a mod locked it.
The basic argument came down to
Yes, you use all the rules for Deep Strike and as such go into Deep Strike Reserve.
No, you cannot follow all the rules for Deep Strike (such as not all models having the Deep Strike rule), and there is no rule telling you to place them in Reserves.
The "basic argument" from there is in my favour. The second part that would forbid it is not valid cause all the units have deepstrike. Deatmarks have the deepstrike special rule from the start and the lord/cryptek gets it through the VoD.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/10 02:24:57
stealth992 wrote:...
Or you can just keep buying chaos everything, and not play them. Just sit alone in your room for years, painting and detailing, and detailing some more. Then keep doing that for years until you own upwards of 10000 points of chaos. Keep shining their swords and sharpening their knives. Then some day, some wonderful day, when a new book comes out that will realize your armies' potential, come out from hiding. Everyone will have thought you had left warhammer 40k for good, but no, you had been training, preparing, and brooding for this moment. Return with such vengeance and hatred that you will not hold back, and you will destroy everything in your path. Like a true chaos crusade, wait for the right moment, then burst forth from the Eye of Terror and unleash your pain on the whole universe. And when they cry and complain that you are OP and that it's not fair. Reassure them that it's true. It isn't fair, but it's what they DESERVE. All of them, each and every one of them deserve to be obliterated into oblivion. And if they ask you to play with a fluffy army, tell them you will do so. But on game day bring the meanest nastiest, ugliest army you can. Give them no opportunity for victory, give them no opportunity for enjoyment. Your only goal is to inflict as much pain and suffering as possible. And when they cry, and they will cry, laugh at them, drink their salty tears, and bath in their sweet, sweet blood.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 02:36:27
Subject: Re:Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
However if you were to try such in a game, you'll very likely run into this ruling from the Codex Necrons FAQ:
Page 36 - Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace
Also add 'Note that each unit of Deathmarks may only mark a single enemy unit during the course of a game'.
Yes, it is an old FAQ. Yes, it is for a previous version of the codex. Regardless, others will try and use it as a precedent as to why you can't mark multiple enemy units during a game. Be prepared to be called out on this and to be ruled against at tournaments on this on a regular basis.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 09:27:55
Subject: Re:Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Outraged Witness
|
I asked this question myself a little while ago.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/633826.page
Here’s my takeaway:
Hunters From Hyperspace doesn’t activate because you made a Deep Strike maneuver; it activates because you arrived from Deep Strike Reserves, and moving from one spot on the table to another spot on the table is not the same as arriving from Reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 12:00:14
Subject: Re:Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm
|
Ghaz wrote:However if you were to try such in a game, you'll very likely run into this ruling from the Codex Necrons FAQ:
Page 36 - Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace
Also add 'Note that each unit of Deathmarks may only mark a single enemy unit during the course of a game'.
Yes, it is an old FAQ. Yes, it is for a previous version of the codex. Regardless, others will try and use it as a precedent as to why you can't mark multiple enemy units during a game. Be prepared to be called out on this and to be ruled against at tournaments on this on a regular basis.
However, since Hunters from Hyperspace became a "one use only"-thing in the new codex, if you would attempt to shoot at the same unit again with 2+ by using VoD (if you failed to kill it the first time), then this FAQ-answer wouldn't help.
In the old codex, there was no question that you were allowed to keep shooting at that same unit with 2+ until it was dead, no matter if you used VoD or not...
So in that case it comes down to the definition if they passed the reserves or not when using Veil of Darkness. I guess not....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/10 12:00:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 12:25:52
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
VoD doesn't give permission to enter Deep Strike Reserves. It allows movement using Deep Strike rules. This trick didn't work in 5/6E and it doesn't work in 7E.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 13:06:17
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
SicSemperTyrannis wrote: Happyjew wrote:Uggh. This again, Happyjew wrote:Here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/631412.page This is the exact same question. It went on for 8 pages before a mod locked it. The basic argument came down to Yes, you use all the rules for Deep Strike and as such go into Deep Strike Reserve. No, you cannot follow all the rules for Deep Strike (such as not all models having the Deep Strike rule), and there is no rule telling you to place them in Reserves.
The "basic argument" from there is in my favour. The second part that would forbid it is not valid cause all the units have deepstrike. Deatmarks have the deepstrike special rule from the start and the lord/cryptek gets it through the VoD. Same conclusion for me here as in the other Thread: VoD Units never enter Deep Strike Reserves. The get removed from the board, and arrive using the rules for deepstrike. These rules are found here: Arriving by Deep Strike Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows: • First, place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position where you would like it to arrive, and roll for scatter to determine the model’s final position. If a vehicle scatters when arriving via Deep Strike, do not change its facing – it must continue to face the same direction as it did before you rolled for scatter. • Next, the unit’s remaining models are arranged around the first one. Models must be placed in base contact with the first model and begin to form a circle around it. When the first circle is complete, a further concentric circle must be placed with each model touching the circle inside it. Each circle must include as many models as will fit. • Models deploying via Deep Strike treat all difficult terrain as dangerous terrain. In the Movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units may (etc). Where in these rules is your permission to go into Reserves?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/10 13:06:53
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 15:00:33
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It's cute how you continue to quote only part of the rules for Deep Strike and assert your statement as truth.
Considering that's not what VoD says and all.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 15:42:24
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
rigeld2 wrote: It's cute how you continue to quote only part of the rules for Deep Strike and assert your statement as truth. Considering that's not what VoD says and all. No, just quoting the part about "arriving using the rules for Deep Strike", it's right there: They then immediately arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for deepstrike. Or are you going to show me how models using Skies of Fury can get into reserves between disembarking and being placed on the table? Or maybe how they are forced to start the game in reserves? Possibly how they must have the Deep Strike Usr? Automatically Appended Next Post: They then immediately arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for deepstrike. Oh and look, they even have the "immediately", which changes how the first phrase is read: Arriving by Deep Strike Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows: • First, place one model
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/10 15:44:24
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 15:49:27
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:Or are you going to show me how models using Skies of Fury can get into reserves between disembarking and being placed on the table?
Because the Deep Strike rules require them to be there?
Or maybe how they are forced to start the game in reserves?
Conflict generated by the fact that they're using this ability in the middle of the game.
Possibly how they must have the Deep Strike Usr?
Conflict generated by a different rule allowing them to Deep Strike.
And how is Skies of Fury related to this thread? You do understand it's about Veil of Darkness, right?
It still boggles my mind that you can't understand the requirement to arrive from Reserves when it's in the rules that you quote, every time - and handwave away. Automatically Appended Next Post: BlackTalos wrote:They then immediately arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for deepstrike.
Oh and look, they even have the "immediately", which changes how the first phrase is read:
Arriving by Deep Strike
Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:
• First, place one model
Incorrect. As I've said every time, you're ignoring more of this sentence than the rules allow.
You don't have to roll, but they are still arriving. Arriving from where? Using the actual rules, please explain.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/10 15:50:51
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 16:07:58
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
rigeld2 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:Or are you going to show me how models using Skies of Fury can get into reserves between disembarking and being placed on the table?
Because the Deep Strike rules require them to be there?
In reserves? what part of what rule? It is impossible for the passengers of a Stormraven (on the table) to be anywhere but: A) Embarked B) On the table Simple as. Your insistence that Deep Striking Units must somehow first make a random trip to Reserves (not even On-going Reserves) is just ludicrous. rigeld2 wrote:Or maybe how they are forced to start the game in reserves?
Conflict generated by the fact that they're using this ability in the middle of the game.
It is not specifically allowing them to be in reserves, just to arrive by Deep Strike, which includes (by your argument) a restriction you have now hand-waved. rigeld2 wrote:Possibly how they must have the Deep Strike Usr?
Conflict generated by a different rule allowing them to Deep Strike.
It is not specifically allowing them to have Deep Strike, just to arrive by those rules, which includes (by your argument) a restriction you have now hand-waved. Or show the words "Reserves" and "have Deep Strike USR" in the VoD rules? rigeld2 wrote:And how is Skies of Fury related to this thread? You do understand it's about Veil of Darkness, right? It still boggles my mind that you can't understand the requirement to arrive from Reserves when it's in the rules that you quote, every time - and handwave away. Automatically Appended Next Post: BlackTalos wrote:They then immediately arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for deepstrike. Oh and look, they even have the "immediately", which changes how the first phrase is read: Arriving by Deep Strike Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows: • First, place one model
Incorrect. As I've said every time, you're ignoring more of this sentence than the rules allow. You don't have to roll, but they are still arriving. Arriving from where? Using the actual rules, please explain. Covered many times before, you are misreading the grammatical turn of that phrase: BlackTalos wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Which means that it's arriving from Reserves, correct? If you disagree, please explain how the unit is described as rolling to arrive as specified in the rules for Reserves, but not actually arriving from Reserves.
The underlined is incorrect. You are not reading the phrase properly. I think you missed my intention in the last post: "Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:" The above does not mean: [[Roll for]] the arrival (of all Deep Striking units) as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:" Where the clause of "rolling a dice" is for the "arrival of the Unit as described in reserves". That is not the meaning of the phrase. It never relates to "Moving on from Reserve" "Roll for (the arrival of all Deep Striking units) as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:" Is how the phrase works. You are rolling for arrival, just as is described in the Reserves rule. The phrase refers to "Arriving from Reserve", more specifically, how you roll to arrive. TL : DR : What is "specified in the rules for Reserves"? Rolling for the arrival. Not "the method of arrival". Why? because "and then deploy them as follows" is part of the phrase. You don't need specification of how to arrive, it's given to you. The "roll" however, is undefined: What are you rolling? 2D6? 1D10? By your interpretation we would never know, because only the arrival method "is specified".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/10 16:08:20
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 16:56:02
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Or maybe how they are forced to start the game in reserves?
Conflict generated by the fact that they're using this ability in the middle of the game.
It is not specifically allowing them to be in reserves, just to arrive by Deep Strike, which includes (by your argument) a restriction you have now hand-waved.
I haven't hand waved it. I'm sure you're aware of the advanced>basic rule... and Veil is more advanced than Deep Strike so when a conflict is generated, Veil wins.
I'm not sure why you need something like that explained to you...
rigeld2 wrote:Possibly how they must have the Deep Strike Usr?
Conflict generated by a different rule allowing them to Deep Strike.
It is not specifically allowing them to have Deep Strike, just to arrive by those rules, which includes (by your argument) a restriction you have now hand-waved.
Again, it's only "hand waved" if you ignore advanced vs basic. Ignoring rules causes problems - perhaps you shouldn't do that.
Covered many times before, you are misreading the grammatical turn of that phrase:
No, I'm not.
"Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"
You don't have to roll, but the Deep Striking units are still arriving. Agreed? If they're not arriving, why are you even referencing the "Arriving by Deep Strike" section?
Where are they arriving from?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 17:05:04
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
if the deep strike rules required the unit to follow the rules for reserves in deep strike, units would have to have deep strike, and begin the game in reserves.
therefore you would never be able to use VoD on an unit that did not begin the game in reserves and would also have had to arrived from reserves by deep strike and had the deep strike rule...
or you can acknowledge that there are rules for reserves, and there are rules for deepstrike.
And they are separate rules.
Reserves allows units many ways arrive from reserves by, ie walking on from table edge, coming on from another edge via outflank, deep strike.
The last line you quote has to do with models entering the game from deep strike reserves which is why it tells you to roll for them under the rules for reserves. You have conveniently left that out...
deep strike reserves is by the RAW models which are in reserves, and are arriving from reserves by deep strike specifically.
VoD does not put the models in reserves, as it does not state it does so. If you mishap they could end up in ongoing reserves, which then without a current faq ruling would let you mark an unit again, but otherwise they do not go into reserves as they are -IMMEDIATELY- placed on the table, as well as there is 0 anything that tells you they do go to reserves in the rule for VoD, nor does it say 'they arrive by/from deepstrike reserves"
so obviously you use the rules for arriving by deepstrike as that is what it states, but as it does not say 'reserves' which it is required to if they are coming from deepstrike reserves, you do not arrive by deep strike reserves.
they are arriving from already being in play on the table, as that was where they last were before they were IMMEDIATELY placed back on the table. Was already being on the table in reserves? Can you find somewhere where it says being removed from the table is reserves? Casualties are removed from the table are they just in reserves? Models embarked in vehicles, are they in reserves? Is there anything in VoD that says they are treated as being in reserves, or are in reserves, or arriving from deepstrike reserves or are arriving by deep strike reserves?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/10 17:07:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 17:24:19
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
blaktoof wrote:if the deep strike rules required the unit to follow the rules for reserves in deep strike, units would have to have deep strike, and begin the game in reserves.
Shown to be an incorrect assumption. When a conflict is generated, the codex wins out. There's definitely a conflict between attempting to Deep Strike while not in Reserves.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 17:39:41
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:blaktoof wrote:if the deep strike rules required the unit to follow the rules for reserves in deep strike, units would have to have deep strike, and begin the game in reserves.
Shown to be an incorrect assumption. When a conflict is generated, the codex wins out. There's definitely a conflict between attempting to Deep Strike while not in Reserves.
I agree with you that the codex wins out, but the codex does not state anything about reserves in regards to VoD. So either the codex wins out and VoD does not have anything at all to do with reserves, or the rules for deep strike are used in their entirety where not specifically told they are modified by VoD.
As VoD does not mention anything about reserves- there is no modification to those parts, if deep strike rules are used in their entirety it would have to include those as requirements.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/10 17:40:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 18:09:53
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
blaktoof wrote:rigeld2 wrote:blaktoof wrote:if the deep strike rules required the unit to follow the rules for reserves in deep strike, units would have to have deep strike, and begin the game in reserves.
Shown to be an incorrect assumption. When a conflict is generated, the codex wins out. There's definitely a conflict between attempting to Deep Strike while not in Reserves.
I agree with you that the codex wins out, but the codex does not state anything about reserves in regards to VoD. So either the codex wins out and VoD does not have anything at all to do with reserves, or the rules for deep strike are used in their entirety where not specifically told they are modified by VoD.
It doesn't have to specifically state - it just has to generate a conflict.
I've demonstrated a conflict is created and therefore VoD wins. You handwave it away as "No, Deep Strike would win." but fail to explain, using rules, how that's possible.
One argument has rules support.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 18:13:15
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Where in VoD does it show a conflict with how it treats reserves?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 18:17:49
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
blaktoof wrote:Where in VoD does it show a conflict with how it treats reserves?
VoD requires you to use the Deep Strike rules. Agreed?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 18:20:23
Subject: Re:Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Outraged Witness
|
Hello! My name is SKWAAAARK and I am a human being [Deathmark unit and attached IC with a Veil]. Sometimes I go outside [onto the table] and do things. When I’m not outside [on the table] I am in my idling place which I call my home [Reserves]. I get from my home [Reserves] to places outside [the table] using a special mode of transportation I call my car [Deep Strike].
The other day I used my car [I used Deep Strike] to leave my home [to get out of Reserves] and go outside [and onto the table] to see Jupiter Ascending at the IMAX [to fight Enemy Unit A using the Hunters rule]. It was a terrible decision, so I decided to go elsewhere. [It was a terrible decision, so I decided to go elsewhere.] I used my car [I used the Veil’s Deep Strike] and immediately went elsewhere [and immediately went elsewhere], specifically to a nearby bar [to fight Enemy Unit B using the Hunters rule].
When I immediately went from the IMAX to the bar, did I go back home [back into Reserves] first? No, that would be stupid. I said immediately.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 18:20:38
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:blaktoof wrote:Where in VoD does it show a conflict with how it treats reserves?
VoD requires you to use the Deep Strike rules. Agreed?
They then immediately arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for Deep Strike.
well you use the rules for deep strike.
Which is not the same as the rules for deep strike reserves, as it doesn't say the rules for deep strike reserves.
sidenote- I think its pretty nice the authors actually took the time to state the bearer of VoD gets the deep strike rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 18:22:37
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
blaktoof wrote:rigeld2 wrote:blaktoof wrote:Where in VoD does it show a conflict with how it treats reserves?
VoD requires you to use the Deep Strike rules. Agreed?
They then immediately arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for Deep Strike.
well you use the rules for deep strike.
Which is not the same as the rules for deep strike reserves, as it doesn't say the rules for deep strike reserves.
So let's look at the rules for Deep Strike - do they mention Reserves? Do they mention arriving from Reserves?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 18:38:01
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes, it also mentions to reference the reserves rule to determine that. it also mentions that only models with DS may deep strike, which VoD does not discuss[no mention that even models without DS may deep strike] it also mentions that models must begin the game in reserves to arrive by deep strike reserves[VoD does not mention reserves, or deep strike reserves]
I still do not see where in VoD it discuss reserves.
It does say to use the rules for deep strike, but says nothing about using the rules for reserves or deep strike reserves.
Since the unit is not in reserves, and we are not told they are in reserves, you do not use the rules that are part of deep strike reserves[ie do not need to roll for reserves, because they are not arriving by deep strike reserves, they are arriving by deepstrike] and just have them arrive by deepstrike as per the rules, arrive by deep strike.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 18:49:17
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
blaktoof wrote:Yes, it also mentions to reference the reserves rule to determine that. it also mentions that only models with DS may deep strike, which VoD does not discuss[no mention that even models without DS may deep strike] it also mentions that models must begin the game in reserves to arrive by deep strike reserves[VoD does not mention reserves, or deep strike reserves]
So despite the fact that I've shown you how this works, you keep bringing it up as if it's relevant?
Right, so you're done. You're not actually debating in good faith anymore.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/11 01:35:56
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
so no actual response.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/11 10:30:57
Subject: Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne
|
So reading all the posts here the general consensus is that it´s not possible cause the deepstrike with the VoD doesn´t put em into reserves. I´m fine with that. Thanks all
|
stealth992 wrote:...
Or you can just keep buying chaos everything, and not play them. Just sit alone in your room for years, painting and detailing, and detailing some more. Then keep doing that for years until you own upwards of 10000 points of chaos. Keep shining their swords and sharpening their knives. Then some day, some wonderful day, when a new book comes out that will realize your armies' potential, come out from hiding. Everyone will have thought you had left warhammer 40k for good, but no, you had been training, preparing, and brooding for this moment. Return with such vengeance and hatred that you will not hold back, and you will destroy everything in your path. Like a true chaos crusade, wait for the right moment, then burst forth from the Eye of Terror and unleash your pain on the whole universe. And when they cry and complain that you are OP and that it's not fair. Reassure them that it's true. It isn't fair, but it's what they DESERVE. All of them, each and every one of them deserve to be obliterated into oblivion. And if they ask you to play with a fluffy army, tell them you will do so. But on game day bring the meanest nastiest, ugliest army you can. Give them no opportunity for victory, give them no opportunity for enjoyment. Your only goal is to inflict as much pain and suffering as possible. And when they cry, and they will cry, laugh at them, drink their salty tears, and bath in their sweet, sweet blood.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/11 10:54:48
Subject: Re:Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
SKWAAAARK wrote:Hello! My name is SKWAAAARK and I am a human being [Deathmark unit and attached IC with a Veil]. Sometimes I go outside [onto the table] and do things. When I’m not outside [on the table] I am in my idling place which I call my home [Reserves]. I get from my home [Reserves] to places outside [the table] using a special mode of transportation I call my car [Deep Strike].
The other day I used my car [I used Deep Strike] to leave my home [to get out of Reserves] and go outside [and onto the table] to see Jupiter Ascending at the IMAX [to fight Enemy Unit A using the Hunters rule]. It was a terrible decision, so I decided to go elsewhere. [It was a terrible decision, so I decided to go elsewhere.] I used my car [I used the Veil’s Deep Strike] and immediately went elsewhere [and immediately went elsewhere], specifically to a nearby bar [to fight Enemy Unit B using the Hunters rule].
When I immediately went from the IMAX to the bar, did I go back home [back into Reserves] first? No, that would be stupid. I said immediately.
Love it!
Probably one of the best ways to put this lol
More seriously though:
rigeld2 wrote:I haven't hand waved it. I'm sure you're aware of the advanced>basic rule... and Veil is more advanced than Deep Strike so when a conflict is generated, Veil wins.
I'm not sure why you need something like that explained to you...
[SNIP]
Again, it's only "hand waved" if you ignore advanced vs basic. Ignoring rules causes problems - perhaps you shouldn't do that.
You seem to be slightly struggling with the argument, not me:
Care to show where in the Basic Rules:
"Basic rules apply to all the models in the game, unless stated otherwise. They include the rules for movement, shooting and close combat as well as the rules for morale. These are all the rules you’ll need for infantry models."
You might find Deep Strike? Do ALL models have Deep Strike?
Or is it possibly a universal Special Rule?
Maybe you are referring to this: "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex or Army List Entry always takes precedence."
In which case i ask to you again: Where in Veil of Darkness, Gate of Infinity or Skies of Fury does the mention of "Reserves" or "have Deep Strike USR" in the rules.
If you have to say "the need for Deep Strike conflicts", then i ask you: What takes precedence in the following conflict:
Deep Strike USR conflicting with Deep Strike USR
I'd say Deep Strike takes precedence, but i'm not sure what that would achieve.
rigeld2 wrote:Covered many times before, you are misreading the grammatical turn of that phrase:
No, I'm not.
"Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"
You don't have to roll, but the Deep Striking units are still arriving. Agreed? If they're not arriving, why are you even referencing the "Arriving by Deep Strike" section?
Where are they arriving from?
Then it should be easy for you to answer:
What is "specified in the rules for Reserves"?
Because that is the most important part of that phrase, as it mentions "Reserves".
If the "thing" (your answer will surely follow) that is specified no longer exists, is it important where it is specified?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/11 14:47:41
Subject: Re:Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:In which case i ask to you again: Where in Veil of Darkness, Gate of Infinity or Skies of Fury does the mention of "Reserves" or "have Deep Strike USR" in the rules.
This question makes the assumption you're only using a subset of the Deep Strike rules - so you're asking the question assuming your argument is correct.
Poor debate form - you haven't proven your argument is correct.
If you have to say "the need for Deep Strike conflicts", then i ask you: What takes precedence in the following conflict:
Deep Strike USR conflicting with Deep Strike USR
I'd say Deep Strike takes precedence, but i'm not sure what that would achieve.
Wrong question.
The need for Deep Strike conflicts with using the VoD and the instructions to Deep Strike. Since using the VoD inherently requires you to Deep Strike, you don't need the rule.
I've explained this before.
What is "specified in the rules for Reserves"?
Because that is the most important part of that phrase, as it mentions "Reserves".
If the "thing" (your answer will surely follow) that is specified no longer exists, is it important where it is specified?
Yes, it's important. And it's not that the roll doesn't exist - it's that you automatically arrive (skipping the requirement to roll).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/11 16:44:58
Subject: Re:Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
rigeld2 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:In which case i ask to you again: Where in Veil of Darkness, Gate of Infinity or Skies of Fury does the mention of "Reserves" or "have Deep Strike USR" in the rules.
This question makes the assumption you're only using a subset of the Deep Strike rules - so you're asking the question assuming your argument is correct. Poor debate form - you haven't proven your argument is correct. If you have to say "the need for Deep Strike conflicts", then i ask you: What takes precedence in the following conflict: Deep Strike USR conflicting with Deep Strike USR I'd say Deep Strike takes precedence, but i'm not sure what that would achieve.
Wrong question. The need for Deep Strike conflicts with using the VoD and the instructions to Deep Strike. Since using the VoD inherently requires you to Deep Strike, you don't need the rule. I've explained this before. What is "specified in the rules for Reserves"? Because that is the most important part of that phrase, as it mentions "Reserves". If the "thing" (your answer will surely follow) that is specified no longer exists, is it important where it is specified?
Yes, it's important. And it's not that the roll doesn't exist - it's that you automatically arrive (skipping the requirement to roll). My argument is that you use only a sub-set of the DS rules, as is required by all 3 of those rules (using the word "arrive"). Correct. Your argument, is that you claim that these rules refer to the DS rules in their entirety. Now, as a summary, my first point about mention of "Reserves" or "have Deep Strike USR" in the rules: (and no, i was only assuming we have to use ALL the DS rules) - You are required to use ALL the DS rules, which as shown, you cannot do. . . . You counter this by saying you need to use the DS rules, and therefore you can ignore the DS requirements by using the DS rule. So you are saying the Deep Strike Rule allow you to bypass the Deep Strike rules because you are using Deep Strike rules. Can you see the issue yet? VoD needs specific wording to create a conflict. The VoD rules needs this. Not the Deep Strike Rules. So my question was: where in the VoD rules can you bypass the DS restrictions? - Deep Strike has a restriction that all the models need the DS Special Rule. . . . You counter this by saying you need to use the DS rules, and therefore you can ignore the DS requirements by using the DS rule. Regardless of the point above: How is the Unit obtaining the Deep Strike Special rule? Nothing in VoD says they do. If a Special Rule had: " They then immediately arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for Outflank." and it applied to Drop Pods on Turn 6, could they ignore the reserves rule: The only exception to this are units that cannot move after they have been deployed. Such units are removed as casualties if it is impossible to deploy them during the Deployment step of Preparing for Battle.
They "must" arrive, so they are now allowed to break other rules? - Lastly, i am really really looking for an answer to this: What is "specified in the rules for Reserves"? To see exactly where you stand on the grammar for that phrase. I thought it simple, but you still seem to be incorrect on it.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/02/11 16:46:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/11 17:22:24
Subject: Re:Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:My argument is that you use only a sub-set of the DS rules, as is required by all 3 of those rules (using the word "arrive"). Correct.
That's your assumption, not what the rules actually say. None of them say "using the Arrive by Deep Strike rules". Thank you for admitting that you assume a subset because if fits your argument.
- You are required to use ALL the DS rules, which as shown, you cannot do.
. . . You counter this by saying you need to use the DS rules, and therefore you can ignore the DS requirements by using the DS rule.
So you are saying the Deep Strike Rule allow you to bypass the Deep Strike rules because you are using Deep Strike rules. Can you see the issue yet?
Yes, I see that you can't read, or are being deliberately obtuse.
It's turn 3 and I want to activate my VoD. Am I allowed to?
|
|
 |
 |
|